Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 19th March 2025, 18:03   #1

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh

JSW MG Motor India has launched the 2025 edition of its smallest electric offering, the Comet EV. It is priced at Rs 4.99 lakh, excluding the battery pack, which is available on a subscription basis for Rs 2.5/km.

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-comet-ev.jpg

The 2025 Comet EV is available in five variants: Executive, Excite, Excite Fast Charge, Exclusive, and Exclusive Fast Charge. The mid-spec Excite and Excite Fast Charge trims now get a rearview camera and power-folding ORVMs, while the Exclusive and Exclusive Fast Charge trims now come with a 4-speaker sound system.

The Comet EV is powered by the same rear-mounted electric motor that generates 42 BHP and 110 Nm. It is offered with a 17.3 kWh battery pack with a maximum range of 230 km on a single charge (MIDC).

The Comet EV comes with a 3.3 kW AC charger, while the Excite and Exclusive trims get a more powerful 7.4 kW AC charger, which can charge the battery from 0-100% in just 3.5 hours.

The Comet EV is also available in the Blackstorm edition, which features a 'Starry Black' exterior with dark chrome accents and a black interior.

Link to Team-BHP News
TusharK is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 19th March 2025, 19:23   #2

Re: 2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh

Feels refreshing to see such a low starting price. But, this will go up easily with other variants, taxes etc etc, creating a significant difference between on road price and ex showroom price.

All of that aside, when was the last time you saw a car with a 4.99 lac ex showroom price?
saikishor is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th March 2025, 19:31   #3

Originally Posted by saikishor View Post
Feels refreshing to see such a low starting price. But, this will go up easily with other variants, taxes etc etc, creating a significant difference between on road price and ex showroom price.

All of that aside, when was the last time you saw a car with a 4.99 lac ex showroom price?
But please remember that 4.99 does not include the battery pack.
callmeneo is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 19th March 2025, 19:35   #4

Originally Posted by callmeneo View Post
But please remember that 4.99 does not include the battery pack.
I totally skipped that line, was so amazed with the low starting price. It feels like I skipped the T&C page of a sales agreement.
saikishor is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 19th March 2025, 20:09   #5

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

In my view this is excellent pricing.

~5 lac acquisition cost.
Zero Road Tax.
Say another 35K insurance and RTO and all

Even if one does 800km per month which is probably more than likely for constant city commutes, one wont be spending more than Rs ~2000 on the battery rental. Plus another ~1500 max on charging. So for ~40K per annum one gets to drive ~10K kms.

What’s not to like?

This may well close the door on the traditional preference for ICE hatchback cars are pure city commuters.

And yes, the MG Comet EV (basis my own test drive impressions and observations) is an excellent little package.

Were I in the market for a vehicle with this as the use case, I would certainly buy it.

Last edited by shankar.balan : 19th March 2025 at 20:10.
shankar.balan is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 19th March 2025, 20:17   #6

I & My friend had evaluated this car for local runarounds, and we were not impressed. The car looks cute, refreshing and fancy, but certainly was not attractive to us with what is on offer.

First of all, the second row of seats are hard to get to and is placed very low. Adults will find it very difficult to get in. Its only suited for small kids.

Secondly, there is extremely little luggage space. Maybe for few carry bags at best.

Surprisingly, the suspension was comfortable for city roads of Bangalore and the handling is alright with those small wheels. It is very easy to chuck around in congested city roads. AC was good.

The cost of the base variant at that time with battery pack was 7.5 Lakhs or so (not 100% sure). Also, one needs to carefully read the fine prints to see what is included and what is not. Insurance on battery pack was a grey area. Besides all this, you need to further invest in the infrastructure to charge the car and it might be an issue if your apartment associations have reservations or rules on installing chargers.

So, while 4.99 Ex showroom price may look attractive, the final cost of ownership is likely to be another 3-4 lakhs more.
sudeepg is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 19th March 2025, 22:26   #7

In my view this is excellent pricing.

~5 lac acquisition cost.
Zero Road Tax.
Say another 35K insurance and RTO and all

Even if one does 800km per month which is probably more than likely for constant city commutes, one wont be spending more than Rs ~2000 on the battery rental. Plus another ~1500 max on charging. So for ~40K per annum one gets to drive ~10K kms.

What’s not to like?
Bingo. For regular city commuting, it's the cheapest automatic car that you can buy even including the battery rental.

It's a no brainer to pick this over lazy AMTs like on the ones on Alto K10 if you can add a household 15A plug point in your parking. With plenty of EV 2Ws being sold, it has become very common for apartments to allow this. Bonus is you also skip out on expensive maintenance such as oil changes.

I hope MG introduces a proper hatch back below the price of 10L, will really set the segment on fire.
shyampsunder is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th March 2025, 22:57   #8

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
The mid-spec Excite and Excite Fast Charge trims now get a rearview camera and power-folding ORVMs, while the Exclusive and Exclusive Fast Charge trims now come with a 4-speaker sound system
If any Team BHPian has good reliable contacts within the MG Service Network, then do check if the Reverse Parking Camera for Excite (Mid Variant) will be integrated with the Infotainment screen or there will be a separate screen. I own a 2024 Excite FC and on checking with the service center, they can provide a reverse camera with an additional screen as an accessory. If now there is a Reverse Camera integrated in the infotainment system from the factory itself then there should not be any apprehensions to fit the same in the existing Excite variants.
VWAllstar is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 06:00   #9

While the pricing is attractive, the Rs 2.5 /km battery rental + another Rs 1.5 /km charging takes the cost per km to Rs 4 which is more than CNG and not far from fuel efficient petrol hatchbacks. And then there are the usual mental blocks with electric cars- range anxiety, charging time and charging stations availability, cannot be the only car for a household, etc. It remains an attractive offering for someone looking for a funky second car, but purely from a financial perspective, it needs a thorough analysis before someone takes the plunge just looking at 4.99
Time_Machine is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 06:49   #10

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

MG Comet EV; my back of the envelope submissions.

