Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Indian Car Dealerships

Old 1st December 2009, 12:09   #1

Maruti dealer gave me fake Llumar sunfilm!

I recently bought an Alto LXI in Bangalore and I need some help regarding the quality of sunfilms provided by the dealer.

The Maruti dealer gave me Sunfilm (Garware) as a free accessory and I traded-in for Llumar (Medium Dark) with the differential amount (INR 850).

After I took the delivery, I observed that the film has peeled a bit at the front left door edge. There's also few bubbles on the windshield top left corner. I felt suspicious as I could not find the Llumar logo on any of the doors and windshield nor did I receive a warranty card. I called up the dealer and enquired about this and he told me that I have bought a basic version of Llumar and hence there are no logos on the film and it does not come with a warranty card either. He assured me that he will look into this and provide a new sunfilm or rectify the current one.

Please help me with your suggestions and clarify what he is saying is right or not.

Anandab
Old 1st December 2009, 12:28   #2

Originally Posted by Anandab View Post
he told me that I have bought a basic version of Llumar and hence there are no logos on the film and it does not come with a warranty card either. He assured me that he will look into this and provide a new sunfilm or rectify the current one.
I don't buy that story. he's taking you for a ride. Insist on genuine Llumar. I am sure all versions come with Logos and warranty cards!
Old 1st December 2009, 12:30   #3

If I am right, the basic version (I think it is called the silver series) of Llumar sunfilms come with 1 year warranty. Their platinum series comes with 5 years warranty. (Diamond series is for front windshields only)
Old 1st December 2009, 12:53   #4

anandab,

i used to be the channel partner for LLumar till last year.Films have to be installed in a very professional manner.

All films come with LLumar logos. He is taking you for a ride.

So please do the needful and get the genuine LLumar fixed.
Old 1st December 2009, 12:59   #5

Send him a soft email regarding your complaint about the film.
Also refer the telephonic talk between you and the dealer guy whereby he assured you to settle the matter. Assurance on telephone may not yield serious effect?
Old 1st December 2009, 13:05   #6

Ask him to show this basic version in it's pack & check for yourself. Insist on him changing it immediately. Why would you pay 850 bucks for nothing ?
Old 1st December 2009, 13:05   #7

Definitely it is not Llumar, nothing else explains the missing logos. As said, send an email to the dealer first and if there is no solution, take it upto MSIL, by mails.
Old 1st December 2009, 13:25   #8

I called up the Llumar India office in Bangalore (details below) and explained them about the whole situation. They told me that Llumar Automotive films comes in three variants:

Platinum Series
Silver Series
Diamond Series (Windshield)

All their products regardless of being the least priced or the most expensive one have a 3 year warranty on them. I have the Black 20 (Silver series) on my car and he told me that it would cost around INR 1600-1700 (almost same as quoted by the dealer).

He also said that Llumar logo comes only on the liner and not exactly on the film. He asked me to get the warranty card and the bill and call back if I need help. I am going to get the warranty card from the dealer to get a closure on this ASAP.

Llumar Karnataka Address:

BANGALORE OFFICE
Gras Impex Pvt Ltd

25/1,Shamrao Compound
P.Kalinga Road,
Near Mission Road
Bangalore-560027

Ph - 080-22107338 / 9

Anandab
Old 1st December 2009, 13:42   #9

Firstly its not original film and secondly which ever it is not being fixed properly, talk to dealers higher authority and see he gives you original ones which does have logos on them along with waranty card.Surely this would be solved if not, talk to MSL through mails, buti dont think it would needed.
Old 1st December 2009, 14:19   #10

Anandab, please mention the dealer name also here, so that prospective buyers can insure this doesn't happen with them in future.
Old 1st December 2009, 14:33   #11

Hi guys,

Llumar film DOES NOT come with a logo so please avoid confusion and making it look like the film installed on Ananda's car by his dealer is fake!! I have installed Neutral 50 on the sides & rear and AIR 75 on the front on my Swift. The install was done from an authorised Llumar Store. There are no logos on the film wat so ever. Ive got a 5 year warranty.

@Ananda - It is a known fact that all automobile dealers who give feebees like sun film, security system, music system, etc will give you these products which will be of the most basic model/range. Please insure you get a bill/warranty card for your sun film though which can help in free replacement incase of faulty fitment like air bubbles & the film peeling off as mentioned by you.
Old 1st December 2009, 23:15   #12

People, the film before applying consists of two parts, one part which has the name of the Brand (LLumar) in this case and the other is the one which is actually applied. Hence, one cannot judge the authenticity simply by looking for the LLumar logo on the installed film.

As far as warranty is concerned, the dealer must have used the Architectural roll of the basic film and hence, no warranty.

