Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Indian Car Loans & Insurance

Old 23rd June 2006, 22:00   #1

Interest free car loans ... !!

Hey, Today I heard about a company that provides car loans from ICICI Bank for new/used cars and the best part is that they literally return your interest amount back every 6months with PDC's !!

Its something like this ...

Loan Amount = 4 lacs
Interest Rate = 10%
Loan Tenure = 3 yrs
Total Interest due in 3 yrs = 1,20,000/-

But this company will give you 6 PDC's ( 1 for every 6 months ) which in total will be to a total of 90% of Rs 1,20,000, thus u get 1,08,000 back . Each PDC will be for an amount of 108000/6 = 18,000 bucks .

It sounds unbelievable , doesnt it ?? I dont know what to make of this .. so if any of you guys have heard of this let me know the catch in this scheme , if any ??

I hope you guys have understood it ... I'm pretty bad in explaining through words !!!

Old 23rd June 2006, 22:29   #2

does it include the discount on financing or are they returning discount to you, after eating the intrest of the amount over the promised return period...Bhai..Nothing..well almost nothing is Intrest Free..Either they make money on the value of the car or they charge you in some other way...But Absolutely Never Free..!
Old 23rd June 2006, 22:57   #3

Originally Posted by wolfinstein
does it include the discount on financing or are they returning discount to you, after eating the intrest of the amount over the promised return period...Bhai..Nothing..well almost nothing is Intrest Free..Either they make money on the value of the car or they charge you in some other way...But Absolutely Never Free..!
Hey, I agree nothing is free but its pretty close to being free if you compare it with a regular loan . And thats the reason I posted ..maybe others have experienced something like this . As for the 5% of loan amount as discount -- well that amount is not available to us but thats only 20K in my example .

Just trying to figure this scenario out .;... coz even a second hand car looks very tempting with this scheme .

PS -- I forgot to mention one thing ... if your cheque bounces on even one payment in those 3 yrs u lose the eligibility for the refund !! Its a very strange scenario ....
Old 23rd June 2006, 23:00   #4

Hmm..Good..But is it a direct deal from the bank or a bank appointed DSA Financer ( Which generally are Car Dealers/Agents/Tele-Market/Classified Ad's) and also remember that you might be paying them an Advance EMI which is infact the Agents or Dealers comission-Opt for a plan that does not have this option..as its an additional EMI you pay for free...!
Old 23rd June 2006, 23:08   #5

Hey, Its a DSA or agent of ICICI Bank or something like that ... will be calling them myself tomorrow and see what I can figure out about the deal !! Also there is no advance EMI ... in a new car loan the applicant doesnt get the 5% discount of the loan amount !!!

Thats what it seems like so far ... and buying a second hand car wud be a cake -- cheaper car at chepaer rate of interest -- wat more cud one want ???

Old 27th June 2006, 17:06   #6

Does someone has more information on this interest free loans from ICICI.
Khaadu75 did you call the bank and found out anything.
Good riding
Old 27th June 2006, 19:29   #7

what is pdc ? pls explain
Old 27th June 2006, 20:10   #8

PDC is a Post Dated Cheque.
Old 25th September 2006, 05:35   #9

Is there any new updates regarding this "interest-free" loans ?

Is the ICICI disbursing this "interest-free" loans even now ?

Has anyone availed of this opportunity ?
Old 27th September 2006, 17:53   #10

i think it is a load of crap. icici or any other bank will not give anything free of interest. mods, please close this thread.
Old 27th September 2006, 18:41   #11

Originally Posted by esteem_lover
i think it is a load of crap. icici or any other bank will not give anything free of interest. mods, please close this thread.
Hey, Id rather that you keep ur commenst to your self --- and the Mods know what they are doing without you having to tell them what is crap and what isn't !!!!

Either comment on the topic or else pls don't post ... there are other ways to increase your post count ..

Old 28th September 2006, 10:21   #12

When ever there is an offer, it looks promising. I guess we need it figure out what is hidden in this offer. That is more important. Please post when you get an update on this offer
Old 28th September 2006, 12:47   #13

sorry, no offense meant to anyone in particular. Just that there is no need to mislead anyone.

Originally Posted by khaadu75
Hey, Its a DSA or agent of ICICI Bank or something like that ... will be calling them myself tomorrow and see what I can figure out about the deal !! Also there is no advance EMI ... in a new car loan the applicant doesnt get the 5% discount of the loan amount !!!

Thats what it seems like so far ... and buying a second hand car wud be a cake -- cheaper car at chepaer rate of interest -- wat more cud one want ???

@khaadu75 : BTW, please do post what happened after that call you said you were going to make. that should throw some light on this.

p.s. what does increasing the post count mean ?
Old 27th October 2006, 22:09   #14

khaadu, did you get a chance to call the DSA and find out about the scheme. I would appreciate if you could post in your comments
Old 30th October 2006, 01:00   #15

Khaadu,
I am sure there is some catch.. There is no way the bank can give u interest free loans.. From the looks of it all i can say is that.. The interest that u pay them first they will earn some money on that and probably thats what they wud be returning back to you..
Kinda wierd tho.. did u get anymore info on that..
And what 5% discount is everyone talking about...

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com