Acquisition Cost:

Initial price 4.99L +
Zero road tax + ~35K insurance + registration = ~5.34L

800kms per month @2.5Rs per Km, battery (baas) rental = ~2K

Home Charging cost for 800 Kms per month = ~1.5K

First year cost of ownership;

5L + 35K insurance and reg + 24K battery + 18K home charging = 5.77L

Second Year cost of ownership;

35K insurance + 24K battery + 18K home charging + 4K servicing including wheel alignment and balancing = 81K.

Frankly whats not to like?
2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-img_4524.jpeg  

Last edited by shankar.balan : 20th March 2025 at 06:52. Reason: Pic
shankar.balan is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 08:54   #11

MG Comet EV; my back of the envelope submissions.

Acquisition Cost:

Initial price 4.99L +
Zero road tax + ~35K insurance + registration = ~5.34L

800kms per month @2.5Rs per Km, battery (baas) rental = ~2K

Home Charging cost for 800 Kms per month = ~1.5K

First year cost of ownership;

5L + 35K insurance and reg + 24K battery + 18K home charging = 5.77L

Second Year cost of ownership;

35K insurance + 24K battery + 18K home charging + 4K servicing including wheel alignment and balancing = 81K.

I own a 2024 Comet Excite FC. In real life, there is a vast difference in what we put on paper and what we get (in a positive way!)

Keep the financial aside, for someone who drives daily to work in a metro city (like I do in Mumbai) there is no better car than Comet. One has to experience it for a long time to really appreciate how easy it makes our daily commute.
Trouble finding a parking slot in a crowded lane? No problem.
Taking a sharp u turn? No problem.
Trouble making friends and starting a conversation? No problem.
There are so many smaller things that we get annoyed while driving even a hatchback in a City like Mumbai, is taken care like a boss by the Comet.
Now to the running cost:
I get on an average 160-200 KMs per charge, so let's take the lower slab for calculation.
Home Charging cost ₹8/unit
Comet has 17.3 kWh battery (Let's calculate with 17 kWh as we never take it to Zero)
Total Cost for 160 KMs is ₹136
I have charged at multiple AC FC and on an average it costs me ₹15/unit so in that case Total cost for 160 KMs is ~₹ 280 (inclusive of GST)
The cost of Comet with or without BaaS is on par with any Petrol ICE Micro Car like Wagon R and Alto (Though I personally feel Comet is way better built and feel premium than Wagon R)
So taking the acquisition cost away, there is no match to the running cost of Comet. Even the service cost of Comet is far less than any micro petrol ICE cars.
I am not even considering use cases where people have free charging at their office parking (lucky them!) and then promotional free charging by MG or any other brand like Statiq.

So again, Frankly, what's not to like?
VWAllstar is online now   (54) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 08:57   #12

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
JSW MG Motor India has launched the 2025 edition of its smallest electric offering, the Comet EV.
To add to the news piece, the Exclusive & Exclusive Fast Charging (FC) variants also get white leatherette seats (apart from 4 speakers mentioned in the news).

Prices of Excite & Excite FC are up by 6k.
Prices of Exclusive & Exclusive FC are up by 10k.

For BaaS variants, the price increase is more significant (nil to 27k for different variants).

Source: Financial Express
tibby is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 09:14   #13

Infractions: 0/3 (20)

Originally Posted by VWAllstar View Post
So again, Frankly, what's not to like?
This is exactly why we have a Comet (Comet Exclusive with Fast Charger) in our household moreover, in our case, we already have a 5 kW Solar power generation plant installed, and hence charging cost is more or less negligible, our Electricity Board only provides peanuts hardly 3.15 per unit (earlier it was 2.67 per unit) on the excess generation provided to it whereas we are charged over Rs.8 depending on the usage (even if we use our generation, the fixed charges increases proportionately like from Rs.200 to Rs.400 and so on per month ), in any case if we use over and above the generation from solar, we are doomed. But that hasn't happened with us yet over the last 3 years and we always have excess production, so we decided to utilise it for our own needs rather than spend huge costs on fuel, so we got the Comet and an Ola in 2024.

That aside, our cost to charge our vehicle (Comet) from our production comes to around Rs.54.5 for a full charge and we get an average of 180 km on a single charge. So it works out quite well. Moreover, we get a similar range from our scooter as well and it is even cheaper owing to just a 4kWh battery.

So in my opinion, the Comet is a perfect city car for a small family for daily runabouts and short distances, and is the perfect second car for our household, we only take the Merc out for long trips and important gatherings nowadays.
yedukrishnan199 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 10:45   #14

What about the Tiago EV? Isn't it in the same price bracket (under 10 lakhs)? How does it compare with the MG Comet?

I feel it would be a better choice given the better rear seat and boot space.

Last edited by Axe77 : 20th March 2025 at 12:34.
Deep Blue is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 12:08   #15

Infractions: 0/3 (20)

Originally Posted by Deep Blue View Post
What about the Tiago EV? Isn't it in the same price bracket(under 10 lakhs)?
How does it compare with the MG Comet?
I feel it would be a better choice given the better rear seat and boot space.
The Tiago.ev albeit a good alternative has had its fair share of issues including battery issues, poor QC and the like, here is an experience of a fellow BHPian for instance:

https://www.team-bhp.com/news/multip...uying-decision
yedukrishnan199 is offline   (7) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com