MODS, please change the title as it's conveying a wrong message. Anandb is not sure of the authenticity, and people are asking for the dealer's name. Without any concrete proof, unintentionally the dealer's image might be tarnished which I think will be very unethical on our part. As mentioned, basic LLumar from an architectural roll is not meant for automotive use and hence, warranty may not be provided at company level. Anandb must have asked for LLumar without further emphasis on the various series of LLumar and hence, the dealer got the basic architectural film.

Members, it's a request to all. Please be prudent while giving the title and providing facts; I do agree that we can't be knowledgeable about everything but yes, at least we can title our threads in such a way that represents the reality. If we're not sure of the problem, rather than using 'Blame' in the title we can use the case of 'Doubt'. No offences to anyone, and Anandb even I'm in learning phase but I understand how bad it can be for the dealer if his name would have been made public before hand. I appreciate the fact that you remained mum on dealer's name.
Old 2nd December 2009, 00:34   #13

Sounds more like a shabby install job. I too have the basic Llumar range on my car, but the installation was not too good so there are a few tiny bubbles. However, 2 years down the line there has been absolutely no peeling.
Mention the name of the dealer just so TBHPians know what to look out for with this particular place. The question of us tarnishing the dealer's reputation does not arise. The dealer has already taken care of that with a shabby installation job.
Old 11th April 2010, 08:43   #14

I know this thread is a bit old.

Originally Posted by tsk13 View Post
As far as warranty is concerned, the dealer must have used the Architectural roll of the basic film and hence, no warranty.

MODS, please change the title as it's conveying a wrong message. Anandb is not sure of the authenticity, and people are asking for the dealer's name. Without any concrete proof, unintentionally the dealer's image might be tarnished which I think will be very unethical on our part. As mentioned, basic LLumar from an architectural roll is not meant for automotive use and hence, warranty may not be provided at company level. Anandb must have asked for LLumar without further emphasis on the various series of LLumar and hence, the dealer got the basic architectural film.

Members, it's a request to all. Please be prudent while giving the title and providing facts; I do agree that we can't be knowledgeable about everything but yes, at least we can title our threads in such a way that represents the reality. If we're not sure of the problem, rather than using 'Blame' in the title we can use the case of 'Doubt'. No offences to anyone, and Anandb even I'm in learning phase but I understand how bad it can be for the dealer if his name would have been made public before hand. I appreciate the fact that you remained mum on dealer's name.
What do you mean Anandb is not sure of authenticity? He bought, paid for, Llumar he may or may not have got Llumar since he dint get the warranty card.

If the dealer has provided architectural film to the guy that too is cheating, right? Car = car film, doesn't have to be mentioned specifically.

Shoddy job and no warranty = almost as good as fake if the customer can't get his peeling film redone foc.

There's nothing wrong if he mentions dealer name, dealer gets what he deserves.

Customer should get what he pays for.

Anandb, did you get the issue resolved?
Old 11th April 2010, 21:12   #15

Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
What do you mean Anandb is not sure of authenticity? He bought, paid for, Llumar he may or may not have got Llumar since he dint get the warranty card.

If the dealer has provided architectural film to the guy that too is cheating, right? Car = car film, doesn't have to be mentioned specifically.
The Sole basis for him judging the Authenticity is by the Peeling of the film. A Genuine high-end 3M if not installed properly will peel off soon. And Warranty Cards may not be the trend with Architectural Rolls.

Sankar, the trend of specific car films isn't very old and even today when we ask for films we are shown the basic ones generally from the Architectural Rolls. The reason as to why we are shown the basic films depends on the following:
1. A knowledgeable customer will straight away ask for a Specific model or Shade card. Eg. CR xx Series, Steel xx Series.

2. When you straight away talk in terms like Film lagani hai and supplement it with the shades and VLT, the seller always shows you the basic films. This is how the market has been working for long. Seldomly will he show to the high end at the first go as the price may send out a wrong message that this particular seller overcharges.

Shoddy job and no warranty = almost as good as fake if the customer can't get his peeling film redone foc.

There's nothing wrong if he mentions dealer name, dealer gets what he deserves.
The films deserves to be re-done at the cost of the seller BUT will Anandb pay for the damages on account of false allegation (if the film is genuine Llumar)? It's better to be confident of the facts before posting the Dealer's name. Also Anandb didn't mention in his post if he talked in specific terms like the Film's name, Heat Rejection etc.

Customer should get what he pays for.

Anandb, did you get the issue resolved?
Anandb, since you've created this thread it is your responsibility to carry it forward as your posts are important to this thread reaching a conclusion else it should be closed to prevent further wrong interpretations.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com