Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 7th January 2025, 22:47   #256

Re: Mahindra BE 6 Review

Mahindra definitely got greedy looking at initial response of BE6 and XEV9E. The prices were only announced for Pack One with 59 kWH battery pack. The pack one price felt reasonable for the new Mahindra BEVs. It felt that we will get to see EVs at reasonable prices, but alas we (customers) are proved wrong again by manufacturers.

BE6 at ₹26.9 lakh and XEV9E at ₹30.5 lakh is too much to ask for a new EV that has so many new hardware, software and integration components. The error margin increases drastically with so many components working in tandem. It will be difficult to achieve 5k unit sale per month at this price. The market sentiment is definitely not on positive side with these prices.

I for once was excited with Pack One price reveal and was about to jump the fence and buy Mahindra EV. I am going back to sit on the fence again with these prices and wait for Creta EV price reveal and Harrier EV price reveals. If these cross ₹25 lakh on-road price, then I would ditch EV bandwagon and go back to ICE cars.

ICE car is better at ₹25lakh+ on-road price. ICE cars can be safely driven without too much charging stop planning, fuel refills are fast, no range anxiety and can be driven to softer offbeat paths with a jerry can (to refuel if required).
kgt.v8 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th January 2025, 23:24   #257

Originally Posted by spkrnh View Post
So if we reduce that we arrive at a price difference of 5.5 - 5.7 lakhs between base and top model which seems reasonable enough considering the additional outlay. It’s not VFM like Pack 1 but definitely not overpriced either.
The price difference is not just 5.5 lakhs, it’s actually 6.5 lakhs. 26.9 - 18.9 lakhs is 8L. Even if you take away 1.5L for battery it’s still a 6.5 lakhs delta.

Also the on road price difference in Karnataka for example will be close to 10 lakhs due to additional road tax hit.

Some of those features like Sunroof with dynamic lighting, ADAS 2, Remote parking and Dolby system are straight out of BMW 5 series/ x5 territory. These 4 features alone I believe will be worth 3 - 3.5l. For anyone who feels this is too expensive, I am sure Mahindra will have a well equipped pack 2 considering even Pack 1 is loaded.
The only features worth getting over pack 1 is these 3:

1. Powered and ventilated seats

2. ADAS 2+ (auto park, blind spot, adaptive cruise etc are just software)

3. Fancy Dolby surround system

I honestly don’t see how they will make a loaded pack 2 tbh. They’ll definitely not put the ADAS stuff or the Dolby, which will make pack 2 just pack 1 + powered seats.

In fact I am hoping that if someone from Mahindra top management is reading this, please give a tentative date as to when the dual motor AWD version with 350-370hp will be coming. I hope you get it here by this year Diwali season. The chassis of the BE 6 with the higher powered version should be a treat to keen drivers.
Given the price hit, pack 3 should have been AWD.
darkgamer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 00:40   #258

Don’t think it is Mahindra that is getting greedy here, it’s just the customers who were too optimistic. Just to put in perspective, I expect the 59 kWh Pack 3 to be 24.99 lacs. Similar size battery cars are priced in same range

MG ZS EV 50kwh top end - 25 lacs
BYD Atto 3 50kwh - 25 lacs
Curvv EV - 55 kWh -22 lacs
Atto 3 - 60kwh - 30 lacs (-ADAS)
BYD Emax 7 - 55 kWh - 27 lacs

It would be the cheapest 60kwh car.

Based on these prices it is in line with market, we were expecting the usual Mahindra market creating/defining prices which maybe for a car with most parts not in house could have been difficult.

Now the 79 kWh pack can be compared with below cars

BYD emax 7 - 72 kWh - 30 lacs (dated interiors, average seats)
Ioniq 5 - 73 kWh - 45 lacs
BYD seal -82 kWh - 45 lacs

Again it is the cheapest 80kwh car in the market. So while prices are not mouthwatering or disruptive (Read at par with ICE), they are slightly lower than current market benchmarks with higher number of features on a new platform.

