Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 11th April 2025, 09:23   #91

Re: 2025 BMW iX1 LWB (U12) Review

Got my delivery as well, 15 days back 31st March, which was ideal to have avoided the increased Road Tax. Colour I took Carbon Black, got 2 days spent on PPF so not much driving, and asked the workshop only to charge 100%. Only done about 400km total, so yet to see the full range, but averaging 6.6km/kw or 15.8kw/100km.

I stay in Delhi, and yet to experience any GC issue, not even once. I have taken BMW 360 with 5 yrs, 50k km, as my driving is not much. I am planning to take the service pack plus 4 yr basic EW which together are costing around 84,934. Will get my home charger installation done tomorrow. So havent even charged once.

Still learning and enjoyng mostly city driving. Yet to get the Digital Key working.
AGwagon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th April 2025, 11:39   #92
vdk

Originally Posted by AGwagon View Post
Got my delivery as well, 15 days back 31st March, which was ideal to have avoided the increased Road Tax. Colour I took Carbon Black, got 2 days spent on PPF so not much driving, and asked the workshop only to charge 100%. Only done about 400km total, so yet to see the full range, but averaging 6.6km/kw or 15.8kw/100km.

I stay in Delhi, and yet to experience any GC issue, not even once. I have taken BMW 360 with 5 yrs, 50k km, as my driving is not much. I am planning to take the service pack plus 4 yr basic EW which together are costing around 84,934. Will get my home charger installation done tomorrow. So havent even charged once.

Still learning and enjoyng mostly city driving. Yet to get the Digital Key working.
Congratulations. I face GC issue with passengers so now thinking of adding RogerAB silicone suspension buffer. It worked on my 2012 Honday city like charm. I will test hows the comfort/handling before making it permanent solution
Old 12th April 2025, 06:45   #93

Originally Posted by vdk View Post
Congratulations. I face GC issue with passengers so now thinking of adding RogerAB silicone suspension buffer.
@vdk: unnerving to read your post on Hayek’s Ioniq 5 thread about your GC issues.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/elect...ml#post5954345 (My New Hyundai Ioniq 5 | Ownership Review | Going Electric)

A few queries:
Was your iX1 fully loaded and at the correct tyre pressure?
Does the chassis not maintain its stiffness and hence the scraping?
Again, what exactly is scraping? The bottom sides on the chassis (below the B pillar area) or directly impacting the battery pack protector?
Why would you need to put a aftermarket suspension component on such a pedigreed crossover/SUV? Negates the so-called engineering prowess of BMW in my humble opinion. What works on a low GC 2012 Japanese sedan should not be needed on a 2025 EV crossover from Germany!

Last edited by itwasntme : 12th April 2025 at 06:53.
Old 14th April 2025, 13:27   #94
vdk

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
@vdk: unnerving to read your post on Hayek’s Ioniq 5 thread about your GC issues.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/elect...ml#post5954345 (My New Hyundai Ioniq 5 | Ownership Review | Going Electric)

A few queries:
Was your iX1 fully loaded and at the correct tyre pressure?
Does the chassis not maintain its stiffness and hence the scraping?
Again, what exactly is scraping? The bottom sides on the chassis (below the B pillar area) or directly impacting the battery pack protector?
Why would you need to put a aftermarket suspension component on such a pedigreed crossover/SUV? Negates the so-called engineering prowess of BMW in my humble opinion. What works on a low GC 2012 Japanese sedan should not be needed on a 2025 EV crossover from Germany!

2 adults + 2 kids and total weight less than 160kg and yes tire pressure is as recommended by BMW. Its impacting battery pack protector. Again this doesnt happen if my speed is 5-6kmph but anything above most likely scrap.

