Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 9th March 2025, 10:17   #781

Re: Mahindra BE 6 Review

Originally Posted by darkgamer View Post
Yours is an extreme case. Most people buying EVs use them quite a bit. I plan to do mine around 2000 km per month, which will be glatially slow for a 3kw charger.
I have had no issues charging my ZS EV with only a 15A plug for years. You don't normally charge from zero to one hundred. If you plug it in at 8pm when you reach home and you leave by 8am the next day, you can add around 30KWh. So, all you have to do is plug it in early evening and ket it charge till the next afternoon and you can get over 50% top up.
Lobogris is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 18:16   #782

Originally Posted by Lobogris View Post
I have had no issues charging my ZS EV with only a 15A plug for years. You don't normally charge from zero to one hundred. If you plug it in at 8pm when you reach home and you leave by 8am the next day, you can add around 30KWh. So, all you have to do is plug it in early evening and ket it charge till the next afternoon and you can get over 50% top up.
Thanks, I think in that case I can also request for no charger. Put a request with my SA today and they’ll get back to me by tomorrow.

A 3kw charger will help me a lot because it’ll save me at least 1.5 lakhs in charger + sanctioned load + installation cost.

If the government wants to support EVs they gotta make sanctioned load cheap. Charging almost 10k per kw increase isn’t helping.
darkgamer is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2025, 11:26   #783

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
1.5 days if I am not wrong. Assuming it charges 3 KW per hour (with drops),27*3 =81 KW.

Which is OK as well, considering my daily usage of <20 Kms. I can charge once a month and I am set, or I can charge once a week with trickle charge for completing the 80>100 % in one overnight.
Originally Posted by Lobogris View Post
Exactly my point as per the above quoted post. Most people won't need even the 7 Kwh charger assuming you travel <100 Kms daily. A normal 12 hour overnightly charge can give you 30 KWH which will result in range of ~ 200 Kms comfortably.
07CR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2025, 12:25   #784

Exactly my point as per the above quoted post. Most people won't need even the 7 Kwh charger assuming you travel <100 Kms daily. A normal 12 hour overnightly charge can give you 30 KWH which will result in range of ~ 200 Kms comfortably.
So ideally if you start with a full charge, then charge every night, to take care of your daily city driving, you practically have a 100% charge every morning . This enables you to take long journeys any time because you fast charge on the way. In this scenario one is good enough with the 3KW 16A charger that comes with the car.
Old 10th March 2025, 12:30   #785

Originally Posted by sudhirjaipur View Post
So ideally if you start with a full charge, then charge every night, to take care of your daily city driving, you practically have a 100% charge every morning . This enables you to take long journeys any time because you fast charge on the way. In this scenario one is good enough with the 3KW 16A charger that comes with the car.
But is that OK by Mahindra or I still need to purchase either the 7kw or 11 KW charger separately from them ?
Old 10th March 2025, 13:58   #786

Got the call from my showroom. I have been allotted a car.

The countdown begins.

Now I "just" have to sell off my current car, do the loan stuff, and get the new car.
ashishk29 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2025, 14:47   #787

Hey so the deliveries start today right?
Old 10th March 2025, 15:32   #788

Yeah I mean in theory, the showroom rep said I can get the delivery as soon as payment is completed.

So if someone has 30L lying around, they can get it delivered right away. (After registration i.e.)
Old 10th March 2025, 15:49   #789

But is that OK by Mahindra or I still need to purchase either the 7kw or 11 KW charger separately from them ?
I don't know, but Mahindra and other EV manufacturers should understand this and not force the 7.2/11KW charger on buyers. For most car owners, except for taxi, the use would be 100-200 km per day with an occasional long drive, it will be no different if I switch from ICE to EV. So why do I need a 7.2/11 KW charger at home. Am I missing something.
Old 10th March 2025, 15:55   #790

I don't know, but Mahindra and other EV manufacturers should understand this and not force the 7.2/11KW charger on buyers. For most car owners, except for taxi, the use would be 100-200 km per day with an occasional long drive, it will be no different if I switch from ICE to EV. So why do I need a 7.2/11 KW charger at home. Am I missing something.
As I understand it, these chargers are "smart" and thus can be controlled via app?

So the way I see it, (while it is indeed an expensive affair) I have the choice to set it to a lower charging speed for day to day usage, but then switch up to a full 11kW if the need arises.

