Old 21st June 2012, 15:31   #901

Re: Ford EcoSport Preview @ Auto Expo 2012. EDIT : Indian Spy Pics on Pg. 33

I totally agree with the waiting part, it looks like Ford takes ages to get a car out and even when it gets out, it totally gets the pricing wrong. Please Ford, it time you really learn our market. Please do not repeat a fiesta with the Ecosport.
Old 21st June 2012, 17:24   #902
MAS

Ford is definitely trying to divert attention of potential mini SUV buyers from the soon-to-be-launched Duster. They did the same thing with the Fiesta (against the Fluidic). In the case of Fiesta, they created sooooo much hype and expectation, but all this crashed due to their crazy pricing strategy.

Ford is trying to create the same hype and expectation for the Ecosport. I hope they get their pricing strategy right this time.
Old 21st June 2012, 18:36   #903

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
I saw a bunch of Ecosports on the NH between Tindivanam and Chennai a few days back. Will upload the pics in the night.
Boy!! where are the pictures as promised? Not posting pics as committed is criminal offence in a thread as live as this
Old 21st June 2012, 23:33   #904

Recently I had been to Ford Service centre for servicing my Car... While I asked for this car price and launch date they says it late 2012/early 2013. But the shocking thing was that its around 13L ... Don't know what ford is planning
Old 22nd June 2012, 00:02   #905
MAS

Originally Posted by Sowmya View Post
Recently I had been to Ford Service centre for servicing my Car... While I asked for this car price and launch date they says it late 2012/early 2013. But the shocking thing was that its around 13L ... Don't know what ford is planning
My sources at MPL Ford told me that the Ecosport is expected to be priced between 7-9 Lakhs. 13 Lakhs will be an over kill. Heck, even the all new Fiesta does not cost so much.
Old 22nd June 2012, 00:32   #906
vij

Originally Posted by MAS View Post
My sources at MPL Ford told me that the Ecosport is expected to be priced between 7-9 Lakhs. 13 Lakhs will be an over kill. Heck, even the all new Fiesta does not cost so much.
Why do you think ecosport should cost well less than the fiesta

Last edited by vij : 22nd June 2012 at 00:39.
Old 22nd June 2012, 06:01   #907

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

I believe the new Ford EcoSport will also be coming in initially in 2WD avatar only. It is well known that we Indians in general prefer form to function so if it looks tough and butch sans the functionality of 4WD etc, thats fine by us.
Consider pricing to be in the region of about 9 lacs.
This is an unconfirmed piece of information that came my way - hence sharing.
Old 22nd June 2012, 08:43   #908

Mod Note : Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another on the SAME THREAD!

Originally Posted by vij
Why do you think ecosport should cost well less than the fiesta
Bcos it is less than 4m in length thereby attracting lower taxes.

Originally Posted by Sowmya
I have noticed that all Dealers in India tend to overquote the price at which new cars will be introduced to potential clients. Perhaps it is to make them feel they are getting a bargain introductory price at the launch.

Last edited by GTO : 23rd June 2012 at 13:10. Reason: Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another!
Old 22nd June 2012, 09:20   #909
vij

Originally Posted by mohandasnikhil View Post
Bcos it is less than 4m in length thereby attracting lower taxes.
Thats the buyer line!

Buyer: It is less than 4m in length thereby attracting lower taxes = lower price.
Seller: Newer technology, newer car, fresh segment, better mileage = higher price.

Buyer: Hope they dont the make the mistake they made with Fiesta by pricing high.
Seller: We made a mistake by pricing the Fiesta high, we should not make another mistake by pricing the Ecosport low

Buyer: Hmm... Sub 4m in length, can save some of my money.
Seller: Hmm... Sub 4m in length, can make more money packaging it in new technology.

Ecoboost= Priceboost ?

Last edited by vij : 22nd June 2012 at 09:39.
Old 22nd June 2012, 10:11   #910

Originally Posted by vij View Post
Thats the buyer line!

