Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Et Cetera

Old 16th April 2023, 12:13   #6241

Re: Team-BHPians and their Pets

Guys, I am planning on bringing a Rottweiler home(1 BHK Flat), want to know about the things that I need to take care of before bringing him home.
Old 16th April 2023, 13:23   #6242

Originally Posted by udzgodfather View Post
Guys, I am planning on bringing a Rottweiler home(1 BHK Flat), want to know about the things that I need to take care of before bringing him home.
Rottweiler gets pretty big in size after full growth, plus they are hyper energetic and needs a lot of playing and exercising to keep them calm, do you think it's a good idea to get one in 1BHK flat? And that too in Mumbai!

Don't get me wrong I had a big dog for 10 years and even in our traditional house with a garden, terrace and a porch, I used to think a big dog needs proper open area, my dog used to love our farm visits.

My cousin has a Rottweiler in his farm and he spends around 2-3 hours with him playing and running and still he says that he needs more exercising. So my advice is to get smaller breed, which needs smaller area and is easy to live with. The best option would be to adopt one from the street!
Old 16th April 2023, 14:29   #6243

+1 to yesyeswe.

want to know about the things that I need to take care of before bringing him home.
Talk to someone who owns a big dog (other than labs) living in a metro city. You'll see them doing morning walks - a casual chat should help in getting you the on ground picture.

Last edited by ninjatalli : 16th April 2023 at 14:35.
Old 16th April 2023, 16:09   #6244

Originally Posted by yesyeswe View Post
Rottweiler gets pretty big in size after full growth, plus they are hyper energetic and needs a lot of playing and exercising to keep them calm, do you think it's a good idea to get one in 1BHK flat? And that too in Mumbai!
I am aware about the size it grows and training it requires to grow, 2 Kms from the place where I live there is big open ground with very minimum traffic, I do also own a house and farmland in Udaipur.

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
+1 to yesyeswe.

Talk to someone who owns a big dog (other than labs) living in a metro city. You'll see them doing morning walks - a casual chat should help in getting you the on ground picture.
Had a word with a friend who owns the Rott, he says that initial first year of training would depict how he is going to be for the rest of his life, so I am trying to have more indepth of knowledge before moving forward.

I am quite fixated on bringing Rottwelier only that's why I am asking.
Old 16th April 2023, 20:09   #6245

Well I think I am pretty well versed to answer your question.
Ive lived and grown up with dogs, and presently own a 2 year old ADRK (Old School) German Rottweiler, very unlike the modern types you are seeing in India and Eastern Europe these days.
I just went on a trip with him to Shimla recently.
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-...ml#post5525632 (BMW 530i Review (G30) : 2 years & 30,000 km)

If you want a short answer NO, understand its a herding dog, a guard dog, a working dog, you might be able to stimulate his energy as a pup, but what when he gets about 15 months and hormonal changes begin?, will you work him to stimulate his mental and physical demands, say you what, not in 1 BHK, no offence but it's not fair on the dog or on you. Also they get very attached, I see you live in Mumbai in a 1BHK, so I assume you'd be out working a lot, this will further stress him, so avoid Velcro breeds.
Also, they will get old, taking an 100 pound dog when he's unable to walk in lifts, or the loo is much tougher than a 30 pound dog, be realistic.
Further the amount of effort you need to put in the first 2 years of socialising your dog is easy thing, I've kept dogs all my life but a rott is different and with the power he has, one wrong step and it'll be a disaster for anyone involved and unnecessary bad rap for the breed for no fault of his.
I tell every one by a breed for your purpose, not the looks, the image or your ego(not saying you are buying for eg0)
Further a well bred rott is supposed to have a high drive and natural guarding instinct, so therefore in a building/apartment complex with kids running, with balls playing, I would never recommend one, perhaps you could adopt an adult well settled Rottweiler instead.

However, if you must get a Rottweiler, (I usually never suggest the new modern/ Serbian types). but if you must, go for these lines, they'd not be as healthy or as true to character and in my opinion as good looking as their ADRK German counterparts (looks are personal though), but they will usually have a much lower drive, calmer temperament, you can have slightly more leniency when around 15 months, and might be better suited to your requirements, (AGAIN IF YOU MUST)

I am the biggest Rott lover, involved with Rottweiler & GSD Clubs as well up north and therefore, my suggestion look at a toy breed with low energy requirements.

You want the relationship to be happy from both sides.

Last edited by np23 : 16th April 2023 at 20:10.
Old 17th April 2023, 11:38   #6246

I also agree. A rottweiller is an absolute no no in an apartment, no matter how big it is.

Large dogs especilly working dogs and herders need extensive excercise and a lot of space to run round. On top of that the breed if not trained perfectly tends to be agressive to outsiders.

