Originally Posted by Jaggu Need some help in Bangalore, am thinking of getting the apartment air conditioned. Issue is lay out of the apartment is not a friendly one (to place the units) and wiring also needs to be checked, since i am not sure provisions were made for AC at construction. Was looking at multi split unit which would have been ideal, but that is not working out, since they have been pulled off the market and only VRF ones (expensive) are only available.
So need a consultant or installer who can take a look and suggest best options and help with wiring. Location is Indira Nagar, Bangalore and it is a 3 BHK. Any known leads would be appreciated. |
Surprising to find out that there are no independent contractors who can do an end to end job for AC installation in BLR. Dealers who sell mostly were ready to just install the unit and said wiring etc would have to be arranged from our end. Google search gave some listings but most of them were either not reachable and others just interested in selling AC.
Was left with no option but to get the friendly neighbourhood electrician which my apartment care taker suggested and he actually pulled of a pretty decent job. Managed all the wiring through the existing wiring ducts and only one room where there were no high current line, we had to opt for an external installation of casings. That too was done with minimal disruption to aesthetics.
Next step was calculating the AC tonnage and the tool available on amazon was pretty much on dot with the calculations I had made. I would need just 1 ton for the bedrooms that did not have any direct sunlight and the other would need 1.5 ton. Hall though would need a 2 ton unit. But then when I started calculation on power requirements, I was not sure running so many with a 3 KVA residential line is a good idea. Anyways we were looking at a nicer living environment and not bone chilling cooling for the hall. So decided for 1.5 ton. Tried of some combinations of units from online and traditional vendors.
Option 1 - Daikin dealer with 3 star came to about 2.18 lakhs.
Option 2- Voltas came to about 1.8 online
Option 3 - Flipkart only brand came to just 1.2 lakhs! But then reviews on install was not great so dropped it.
Thats when I noticed a banner on amazon for Sanyo inverters.
https://www.sanyoappliance.in/air-conditioners/ I know the brand from my school days and now is owned by Panasonic. On further research it was clear that most of the AC units are either assembled in India or China and differentiator is really the installation. This again was a hit or miss in Bangalore. Sanyo was available only online through amazon, and only 1.5 ton was available when I checked. After some debate, decided on 1.5 ton 3 star inverters x 4 units. Came to about 28990 per unit, but same night while reading up, realised that the newer 5 star units made further reduction of current consumption, which will mean I might be able to safely run 3 unit at same time. So cancelled 3 star and ordered 4 x 5 star unit which costed 32990 per unit. Delivery was 5 days away on Sunday.
Saturday I get a ping from my friend saying 1 ton 5 star has come back on stock in amazon and if I wanted to pick them up? If so, he will take 1.5 ton off me. Immediately agreed to the deal and ordered 2 x 5 start 1 ton Sanyo's for 28990
Had purchased VGuard inverter specific stabiliser as part of this retail therapy. Finally Sunday the 1.5 ton were delivered, 2 of which my friend picked on Monday morning and by Monday evening the 2 x 1 ton also were delivered. Sunday itself I had received a call for scheduling installation, which I tentatively blocked for Wednesday May 1, being a holiday and I would be available at home.
Tuesday reconfirmed the same, but come Wednesday morning the installer started giving excuse that he forgot it was May 1st and no one is there to assist him with parts and tools from the shop. I was really disappointed with this, followed up for 2 days and this is what happens! Anyhow by 11 am another guy calls and asks when he should come. Not sure if this guy was assigned for the second purchase or the first guy has sent, but since he was assigned by Sanyo I gave a go ahead.
Point to note 1) Sanyo AC's don't have cables for connecting to power, so one needs to buy extra wire. 2) the drain pipe is the bare minimum length and it will just get out of the wall, beyond which we need to buy extension pipe and install. Started at 12 noon and finished install of the 4 units by 10 pm. Overall I would rate the install below average. These guys don't even do a vacuum check of the piping before switch on, they just do the jugaad way of letting out a small quantity of refrigerant into the pipe and doing a pressure check using fingers on the service valve!! I strongly suspect, all these installations are outsourced by local Sanyo centres to local freelancers. Left to me, next time around I would get a known installer directly and not rely on these guys. Screw the warranty threat and register the product online. Anyways AC are running fine for now, so am at peace.
Now coming to performance, while discussing with friends I understood that dual speed inverters are potent and can pull off cooling larger area than conventional units and it is the truth. Both my bedrooms are 12x12-13 Feet + and still 1 tons are doing a brilliant job on auto mode with hardly an effort. Bigger surprise was the 1.5 ton unit, which is now keeping cool a huge L shaped area of hall + dining + open kitchen + a small corridor. I plan to soft partition the kitchen and corridor, still I am super impressed!
Now how these units fair in the long run etc needs to be seen. But for total spend of 1.52 lakhs, which includes wiring, stabiliser, instal, labor, stands, all the additional wire, drain pipe etc for 4 units and covering almost whole house. I am super happy! Touch wood!