Buyer: It is less than 4m in length thereby attracting lower taxes = lower price.
Seller: Newer technology, newer car, fresh segment, better mileage = higher price.

Buyer: Hope they dont the make the mistake they made with Fiesta by pricing high.
Seller: We made a mistake by pricing the Fiesta high, we should not make another mistake by pricing the Ecosport low

Buyer: Hmm... Sub 4m in length, can save some of my money.
Seller: Hmm... Sub 4m in length, can make more money packaging it in new technology.

Ecoboost= Priceboost ?
Wrong argument.

Ford will not be able to sell Ecosport with that argument. Mahindra will have Mini SUV from 6.5L onwards (maybe even a shocking price of 6L). Renault will price its Duster from 7L. Equipment levels in Duster is comparitive. In India, customers are not going to pay excessively just for an engine that is going to give them a few KMPL extra (that too hypothetically. Not tried and tested on Indian conditions, that too petrol engine). Maybe a few enthusiast in T-BHP may find the Ecoboost a great engine but not the common man on the street. Just see the Hype T-Jet got during its introduction and see now it is selling at deep discounted price. Is there a problem with T-Jet. No, T-Jet is a great petrol engine. Get the Drift?
Old 22nd June 2012, 10:47   #911

I dont know how many of you get the quarterly newsletters from Ford India with its latest announcements, news, events etc. I just got the latest one couple of days back and it had only details about Ecosport. I had shown my interest at the time of its official announcement and being an ex-Fiesta owner, they send me updates by email. It clearly mentioned Ecosport will be available in the market only by the start of 2013 and the price range was quoted as 7 to 10 lakhs. I am keen on this vehicle and I will hold all my vehicle related decisions until its available for test drive.
shajufx is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2012, 10:57   #912

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Originally Posted by shajufx
I dont know how many of you get the quarterly newsletters from Ford India with its latest announcements, news, events etc. I just got the latest one couple of days back and it had only details about Ecosport. I had shown my interest at the time of its official announcement and being an ex-Fiesta owner, they send me updates by email. It clearly mentioned Ecosport will be available in the market only by the start of 2013 and the price range was quoted as 7 to 10 lakhs. I am keen on this vehicle and I will hold all my vehicle related decisions until its available for test drive.
Thats excellent.
Cn you shre the pdf of the newsletter on the thread?
Old 22nd June 2012, 11:11   #913

Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
It clearly mentioned Ecosport will be available in the market only by the start of 2013 and the price range was quoted as 7 to 10 lakhs. I am keen on this vehicle and I will hold all my vehicle related decisions until its available for test drive.
All the car magazines & car portals have been harping upon the 7 to 10 lakhs price band for the Ecosport, but if Ford itself has mentioned that in its newsleter, then its quite commendable. No way Ford can afford to price the Ecosport above the Duster. Size wise it is comparatively smaller than the Duster & it would also enjoy the excise benefits (for both petrol & diesel versions), which the Duster won't. This should ideally make a compelling proposition for the Ecosport's pricing.

Thats excellent.
Cn you shre the pdf of the newsletter on the thread?
Yes please share it over here, we want to believe our eyes.
Old 22nd June 2012, 11:25   #914
MAS

Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
That is good news. It would be very useful to the community here if you could attach/copy paste/quote the newsletter here.

Ford definitely has a winner if they price the Eco Sport sensibly.
Old 22nd June 2012, 11:52   #915

Guys, I am so sorry, I knew it was coming, but never thought it would be such an important newsletter to display here. I have a bad habit of clearing my inbox the moment its read, specially the automobile ones. Also I assumed every ford owner would be getting same newsletters as they have the entire data of its end customers. I will check if there is anyway I could retrace it back or find someone who regularly gets the same.

The only newsletter that I can see in my trash box is one which mentions about the Jaipur drive thing of Ecosport. I am pasting it here whatever I can cover in one screenshot.
Name:  jaipur.png
Views: 2769
Size:  170.3 KB

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com