Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 7th October 2023, 10:57   #6901

Re: The Laptop Thread: Configs, deals & questions

The most powerful and upgradable laptops have always been gaming laptops. In terms of specs for the money, no other laptops can beat gaming laptops. Who says you need to game on it? There are a few downsides, gaming laptops aren't very portable cause of the weight and the terrible battery life. But if you can look past those, here are a few options I found.
1. If you wanna stick to dell:
Dell Gaming G15-5530 13th Gen Laptop, Intel i5-13450HX/16GB/512GB SSD/NVIDIA RTX 3050 (6GB GDDR6)/15.6" (39.62cm) FHD 120Hz 250 nits/Win 11+MSO'21/Backlit Keyboard 4-Zone RGB/Dark Shadow Gray/2.65kg https://amzn.eu/d/fgSdtRl

2. Hp: HP Victus Gaming Laptop, 12th Gen Intel Core i7-12650H, NVIDIA RTX 3050 GPU, 15.6-inch (39.6 cm), 75W TGP*, FHD, IPS, 144Hz, 9 ms Response time, 16GB DDR4, 512GB SSD (MSO, Blue, 2.29 kg), fa0188TX https://amzn.eu/d/8fxDVxS

3: Asus: ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) 64WHrs Battery, Intel Core i5-13450HX 13th Gen, 16" FHD+ 165Hz, 6GB RTX 3050, Gaming Laptop (16GB/512GB SSD/Windows 11/Office 2021/4-Zone RGB KB/Gray/2.50 Kg) G614JJ-N3086WS https://amzn.eu/d/fUJwLOq

Also, if you don't wish to go for a gaming laptop, here's a good workstation laptop: HP ZBook Firefly 14 G7 Workstation Laptop 14.0" FHD IPS with High Performance Dockztorm USB Dock (Intel i5-10210U 4-Core, 32GB RAM, 1TB PCIe SSD, Intel UHD, Backlit KYB, FP, WiFi 6, Win10Pro) https://amzn.eu/d/6wwkAit
LBWKjesko is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 11:32   #6902

Guys, please suggest a powerful laptop that'll be used to run Team-BHP . My 2018 Dell Latitude 7490 is choking under the current workloads.
If you're going the ThinkPad route, you should look at P14s. I am typing this from a T14 gen2, and I think it's a solid laptop. The thermals are not great though but that is the case with most modern laptops, and I think you will be better off getting a Ryzen 7.
Night_Fury is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 11:47   #6903

Guys, please suggest a powerful laptop that'll be used to run Team-BHP . My 2018 Dell Latitude 7490 is choking under the current workloads.
What a coincidence! Just last month I replaced my 2018 Dell gaming laptop with an Asus Vivobook Pro 16 OLED (KK602). Look no further if you’ve been searching for a no-compromise beast of a windows laptop! Here are some of the key features that make this a great laptop:

The Laptop Thread: Configs, deals & questions-asusvivobookpro16.jpg

Display: High resolution OLED panel with high refresh rate & peak brightness
16 inch, 3.2K (3200 x 2000) OLED 16:10 aspect ratio,
0.2ms response time, 120Hz refresh rate, peak brightness 600nits,
VESA CERTIFIED Display HDR True Black 600, Glossy display, Screen-to-body ratio of 87%.

Camera: 1080p FHD camera with privacy shutter

Latest Processor: 13th Gen Intel® Core™ H-series CPU
You can choose between:
i5-13500H Processor 2.6 GHz (18MB Cache, up to 4.7 GHz, 12 cores, 16 Threads);
i9-11900H Processor 2.5 GHz (24M Cache, up to 4.9 GHz, 8 cores); or
i9-13900H Processor 2.6 GHz (24MB Cache, up to 5.4 GHz, 14 cores, 20 Threads).

High performance GPU’s: Integrated + Dedicated
Intel® Iris Xe Graphics combined with a choice of dedicated GPU’s.
You can choose between:
NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX™ 3050 Laptop GPU 4GB GDDR6; or
NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 4050 Laptop GPU 6GB GDDR6.

