Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 9th January 2025, 09:05   #286

Re: Mahindra BE 6 Review

As a new Windsor owner for a city like mumbai and the fact that it's a second car to our 2019 Creta, I have seen loads of buyers in the 15 to 17 lakh on road price bracket rather than in the 20 lakh on road price bracket. If mostly everyone were to have 20 lakh budget then ICE Creta sales would have been second to none. It's pure economics after all, forget XEV9, BE 6e will be a non starter in a city like Mumbai if prices above 20 lakhs on road irrespective of whatever battery packs. In India, in the car scene economics rules, nothing else.

Last edited by KarthikK : 9th January 2025 at 09:26. Reason: Capitalising car names
ThatsOkToo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th January 2025, 10:21   #287

As a M&M stock holder, I love the pricing. Anything lower that what they have currently priced, would mean slimmer profit margins and a long waiting list anyways. If they have capacity to make only 5000 cars per month, why not price at a slight premium with lower waiting periods. This way they can focus more on delivery while also ensuring good profits.

As a potential buyer for the BE6, am certainly disappointed. That said, in hindsight, it let folks like me wait for Pack 2 announcement. By then, hopefully the backlog will not be crazy. Hope the not-so-stupendous response makes them consider offering a 79KWh version in Pack 2. Will have enough cars on road to understand if there are any gremlins (specially with so much tech involved). Helps me take a pause and look before I leap.

Until then, I will keep monitoring the M&M stock price on Zerodha (as against any updates on auto forums/YouTube) to keep myself engaged

sachinayak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th January 2025, 11:08   #288

Originally Posted by ThatsOkToo View Post
As a new Windsor owner for a city like mumbai and the fact that it's a second car to our 2019 Creta, I have seen loads of buyers in the 15 to 17 lakh on road price bracket rather than in the 20 lakh on road price bracket. If mostly everyone were to have 20 lakh budget then ICE Creta sales would have been second to none. It's pure economics after all, forget XEV9, BE 6e will be a non starter in a city like Mumbai if prices above 20 lakhs on road irrespective of whatever battery packs. In India, in the car scene economics rules, nothing else.
Some flaws in above analysis. Take XUV700 for instance. Only MX series is priced below 20L OTR, one which rarely is seen on the road. The AX3 diesel series starts at 20.5+L OTR. This car sells 8-10K per month. That is certainly not a small number. Mahindra targets 5K monthly sales from both BE6 and XEV. 3K for BE6 and 2K for XEV should not be unachievable by any means.
In reality both should deliver 550+(BE6) and 520+(XEV) range. This is honestly all that anyone needs.

But all above is theory. Issue is with limited information one has about EV infra. There was false information which even I had like (high battery degradation rate, EV infra on our roads, EV battery safety etc.) Turns out its much more sorted than I imagined. But I got this info only after going through loads and loads of EV ownership reviews on team bhp. An average joe would rarely be aware of such information. Therefore I feel even if these were offered at 20L price people won't be lining up to the showrooms just like they did for Thar Roxx or XUV700.

Last edited by 07CR : 9th January 2025 at 11:23.
07CR is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 9th January 2025, 12:17   #289

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
Some flaws in above analysis. Take XUV700 for instance. Only MX series is priced below 20L OTR, one which rarely is seen on the road. The AX3 diesel series starts at 20.5+L OTR. This car sells 8-10K per month. That is certainly not a small number. Mahindra targets 5K monthly sales from both BE6 and XEV. 3K for BE6 and 2K for XEV should not be unachievable by any means.
In reality both should deliver 550+(BE6) and 520+(XEV) range. This is honestly all that anyone needs.

But all above is theory. Issue is with limited information one has about EV infra. There was false information which even I had like (high battery degradation rate, EV infra on our roads, EV battery safety etc.) Turns out its much more sorted than I imagined. But I got this info only after going through loads and loads of EV ownership reviews on team bhp. An average joe would rarely be aware of such information. Therefore I feel even if these were offered at 20L price people won't be lining up to the showrooms just like they did for Thar Roxx or XUV700.
Hi, I think XUV500 had very high brand perception amongst the people, therefore, when XUV7OO was launched at a mouth watering price, people were shocked and queued up to get the same asap. Similar story is for Scorpio N and Thar Roxx.

However, this is not the case with BE 6 & XEV 9e. Both these products are new to the market. The design of both of these EVs will attract to people, but many of us will avoid buying such design cars. In my view if Hyundai launch Creta EV at a realistic price of 13.99 lacs (or 14.49 lacs) for base model to 18.90 (or 19.90 lacs) for the top model, then probably Creta will sell twice the numbers of combined BE & XEV series.

