Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 9th September 2011, 15:36   #8446

Re: The DSLR Thread

Hi Everyone,
wanted to ask if there is any place in Chennai, where i can rent some good lens(prime, zoom etc.) for Nikon D90.
regards,
suess.
Old 12th September 2011, 18:45   #8447

Whenever I remove the battery of my Nikon D3100 and insert it again and start shooting the DSC count restarts from 0. What could be the reason for this? This doesn't happen with my Sony W series camera.

Last edited by bluevolt : 12th September 2011 at 19:09.
Old 12th September 2011, 22:18   #8448

Yes you can, use BULB mode in the exposure settings.

Originally Posted by bluevolt View Post
Will I be able to shoot night trails with D3100?
Old 12th September 2011, 22:43   #8449

Originally Posted by bluevolt View Post
Whenever I remove the battery of my Nikon D3100 and insert it again and start shooting the DSC count restarts from 0. What could be the reason for this? This doesn't happen with my Sony W series camera.
You need to set: Menu/Setup/File-Number-Sequence to ON.
(page number 145 in the D3100 manual).

Last edited by manim : 12th September 2011 at 22:45.
manim is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2011, 23:12   #8450

Planning to sell my 2 month old Lowepro bag. Have listed it on jjmehta, link - WTS: Lowepro Flipside 200 Multi Use Backpack

Lemme know if anyone of you are looking for one.
Old 15th September 2011, 13:30   #8451

Hi guys, quick question. ANy place I can find older manual lens's in Bangalore for cheap...learning about photography and want to try out some manual lens's. In particular am looking for a manual prime macro and probably a portrait lens.
Old 15th September 2011, 14:09   #8452

Originally Posted by mav2000 View Post
Hi guys, quick question. ANy place I can find older manual lens's in Bangalore for cheap...learning about photography and want to try out some manual lens's. In particular am looking for a manual prime macro and probably a portrait lens.
Make sure that your DSLR supports the manual lenses in general, and the specific lense you get, in particular. Some have problem with metering, others need to be stopped down manually, else shot is taken with aperture wide open!

Test the lense with your DSLR before buying.
Old 15th September 2011, 14:11   #8453

Thanks Aroy....will check before buying for sure.
Old 15th September 2011, 14:22   #8454

Dose any one own AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G IF-ED or AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR lens in this forum?

I am looking out for tele zoom lens. Currently, I own Nikon D5100 with AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR. kindly suggest which one is better in terms of image sharpness and color reproduction.

How to increase the sharpness in DSLR?
Old 15th September 2011, 14:47   #8455

Originally Posted by Gurudatta Nayak View Post
Depends on the Lens used. Kit lenses and entry level zooms are sharper when stopped down. With my Canon 18-55IS EFS image is soft when shot wide open and sharper when stopped down to F8.
Old 15th September 2011, 18:17   #8456

Originally Posted by Gurudatta Nayak View Post
Three methods

1. At the lense. Use higher f-stops - 8 to 16 to get maximum sharpness from most lenses. There are some Professional Grade Lenses, as well as some German Lenses (primarily Leica followed by Scheider and Zeis) which are extremely sharp at as low as f/2, but those are super expensive.

2. In post Processing. Shoot RAW. In post processing software adjust the sharpness through software. Each one has a different command, but it is there.

3. In General. Keep the lense front element and any filter absolutely clean. Minute traces of dust or oil will result in slightly hazy images due to dispersion of light, this is especially evident in bright light, or in close up flash photography (where te light may bounce back).
Old 15th September 2011, 23:03   #8457

My D3100 came with 4GB memory card and it can store some150 RAW+JPEG images, 250 RAW images, 450 fine JPEG images, 950 medium JPEG images and 1700 normal JPEG images. After considering the capacity I am feeling a need of spare memory card for my camera.

Please advise me about the memory card for my camera? Which brand is best? Compatibility issues? Are memory cards universal to all cameras (P&S and DSLRs)?
Also guide me whether I should always shoot in RAW or JPEG is fine?

JJ mehta is quoting Rs. 300 for 4GB, Rs. 600 for 8 GB, Rs. 1250 for 16GB and Rs. 2600 for 32GB.

Are these prices OK? My budget is not above 1500 so 32 GB is out for now.
Old 15th September 2011, 23:10   #8458

Re: Nikon D3100

Originally Posted by manim View Post
After many days of research on the net, finally may buy Nikon D3100 tomorrow .
From an official dealer for Rs.27,000.
manim, where did you get the D3100 for Rs.27000? Is it in Tuticorin or Chennai? Most dealers in Bangalore are quoting Rs.29K for the same camera. I saw a seller in ebay offering this camera for Rs.26750. But I am little skeptical in ordering this high value item online. If you bought in Tuty, I can get it from the same shop when I visit there next time. Can you help to confirm?
Old 15th September 2011, 23:34   #8459

Re: Nikon D3100

Originally Posted by gopikb View Post
manim, where did you get the D3100 for Rs.27000? Is it in Tuticorin or Chennai? Most dealers in Bangalore are quoting Rs.29K for the same camera. I saw a seller in ebay offering this camera for Rs.26750. But I am little skeptical in ordering this high value item online. If you bought in Tuty, I can get it from the same shop when I visit there next time. Can you help to confirm?
I bought it in Tirunelveli from an authorized dealer (referred Nikon India web page):
Raja Photo Stores - phone: 0462-2335191.
I contacted them through another mutual friend, they was quoting 27,500 but came down to 27K.
You can try calling them, they said that they also have a shop in Tuticorin and will deliver there.
Contact person was one Mr.Kumar who was friendly.

Buying online is a risk because 1) the amount is relatively large, 2) Nikon may not honour
warranty if not their authorized dealer.

Very satisfied with my purchase.
manim is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th September 2011, 23:37   #8460

Originally Posted by manim View Post
I bought it in Tirunelveli from an authorized dealer (referred Nikon India web page):
Raja Photo Stores - phone: 0462-2335191.
I contacted them through another mutual friend, they was quoting 27,500 but came down to 27K.
You can try calling them, they said that they also have a shop in Tuticorin and will deliver there.
Contact person was one Mr.Kumar who was friendly.

Buying online is a risk because 1) the amount is relatively large, 2) Nikon may not honour
warranty if not their authorized dealer.

Very satisfied with my purchase.
How can there be a difference of 2000? I also bought the same for 29000 from authorized dealer posted on Nikon's site.

PS - Are rates in north higher than south India?