Old 2nd January 2012, 14:13   #46

Re: New BMW X3 Officially out on Bmw.in. EDIT : Now launched @ Pg. 3

Lovely pic Anvancy courtesy JKDas.
The front grille identifies it as the X3 3.0d version.Any driving experience or impressions of the car?Please do share.
@Akshay1234,if the 335d in a limited edition is going to be available here,that would be my first choice,though from what you say pricing will take it into 5 price range,just like the 330d convertible.Hope it has a sensible price tag.

Last edited by 911987 : 2nd January 2012 at 14:30. Reason: incomplete
Old 2nd January 2012, 15:57   #47

I also recorded the Engine sound of the X3.

Hope you all will like it.

Anvancy
Old 2nd January 2012, 16:39   #48

Originally Posted by 911987 View Post
Lovely pic Anvancy courtesy JKDas.
The front grille identifies it as the X3 3.0d version.Any driving experience or impressions of the car?Please do share.
@Akshay1234,if the 335d in a limited edition is going to be available here,that would be my first choice,though from what you say pricing will take it into 5 price range,just like the 330d convertible.Hope it has a sensible price tag.
Its not a 3.0, its the 2.0. THe 3.0 has 18" rims.

You can be sure the price will be in 5 territory if launched since it will be a CBU. Though I await your comments after driving the tuned 320d. Lol it can be called a 325d
Old 2nd January 2012, 18:07   #49

Thanks Akshay1234 for the correction,just went by the satinated grille,which according to spec sheet came in the 3.0d, neglected to check the rims.
Listened to the sound recording of the 2.0d,thank God for good sound insulation and the fact that I always drive windows up,or I might have gone back to petrol.
@Akshay1234,point taken on the modded 320d being close to a 325d,but after you mentioned the possibility of a 335d,will wait and watch.Will definitely TD the Infinity modded car when I am next in Mumbai,though.
@MODS:If my meanderings are detracting from the content and spirit of this thread,please guide on if and how I can start a new thread entitled
BMW,PLEASE HELP,Make 6 into 3 equal 5!
Old 12th February 2014, 19:25   #50

2015 BMW X3 facelift announced with updated 2.0L diesel engine.

• Enlarged headlamps
  • LED headlights are now optional
  • Revised kidney grille
  • New front and rear bumpers
  • wing mirror integrated turn indicators
  • New alloy wheel
  • center console in a high-gloss finish
  • new cupholders and upholstery designs
  • automatic opening of the tailgate
This is going to be a 190 HP version of BMW's 2.0L diesel engine.
Launch of the refreshed X3 is expected later this year.

New BMW X3 Officially out on Bmw.in. EDIT : Now launched @ Pg. 3-2015bmwx3faceliftpressshotfront.jpg

New BMW X3 Officially out on Bmw.in. EDIT : Now launched @ Pg. 3-2015bmwx3faceliftpressshotinterior.jpg

New BMW X3 Officially out on Bmw.in. EDIT : Now launched @ Pg. 3-2015bmwx3faceliftpressshotwheel1024x681.jpg

Source: http://indianautosblog.com/2014/02/2...acelift-120181

Last edited by sarathlal : 12th February 2014 at 19:27.
Old 12th February 2014, 20:59   #51

The pre LCI X3 looked a bit bland from the front, and the facelift now fixes that. Also the headlights going to the grille look far better on this than on the F30. Nice to see some kit added. And if they have updated the 20d to 190bhp then we can expect it in the rest of the range soon too.
Old 13th August 2014, 16:46   #52

BMW will launch the 2015 facelift version of its premium luxury SUV - X3 on August 28, in India. This car has been selling in the Indian market since 2011 and this will be the second update to the X3, the first one being a major refresh in 2013. However, the X3 hasn't been able to gain popularity compared to its direct rival - the Audi Q5.

The 2015 X3 features changes which are mainly cosmetic with minor mechanical tweaks. What is immediately striking is the new face which is more muscular due to the bolder kidney grill, re-designed head lamps, redesigned bumper and aggressive bonnet lines. Other changes include new rear bumpers, new tail lamps and new alloy wheel design. On a casual glance, the X3 can be easily mistaken to be an X5.

The interiors of the X3 will feature newer upholstery among other things and an electrically openable bootlid. The car is expected to be powered by the same engines powering the current X3 i.e. 2.0 litre and 3.0 litre turbo diesel units, with a minor power bump to the former unit.

