Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 17th March 2010, 18:07   #6001

People,

any one has got Karbonn K10. Its 3.5K INR for Dual SIM with qwerty key pad!
Quite tempting, any first hand review on same?
Old 17th March 2010, 19:30   #6002

Originally Posted by recshenoy View Post
People,

any one has got Karbonn K10. Its 3.5K INR for Dual SIM with qwerty key pad!
Quite tempting, any first hand review on same?
This months Chip magazine has an exhaustive comparison of 28 models of such phones including K10.
Old 19th March 2010, 11:40   #6003

Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Lovely review frankmehta, see the last point which may be of interest to you.

You will get an Eclairs upgrade in April , this device does not support FOTA ( Firmware upgrade over the Air) so you need to do it using PC suit.
With this upgrade you will get latest Android version and also ability to run apps from SD card.
Hi Frank and Amit,

these posts were excellent. I think i will go for this. Moving from a brick berry (8700); and leaving my job so don't think will need a new berry.
Old 19th March 2010, 11:54   #6004

I want buy a NOKIA 5230. I like its feature but never saw this. Need to check it out soon.
Some queries regarding this:-
-- Can i play video(Mainly movies,very usefull in train journey ) on this?
-- How much usefull its GPS in real time?
-- Software hangs?
-- Cost of data cable for this model ?
-- Any one Have any long term review?

Kindly help !!

KALINGA
Old 19th March 2010, 17:21   #6005

Nokia 5230

Originally Posted by KALINGA View Post
I want buy a NOKIA 5230. I like its feature but never saw this. Need to check it out soon.
Some queries regarding this:-
1. Can i play video(Mainly movies,very usefull in train journey ) on this?
2. How much usefull its GPS in real time?
3. Software hangs?
4. Cost of data cable for this model ?
5. Any one Have any long term review?
1. I have downloaded some free trailers over GPRS and they work.
2. I bought the 5230 mainly for its GPS, and it is great!
3. Yes, my phone hangs sometimes, but I can live with it (I paid Rs.8,400 and feel that at this price some minor problems can be accepted).
4. I already own a USB data cable, it should cost a few hundreds only.
5. After messing with it a lot in one month I am very satisfied.

I like the touch-screen and the screen quality is excellent. The voice quality is also very good (My previous model 7210 was bad). I have started using opera-mobile browser to access Team-BHP and post with it on the move!
Old 19th March 2010, 20:36   #6006

Originally Posted by manim View Post
3. Yes, my phone hangs sometimes, but I can live with it (I paid Rs.8,400 and feel that at this price some minor problems can be accepted).
Go to Nokia India site. Click: Get software and support > Download software > Can I update?

If there is new firmware available for your mobile, updating your mobile phone software will most likely solve these small glitches.
Old 24th March 2010, 10:42   #6007

Which phone would best suit the following requirements:
1) Touchscreen
2) Divx/Xvid support
3) Decent camera
4) Decent battery life

I was looking at Samsung i5700 and Jet models. i5700 seems to be out of stock or not available at the moment. The Jet prices seem to have come down to around 14k. I read Jet has some battery issues otherwise the specs seem to be good enough to satisfy my purposes. Any other phone that you would recommend?.

Thank you.
Old 24th March 2010, 20:05   #6008

Check the nokia site (nokia.co.in). I think the data cable is standard. I got it with the 5130 xpressmusic. Anyways, most of Nokia sets in this price range use the "miniUSB" connection.
Old 24th March 2010, 20:23   #6009

Bought an N79 for 12k. Great experience so far. It has Wifi support, GPS etc and has got a 5mp carl zeiss camera with flash. Has one low-res camera in the face plate as well to support video calls. I am not particularly happy with the keyboard though...
Old 24th March 2010, 21:01   #6010

I want buy a NOKIA 5230.
-- Can i play video(Mainly movies,very usefull in train journey ) on this?
-- How much usefull its GPS in real time?
-- Software hangs?

KALINGA
Have not checked video yet.

GPS is really useful and gets 4 to 7 satellites usually. Works even within buildings when near a window. Once received even 10 satellites. Nokia maps with navigation are free now but I prefer to use google maps.

Random rebooting is there occasionally and read that it is being faced by other users too.

CA-101 data cable when bought along with the phone cost me Rs.865/- and DC-4 car charger Rs.230/- both excluding 4% VAT.

Generally experience is very good but this is the first time I am using a touch screen phone.
Old 25th March 2010, 04:39   #6011

Originally Posted by skdking View Post
Can you help me also?

I have a one month old E72. I am unable to use it for fetching mail from my Yahoo account, though from my Google account I can.

Are you too facing a similar problem with Yahoo servers in Chennai?

PS- I use postpaid BSNL 3G connection.
My Yahoo mail works perfectly - I am on Aircel unlimited GPRS. I am on a yahoo.co.in account, by the way. Though I have a yahoo.com account too, I did not add it. The configuration was pretty straight forward.

To rule out issues in the connectivity, why dont you configure your yahoo account through wireless? Make sure you have atleast one wireless connection configured and available (can browse). Got to Email > Settings > Yahoo Mail > Mailbox settings > Advanced mailb. settings > Incoming email settings > Access point in use - set this manually to the wireless connection and see if you can sync your emails. If you can, then the problem may be in the BSNL end.

Curious - do they sell these high end (read data capable) mobile WITHOUT the data cable nowadays? Heights of cost cutting! My ~19k E72 has a data cable that is a joke - it is about 5 inches long!!
Old 25th March 2010, 19:31   #6012

Please recommend a mobile phone for me

Hi..off late have been keen on getting myself a new cell phone. While trying to zero in on specific model I get lost as there's a plethora of brands and models out there which add to the confusion and frustration. I need your help n deciding a mobile phone

Please recommend a phone for me based on the following requirements apart from being used for talking -
  1. Internet Access - Google and if possible, blog updation (blogspot)
  2. Email access - Gmail and Yahoo
  3. Messenger access - Gtalk and Yahoo
  4. Twitter and facebook apps
  5. Bluetooth
  6. Preferably a qwerty kb
  7. Preferred brands - Nokia, Samsung, LG and Motorola
Budget - Rs 9,000 to Rs 12,000

Thanks a lot.
Old 25th March 2010, 19:37   #6013

I suggest you Samsung Corby plus (side slider)
you can do most of these things with it provided you have a GPRS or EDGE connection.

If you want 3G, then you need to increase your budget a bit.
with your budget you can get Samsung Corby Plus for sure.
Old 25th March 2010, 19:53   #6014

Why not a E63.. It should be close to Rs.9000./ It has all that you need including 3G and Wifi connectivity. It has a Qwerty keyboard and its Nokia. Hope this helps buddy.
Old 25th March 2010, 20:37   #6015

Thanks guys. Had the corby PRO in mind thanks to samsungs marketing efforts . The nokia E63 is an interesting suggestion as well. Will look into it. Wifi is definitely an added bonus.

Hows the Samsung B7320?

Last edited by pranava999 : 25th March 2010 at 20:54.