Conclusion- This may not be able to move many ICE buyers with these prices to EVs as we had expected earlier, but may get the EV buyers of Curvv, ZS EV, Atto 3.
rkv_hunter is offline   (26) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 01:08   #259

Originally Posted by darkgamer View Post
The price difference is not just 5.5 lakhs, it’s actually 6.5 lakhs. 26.9 - 18.9 lakhs is 8L. Even if you take away 1.5L for battery it’s still a 6.5 lakhs delta.

Also the on road price difference in Karnataka for example will be close to 10 lakhs due to additional road tax hit.

Given the price hit, pack 3 should have been AWD.

Sorry, i stand corrected. But even with a difference of 6.5 lakhs i would still take it.

Its unfortunate KA has these taxes but its not Mahindra’s fault.

When you compare it with it’s competition and not with the lower end models, it’s still very good value.
spkrnh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 07:25   #260

It’s unfortunate KA has these taxes but it’s not Mahindra’s fault.
They should care. KA is the market where they would have sold a lot of these cars, in terms of high end electric car sales KA would beat 15-20 states combined. Having a variant with ADAS and 80kwh below 25L would have boosted their sales a lot.

When you compare it with it’s competition and not with the lower end models, it’s still very good value.
If you just look at specs, sure. But you need to also consider that both BE6 like the Curvv due to their coupe like design are actually much smaller inside than their size suggests.

The rear seat is a compromise. Roofline is low and floor is high. And for some weird reason both cars have the boot floor starting way higher which means that the boot height is less than even sedans which means you can’t stack up luggage on top.

The BE6 is a 4.4mx1.9m car which has space more akin to a sub 4m car. It’s much less practical than a 4.3m ICE car and compared to the Windsor it’s like 2 segments less practical.

These compromises are fine at 20L where you’re actually undercutting the competition. At >30L on road you’re paying a premium.

And re:60kwh, this car seems to be less efficient than other EVs. For example this has 45% bigger battery than the Curvv but the range is only 35% better. This will make this car basically a more expensive Curvv, which honestly wasn’t that big a hit.

The entire point of this car is the 280hp motor and 500km+ range. The 60kwh variant will do 350km range and much lower power which is not enough for your only vehicle in India. As a secondary city only vehicle there’s the Windsor which is much cheaper and spacious.
darkgamer is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 07:47   #261

The entire point of this car is the 280hp motor and 500km+ range. The 60kwh variant will do 350km range and much lower power which is not enough for your only vehicle in India. As a secondary city only vehicle there’s the Windsor which is much cheaper and spacious.
I don’t think there are too many buyers of the BE6 who will compare it to the Windsor. The Windsor is a people mover - akin to an Ertiga. The BE6 will compete with the ZSEV (which MG sells for much more than the Windsor), and frankly with other fun to drive cars like the Taigun. The BE6 is targeted at the young at heart who don’t need the rear seat to be occupied too often. Horses for courses!
Hayek is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 08:02   #262

Originally Posted by Hayek View Post
I don’t think there are too many buyers of the BE6 who will compare it to the Windsor. The Windsor is a people mover - akin to an Ertiga. The BE6 will compete with the ZSEV (which MG sells for much more than the Windsor), and frankly with other fun to drive cars like the Taigun. The BE6 is targeted at the young at heart who don’t need the rear seat to be occupied too often. Horses for courses!
The ZS EV is an outdated car due for an upgrade though. No point comparing to that car. MG will update it soon.

And if you’re looking at fun to drive factor then you’ll get the faster 80kwh variant anyway, which is my point that the 60kwh variant is actually less practical as the buyer profile doesn’t match.