Its scrapping mostly because of lower GC and Long wheelbase combo. I dont think chassis is problem and cannot confirm.
vdk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th April 2025, 15:09   #95

I am keen on booking ix1 lwb. This will be my first BMW not the first EV though. Been user of EV from almost a decade now so I am free of charge anxiety and its longterm use etc.
But I was more interested in knowing the niggles and maintenance hurdles of owning this car. I was asked to check for flaky sensors and drive train issues that precede BMW. Looks like those issues did not create exception for EVs

I am speculating between XEV 9e for the features it offers and range it provides but no where comparable to the drive feel the iX1 provides. However, at the same time if there are niggles such as @Abhij faced, I wounder what difference did it make by paying the extra buck.

I want to ask the owners and prospective owners.. Did you evaluate Sealion 7? what made you chose BMW over it? I hope I make up mind soon. The waiting period is 4 months from the day of booking.
Old 21st April 2025, 15:24   #96

Hi Abacusv
Not an owner yet so cant comment on potential niggles of the car. I was exactly in the same boat as yours, comparing across XEV 9E, Sealion and iX1 LWB. XEV9E beats iX1 LWB on features and the speakers specifically. It also felt spacious. Interiors looked nice, however the worry stemmed from the potential multiple software issues that I was a bit wary of. It seems to be coming true, given the comments all around and an article by The-Ken. I would definitely buy a Mahindra sometime down the line, for the sheer value it provides. But it wouldnt be at this stage.
The sealion was a better fit and finish and more features, however the biggest issue holding me back was the risk of it not becoming big in India either because they dont do enough volumes and exit somewhere down the line. Additionally, the risk of them being a Chinese company, creates geo-political risks.
I have always dreamed of a BMW, so my decision is partially rational, partially emotional, so yes the brand of BMW also weighed on my decision, and I have chosed an iX1.
I was also waiting for the kodiaq, which I think is a really good vehicle if you are looking for ICE. Pricing seems to be a bit more on the expensive side, but you do get a lovely european car.
Old 22nd April 2025, 00:49   #97

Hi !

So i am in the same dilemma like some here of deciding between the ix1 lwb and the Sealion.

Now, I find the 2 year warranty a joke on the ix1 and when enquired for extended warranty, the dealer said it would cost 3.49 lk for 3rd & 4th year!
That’s just atrocious!

No way i am paying that amount for a 2 year extended warranty, plus, shows that the repair costs are going to be super high with this and that the chances of issues coming up is very high as BMW themselves are so doubtful of their product and offering only 2 years as standard. Have attached the Warranty costing sheet - Check the REPAIR pricing, that’s Extended Warranty terminology in BMW.
(I am not talking about the battery here.)

While for the Sealion, the extended warranty isn’t officially out yet, so i checked the price for Seal and that’s around 69k for extending the 3year standard warranty to a full 8 yr warranty- 1.5l km!

Sealion being 5 lk more expensive, i reckon may cost around 75k.

Other than this, following are my observations after test driving them both in last two days:

BMW iX1 Lwb:
- The ix1 B mode is fantastic once you get used to it. In my 1 hour of drive, I am now hooked on to it.
- Lackluster performance! Even the Ioniq 5 is much better than this, the Sealion (Premium) is another ball game
- The suspension + 18” tyres are perfect for the bad roads all around here. Most undulations on roads are just bounced over, while potholes at a speed are bone jarring
- The infotainment screen is too small and looks so “chinese” like in the cheap game consoles you get with crappy app layout.
- More efficient than the Sealion, but by a small margin.
- Only reason to still consider this would be the badge premium, but done and dusted with it after having a BMW E60 and a Mini Countryman JCW.
(First time buyers, beware, the badge comes with a very hefty regular maintenance bills.)