In short if you have a big dog, then a large bunglow with extensive compound is a must, as they require a lot of space to excercise and run around. Further a dog is a commitment for at least 10 years if not more. It requires care, food and medicine. A person to look after it when you are busy is a must. Do not assume that family members will take care of the dog. They may innitially, but in the long run it is your responsibility. I have seem umpteen cases of parents getting a dog for their children. After the honeymoon is over, the children are no where to be seen and the parents are left looking after the dog.
Old 17th April 2023, 11:40   #6247

I am quite fixated on bringing Rottwelier only that's why I am asking.
If we can ask, why are you fixated on a Rottie?
Old 17th April 2023, 11:57   #6248

The place where I stay has a family which has a juvenile mix breed pitbull. Very agressive and always on the lookout.
The family, though keeps him in lease on most occasions, left the dog unleashed on the last weekend.

There is a stray indie which has two surviving puppies hardly a month or two old. One of these puppies became the target of the pitbull. He attacked the puppy by the neck. Fortunately, another neighbour scared off the pitbull with a help of stick. It otherwise would have been a gory site.

My kids are now scared to venture out to play. Let alone the kids, looking at the pitbull in his raw nature, sent a chill down my spine.

In other news, a man was mauled to death by stray dogs in Aligarh. Related link and due credits to times now for new article and camera footage.

https://www.timesnownews.com/india/u...ticle-99536144

Last edited by ObsessedByFIAT : 17th April 2023 at 12:00.
Old 17th April 2023, 17:10   #6249

Originally Posted by np23 View Post
Well I think I am pretty well versed to answer your question.
Thanks for the very detailed answer, I work from home/have my own office, so I won't be leaving the dog alone, I understand that I have to be very careful to meet its needs and that is what I am planning for, I already own a farm land in Udaipur, and few years down the line I would shift there allowing him to have more larger area to enjoy and exercise himself.

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
Large dogs especilly working dogs and herders need extensive excercise and a lot of space to run round. On top of that the breed if not trained perfectly tends to be agressive to outsiders.
See this is what I want to learn more about, I have been mulling on getting the Rottweiler for last 6-7 Months and still want to familiarize myself for what more it is going to need from my side to cater its need.

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
Do not assume that family members will take care of the dog. They may innitially, but in the long run it is your responsibility. I have seem umpteen cases of parents getting a dog for their children. After the honeymoon is over, the children are no where to be seen and the parents are left looking after the dog.
I know that having a dog is a full time job not some timepass, hence I asked the question here so that I can be more prepared for him.

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
If we can ask, why are you fixated on a Rottie?
I resonate a lot to the breed, they are purest bundle of joy and love who are misjudged by the society for no fault of there own.
Old 17th April 2023, 17:43   #6250

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
Talk to someone who owns a big dog (other than labs) living in a metro city.
We had a Dane for 10 years (not my decision, my mom's), so after that, when someone told us about an adult Labbie who needed a home (because his owners "couldn't handle him anymore"), I agreed thinking a Lab would be easier to manage in Bangalore after a Dane (based purely on size difference). Boy was I wrong!

Then I realized it's all about what the breed is meant to do, what it was bred for. A lot of dog breeds are working dogs, meant for the outdoors. The Lab was high energy and not meant to remain indoors or even in the compound. Even though we live in an independent house with a compound and I walked that bugger and ran with him twice a day, I knew he wasn't happy, because he wasn't doing what he was meant to.

He's gone to that doggy heaven in the sky now, and I loved him, but never again will I get one of the working dog breeds unless I live in a farm! It's just not fair to the dog. (And in a flat, never!) In fact, whenever I'm ready to get another dog, it's going to be an Indie all the way! Best suited to our weather, hardy, intelligent, and I won't be encouraging all those illegal dog breeders in Bangalore!

Last edited by am1m : 17th April 2023 at 17:50.
Old 17th April 2023, 18:40   #6251

Driving back from Hyderabad yesterday, somewhere after Kurnool, we had stopped at a wayside restaurant for a light bite and cold buttermilk break.
And there was this poor thin mother dog (Indie) with her four pups.
Got some cold milk and Parle g biscuits from the shop adjoining the wayside restaurant and luckily the restaurant chaps were kindly guys and had a bowl that they gave. Those poor dogs fell on the milk and biscuits in that searing Telangana heat as if it was heaven sent nectar.
I gave the kindly restaurant chap some cash and requested that he use it for the dog and her pups. I have enough faith in the goodness of that man, to be sure that he will do what I asked.
It is terrible to see hungry animals and remain silent without doing something about it if one can. I find it hard to deal with and cannot just sit idle and watch.
Indie dogs are excellent, intelligent, hardy, well suited to our conditions and extremely loyal. We should encourage more dog lovers to adopt them instead of running after the foreign breed snob value.
Team-BHPians and their Pets-img_0351.jpeg  

Team-BHPians and their Pets-img_0353.jpeg  

Team-BHPians and their Pets-img_0354.jpeg  

Last edited by shankar.balan : 17th April 2023 at 18:42.
Old 17th April 2023, 21:42   #6252

I didn't wanna chime in after all the gyaan but here I am.