Also with India’s rapidly degrading highway infra these fun to drive cars are making less and less sense (I can’t even remember the last time I crossed 100kph. All the roads are choked with traffic everywhere. Even on the newly inaugurated Mysore Bangalore expressway it gets so crowded on weekends that you can’t cross 60-70. The older highways have endless construction, potholes and diversions through broken roads every 10km. Even the not-even-launched Delhi Mumbai expressway has massive undulations which can launch your car in air and wreck the suspension, which I’m sure you’d have seen the video)
darkgamer is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 08:16   #263

I do not expect the Mahindra twins to do more than 500 units a month with this price.
The early adopters need to watch out!
These new platforms are tuned for performance and real world range may be lower than expected.
Safety is unknown.
Space is constrained in the lower variant.
Too many gizmos which can go wrong.
Service training of EV technicians is not upto the level of Ice vehicles.
Connected car features of Mahindra EV with adrenox is a hit or miss and nowhere like MG.
If sales are poor you may find the 3 lakhs discount soon.
My 2cents.
KeepItSimple is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 09:00   #264

I think it would have been prudent on part of Mahindra to price pack-1 at 21 Lakh. By pricing at 18.9, they just wanted to grab attention of market, clearly they don't intend to sell pack-1 in high volume. It is a fair game between people excited to see the funky design car with high performance and attention grabbing capability vs the sales/marketing team of Mahindra. Who will bite the bullet, only time will tell....but for sure with this pricing they have lost the value conscious buyers or at least they will wait for months to get pack-1
mgoel is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 09:19   #265

Disappointing pricing. Far too high. It's not about affordability, but what could have been made possible. This price is just to make sure the sales of Mahindra's ICE cash cows don't get affected.

Pack 1 BE 6 59 at 18.9 lakh is priced at 18 lakh ex-GST.
Pack 1 XEV 9E 59 at 21.9 lakh is priced at 20.85 lakh ex-GST.
Pack 3 BE 6 79 at 26.9 lakh is priced at 25.61 lakh ex-GST
Pack 3 XEV E9 79 at 30.5 lakh is priced at 29 lakh ex-GST

By comparison:
Top end XUV 700 at 25.64 lakh is priced at 17.32 lakh ex-GST. They definitely must be making some profit in this amount.

Mahindra was already making more revenue on their pack 1 EVs than it was on their top end flagship ICE car.

Ex GST cost of top end XUV 700 + 79 kWh battery (@7.5k/kWh) = 23.25 lakh. This is 5.75 lakh less than the revenue they will make on the sale of XEV 9E Pack 3 sale. Do the additional features cost 5.75 lakh ex-GST is for the observer to assess.

If we have to compare with cars paying CBU/CKD duties to be able to justify it's pricing, it doesn't paint a great picture. Mahindra is going to make fantastic amounts of profits on each of these competitively priced EV sales.

My verdict based on just the pricing: Great, well priced cars by an opportunistic company. But if you don't have a pressing need to buy immediately, you might be better off accumulating M&M on NSE for the time being. (Not financial advise. Do your own research).
antz.bin is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 09:48   #266

Originally Posted by antz.bin View Post
My verdict based on just the pricing: Great, well priced cars by an opportunistic company. But if you don't have a pressing need to buy immediately, you might be better off accumulating M&M on NSE for the time being. (Not financial advise. Do your own research).
I had booked the Roxx on early October, and as soon as I got to know that my ETD was in 2026, I went and put the amount on M&M shares Now looks like I am very well hedged against any price hikes Mahindra can make, or even consider the BE 6 or XEV 9e. Again not a financial advise!
driver641 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 10:13   #267

I have tried to compile a list of features which pack 3 offers over 1 with the data now available. (If I have missed any / added any incorrectly kindly change)