I have been discussing EV with many of my colleagues & friends and realize that it is very difficult to convince people to buy an EV, specially those living in high rise apartments, builder floors and in independent houses where they do not have dedicated parking space and have to park their car at a nearby available space.

Our charging infrastructure may currently look good because we don't have many EVs, but imagine if we see monthly sale of just 25000 EVs and EV infrastructure do not grow in right pace & direction, then probably we will see long queues in charging stations on highways (like we see in CNG pumps) or may be fight among the people for charging, which will further discourage people to buy an EV.

It is important for the Ministries to allow atleast 50kW charging guns at each & every fuel pump for charging minimum 4 to 5 cars at a time, otherwise we will see lots of problem because EV charging is minimum 30 minutes to 45 minutes work and until and unless charging infrastructure increase and people are confident about availability of charging points, it will be very difficult for people to make EV their first preference.
GoBabyGo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th January 2025, 12:21   #290

Originally Posted by ThatsOkToo View Post
There is a segment where heart rules over the head and Mahindra usually places their product there. Cars like the Thar and Scorpio are the proof here. They are like the Royal Enfield for passenger vehicles IMO. Look at the sales of Honda Elevate (well engineered and < 20L), but it’s going nowhere. Auto buying decisions are both financial and emotional.

Btw, if I were an auto maker, I would prefer to sell 10 cars at 30L each, rather than selling 20 cars at 15L each!

Last edited by driver641 : 9th January 2025 at 12:23.
Old 9th January 2025, 12:45   #291

Originally Posted by GoBabyGo View Post
However, this is not the case with BE 6 & XEV 9e. Both these products are new to the market. The design of both of these EVs will attract to people, but many of us will avoid buying such design cars. In my view if Hyundai launch Creta EV at a realistic price of 13.99 lacs (or 14.49 lacs) for base model to 18.90 (or 19.90 lacs) for the top model, then probably Creta will sell twice the numbers of combined BE & XEV series.
I agree about XUV700 being the brand. But the design is definitely a positive. For conservative folks certainly it might not be a hit, but they are in the minority. Safe to say people will buy it for the looks alone!

I have been discussing EV with many of my colleagues & friends and realize that it is very difficult to convince people to buy an EV, specially those living in high rise apartments, builder floors and in independent houses where they do not have dedicated parking space and have to park their car at a nearby available space.
This I agree. But people are accustomed to small EVs where need to frequently charge it. With these and the quoted 550+ Km range people would need not charge it frequently and hence atleast independent house owners or the highrise apartments who are allowing atleast 15 Amp socket installations would definitely buy these EVs.

Our charging infrastructure may currently look good because we don't have many EVs, but imagine if we see monthly sale of just 25000 EVs and EV infrastructure do not grow in right pace & direction, then probably we will see long queues in charging stations on highways (like we see in CNG pumps) or may be fight among the people for charging, which will further discourage people to buy an EV.

It is important for the Ministries to allow atleast 50kW charging guns at each & every fuel pump for charging minimum 4 to 5 cars at a time, otherwise we will see lots of problem because EV charging is minimum 30 minutes to 45 minutes work and until and unless charging infrastructure increase and people are confident about availability of charging points, it will be very difficult for people to make EV their first preference.
This is a very high possibility. And this same thought has troubled me for a year now. That's the same reason I have deferred buying these rightaway and will buy it only post 2027 after which we will have added clarity on EV infra.
07CR is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 9th January 2025, 13:15   #292

I agree about XUV700 being the brand. But the design is definitely a positive. For conservative folks certainly it might not be a hit, but they are in the minority. Safe to say people will buy it for the looks alone!

I would like to read it as "People will 'initially' buy it for the looks alone"

This I agree. But people are accustomed to small EVs where need to frequently charge it. With these and the quoted 550+ Km range people would need not charge it frequently and hence atleast independent house owners or the highrise apartments who are allowing atleast 15 Amp socket installations would definitely buy these EVs.

If we ignore the big cities & high usage, average daily run for a normal user is 25km to 35km and with this daily run, an EV with 300km range (45kWh or 50kWh battery pack with a price range of 16 lacs to 20 lacs) is more than sufficient.

