Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 6th July 2024, 13:49   #32536
BHPian

Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Thank you @ Thad & @nibedk.

@ Thad - yes - I too have an aversion to buying things on Flipkart, moreover due to reasons best known to Flipkart, they is not able to reset / restart my account with my mobile number until I send them them my adhaar copy!!

@nibedk - Thank you for your valuable inputs, seems like the pixel 8 seems to be the best bet for me and hopefully the prices will come down and I double hope, till that time my Nokia is still breathing
I also do not want to go for an iPhone as in my opinion ( I am not an expert though) I feel the OS is very cumbersome / outdated / difficult to navigate - all in the name of security?!!! (my wife has an iPhone),
also iPhones do not have the Microsoft SMS manager - the BEST app on an android phone.
Sunil@KA25 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th July 2024, 23:02   #32537
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunil@KA25 View Post
I am myself using a Nokia 8.1 from the last 6 and 1/2 years which is running on stock android and still going strong / excellent for my usage,(calls, WhatsApp, maps and photos) a replacement (not original) battery 6 months ago killed my urge for an upgrade!! A couple of images from my Nokia 8.1 with Gcam installed (images during my recent trip to Tirumala) is making me lean towards the pixels.
I used to have Nokia 8 and I really loved it's in-hand metal feel. It was ultra-light and ultra-slim. Camera was not great in low light conditions though, but GCam app mostly fixed that problem. Sadly, despite changing battery, charge on the phone used to drop rapidly to zero from 50% and was forced to get rid of it.