BYD Sealion:
- Interiors are excellent and feels like a mix of Macan / Cayenne.
- The infotainment layout and icons are far better in looks and feel.
- Drives brilliantly! Sound system is much better than the iX1.
- Ride comfort and handling much better than iX1
- Power delivery is much better, the more powerful RWD motor is fantastic.
- Wish it came with the iPedal / B mode.
- less efficient than the iX1 Lwb, but the extra cost is peanuts when you are already saving huge being electric.
- The 360 Camera & the Seat Ventilation are so very useful in daily driving. It may seem less useful, but once you start using it, you know how you just can’t be with it then. Both work excellently in the Sealion, sorely missed in the iX1.
- Frunk, oh well, more storage is always welcome on long trips.
- the door handles - much better to operate than the flush handles of iX1 and Ioniq. Only concern if it stops working ever, being a motorised part, then how do i get in?

Overall, I felt the Sealion is overall a far superior and robust product. Might conisder the iX1 for badge, but the extended warranty part is super scary - shows that BMW knows they are going to face lot of warranty issues.

Mods: Cross posting this on the Sealion thread too as it’s related equally there too.
2025 BMW iX1 LWB (U12) Review-b26e3d3188d94f03b61fdb9a383503e3.jpeg  

Last edited by Insane Devil : 22nd April 2025 at 00:53.
Insane Devil is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2025, 07:35   #98

Originally Posted by MavrikinaD View Post
Hi Abacusv
Not an owner yet so cant comment on potential niggles of the car. I was exactly in the same boat as yours, comparing across XEV 9E, Sealion and iX1 LWB. .

Originally Posted by Insane Devil View Post
Hi !

So i am in the same dilemma like some here of deciding between the ix1 lwb and the Sealion.
I've been taking back to back test drives of the iX1 LWB, XEV 9e, BYD atto3 and BYD Sealion. I didn’t want to be biased so took my brother in law for all of these test drives and my wife too. These test drives were taken either a day apart or on the same day morning and evening. In all of it, our choice remained BMW ix1 not because of brand but sheer driving experience and the just needed features.

I requested for a long test drive, we drove to my farm which is about 120KM two way with expressway, state road, village road and finally a bit of off-roading. BMW stood strong across everything, without any niggles either in the drive experience or some of the cool features it can demonstrate. 120km drive felt like 10km. My wife and I both drove it and we just fell in love.

I am going to cancel my XEV 9e Booking which I had made long back. In XEV 9e half of the features in the test drive vehicle did not work. The long screen seemed like too much decoration, more like a wedding vehicle than a daily commuter. I'm an audiophile guy. Very sensitive to sound. 16 speakers seems like an opera house but honestly it’s not pleasing after few minutes. You start getting a strain on your ears. Something is not set right in XEV. Apart from niggles, the suspension was a major drawback and for me it’s the deal breaker. What they market and what is real is a sky and earth difference. Suspension is horrible in XEV 9E.

Atto 3 came close in our choice of cars. It is spacious inside, very new and has a bold design. Powerful motor, good range. For the size of the car the interiors are well done. I would prefer Atto 3 over XEV 9E any day. This is again from the owner’s review of Atto 3 and drive experience of the same. Of course a doubt on Chinese brand and its long term reliability in India is another deal breaker. Yet I feel it is a better choice than XEV 9e personally. Deliver as promise, XEV 9e feels marketing gimmick.

Sealion is a beast.. I feel you should not compare the vehicle with iX1. iX1 is tiny in front of it. It is huge and extremely powerful. It’s a nice car to have but a trouble in city I feel. If in my garage, this car would be last to be picked daily or regularly. Especially Bangalore traffic, you are calling for trouble. It’s a statement car in my opinion. Features are great but some of them did not work well. Suspension is fine not great, gets masked off under the heavy chassis and build. But I think Chinese equipment is all over the place. The switches and knobs don’t feel like a 1/2 crore worth car. You get a feel of a Suzuki Brezza or a Mahindra 3XO. The switch response is very low class. Boot space is fine but not tall enough. Great car but far from being a daily commute car to me.

I agree to some logic of the premium cost of BMW ix1. Something I will try and negotiate if I am lucky enough to get a discount. I would suggest people evaluating iX1 with other choices, please do take a long drive. Experience all the features that are just right. There are some nice features that are not published which I am willing to share as another post.