We have a small English Cocker spaniel in a 2000sq ft apartment. Thankfully, our society is good enough that I can walk her daily (which I do 4 times) in sun or rain.

A couple of years ago, looking at us, another family got a Golden Retriever for their daughter (who was 13 at that time) with the dog being her responsibility (as it was the young girl's insistence to get a pet). Today, the parents are both busy in their jobs. The daughter has to worry about her school and studies. The only time I see that magnificent 30kg retriever daily is when the maid takes her out for a walk. No.one.else.
And I don't blame the maid, but she is a travesty in walking that beautiful animal. She is constantly busy on her phone, either watching a video or talking to someone else pulling away at the dog's collared leash, with sudden jerks and what not.

An animal is a very big responsibility. Like a child. You have to take it out for a walk daily. Without fail. In rain, sun, storm, or even COVID. Love it, nurture it, train and exercise it.

If you really think, you can manage, get a Shih Tzu. Live with it for a year or two and then decide on the Rottweiler.

Last edited by ValarMorghulis : 17th April 2023 at 21:45.
Old 17th April 2023, 22:28   #6253

Thanks for the very detailed answer, I work from home/have my own office, so I won't be leaving the dog alone, I understand that
Will this be the first dog you have owned and reared yourself? If this will be your first dog then you are going from not having learnt to drive to an AMG model straight away. A Rottweiller in any 1BHK flat, least of all the tiny flats one sees in Mumbai, sounds like a prison for the dog.

that is what I am planning for, I already own a farm land in Udaipur, and few years down the line I would shift there allowing him to have more larger area to enjoy and exercise himself.
Those few years for a human are a third or half the life time of the dog. If are going to move to your farm in a few years then buy a Rottweiller then not now.
I resonate a lot to the breed, they are purest bundle of joy and love who are misjudged by the society for no fault of their own.
Bundle of joy, like most other dogs only when happy and content. When frustrated this breed is vicious and the likely targets here will be your neighbours and visitors.

You have received a lot of very good advice from the contributors to this thread and as always they step up with sincerity, but it seems and I could be wrong that you are sitting with a closed mind. Best of luck.

Last edited by V.Narayan : 17th April 2023 at 22:38.
Old 18th April 2023, 05:50   #6254

Thanks for the very detailed answer, I work from home/have my own office, so I won't be leaving the dog alone,
I resonate a lot to the breed, they are purest bundle of joy and love who are misjudged by the society for no fault of there own.
I dont want to preach. But I have had and loved lots of dogs since I was born. Grew up with many as my ‘wolf brothers’.
If you are in an apartment do NOT get a large dog. He will be miserable and so will you.
We all think we have time and will make time for the dog but if we are working then we do get busy and the dog inevitably will take second place to work. And if we dont have full time help there is no way we should keep a pet.
I appreciate that you love dogs. Dogs are like children all their (too short) lives.
So please do not be blind to the fact that NO dog will enjoy life in a small apartment in a humid city.
One human year is equal to 7 odd dog years.
One day = equals one human week.
Consider it and open your eyes and heart to the good advice given by many on this forum before you jump.
Old 18th April 2023, 07:47   #6255

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
Will this be the first dog you have owned and reared yourself? If this will be your first dog then you are going from not having learnt to drive to an AMG model straight away. A Rottweiller in any 1BHK flat, least of all the tiny flats one sees in Mumbai, sounds like a prison for the dog.

Those few years for a human are a third or half the life time of the dog. If are going to move to your farm in a few years then buy a Rottweiller then not now.
Bundle of joy, like most other dogs only when happy and content. When frustrated this breed is vicious and the likely targets here will be your neighbours and visitors.

You have received a lot of very good advice from the contributors to this thread and as always they step up with sincerity, but it seems and I could be wrong that you are sitting with a closed mind. Best of luck.
Absolutely correctly spoken, just to add, I won’t ever say this breed is “Vicious”, it’s just a very powerful breed (bred to pull meat carts and herd cattle) and it’s got way too much energy which if not channelised (as you rightly said happy and content) like any dog would be forced to release it on things/people which is not acceptable, and the fault won’t lie with the breed but will as always be put on the breed .

NOTE to all prospective owners:- There’s a reason experts don’t recommend many dogs for first time owners, Dominance is a real thing , not aggression but Dominance is what most new owners cannot understand/realise or correct, and in love we let it go on without even realising and that my friends often leads to most incidents even in well excercised canines