Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 8th April 2025, 14:08   #1306

Re: Mahindra BE 6 Review

I have a few questions regarding the BE6. Manufactured in Feb 2025.

1) I don't have a 7.2KW AC charger installed at home. I have not used the 3.3KW AC charger as well. I am only relying on the DC fast charger (30KW). How will this affect my car's range and battery life?

2) My car displays an incorrect range ->

At 25% charge, it shows 89 kms. The sales associate asks me to charge the car using AC charger to 100% a few times to fix this but I don't believe him.

If we look at the Trip analytics, it shows 7 kms per KWH which means -> 7*79 = 553 kms total range.

The car is giving the range of 500+ but the dashboard shows a reduced range. Is it a software issue?

3) I tried installing the update on my own. The car notified that the update is available for installing. The update went well for some time but at 82%, I faced an error. The car stopped responding & I had to restart the car after which the settings showed "System is up to date".

Has anyone faced this?

The car is now at the workshop & I am being told that software is being updated via the laptop.

Please share your thoughts.
Mahindra BE 6 Review-whatsapp-image-20250408-14.01.10.jpeg  

Old 8th April 2025, 14:39   #1307

Originally Posted by BreeN95 View Post
SHOCKING EXPERIENCE. Think TWICE before buying these eSUVs.

I was in love with the vehicle, now I hate it.

These vehicles are NOT Reliable. buy it at your own risk. It's fun, yes. But getting stranded on a highway at 11pm at night, not fun at all!

I never imagined I would drive this car at 0% charge. It was crawling. WORST Experience Ever. I'm sure Mahindra is going to deny this and say it's a baseless claim like they did before.

My mistake for trusting mahindra, my mistake for being an early adopter.
So sorry to hear this!! This is the main reason I am still avoiding EVs and that too freshly baked EVs. Hope they get to the root cause of it and fix it asap. Keep us posted.
prajakt_23 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th April 2025, 14:57   #1308

Hey Guys. Did any of you get a service reminder notification at around 800kms? Normal?

Also, regarding the cell imbalance issue reported earlier. My car jumped from 91% to 100%. But when I look at the quantity of KW consumed for charging it adds up to 79kw after I minus the distance travelled (see the screenshot) so it should be fine right? Maybe it’s because the cells are rebalancing for the first time?
I am yet to hit 800, but am just short of it. So will update soon.

The energy consumed (kW) includes any transmission losses too. Also, EV batteries have an unusable margin within them. That might be the difference.

Originally Posted by greenoval View Post
I am considering BE 6 as the potential replacement for my 10 year old POLO Diesel TDi. However, I do not have the provision to charge the car at home (no scope of installing a dedicated charger or even use the 15-amp outlet). I plan to use commercial charging stations to charge the car. The idea is to DC fast charge the car routinely interspersed with 7.2kW AC charging. As a novice, I had a few queries on EV charging -
1) Do commercial charging stations also have 7.2kW AC charging facility?
2) Will it matter if I charge the car to 100% using DC charging or should I use AC charging whenever I plan to charge to 100%?
3) Can I charge to 80% using a DC charger and the balance 20% using AC charging?
4) Also, from what I understand 7.2kw AC charging will typically take over 10-12 hours to charge a 79 kWh battery pack. Do commercial charging stations allow a car to be parked for long hours?

Sorry for the noob questions, I am trying to find ways around the challenge of home charging to get BE6 home.
1. Some of them do. You will find public chargers of all denominations. You can install plugshare and check the options.

2. The only factor that influences BMS rebalancing and calibration is the time it takes. AC charging is slow, allowing the BMS to do these things over a longer period of time. DC doesn't. But the BMS does all the housekeeping activities with both AC and DC charging. You should be ok to charge to a 100 using either. In general, it's not recommended to DC Fast charge too often for battery health reasons.

3. Yes, that's a totally viable option. That's kinda what I did. Used a DC fast charger to go from 40 to 60 in 15 minutes. Then charged overnight at home using the 3.3kW to get to a 100.

4. Yes, you can park your car for as long as you want, as long as it's charging. The real question there becomes, is it a safe enough spot to park the car for such extended durations.
ashishk29 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th April 2025, 16:51   #1309

Originally Posted by darkstar1947 View Post
I have a few questions regarding the BE6. Manufactured in Feb 2025.

1) I don't have a 7.2KW AC charger installed at home. I have not used the 3.3KW AC charger as well. I am only relying on the DC fast charger (30KW). How will this affect my car's range and battery life?

2) My car displays an incorrect range ->

At 25% charge, it shows 89 kms. The sales associate asks me to charge the car using AC charger to 100% a few times to fix this but I don't believe him.