BMW will continue to assemble the X3 at its plant in Chennai. The current X3 is priced between Rs.42.70 lakhs and Rs.54.90 lakhs ex-showroom.

New BMW X3 Officially out on Bmw.in. EDIT : Now launched @ Pg. 3-x3.jpg

Link to news article

Last edited by S2!!! : 13th August 2014 at 16:50.
S2!!! is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th August 2014, 10:04   #53

The 2 ltr diesel version will be launched in two trims this month. The 3 ltr variant will be available only late this year or early 2015.
The 2 ltr variants will come with the reworked engine churning out 190 bhp and 400 NM torque.
It will have an electric tail gate closer by default in all variants now.
I have the spec sheet, but cannot disclose it for confidential reasons.
ecclipse78 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th August 2014, 14:03   #54
PPS

X3 facelift launched at Rs 44.90 lakh for xDrive 20d Expedition and Rs 49.9 lakh for xDrive 20d xlline (ex-showroom, Delhi).

http://www.motorbeam.com/cars/bmw-x3...s-44-90-lakhs/
Old 28th August 2014, 17:08   #55

Why no X3 30d? Hope they bring it in at a later stage.
Old 28th August 2014, 17:45   #56

Why no X3 30d? Hope they bring it in at a later stage.
For whom & why ? they cant price 6 cylinder one less than 58-60 lac and at price base X5 @ 64 L will be too close

They have quietly increased prices of all other models by 1 % or so except CBU & 7 series ..glad I bought my 530 last week , new prices are around 70 K higher .
Old 28th August 2014, 21:05   #57

They might launch the X3 - 3.0d M sport next year.
Old 29th August 2014, 08:53   #58

For whom & why ? they cant price 6 cylinder one less than 58-60 lac and at price base X5 @ 64 L will be too close

They have quietly increased prices of all other models by 1 % or so except CBU & 7 series ..glad I bought my 530 last week , new prices are around 70 K higher .
For the performance hungry enthusiast.

I do agree that the the 2.0 ltr diesel with 190 bhp has more than enough performance. But the thing is, the other non premium brands also offer very similar performance at almost 60% price. This wasn't the case, say a decade ago, when the BMWs and Mercs offered a real performance edge. Today my 15 lakh 1.8 ltr petrol Laura can not only keep up with the 2.0 ltr german diesels, but also humble them in a highway duel.

Crossovers like the Santa Fe and Captiva also boast of very similar power figures. Its a sad trend to see the bigger brands concentrating on their entry level engine offerings for India and refusing to bring in their real performers. Even if they are launched, some of these variants just remain on paper. If they can give me the 30d at a premium of about 5 lakhs over the 20d, I wouldn't think twice.
Santoshbhat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2014, 11:15   #59

Today my 15 lakh 1.8 ltr petrol Laura can not only keep up with the 2.0 ltr german diesels, but also humble them in a highway duel.
I am sure you must be referring to Audi - A4 , BMW 320 D will still be different

Crossovers like the Santa Fe and Captiva also boast of very similar power figures. Its a sad trend to see the bigger brands concentrating on their entry level engine offerings for India and refusing to bring in their real performers
Well even in overseas , these German companies are coming out with small engines but that has to do more with Speed Limits , Fuel & Insurance costs . They do have M or AMG spec one's in wider range and also larger sizes of engines because of sheer size of economy - there are many people who can afford different cars for weekdays and then for weekend track days . BMW US sold 350 Thousand Cars against less than 10 Thousand in India last year ..

Last edited by Turbanator : 29th August 2014 at 11:17.
Old 29th August 2014, 12:09   #60

I am sure you must be referring to Audi - A4 , BMW 320 D will still be different

Well even in overseas , these German companies are coming out with small engines but that has to do more with Speed Limits , Fuel & Insurance costs . They do have M or AMG spec one's in wider range and also larger sizes of engines because of sheer size of economy - there are many people who can afford different cars for weekdays and then for weekend track days . BMW US sold 350 Thousand Cars against less than 10 Thousand in India last year ..
I am not against downsizing of engines. With turbocharging and technical advancements engineers are able to extract similar figures from the bigger engines of the past. I also agree that it doesn't make good business sense to introduce variants that aren't going to sell in large numbers. But I am sure these big Germans will be very uneasy with the fact that their best sellers in India don't really hold any great performance edge when compared to the lesser brands.

Even the 320 D. I should have mentioned my car isn't stock. Nothing major though, just a remap with some stiffer dampers.