Old 1st December 2011, 13:46   #31

Re: Toyota to launch new SUV in India

Originally Posted by ssh1979 View Post
Would like to know why you call the Fortuner "bare basic"?
Fortuner is nothing but an over priced innova on stilts with the same comfort & same features & good off road capability but for double the price.

What is toyota offering in the 24 lakh Fortuner in terms of creature comforts? Yes, I have heard enough about Toyota's reliability. Anything else?

Last edited by raj_5004 : 1st December 2011 at 13:47.
Old 1st December 2011, 13:48   #32

Just checked on the South African Site

Fortuner = 440K rand, 3L, 4x4 with low ratio, 5 speed
Rav4 = 392K rand, 2.2L, 4x4 on demand, no low ratio, 6 speed

The price difference is hardly 10%, so if Fortuner is 21L, expect Rav4 at 18L. For that price a Yeti is a better buy.
Aroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st December 2011, 13:54   #33

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
Just checked on the South African Site

Fortuner = 440K rand, 3L, 4x4 with low ratio, 5 speed
Rav4 = 392K rand, 2.2L, 4x4 on demand, no low ratio, 6 speed

The price difference is hardly 10%, so if Fortuner is 21L, expect Rav4 at 18L. For that price a Yeti is a better buy.
Not if they take the plunge and actually manufacture (use significant local components in) the RAV4 in India unlike the fortuner CKD.

The Difference in price then could even be northward of 7L
Old 1st December 2011, 13:57   #34

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
Fortuner is nothing but an over priced innova on stilts with the same comfort & same features & good off road capability but for double the price.

What is toyota offering in the 24 lakh Fortuner in terms of creature comforts? Yes, I have heard enough about Toyota's reliability. Anything else?
. Tougher chassis
. Bigger engine
. Low ratio transfer gear box
. Bigger wheels
. Higher ground clearance

I just checked the South African Site
Fortuner 3.0 diesel, 4x4 - 440K rand
Innova 2.7 petrol 4x2 - 249K rand

So the price differential is similar, assuming that the 2.4 diesel will be same price as 2.7 petrol. (The Fortuner there works out to around 27L, thank got we have it cheaper here)
Old 1st December 2011, 14:10   #35

OK; I'm just trying to understand your viewpoint, nothing more. Is there a reason why you compared the Fortuner with the Innova instead of comparing it with its peers Pajero, Endeavour 4x4, Captiva, Santa Fe?
Old 1st December 2011, 14:18   #36

There is no way a CRV competitor will be priced even around 15 lakh.

However, in India the consumers do mind the size of a macho vehicle or its stance.
Old 1st December 2011, 14:20   #37

It's quite unlikely that Toyota will price Rav4 around 12 Lakhs if at all they bring it here. It will be in the 18-22 range but then they will create an internal competition to Fortuner itself.

'Unfortunately', this points to an India specific SUV built on top of Etios platform. :(
Old 1st December 2011, 14:25   #38

I am hoping it should not be in the same league as the Liva sisters, wherein the cost cutting is clearly visible.

If it is made for India/made in India plan i am sure it might turn out to be similar to the cost cutting that we have already seen form Toyota.
Old 1st December 2011, 14:28   #39

Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
On a broad note, Toyota and Sqoda quality&reliability are almost same.
If you mean Skoda, then this would be a somewhat controversial statement, knowing the number of Skodas that have to be towed to the service centres, and number of Toyotas which would do the same.

And yet, in the same breath, you say this...
Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
XUV Price + 1.5 lacs more for Toyota Brand and reliability will do the trick at least for me. XUV or near about features with a semi-butch look and Toyota reliability will be useful to tap the segment who love the fortuner but can afford only an XUV/Innova.
Old 1st December 2011, 15:04   #40

Originally Posted by architect View Post
If you mean Skoda, then this would be a somewhat controversial statement, knowing the number of Skodas that have to be towed to the service centres, and number of Toyotas which would do the same.

And yet, in the same breath, you say this...
I meant this on a broad note, compared this with other indian manufacturers known for their not so good quality and inconsisten panel gaps.