If we look at the Trip analytics, it shows 7 kms per KWH which means -> 7*79 = 553 kms total range.

The car is giving the range of 500+ but the dashboard shows a reduced range. Is it a software issue?

3) I tried installing the update on my own. The car notified that the update is available for installing. The update went well for some time but at 82%, I faced an error. The car stopped responding & I had to restart the car after which the settings showed "System is up to date".

Has anyone faced this?

The car is now at the workshop & I am being told that software is being updated via the laptop.

Please share your thoughts.
1 - You should definitely slow charge once in a month. LFP batteries have flat voltage curve. So the battery management system cannot gauge charge if you don't charge steadily periodically. Overtime the BMS gets better but slow charging with AC 3-11kw is necessary for LFP vehicles. Mahindra BE and XEVs are LFP cars.

2 - The sales associate is right. Please use the portable charger even and charge to 100%. You should be able to fully charge over 2-2.5 days. Leave it at home for 2 days once a month if you can't find a faster AC charger anywhere else.

3 - Initial niggles. This is the first Mahindra to support FOTA and OTA.
aweracker is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th April 2025, 20:03   #1310

I don't want to spend 30 lacs on an EV and then do all these mental gymnastics on how to charge, when to charge, to what percentage to charge. Imagine doing this to your phones! I will wait till EV reach maturity levels that I can plug it in whatever available charger and be good to go.
mayankthebest is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 8th April 2025, 20:37   #1311

BUT within a few minutes and under 2KMs the charge drained to 1%.
This is disappointing. Spending more than 20 lacs on a car whose battery is behaving like a smartphone's.
No driving mode, no weight, nothing can justify this behaviour in a brand-new car.
itsbaman is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 8th April 2025, 21:09   #1312

Going through the thread and reading through the issues people are facing vs Hyundai creta electric which is running without issues. No wonder hyundai is charging a premium.
Old 8th April 2025, 21:53   #1313

Originally Posted by Sd@1023 View Post
Going through the thread and reading through the issues people are facing vs Hyundai creta electric which is running without issues. No wonder hyundai is charging a premium.
Other converted jugaad EVs like the XUV400 and Nexon EVs are also running without any problems, maybe they should also cost 25 lakhs each on road?
darkgamer is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th April 2025, 22:15   #1314

PDI DONE!!!
Hello everyone, today i travelled from mysore to bangalore to do a PDI, more accurately i may call it as pre payment inspection.
Satin white is awesome. Most disappointing part- the car was full of dust, so I was not able to accurately check on paint irregularities. Though I found a small bubble on the right side of the hood.
Thanks to a bhpian who had prepared a checklist of PDI.
No panel gaps, doors perfect, electronics perfect, lights and ORVMs perfect, even the lowering of ORVM worked while reversing. Infotainment system perfect. Boot lid opening with gesture perfect, driving modes worked fine, tyres from Dunlop, remotely moving car front abd back worked, my vehicle had clocked 70 kilometres. Couldn't find any fault except for the small paint bubble. It's a march manufactur.
Paid up fully, hope there is no problem in invoice generation from Mahindras side as my dealer was starting that invoicing was sometimes not happening because of some software issue from Mahindras side.
Got a selected no. for my jet(7747).
Hopefully if everything goes as planned, I might get delivery on Friday or Saturday.
affi747 is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 8th April 2025, 22:18   #1315

My close friend is a prominent dealer for hyundai. He told me a couple of days back that they had just recieved 25 bookings so far for the electric creta.
He said the poor response was not expected.
affi747 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 8th April 2025, 22:43   #1316

Any suggestions as to where can I buy good after market 3D floor mats and boot mat.
Or should I go with the company ones.
The company ones cost a lot I feel.
Old 8th April 2025, 23:09   #1317

Originally Posted by gaurav371 View Post
What is the range people who own BE 6/ XEV 9e are getting? There are many Youtube videos now which somewhat in line with demo cars claim to be getting around 350km as range
I Have completed 1400kms in my Xev 9e. I’m getting around 500kms in city driving and around 450kms in the highway driving sedately around 100kmph. People who are getting bad range are driving the car like an ICE car since most are first time EV owners .
VSEV85 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th April 2025, 23:21   #1318

Sorry, but there’s only been one single major issue so far? I’m not sure what other “issues” you’re referring to here?

Besides, this forum isn’t an exhaustive list of all owners. I am in groups containing only BEV owners, and nobody has experienced any such issues.

That too is most likely related to initial battery calibration.

Which brings me to an important point for everyone taking delivery of their BE6: please charge your car to 100% as soon as possible after delivery.