Adaptive cruise control
ADAS 2+
Disco lights and carpet lights
Dolby sound system
Sunroof
Leatherette seats with ventilation
Electric seats with memory (driver)
Sunroof with BMWesque lighting
Remote parking and take out feature / auto park
360 camera and blind spot monitor
Dynamic headlights
Dual zone climate control
Powered tailgate
1 extra airbag
You missed the following-
  1. Fog lamps
  2. Cornering lamps (These are separate lamps. Not like fog lamps that double up as fog lamps) Not sure if you meant these by dynamic lights.
  3. Auto booster lamps
  4. Intelligent adaptive suspension
  5. Interior ambient lighting
  6. Parcel Shelf (seriously, this is a top end feature Mahindra?)
  7. Dual wireless charger
  8. 16 vs 6 speaker setup
  9. VR LED air filtration
  10. Auto defogger
  11. Support for Video calling
  12. Keyless entry
  13. Lumbar support adjustment for driver
  14. Ventilated front seats
  15. highline tpms vs lowline tpms
  16. electric door handles
  17. auto folding mirrors with tilt on reverse
  18. Auto dimming IRVM
  19. Acoustic laminated glass
When you add up all this (your and my list) the top variant indeed carries a LOT OF kit compared to the base variant.

Originally Posted by rkv_hunter View Post
Don’t think it is Mahindra that is getting greedy here, it’s just the customers who were too optimistic. Just to put in perspective, I expect the 59 kWh Pack 3 to be 24.99 lacs. Similar size battery cars are priced in same range

MG ZS EV 50kwh top end - 25 lacs
BYD Atto 3 50kwh - 25 lacs
Curvv EV - 55 kWh -22 lacs
Atto 3 - 60kwh - 30 lacs (-ADAS)
BYD Emax 7 - 55 kWh - 27 lacs

It would be the cheapest 60kwh car.

Based on these prices it is in line with market, we were expecting the usual Mahindra market creating/defining prices which maybe for a car with most parts not in house could have been difficult.

Now the 79 kWh pack can be compared with below cars

BYD emax 7 - 72 kWh - 30 lacs (dated interiors, average seats)
Ioniq 5 - 73 kWh - 45 lacs
BYD seal -82 kWh - 45 lacs
Exactly my thoughts. Though I am disappointed with the pricing, it surely looks like I was being too optimistic to have it priced at 25L ex showroom. The base and top variant kit differs by a substantial margin and then there is 20KW bigger battery with a higher performance motor. Now that is a different question if you are a solid fundamentals guy and are OK with bare minimum in terms of equipment. But in my case, I would like a all rounder, and even at current prices, I would get one, but only sometime in 2027. Till then let Mahindra do their Magic on NSE

If you just look at specs, sure. But you need to also consider that both BE6 like the Curvv due to their coupe like design are actually much smaller inside than their size suggests.
The rear seat is a compromise. Roofline is low and floor is high. And for some weird reason both cars have the boot floor starting way higher which means that the boot height is less than even sedans which means you can’t stack up luggage on top.
Partly agree with your statement. The boot certainly isn't as large as one would like it to be (for the 455+ number). But compared to Curvv the interior space is significantly better. I would suggest you to look at Zigwheels video where they talk about interior space in detail. Sure it won't be as spacious as a Windsor, but that was never the objective of it. That said, you seem to think interior space of Curvv and BE6 is exactly similar. From whatever I could gather through video reviews that is not the case.

The BE6 is a 4.4mx1.9m car which has space more akin to a sub 4m car. It’s much less practical than a 4.3m ICE car and compared to the Windsor it’s like 2 segments less practical.
Again like I mentioned, just because coupe style = impractical is the notion here. I would suggest you to check the car out once it's available for test drive.

These compromises are fine at 20L where you’re actually undercutting the competition. At >30L on road you’re paying a premium.
Where did you get that number? In Pune the OTR price is at 28L for BE 6 pack 3.

And re:60kwh, this car seems to be less efficient than other EVs. For example this has 45% bigger battery than the Curvv but the range is only 35% better. This will make this car basically a more expensive Curvv, which honestly wasn’t that big a hit.
That is not how battery and range works honestly. BE6E also appears to be slightly bigger in all dimensions than the Curvv and the performance is also significantly better. In terms of Pure numbers comparing similar size battery packs please see attached image. I am assuming the BE6 pack 3 59 kwh will be priced at 24L, which is about 2 L premium over Curvv 55 top variant. Considering the overall package I am easily willing to pay that amount.