Cooling/Ventilation:
ASUS IceCool Plus thermal technology
dual-fan, triple-vented cooling system

Memory/RAM: Dual Channel
8GB DDR5 on board + 8GB DDR5 SO-DIMM
Total system memory expandable upto :24GB

Storage
You can choose between:
1TB M.2 NVMe™ PCIe® 4.0 SSD
512GB M.2 NVMe™ PCIe® 4.0 SSD

Battery & Power
96WHrs, 3S2P, 6-cell Li-ion
ř4.5, 150W AC Adapter, Output: 20V DC, 7.5A, 150W, Input: 100~240V AC, 50/60Hz universal

I/O Ports
1x USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C support display / power delivery
2x USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A
1x Thunderbolt™ 4 supports display / power delivery
1x HDMI 2.1 TMDS
1x 3.5mm Combo Audio Jack
1x RJ45 Gigabit Ethernet
1x DC-in
Micro SD card reader

Weight & dimensions: surprisingly light & sleek considering the specs on offer
1.90 Kg (4.19 lbs)
35.53 x 25.20 x 1.90 ~ 2.00 cm (13.99" x 9.92" x 0.75" ~ 0.79")
US MIL-STD 810H military-grade standard

My ageing Dell laptop had decent specs to begin with, but I needed something lightweight, with a good display & great battery life without compromising on the hardware. After many weeks of searching multiple websites & online platforms i came across this laptop on the Asus website. It is by far one of the best all-rounders out there, with literally no compromise on any aspect. Here's the website link for your reference: https://www.asus.com/in/laptops/for-...16-oled-k6602/
Nair.V8 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 12:51   #6904

Originally Posted by LBWKjesko View Post
2. Hp: HP Victus Gaming Laptop, 12th Gen Intel Core i7-12650H, NVIDIA RTX 3050 GPU, 15.6-inch (39.6 cm), 75W TGP*, FHD, IPS, 144Hz, 9 ms Response time, 16GB DDR4, 512GB SSD (MSO, Blue, 2.29 kg), fa0188TX https://amzn.eu/d/8fxDVxS
I have been using this laptop for the last 15 months without any fuss. I had upgraded the RAM to 32 GB and storage to 2 TB. I had also purchased an optional extended warranty from HP for 3 years.

Note: This laptop doesn't have an additional HDD slot. So, I had to replace the 512 GB SSD with a 2 TB one.
noob_petrolmonk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 13:05   #6905

Second to none
I bought a workstation laptop back in 2019- the Dell Precision 7540. It's a BTO laptop (and they only sold it to businesses, which could be easily bypassed), at least in India, and maybe was an overkill for my requirements.
No questions asked, on-site repairs per your convenience, 5 year Pro Support Plus package, with keep-your-hard-drive option. Absolute boatloads of customisation options.
The only bottleneck that my laptop faced is in the graphics department (though, if I'd bought the 17-incher, that would've given me an even manic processor, but size and portability were an issue). You can have it in touch screen variant, select the quality of the screen (colour gamut, LED/OLED, refresh rate), you can even customise the keyboard layout, add/ remove the fingerprint sensor, NFC reader, IR camera, have upto 4 SSDs, 128(?) GB of different classes of RAM (ECC being one of the options), workstation grade, 10-core, 65W TDP processor and *some spacecraft-level* graphics card, all encased in some military-grade bombshell.
The laptop has never given up, even during heavy workloads (but once threw up a blue screen error, but that I guess was due to an upgrade to an unstable Windows 11 version).
The only limitations here- money, and heft. And do check if they've launched a later version.

Originally Posted by Nair.V8 View Post
What a coincidence! Just last month I replaced my 2018 Dell gaming laptop with an Asus Vivobook Pro 16 OLED (KK602). Look no further if you’ve been searching for a no-compromise beast of a windows laptop!
Otherwise, this ^ comes close.

Last edited by Harjot37 : 7th October 2023 at 13:12.
Harjot37 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 13:47   #6906

Guys, please suggest a powerful laptop that'll be used to run Team-BHP .
I have a slightly offbeat suggestion. It seems that using more number of chrome tabs consumes more of your RAM which in turns makes your current laptop sluggish.

This is something you can overcome by understanding and using Chrome in a slightly better way.

Here is a very useful link to get you started on using tab groups and optimizing the memory usage.

Also one more chrome extension which I use very extensively that helps in optimizing CPU performance is onetab which can group multiple tabs into one tab and re-opens all in one click. Using this you can also work very organized on various topics by clubbing them.

Give the tab groups of chrome or onetab a try for a week or two and then you might not even need a new laptop anymore.

Last edited by Sheel : 7th October 2023 at 15:46. Reason: ur = your. No SMS language please. Thanks.
carthick1000 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 13:49   #6907

Originally Posted by Nair.V8 View Post
Asus Vivobook Pro 16 OLED (KK602).
How good is Asus service - is it as good as Dell's?

I have had a Dell Inspiron for nearly 5 years & the service for the 4 years I had a warranty for has been outstanding. At home service, no questions asked or troubled & usually within a day or two.

