Team-BHP - The Laptop Thread: Configs, deals & questions
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Gadgets, Computers & Software (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadgets-computers-software/)
-   -   The Laptop Thread: Configs, deals & questions (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadgets-computers-software/67390-laptop-thread-configs-deals-questions-438.html)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amil (Post 5288961)
I have an Asus R510J gaming laptop, very good config, only problem i have is the screen is matte instead of glossy. Since i am a photographer, i would like to have a glossy screen for editing of images, etc. For now i use my desktop to edit images. Is there any way to change the screen to a glossy one? Or should i consider selling this one off and get a MacBook?

This is quite a common issue faced with matte displays. They simply are not as sharp and don't seem to display as wide a range of colour or contrast when compared to a glossy screen. Apparently the matte aspect of the screen is only achieved by a textured coating that can easily (depending on how you look at it) be removed. There are several videos on youtube about it attaching a couple that I know of:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EG9ypZZHkm8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ydfQwttMKa8

Quote:

Originally Posted by SVMBLR (Post 5286739)
Option1: Using external Backupplus Hard drive UsB 3.0/ Type C
Option 2: Connect new Laptop to Old laptop by using crossover patch cord (RJ 45 Ethernet Cable)

Option one is much better, as you will have a backup copy of all the old files. You can then use the external disk for current backup, some thing that most ignore, but rue it when disaster strikes.

In the market for a laptop for home use.

Quick question - Is it preferred to go with a Win 11 loaded one? And if I buy one with Win 10 loaded in it, it is possible to upgrade to Win 11 later on free of cost?

Quote:

Originally Posted by balenoed_ (Post 5290870)