Name:  Curv vs BE6.png
Views: 583
Size:  5.1 KB

The entire point of this car is the 280hp motor and 500km+ range. The 60kwh variant will do 350km range and much lower power which is not enough for your only vehicle in India.
The 59Kwh variant is said to do 400+ Km range. That said, I am sure the 79 would manage 550+ in real world conditions and the 59 should manager 450 with similar conditions.

Last edited by 07CR : 8th January 2025 at 10:43.
07CR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 11:05   #268

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
Partly agree with your statement. The boot certainly isn't as large as one would like it to be (for the 455+ number). But compared to Curvv the interior space is significantly better. I would suggest you to look at Zigwheels video where they talk about interior space in detail. Sure it won't be as spacious as a Windsor, but that was never the objective of it. That said, you seem to think interior space of Curvv and BE6 is exactly similar. From whatever I could gather through video reviews that is not the case.

Again like I mentioned, just because coupe style = impractical is the notion here. I would suggest you to check the car out once it's available for test drive.
I've sat inside the car. The rear seat is a bit better than the Curvv, you're correct. However the boot is also smaller and less practical than the Curvv. Net net, they're both very compromised vehicles for the size. The overall practicality is about the same as a sub-4m car.

Please go see the vehicle.

Where did you get that number? In Pune the OTR price is at 28L for BE 6 pack 3.
In Bengaluru, the on road price is 31.12 lakhs. There's a 10% road tax that kicks in once the ex-showroom price crosses 25L.

I'd have bought this car had I stayed in Pune. 28L isn't that bad. 31 is.

That is not how battery and range works honestly. BE6E also appears to be slightly bigger in all dimensions than the Curvv and the performance is also significantly better. In terms of Pure numbers comparing similar size battery packs please see attached image. I am assuming the BE6 pack 3 59 kwh will be priced at 24L, which is about 2 L premium over Curvv 55 top variant. Considering the overall package I am easily willing to pay that amount.

Attachment 2709914
I never considered the Curvv anyway. So being slightly better than the Curvv isn't that big of a deal.

30L is more than XUV700 price. While you're correct that the competition doesn't exist right now in EV space, that doesn't make this a good buy. Ask the people who bought the Nexon EV at 20+ lakhs a couple years ago how they feel now with these cars.

EVs are taxed at just 5% v/s 50% for ICE cars. The BE6 being a smaller car with much lower taxation surely shouldn't cost more than 24-25 lakhs for pack 3.

The 59Kwh variant is said to do 400+ Km range. That said, I am sure the 79 would manage 550+ in real world conditions and the 59 should manager 450 with similar conditions.
The Curvv being a smaller vehicle does around 370-380. This car would do the same. This range isn't enough for being your only car as highway trips will bring range anxiety. The 80kwh is the only variant which makes sense IMO. The bigger pack is 33% bigger.

I'm expecting the big one to do around 500 km real world and the smaller one to do around 380km.
Old 8th January 2025, 11:23   #269

Pricing is disappointing, well not disappointing but definintely not exciting. Mahindra could have shed 1..1.5 lac from each top variants initially to boost sales and keep the enthusiasm alive, they could have then hiked the prices 6 months down the line looking at which variant is doing what.

I think the key for BE6 is going to be the pack3 59kwh pricing, if that is 3.5L+ less than 79kwh, that might sell way more.

I was calling dealers regularly for pre-booking / booking etc. Now I want to wait for Pack 2 pricing and feature list and also pack3 59kwh pricing.

They should have definitely started the 59kwh pack 1 of be6 at 20.99L or something then the pack3 price would have made psychological sense.

Bad sales strategy this one.
-xplora- is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 12:05   #270

Both cars get V2L and V2V. This has been discussed multiple times I guess.
They never confirmed it and neither is it listed in any spec sheet. So sadly we might miss out on V2L and V2V.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com