I know you may not have needed Asus service yet, so this is a question for others who have owned Asus laptops.

Also, the reliability of the Inspiron has been better for me than even multiple Thinkpad T-Series which had I had used earlier. Is Asus as reliable?
carboy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 14:51   #6908

Originally Posted by LBWKjesko View Post
The most powerful and upgradable laptops have always been gaming laptops. In terms of specs for the money, no other laptops can beat gaming laptops.
Agreed. Gaming laptops provide only 1-3 hours battery, but for the use case you've asked @GTO, this should be fine.

Rendering 100s of tabs is an easy to parallelize workload for Chrome, with its process per page architecture. For 100s of tabs, it's the RAM and CPU cores which will be the bottlenecks. So I'd recommend to go for the most RAM and then the most cores. Typically, it's the gaming laptops which provide the max config here. As an added bonus, gaming laptops also have a powerful GPU, so that would help with rendering the web pages, video etc more efficiently and faster as well, thereby reducing the load on the CPU and RAM even more.

You need 64 GB of RAM, which is the max mainstream capacity in laptops. 128GB laptops(64 GB DIMM per stick) are still rare and the price increases non-linearly and not necessary.

1. HP 64GB of RAM, Ryzen 5700U 8 cores and 16 hardware threads. This has only built-in AMD GPU, but this might be good enough.
2. Asus RoG 64GB RAM, Intel 13650HX 14 cores, 20 hardware threads

For extended warranty, Amazon provide upto 2 years extra over the manufacturer and you can get better deals from the manufacturer web site itself at times.

You can also look at optimizing the browser using extensions or using Edge like other Team-BHP members have recommended above.

I'm personally using a Lenovo Legion Gaming laptop with Ryzen 4800H from 3 years ago and I do have 100+ tabs, 20-30 docker containers to run apps/DBs and sometimes even VMs as well and it has never slowed down. Never needed any repairs and it stays cool always thanks to the full size fans and heat vents this has. Business laptops are built to be sleek, but this means the heat dissipation is tough due to narrow or non-existent heat vents and it's more form over function. Gaming laptops don't have these problems since these are built for extreme performance which is what you need.
skarthikeyan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 15:38   #6909

Hey GTO,
If you need Horsepower, try one of the MSI Creator laptops like the Z16 or go for the Dell XPS 13 or 15.

If you don't have any problems with a tank of a machine, look into a few high-end gaming laptops... they will certainly have enough power and enough cooling to back it (plus tons of I/O).

Sincerely,
Space Infinite
SpaceInfinite is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 17:09   #6910

Checkout Lenovo Legion Pro 7i. Comes with the 13900HX Processor. If you are buying it as a business customer, sign up for Lenovo Pro and you will get an Account Manager assigned to you, and you will get premium support as well.

I went a slightly different route, I have a powerful Desktop from Lenovo for my work and I use Mac to remote desktop into my PC when I have to work away from my desk.
pradeepkc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 18:03   #6911

So I am someone whos machine is always working on overload, so much that laptops no matter how powerful is always slow for me, that I have to have a powerful desktop running. (60% CPU and 24 Gigs of memory consumed for majority of the day)

This is mainly because of a lot of builds, databases and stuff running in addition to the zillion chrome tabs that are open.

Now if you insist on the best performance, here is what the baseline should be.

--------------------------
Intel i9. (Not less than 8 cores, note: more cores may not always mean better performance)
32 GB of RAM (DDR5 or better if available)
Hard Disk -- M.2 NVMe -- Size as per your requirement
Graphics Card -- if you dont have a need for it, average GC is more than enough.
--------------------------

Above three are the 3 importants things that as a combination will directly affect performance.
Screen size, display quality are all other minor decisions that you will have to make on your own.

Picking up the most powerful is not a constrain. The con is when you overload it with features and it becomes heavy. That is the only thing that you have to be careful about. A heavy laptop is a pain to carry around and specifically gets difficult when you are travelling. Its the only reason I picked up a top of the line MAC Pro a year ago after being on windows for 20 yrs or more. Its the most powerful laptop that I could find for the ease of use and weight.

