Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 22nd March 2025, 08:57   #31

Re: 2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh

I like this car for its practicality and how it looks. More than anything, I'm more concerned about it not having the CCS port rather the Type 2 charger. I understand that its a city car and my expectation is to have that cover places in the 70-80kms range/one way which is feasible in Tiago EV as it supports FC - I'm not willing to take a risk with Tata. So, I'm more inclined towards the Comet, but little nerves to go ahead due to the non-availability of quick charging options. Please suggest if there are any alternates for quick charging.

Also, I read some reviews about the suspension being soft and you could feel the "thud" over potholes and uneven roads as the body is so close to the road etc., Any feedback on this topic would be of help.

Last edited by mail2vm : 22nd March 2025 at 09:01. Reason: minor mod
mail2vm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2025, 08:13   #32

Originally Posted by Ravi Parwan View Post

Let's take the BaaS as the cost of refueling. If you equate this to running an ICE car for 500 km per month, you would easily end up putting in at least Rs 2500 worth of fuel in your car. So the Comet with BaaS can be said to be equivalent to a super efficient small car, price wise.

Now think which ICE cars come in the same budget of 4.99???? Does it have the same creature comforts as this? Does it grant you the same bragging rights???

Mine is still armchair analysis, but VWAllstar put it down well, based on real life experience.
Here are some of the FAQs MG has provided for the BaaS. This was from the time of launch

MG FAQs (MG Cloud spotted testing in India. EDIT: Named Windsor)

In a nutshell, the agreement in BaaS is between a financier of the battery and the owner besides an upfront cost for the battery, effectively locking down the buyer into an agreement along with the terms of conditions associated with it. This, even if you like to pay upfront and have no "baggage". Therefore, it needs to be clearly understood how these terms & conditions work, for instance, in matters like transfer of car. It may not be as straight forward as selling the car and going to RTO for completing the paper work.
Old 23rd March 2025, 09:53   #33

Originally Posted by mail2vm View Post
Any feedback on this topic would be of help.
In Metro cities, there is no shortage of Type 2 charging infrastructure. Most EV Charging Stations will have atleast 1 Type 2. Nevertheless, the count will only go down with time. It is economical to install Type 2 however with cars now coming with better and faster charging capability, Type 2 can be redundant in coming years. If you have a charging facility at home or office and are not going to be dependent on charging stations then go ahead with Comet.

Don't bother about the suspensions and puny tyres. This was an important parameter for me as well and I took months to decide. It won't bother you if you are careful and take the Comet at slow speeds over bumps and pot holes.

Try to get the car from the dealer for a day or two and drive like you would drive your own Comet. Take it on routes you plan to use. Charge it at home to know if it is feasible.

I did a lot of research and asked several questions here in Team BHP and to Team BHPians over call. All of them were considerate to patiently answer them and all said only one thing 'just buy and you won't regret, it will become your primary car' Today I own a Comet Excite FC and couldn't be any happier with my choice. I had eC3 in my radar but it was costing me additional 3/4 lakhs.
VWAllstar is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2025, 09:58   #34

Originally Posted by sudeepg View Post
Here ...
In a nutshell, the agreement in BaaS is between a financier of the battery and the owner besides an upfront cost for the battery, effectively locking down the buyer into an agreement along with the terms of conditions associated with it. This, even if you like to pay upfront and have no "baggage". Therefore, it needs to be clearly understood how these terms & conditions work, for instance, in matters like transfer of car. It may not be as straight forward as selling the car and going to RTO for completing the paper work.
BTW, I did not realize Sudeepg had made the same point I made, but 6 months ago.... (The thread is closed so I can't quote the post, but it is # 284.) All this BaaS stuff is just to make us stop and think of the comparison with ICE. Which cars at 5 Lacs can compare with this offering? Put the battery costs towards refueling and the decision becomes easier.

In my mind, the ICE analogy still holds. You don't know where the fuel prices for the car you are buying will be in 3 years (Actually we know. They will only go up...) Same with the battery subscription. (Actually, it might not go up. Given that battery tech is maturing and costs are coming down, the current pricing would only improve with time as newer batteries would be cheaper and more energy dense. Also the financing model would have factored in the current cost of the battery and most contingencies, so they would have no reason to increase prices for current set of batteries, except for just greed.)

Refueling at 2.5/3.5 (rental)+ 1.5 (charging)/ km, it is still cheaper than an ICE car. In the end, it is a heart over mind decision now. Economics for EV are very clear. The range anxiety and fear of getting stranded is what is holding people back. Flashback to the CNG era, when people spent 12 hours for refueling and the lines outside CNG stations regularly made headlines. I am sure with the right push for EV charging stations, this hesitation will be removed from consumers' minds sooner rather than later. I just hope the focus remains on large quantity of low rate charging stations, rather than high rate charging stations, which might not be useful for all.

Bottomline, BaaS or no BaaS, you are paying for the battery. TANSTAFL, (There Ain't No Such Thing As Free Lunch)

Last edited by Ravi Parwan : 23rd March 2025 at 10:03. Reason: Added a point
Old 23rd March 2025, 10:15   #35

Originally Posted by GT390 View Post
If MG can make this a proper 4 door hatchback with bigger tyres and 50KW fast charging than this can be an instant hit. I would never buy it as my primary car because of its shape and size.
They have the ZS ev and the Windsor ev in that range. The Comet is meant for the person who has an IC car for his long distance and family trips but need a small car for the daily work commutes. It works out well that way.
sunsetorange is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 24th March 2025, 04:44   #36

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Originally Posted by InControl View Post
A small correction here- second year cost of ownership Insurance would be not more than 18k
Completely agree, We(Me & wife) use it alternately for our 50 kms office daily commute and it is just sooo convenient.
Attachment 2739267

Off Topic.