This helps the LFP chemistry battery pack to perform internal balancing, and thereby allows the BMS to estimate battery state better.

Ideally, charge it to a 100% 3-4 times a month depending on your usage. If your usage is low, then even 1-2 times is fine.

But LFP batteries absolutely need the occasional full 100% charge to function properly.

I understand some of you might have been told by the dealership or other sources to only charge till 80, but that applies only to NMC batteries. Not LFP.
ashishk29 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th April 2025, 23:33   #1319

Originally Posted by StrykerEV05 View Post
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/elect...-tata-evs.html (HV Critical Alert in Tata EVs)

Refer to the above thread for HV Critical Error.

I have been driving the Nexon EV for the past 40 months, got my Main Battery Pack replaced under warranty just 3 months back.

Issue: The car used to work normally till about 30% from a full charge and then in 1-2km it used to drop very quickly from 30% to almost 1%. So basically the car was usable only upto 30% charge. This issue festered over time, initially when the car was 2 years old this issue used to occur close to 10-12%, so the car used to last hardly 2-3km after 12% whereas under normal situations it should last for atleast 25km. With time the charge threshold kept moving up. Since the Nexon EV was my only car, and Tata guys don't give a backup vehicle I kept the car without giving it to the service station for resolving this issue. (P.S. The regular service was done at 6 month intervals and they never identified any issue with the battery)
Finally gave the car for a week in Jan this year and they did return the car quite quickly. I'm impressed with that, I know a few owners who had their car in the workshop for 4 weeks, I got mine back in just 1 week.
I was worried about underbody damage. There is also a thread where Tata was denying warranty on battery packs which had slight damage from the bottom. In Mumbai roads, I have occasionally encountered some massive pot holes, I was praying for them not to have caused damage, thankfully mine was safe.
When giving the car the usable range was 100-37%, post that a very steep drop, every 50-100m the car used to lose 1% charge.

After Replacement: I think given my urgency they gave me the car too soon without testing much with the new battery pack. In the charging curve I can see the battery jumping from 78% to 100%, I was worried initially. But after having driven about 2500km since the battery change I think the issue is solved. I have taken the car upto 15%, it is discharging linearly. No steep drops, 1% is giving me close to 2.5km.

Overtime by charging upto 100% each time I have been able to improve the battery health, now the charging jumps from 90-100%. I think after a few more charges it should get balanced further.

Sorry for the long post, just thought of letting you know the perspective of a 3.5 year old EV owner

Attaching few screenshots of the charging issue faced post battery replacement. Also the last screenshot shows the steep drop pre replacement. Charge used to come up very quickly too (5%-35%) using a 3kw charger in just 5 mins
Thanks a lot for sharing. That was some very good insights for me personally. Thanks again.

Has anybody experienced turning on the car and the display being blank? I had to turn off and on the car again for it to appear.

Anybody else this happened to?

Mod Note : Please use the EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another on the SAME THREAD!

To know how to multi-quote, click here.

We advise you to read the Forum Rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by moralfibre : 12th April 2025 at 01:41. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged. Please use multi-quote option when replying to multiple posts. Thank you!
BreeN95 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th April 2025, 06:16   #1320

Originally Posted by mayankthebest View Post
I don't want to spend 30 lacs on an EV and then do all these mental gymnastics on how to charge, when to charge, to what percentage to charge. Imagine doing this to your phones! I will wait till EV reach maturity levels that I can plug it in whatever available charger and be good to go.
I mean, EVs already are that level of plug and play!

If you just want some reason not to consider an EV, that's your prerogative.

I have myself done ~260km runs so far. Already have around 600km worth of trips lined up next week.
There's a 9E owner over in the other forum who has already clocked 1900km on his car.

It's just basic planning. Anyone with even some basic reading comprehension can plan a trip out and should find it extremely easy.

Originally Posted by itsbaman View Post
This is disappointing. Spending more than 20 lacs on a car whose battery is behaving like a smartphone's.
No driving mode, no weight, nothing can justify this behaviour in a brand-new car.
The battery tech in question is susceptible to reporting incorrect battery percentages. In theory, all LFP batteries can do this. Some further reading.
The solution isn't overly complex either. Just charge the car to a 100% on AC charging once a week.

And like I mentioned, this is literally the only incidence to happen so far.
1 out of 2000. That's 0.05%.

Has anybody experienced turning on the car and the display being blank? I had to turn off and on the car again for it to appear.

Anybody else this happened to?
I haven't heard of this one either. Is this a recurring issue? Or a one off?

Did this happen around the time you tried the update and it failed?
ashishk29 is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com