For the service part stick to Dell or HP in the order mentioned.
frewper is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 21:31   #6912

Hi GTO,

I would suggest you go the gaming laptop way akin to the members' recommendations here. The beauty of the gaming laptops lies in the ease of upgrading the hardware components to amplify the power it comes with, pretty much like the JDM cars of yore. Though battery life is going to be pretty average, they have enough firepower to handle pretty much anything you throw at it. I have been using an Asus TUF Gaming A15 laptop since 2020 and absolutely have no regrets when it comes to the ownership experience. During the time of purchase, it came with :

AMD Ryzen 7 4800H (8 cores, 16 threads)
16GB 3200MHZ DDR4 RAM
Nvidia GTX 1660 Ti 6 GB Discrete Graphics Card
A decent 144HZ Full HD screen
1TB NVMe SSD
48WH 3 cell battery

Mods done :

Upgraded to Intel Dual Band Wireless AX200NGW WIFI-6 adapter
500 GB NVMe SSD(WD Black SN750)

The laptop blazes through any workloads and gives me a solid 3 - 3.5 hours of backup on a single charge which is pretty good considering the powerful internals in place. ASUS ASS support is good for the most part, no qualms there as well. You can take a look at the :

ASUS ROG Series(pretty impressive line up they got, especially Zephyrus)
Acer Predator Series
MSI Raider Series
Dell G Series / Alienware Series(if money ain't a problem)

Hope this helps, cheers!
ss11011988 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 21:46   #6913

- Would have bought the Macbook M1 / M2, but I absolutely need Windows. It's a non-negotiable. No time to set up the new computer, so I will be cloning my current Windows 10 hard-drive (with files & programs) to the new computer.
The pleasure of working on the M series 16 inch mac (esp pro) is unmatched. Moreover, the performance is brutal.

If you are not constrained on the funding, go for it. You are committing for a new machine for 5 or more years, and given your phase of life (ab nahi to kab ?), you should not forego the pleasures of the mac any more, if you are going to be spending a good part of your day on it.

I can understand you don't have time for instant migration, but you can do some parallel work using your old and new machines and gradually migrate.
You have to slow down to go faster. You won't regret.

Last edited by ajayc123 : 7th October 2023 at 21:48.
ajayc123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 21:47   #6914

Requirements:

- Horsepower for heavy multitasking. When I am choosing the hot threads or going through "Reported Posts", I usually have 120 - 150 tabs in Chrome open. Other than the 100+ Chrome tabs, I also have Spotify / iTunes playing. And keep opening / closing a few other programs for accounting, MS Office etc.

But 90% of work time is spent on Chrome which always has 100 - 150 tabs open in different windows (for different purposes).

- Reliability

- Great after-sales service & long warranties (my Dell had a 5-year warranty). If my laptop needs repairs, I need the company to quickly fix it. Onsite preferred, although offsite is okay if it doesn't take them too long.

- Other than power, reliability & after-sales, I am not fussy about stuff. Am open to screen sizes, battery life etc.

- Would have bought the Macbook M1 / M2, but I absolutely need Windows. It's a non-negotiable. No time to set up the new computer, so I will be cloning my current Windows 10 hard-drive (with files & programs) to the new computer.

- The laptop spends a lot of time on my desk, plugged into a big monitor + Apple keyboard + mouse. But I do take it out to another room while working too.

Guessing the upcoming BBD sales on Amazon & Flipkart will be a good time to buy? Or should I buy direct from the brand for the 5+ year warranty requirements?

Thanks in advance!
@GTO please configure and pick any of the T series ThinkPad on the IBM India website. For your usage, recommend going with 32 GB RAM. Apart from that, the latest and greatest processor with a SSD. Extremely reliable with awesome , unstressed performance.
Also, strongly recommend to NOT buy it from any e-commerce vendor online. Buy from the brand store (physical) directly.
rhsakarp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 21:50   #6915

Just wanted to inform the thread, Apple's M1 Air seems to be selling on Amazon for 67k. For the display's color accuracy, speaker quality, durability of a fanless and ventless design as well as its battery life, I think it is a steal of a deal worth consideration infact I feel bad having bought one for myself just 4 months back for 80k

Originally Posted by carboy View Post
How good is Asus service - is it as good as Dell's?
Is Asus as reliable?
I have owned both an Asus as well as a Dell and my experience is that Asus simply does not usually require any service or troubleshooting since their quality control and driver stability seems far better than Dell's. Dell on the other hand is really inconsistent when it comes to QC on consumer models (business models might be a different story) I know way too many people, myself included, who have had to return or replace Dells all the way from carbon fibre equipped XPS models to Alienwares I am talking about laptops that sell for well over a lac and a half with glaring QC and driver stability issues. I did inform the Dell reps that if I ever do buy a Dell again, it would be purely for the quality of service as I was indeed shocked by the level of support and understanding that they were able to provide I have not experienced the same levels of support from any brand of any goods/services in India. That said, I would still recommend an Asus over a Dell when it comes to consumer products.

Last edited by IshaanIan : 7th October 2023 at 21:52.
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com