Hi.

Insurance premium at the time of purchase must have been about 35K.

How does one manage to engineer a 50% drop in premium in the first renewal?

For example I bought my Kona EV in March 2024.
The insurance component (with every possible add on, but taken outside through my agent) was Rs 49000/-. (The dealer quote was approx 85 to 95K)

In Feb 2025 when I renewed the Insurance (again with every conceivable add on and taken through my agent), I paid 39000/-.

In my observation unless one cuts back very significantly on all the line items of coverage and goes really basic, there is no way that one can save so much on the Insurance Premia.
shankar.balan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th March 2025, 06:36   #37

Off Topic.

Hi.

The insurance component (with every possible add on, but taken outside through my agent) was Rs 49000/-. (The dealer quote was approx 85 to 95K)

In Feb 2025 when I renewed the Insurance (again with every conceivable add on and taken through my agent), I paid 39000/-.

In my observation unless one cuts back very significantly on all the line items of coverage and goes really basic, there is no way that one can save so much on the Insurance Premia.
The first year premium includes 3 year of 3rd party. Hence the higher price. Second year renewals will be the first party only.

Ex. Acko insurance for Tiago Ev dropped from 25k to 13k

Last edited by mally2 : 24th March 2025 at 06:38.
mally2 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th March 2025, 07:00   #38

Off Topic.

Hi.

Showroom quoted me 32k of premium for the first year. 5 mins search on policy bazar cost me 12.5k with zero dep. showroom agreed to match it but… said will withdraw the “20k discount” get were giving me.
Old 24th March 2025, 07:19   #39

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Originally Posted by mally2 View Post
The first year premium includes 3 year of 3rd party. Hence the higher price. Second year renewals will be the first party only.

Ex. Acko insurance for Tiago Ev dropped from 25k to 13k
Originally Posted by handsofsteel View Post
Showroom quoted me 32k of premium for the first year. 5 mins search on policy bazar cost me 12.5k with zero dep. showroom agreed to match it but… said will withdraw the “20k discount” get were giving me.
Yes Digit and Acko and all the online players do give much lower premia. My concern there is in case of need, there is no human to call and speak to. Also I have no real experience with their claim process per se.

Hence, the tried and trusted old fashioned route. I prefer going through the Agent, ensuring every possible coverage and in general prefer SBI Insurance who have a good track record.

I guess thats why, although I take a lot of care of my cars, I ve been paying higher premia. But the peace of mind is worth it.
Old 24th March 2025, 07:46   #40

Yes Digit and Acko and all the online players do give much lower premia. My concern there is in case of need, there is no human to call and speak to. Also I have no real experience with their claim process per se.

Hence, the tried and trusted old fashioned route. I prefer going through the Agent, ensuring every possible coverage and in general prefer SBI Insurance who have a good track record.

I guess thats why, although I take a lot of care of my cars, I ve been paying higher premia. But the peace of mind is worth it.
Policybazaar is just for the quote. Even where I’ve got it done from them, I have never utilised their services for a claim. I have had two substantial claims, including a total loss, and the issuing company has always been there for service. Quick or not is subjective though.
Acko… trying it for my present car, let’s see how it goes.
Old 24th March 2025, 10:11   #41

OT : In our God's own country, only God's can survive here(pun intended), the case is not that simple.

Here EV's tax will be charged at 5% for those below ₹ 15 lakh.
Above ₹ 15 lakhs it would be 8%.
Above ₹ 20 lakhs it would be 10%.

Now comes the interesting part: EVs in battery rental mode would be charged 10% regardless of their cost.

So a MG Comet with ₹ 4.99 Lakhs ex-showroom would have to pay a road tax of ₹ 49.9K. Cool, God's own country.
Vasuki is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th March 2025, 10:19   #42

Originally Posted by Vasuki View Post
OT : In our God's own country, only God's can survive here(pun intended), the case is not that simple.

Here EV's tax will be charged at 5% for those below ₹ 15 lakh.
Above ₹ 15 lakhs it would be 8%.
Above ₹ 20 lakhs it would be 10%.

Now comes the interesting part: EVs in battery rental mode would be charged 10% regardless of their cost.

So a MG Comet with ₹ 4.99 Lakhs ex-showroom would have to pay a road tax of ₹ 49.9K. Cool, God's own country.
Weird. But as far as I know even if one opts for Baas, ex-showroom price remains 6.99L for insurance calculations.
Make a down payment of 5L and take 2L car loan from ur bank of choice. 8yr term at 9% = monthly emi of 2.9k. Make ur own Baas.
Voltzzzzz is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 24th March 2025, 10:30   #43

I have had 4 claims with Acko, one was to replace the HV battery casing for 1.2L on the Tiago EV, Things could not have been smoother, its as good as it can get.
mally2 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2025, 13:12   #44

Few pictures of the Blackstorm edition.

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-fb_img_1743234030166.jpg

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-fb_img_1743234032214.jpg

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-fb_img_1743234035575.jpg

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-fb_img_1743234038663.jpg

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-fb_img_1743234042205.jpg

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-fb_img_1743234044781.jpg

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-fb_img_1743234047570.jpg

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-fb_img_1743234050210.jpg

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-fb_img_1743234052966.jpg

Source : MotorBeam
Venkatesh is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 31st March 2025, 10:09   #45

The 4.99 launch price is a bit misleading. We looked at getting the Comet in Chennai and were presented with the attached price list. BAAS effect?

2025 MG Comet EV launched at Rs 4.99 lakh-mgcometpricelist.png
Chrome6Boy is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com