This is a very high possibility. And this same thought has troubled me for a year now. That's the same reason I have deferred buying these rightaway and will buy it only post 2027 after which we will have added clarity on EV infra.
I have full faith in our Government that they are not going to do much in EV charging station (atleast in North India). Sooner or later (2026 or 2027), we will see sharp decline in EV sales for not having reasonable charging infrastructure in India.
Old 9th January 2025, 13:35   #293

6E maybe that shot in the arm, as a diesel person it got me into thinking. It looks cool, has decent range for a second \ third car , ground clearance is a plus, RWD will ensure usability for most of the year and solar charging is becoming rather cheap, so much so that you can make a decent parking garage with Solar panels which would do double duty of creating a shade as well as charging the vehicle.
Kosfactor is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 9th January 2025, 14:11   #294

I have full faith in our Government that they are not going to do much in EV charging station (atleast in North India). Sooner or later (2026 or 2027), we will see sharp decline in EV sales for not having reasonable charging infrastructure in India.
The government doesn’t have to do anything about charging infrastructure. They didn’t do anything about petrol pumps in the past few decades as well but everyone who can afford a petrol pump wants to set one up.

Charging stations just need to be economically viable which they already are. And they will become more and more viable as electricity rates go up and faster charging becomes a norm (a faster charger can do more revenue per day by charging more cars).

On top of that setting up a charging station is actually much cheaper than setting up a petrol or a CNG pump. If I have one, I can also easily put a solar roof on top and reduce my electricity costs further.

This nation’s government is useless. It just knows how to collect more and more revenue and do nothing with it. But as long as something is profitable you can be sure enough people will do it.
darkgamer is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 9th January 2025, 17:10   #295

Assuming the deliveries begin in March, by when would most consider it safe to buy any of these freshly baked Mahindras?

To rephrase, how long do you think would Mahindra take to identify and take corrective action against any niggles, 3 months, 6 months, 9 months or a year?
Nikhilvm4 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th January 2025, 18:03   #296

Originally Posted by Nikhilvm4 View Post
Assuming the deliveries begin in March, by when would most consider it safe to buy any of these freshly baked Mahindras?
It will be dynamic. Wait atleast for first 4 months. If you absolutely need to buy these and there is no issue being reported whatsoever in initial 4 months, you may take the plunge.

If any sort of issue starts appearing, you may decide on the severity of the issue and take a call. For instance, if Tata EV like HV critical errors start appearing, I would completely refrain from buying these atleast for 2 years.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by 07CR : 9th January 2025 at 18:04.
07CR is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 9th January 2025, 18:42   #297

I would disagree… I am using a Nexon EV as my only car for the past 18 months and have clocked 30k km thus far. In just these 18 months I’ve seen charging infrastructure grow exponentially both in terms of number of charging points and also more importantly charging speed. So even though my Nexon tops off at 30kW, most fast chargers are now 60kW and getting faster, which should help the likes of newer cars like Currv, BE6, etc.

Lastly, in the city I have solely relied on the humble 16A socket in my parking. Completely obviates the need for fast charging. Lakhs of people in apartments have dedicated parking and can set up a 16A plug point. So from every angle, EVs will take off in 2025.

Oh and before I close, I used to drive a Civic earlier. I am done with paying 10 bucks a km and will never go back to ICE again. Simply makes no sense.
navinmra is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 10th January 2025, 09:45   #298

I have built an excel sheet to compare variants, with the information available from two different presentation, i.e. 26-Nov-2024, for Pack-1 and 7-Jan-2025 for Pack-3.

To me it looks like base pack seems VFM. It would be interesting to see what is on offer for Pack-2.
File Type: xlsx BE6.xlsx (13.8 KB, 83 views)

Last edited by shivangbhatt : 10th January 2025 at 09:55.
shivangbhatt is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th January 2025, 10:06   #299

Originally Posted by navinmra View Post
I would disagree… I am using a Nexon EV as my only car for the past 18 months and have clocked 30k km thus far. In just these 18 months I’ve seen charging infrastructure grow exponentially both in terms of number of charging points and also more importantly charging speed. So even though my Nexon tops off at 30kW, most fast chargers are now 60kW and getting faster, which should help the likes of newer cars like Currv, BE6, etc.
Sorry for going off topic, but have you seen any battery degradation? Also is this your only car. Asking this as I am looking at BE6 as the only car, and skeptical about its highway performance despite the 550+ real world range (PS-I was a EV sceptic until very recently and despised them )
07CR is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2025, 10:06   #300

Originally Posted by shivangbhatt View Post
I have built an excel sheet to compare variants, with the information available from two different presentation, i.e. 26-Nov-2024, for Pack-1 and 7-Jan-2025 for Pack-3.

To me it looks like base pack seems VFM. It would be interesting to see what is on offer for Pack-2.
Cant wait for Pack 2 59-79Kw. Hoping for 21-23L pricing

For someone who wants a tech-laden Pack 3, its overpriced by a couple lacs. However, for someone who wants a no-nonsense base pack, 1 @ 18.9L may make sense. For KA residents, pack 2 will be the saviour if they can get 79kw pack 2 under 25L. I, for one will not buy an EV that needs road tax paid to the government just out of spite.
mally2 is online now   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com