Owners of iX1, a humble request to help me with anything that you want to suggest to make my buying experience smooth. Thank you in advance.

PS: With less speakers and same brand iX1 delivers a better sound quality compared to XEV 9e. I would love to be wrong but this is my 2 hrs drive experience in the car and very specific check on speaker on all 4 cars.

Last edited by KarthikK : 23rd April 2025 at 08:40. Reason: Fixed multiple typos, please proof read your posts prior to submission
abacusv is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2025, 11:52   #99

Originally Posted by abacusv View Post
I've been taking back to back test drives of the iX1 LWB, XEV 9e, BYD atto3 and BYD Sealion. I didn’t want to be biased so took my brother in law for all of these test drives and my wife too. These test drives were taken either a day apart or on the same day morning and evening. In all of it, our choice remained BMW ix1 not because of brand but sheer driving experience and the just needed features.
This is helpful. iX1 LWB refinement shows the maturity and quality standards of BMW. Did you book the vehicle? Which dealership have you considered and have you received any tentative timeline of delivery?
Old 23rd April 2025, 12:10   #100

Agree with your assessment.
iX1 is a perfect family car, ticks almost all the boxes.
Take a longer test drive before finalizing any of the cars. Good thing is the BMW dealers are more open to such requests than others. This helped with my final decision as well.
From everyday commuting to a long highway drives, it's perfect.
I will be completing 10K Kms this weekend, haven't faced any issues so far. The 18" tyres on iX1 is more livable compared to the 19 or 20 inchers from the competition.
Service intervals are 2 years apart, this is very helpful and costs are very reasonable.
speedmiester is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2025, 14:22   #101
vdk

In case if anyone is wondering about extended warranty

2025 BMW iX1 LWB (U12) Review-img20250319wa0002.jpg
vdk is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2025, 21:39   #102

Originally Posted by vdk View Post
In case if anyone is wondering about extended warranty

Attachment 2751439
What is the diff between Basic and Plus EW?
Old 24th April 2025, 08:55   #103

Originally Posted by crskumar View Post
What is the diff between Basic and Plus EW?
Here are the differences.
Basic - Maintenance
Plus - Wear & Tear
Extended Warranty - Repair
2025 BMW iX1 LWB (U12) Review-e378a1bfdc7f4653bd8422fce6ad809a.jpeg  

Last edited by Insane Devil : 24th April 2025 at 09:04.
Insane Devil is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th April 2025, 11:00   #104

I've been taking back to back test drives of the iX1 LWB, XEV 9e, BYD atto3 and BYD Sealion. I didn’t want to be biased so took my brother in law for all of these test drives and my wife too. These test drives were taken either a day apart or on the same day morning and evening. In all of it, our choice remained BMW ix1 not because of brand but sheer driving experience and the just needed features...
Would recommend to consider the Ioniq 5, people I know in my circle and who were contemplating EV's in 35 - 40 lakhs+ price point all of them have bought the Ioniq 5. Its a global product and overall its the best, no issues with software or battery, good ride comfort, space is amazing and range is sufficient for city + highway drives. The feedback and reviews on this forum are also all positive, I believe this month Autocar has done a comparison between, Sealion, iXLWB and Ioniq 5 with the Ioniq 5 coming out on top. It really seems the best of all at that price point.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 24th April 2025 at 12:15. Reason: Trimmed quote
Formula1Fan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th April 2025, 14:53   #105

Originally Posted by Formula1Fan View Post
. The feedback and reviews on this forum are also all positive, I believe this month Autocar has done a comparison between, Sealion, iXLWB and Ioniq 5 with the Ioniq 5 coming out on top. It really seems the best of all at that price point.
I too am in the same boat considering an EV in this range, I love the Ioniq5 but can anyone share the status of the dreaded ICCU problem that is prevalent in the Ioniq5? Even on the forum people have also been sharing their plight with 12V battery causes a lot of problem.
abs182 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com