Punjabi Dictionary - endorsed by an authentic Punjabi! This i got in mail........ofcourse from a aunthetic Punjabi
*A* is for Adjust ; Punjabis will always ask you to adjust whenever they
want to push you around
*B *is for Backside and it has nothing to do with your bum, it is an
instruction to go to the rear of a building, or block, or shop or whatever.
*C* is for Cloney and its first name is not George nor is it a process for
replicating sheep - it is an area where people live eg. *D* fence Cloney.
*E* is for Expanditure - and believe me Punjabis are not scared of spending
money - the latest cars, marble floors, their ambitions are always
expanding.
*F* is for Fackade, and even though it sounds like a bad word it is actually
just the front of a building (with backside being the back, of course).
*G* is for Gaddi and the way a Punjabi can pilot a car puts any F1 driver to
shame, if the Grand Prix does come to Delhi there's no way Hamilton, Alonso
or Kimi can overtake Balvinder, Jasvinder and Sukhvinder.
*H* is for Ho Jayega, the moment you hear that, you have to be very careful
because you can be reasonably sure it's not going to happen.
*I* is for Intezaar... to know more about it see P.
*J* is for Jindagi and if there's one person who knows how to live life to
the full it's a Punjabi.
*K* is for Khanna, Khurana, etc - the Punjabi equivalent of the Johnses ie,
keeping up with the Khuranas.
* L* is for Lovely but she never is. Nor is Sweety.
*M* is for Mrooti - the car that moved an entire Punjabi generation.
*N* is for No problem ji - to find out how that works see H.
*O* is for Oye which can be surprise (oyye!), a hailing (oyy), anger (OYY)
or pain (oy oy oy).
*P* is for Panj Mint and no matter how near (1 km) or far a Punjabi is from
you (100 km) they usually say they'll reach you in Panj Mint.
*Q* is for Queue for which there's really no word in Punjabi.
*R* is for Riks and a Punjabi is always prepared to take one, even if the
odds are against them.
*S* is for Sweetie, Bunty, Pappu and Sonu who seem to own half the cars in
Delhi.
*T* is for the official bird of Punjab - Tandoori Chicken.
*U* is for when U lose your sex appeal and become 'Uncle' ji.
*V* is for VIP phone numbers @ Rs 15 lakh and counting.
*W* is War - on the roads.
*X* is x-rated words they flow freely in casual conversations on the street.
*Y* is 'You nonsense', anger replacing> vocabulary in a shouting match.
*Z* is for Zig Zag for which you should see G, M and P
Last edited by rsjaurr : 27th October 2007 at 12:11.
|