I mean I have opted for the 11kW unit with this reasoning in mind. My daily commute is pretty average, but I end up having to travel at a short notice some times.
Old 10th March 2025, 16:08   #791

Originally Posted by ashishk29 View Post
As I understand it, these chargers are "smart" and thus can be controlled via app?

So the way I see it, (while it is indeed an expensive affair) I have the choice to set it to a lower charging speed for day to day usage, but then switch up to a full 11kW if the need arises.

I mean I have opted for the 11kW unit with this reasoning in mind. My daily commute is pretty average, but I end up having to travel at a short notice some times.
I have not gone into what is the best mode of charging, should you charge everyday or let the battery come down to 20% and then charge. My point is that if you drive only 100-200 km on a normal day you only have to charge your EV for 16.7-33 kW (assuming consumption of 6km/W) or 5.5 to 11 hrs by a normal 3KW charger and may not need the bigger 7.2/11KW one.
Old 10th March 2025, 16:16   #792

Talked to my SA. They said that you can remove the fast charger provided you’re willing to take delivery in second batch (April). As for reason I just said that my building isn’t allowing extra sanctioned load, which is fair as getting it extended is a pain.

I agreed that I’m completely okay with one month delay as it means saving almost 1.3 lakhs (50k charger + 40-60k load increase cost + 20-30k for wiring and electrical cost for 7KW).

Also by April the reviews of car should be out by both users and media houses so should be safer.
darkgamer is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 10th March 2025, 17:33   #793

I have not gone into what is the best mode of charging, should you charge everyday or let the battery come down to 20% and then charge. My point is that if you drive only 100-200 km on a normal day you only have to charge your EV for 16.7-33 kW (assuming consumption of 6km/W) or 5.5 to 11 hrs by a normal 3KW charger and may not need the bigger 7.2/11KW one.
Yeah I don't intend to full charge it every day anyway.

My target is charging maybe once a week for a few hours.

Like I said, I'd rather have the 11kW charger for those situations where I know I'm gonna have to travel.
ashishk29 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2025, 17:43   #794

Originally Posted by ashishk29 View Post

Smart chargers or not it's about the additional cost one needs to pay. It's easily 1 lakh plus even for 7.2 Kw charger if I am not wrong. If I don't need it, I should have the option of using the dead slow 3 kw charger only. I stay in Pune City and there many fast chargers nearby my place. If at all needed I can simply go to the nearest fast charger for a FAST 15 min top up
07CR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th March 2025, 18:20   #795

Smart chargers or not it's about the additional cost one needs to pay. It's easily 1 lakh plus even for 7.2 Kw charger if I am not wrong. If I don't need it, I should have the option of using the dead slow 3 kw charger only. I stay in Pune City and there many fast chargers nearby my place. If at all needed I can simply go to the nearest fast charger for a FAST 15 min top up
You also need to add the hassle of upgrading your sanctioned load. Your local DISCOM won't just take a hefty fee for upconversion to 7-11kw load, but will also require multiple follow ups, bribes(unfortunately) and co-ordination with government babus. If you add the time cost of this, it becomes truly humongous sum of money to get the charger installed. If Mahindra truly wants to sell their chargers, they need to at least remove this friction, which they aren't right now.

Just doing some basic math about the true cost of charger installation:

Based on my interaction with BESCOM in Bengaluru, it will take at least 5-6 visits to the office + multiple follow ups to even get work started. I spent almost 3 hours this week for the 7KW load and had zero progress, and then gave up. For getting it done end to end, my estimation is about 20 hours of my own time.

Assuming someone getting a 30L car(that too EV, which is high risk) would be financially prudent, the average income would be somewhere around 60-70L in hand and approx 1 crore pre tax. This would put their hourly wage to be around 5.5k INR, and total time cost around 1.1 lakhs

7KW: 50k charger + ~50k load costs + 30k wiring cost + 1.1 lakhs time cost = 2.4 lakhs total

11KW: 75k charger + ~90k load costs + 30k wiring cost + 1.1 lakhs time cost = 3.05 lakhs total.

3.3KW = 3-4k. Just get it done with local electrician with zero hassle. He'll bring the material and add it in an afternoon.

I know I was the one proposing and defending the fast charger just a couple days back, but after dealing with the sarkari babu to get load increased for just a couple hours I've done a complete 180 degree turn. I humbly think it's a pointless endeavour to get the fast charger installed unless someone is doing it for me end-to-end. In metro cities we have plenty of 120kw chargers within a couple kms of our homes, so if I'm in a pinch I can just go there and get a quick top up.
darkgamer is online now   (5) Thanks