Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 1st July 2011, 11:48   #8041
BHPian

Re: The DSLR Thread

Ok. I am a complete noob in Photography. I am looking to buy my first DSLR. Have narrowed my choices down to Canon 550D , Nikon 5100D and the Nikon D90.

Have been reading a lot on these cameras and i just can't seem to decide. I have noticed that the same questions have been asked here before. But please suggest me which one would make a good overall buy right now.

Things which might help you suggest me one of these.
My budget is 35 - 50k (I am not strict on the budget. I am ok with stretching it a bit more if its worth it)
I mainly shoot outdoors (If this helps you in suggesting me one of the above). I don't have any specific subjects in mind right now. I am just starting off.

The 5100 has everything going for it, But i still see people recommending the D90 over the 5100.

The D90 is from a segment higher i think. But since its out of production and an upgrade is soon to arrive, I am a little worried.

The Canon 550D was my initial choice. But i like Swirl screen on the 5100. Don't know how useful it will be, But i like it. Being a noob, all i know is that canon has 18 MP while the 5100 has 16 and canon gives me a lot more options when it comes to cheap lenses .(I am completely ok with lower pixels since i wont be taking huge prints)

Considering all the above. Please suggest me a sensible buy and also any other models which i might want to look at. Thanks.
Old 1st July 2011, 12:39   #8042
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
.(I am completely ok with lower pixels since i wont be taking huge prints)
Even if you take huge prints an 8mp would suffice for most of the needs. So dont decide a camera based on MP.

Go to some camera shops or chrome like electronic shops and handle both the camera. Hold it, take some pictures and play with the buttons, menu and even the lens.