Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 26th September 2012, 14:43   #11566
Senior - BHPian

Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmosedici View Post
Its seems like a pain to get it sorted. I tried configuring the Static IP as mentioned in different forums but doesnt work. I want to download JB but since the wifi gets disconnected, there is no way i can do that.

Many Thanks
Hi,

A friend faced similar issues in his Nexus running on 4.0.4; US purchased and his local mobile guy advised him to check the router security settings as some (WEP or WPA) do tend to play up with some Mobile phones. I am no expert here so cant explain in detail. Eventually what we did was,

1. deleted wifi details from phone,
2. reset his router,
3. Changed his SSID and
4. Removed security and made it an open / un secured network.

Then we had no issues keeping up the connectivity; we tested that leaving the phone connected to the wifi network for a good 1-2 hours and streaming videos on youtube. After which he downloaded the JB 4.1 and since then no issues.

Do give this method a try; i don't assure it will work or not. But it did work from my friend and been almost over 10 days since he did this method.

Regards,
Old 26th September 2012, 15:27   #11567
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
Hi,

A friend faced similar issues in his Nexus running on 4.0.4; US purchased and his local mobile guy advised him to check the router security settings as some (WEP or WPA) do tend to play up with some Mobile phones. I am no expert here so cant explain in detail. Eventually what we did was,

1. deleted wifi details from phone,
2. reset his router,
3. Changed his SSID and
4. Removed security and made it an open / un secured network.