Premier Rio is available at 7 lacs ish. So a Toyota SUV at 10 ish is conceivable. I do not mind paying more for a good quality product so paying 1.5-2 lacs more for an XUV from Toyota stable is the thing for ME.
Old 1st December 2011, 15:54   #41

I guess this (INR 10 lacs+) could be higher price for outdated RAV4 dies to be directed to India, & probably we are going to see ugly scenes in the forum like the ones in Etios thread after some time of its launch.
Old 1st December 2011, 15:55   #42

. Tougher chassis
. Bigger engine
. Low ratio transfer gear box
. Bigger wheels
. Higher ground clearance
Same chassis with a bit of changes, same engine rebored for more power. How much is bigger wheels & higher GC going to cost anyways?

I forgot to mention, copy-pasted interiors of innova also.

I just checked the South African Site
Fortuner 3.0 diesel, 4x4 - 440K rand
Innova 2.7 petrol 4x2 - 249K rand

So the price differential is similar, assuming that the 2.4 diesel will be same price as 2.7 petrol. (The Fortuner there works out to around 27L, thank got we have it cheaper here)
Please dont miss how much the SA model is loaded. We have got a stripped down version here in India. They have got -

6 way electrically adjustable driver's seat
side airbags
curtain airbags
vehicle stability control
Emergency brake assist
USB/Ipod connetion
HIDs

All we have is ABS & 2 Airbags which is there in the innova too!

OK; I'm just trying to understand your viewpoint, nothing more. Is there a reason why you compared the Fortuner with the Innova instead of comparing it with its peers Pajero, Endeavour 4x4, Captiva, Santa Fe?
Sure, go ahead & compare it with Captiva, Endy & Santa Fe. Will actually show how overpriced the Fortuner really is!

Poor ride, poor refinement & boring interiors - all in all, not worth 24 lacs. The only good thing being road presence & performance. Again, decent performance, nothing outstanding.

Last edited by raj_5004 : 1st December 2011 at 16:07.
raj_5004 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st December 2011, 16:55   #43

Sure, go ahead & compare it with Captiva, Endy & Santa Fe. Will actually show how overpriced the Fortuner really is!

Poor ride, poor refinement & boring interiors - all in all, not worth 24 lacs. The only good thing being road presence & performance. Again, decent performance, nothing outstanding.

I just asked why YOU compared the Fortuner with the Innova and now you are asking ME to compare vehicles.

I trust you have test driven all the said vehicles before forming your opinion. Anyways thanks; everyone is entitled to their opinion. It would have helped if you had said this was your opinion instead of airing it authoritatively!
Old 1st December 2011, 17:13   #44

I just asked why YOU compared the Fortuner with the Innova and now you are asking ME to compare vehicles.

I trust you have test driven all the said vehicles before forming your opinion. Anyways thanks; everyone is entitled to their opinion. It would have helped if you had said this was your opinion instead of airing it authoritatively!
No offence buddy but if i start a full fledged comparo between the said vehicles here, it would end up in a lengthy OT discussion, which the MODS wont allow. Hence, I left it as that by saying that if the Fortuner is compared with Santa Fe, Captiva & Endy, it actually feels overpriced.

Yes, I have driven the Fortuner, Captiva & Endy but not the Santa Fe.

And my first comment itself clearly shows that this is just my personal opinion and hence, I am in no ways trying to be 'authoritative'.

Last edited by raj_5004 : 1st December 2011 at 17:15.
Old 1st December 2011, 17:49   #45

The Fortuner is a heavy duty machine, designed & built for harsh environment and bad roads, while the Innova is light/medium duty machine, designed for normal road travel.

The Fortuner and the legendary Landcruiser 76/78/79 are priced near each other, even though the Fortuner has the 3L CRDi engine while the said LC has 4L DI engine and rear leaf springs. The rear drum brakes are common. Now any day I will prefer the LC 7x series for tough off road conditions with its mammoth engine, but both have their niche and buyers. From its positioning and price I assume that Fortuner is as tough as the LC 7x series. The LC 7x series is also sold in Australia in the similar price range, but there is no Fortuner sold in Australia.

Soft roaders are much lighter and in the light/medium duty category (every thing - engine, gear box, chassis is designed for light duty), hence they are cheaper to manufacture. Their cost goes up due to the quantity of electronics required. Take all the electronics out and soft roaders will cost half that of heavy duty 4x4.
Aroy is offline   (1) Thanks