Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 7th November 2024, 03:03   #1

Mercedes EQE vs BMW iX 50 vs Others

My husband is looking for a premium EV and wanted to get the EQE, but the EQS is only 2 lakhs or so more, and then it seems stupid to NOT go for the EQS.

Is there any chance that the EQE will be locally manufactured and be sold at a lower price? He is OK with the 1.4 cr tag but it's REALLY huge to drive around. He is looking to buy a 'big brand' car for himself for his 45th birthday. He is undecided between the EQE/ EQS SUV and the iX m50. I know the Audi Q6 will be launched soon but it doesn't seem to be as luxurious as the Merc and the BMW.

Would love for opinions from you guys who have so much experience in cars which you would go for and why. Pros and cons etc.

He loves the big hyperscreen of the EQE and I think the Merc has more tech? However, everyone is of the opinion the iX drives better and now with the bigger battery, the range is also more than it was with the M40.Price is not much of an issue [in this range], as he is planning to keep it for a long time.

The grill of the iX looks horrendous but the side profile looks great and so do the larger wheels.

Just hoping to see multiple opinions and pros/cons as this is a really big purchase for both of us and don't want to have any regrets later.

Last edited by Turbanator : 11th November 2024 at 13:24. Reason: Merged all posts/ queries on new thread.
nidhikapoor is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th November 2024, 09:45   #2

Re: Mercedes EQS SUV Review

Originally Posted by nidhikapoor View Post
My husband is looking for a premium EV and wanted to get the EQE, but the EQS is only 2 lakhs or so more, and then it seems stupid to NOT go for the EQS.

Is there any chance that the EQE will be locally manufactured and be sold at a lower price? He is OK with the 1.4 cr tag but it's REALLY huge to drive around.
Is it that your husband wants only a Mercedes? You could take a look at the Audi Q8 e-tron as well. Its much more cheaper and I can say that it it has a feel good factor. Very understated looks with classy interiors. And being an Audi, you can expect discounts too. I used one for a week and was quite impressed. Also I got a real world 400 odd kms in a single charge in city driving.

Also there is a fair chance that the Q6 e-tron could be launched before the end of the year.

Last edited by Dippy : 7th November 2024 at 09:50.
Dippy is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 7th November 2024, 13:37   #3

Originally Posted by Dippy View Post
Is it that your husband wants only a Mercedes? You could take a look at the Audi Q8 e-tron as well. Its much more cheaper and I can say that it it has a feel good factor. Very understated looks with classy interiors. And being an Audi, you can expect discounts too. I used one for a week and was quite impressed. Also I got a real world 400 odd kms in a single charge in city driving.

Also there is a fair chance that the Q6 e-tron could be launched before the end of the year.
He wants any of the 'big' brands. The Q6 is also on his radar but doesn't seem to have the luxury that the Mercs have right? Will be a great car though as it is the first Audi on the new EV platform.

The Q8 is now an outdated car and I think withdrawn in most countries? They are planning a new Q8 on the PPE platform I think?

The EQE is much more manageable with regard to size but seems sad to have to have a less than 2 lakh difference between the two. The EQS is so luxurious.
Mercedes EQE vs BMW iX 50 vs Others-eqe-eqs.jpg  

Last edited by nidhikapoor : 7th November 2024 at 13:53.
Old 7th November 2024, 16:47   #4

He wants any of the 'big' brands. The Q6 is also on his radar but doesn't seem to have the luxury that the Mercs have right? Will be a great car though as it is the first Audi on the new EV platform.

The Q8 is now an outdated car and I think withdrawn in most countries? They are planning a new Q8 on the PPE platform I think?

The EQE is much more manageable with regard to size but seems sad to have to have a less than 2 lakh difference between the two. The EQS is so luxurious.

Agree with the luxury part on the EQS SUV. Just a 2 lakh difference makes it no brainer to go for it. I also feel the EQS SUV is the better looker of the two. Have you given thought to the iX?

Last edited by ajmat : 7th November 2024 at 21:01. Reason: typo
Old 7th November 2024, 21:00   #5

Agree with the luxury part on the EQS SUV. Just a 2 lakh difference makes it no brainer to go for it. I also feet the EQS SUV is the better looker of the two. Have you given thought to the iX?
HORRENDOUS grill. Enough said
Old 11th November 2024, 02:31   #6

re: Mercedes EQE vs BMW iX 50 vs Others

What a conundrum to be in.

Well since you are set on luxury EV’s, here’s an advisory - prices of EV’s have been trending downwards with great discounts and price cuts. This has made them “at least” decent value.

What’s even more incredible is the nose dive their resale takes after just an year. For eg. you can go up a segment and snag a barely 10k run 2023 EQS sedan for about a crore, which makes it superb value for money. For a bit more, you could also grab the Taycan which would arguably be even better.

I’d definitely advise to go the pre-owned route if you’re set on picking a luxury EV. Let someone else take the depreciation hit.

Wishing you luck on your purchase!
Nishant345 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 11th November 2024, 14:22   #7

Agree with the luxury part on the EQS SUV. Just a 2 lakh difference makes it no brainer to go for it. I also feel the EQS SUV is the better looker of the two. Have you given thought to the iX?

It was a 2 lakh difference when it came to ex showroom price but now they are giving a 20L discount on the EQE SUV, so the EQS is out. Between the EQE and the iX m50. Thoughts?
Old 11th November 2024, 18:13   #8

The EQS is better proportioned and probably has a lot more kit. The iX is more engaging. Best to try both and see which appeals the most. Dark colours will downplay the BMW grill

Last edited by ajmat : 12th November 2024 at 17:33.
Old 11th November 2024, 18:57   #9

He is undecided between the EQE/ EQS SUV and the iX m50.
Just hoping to see multiple opinions and pros/cons as this is a really big purchase for both of us and don't want to have any regrets later.
I drove the iX M50 and was unhappy with the steering feel and high-speed braking. I haven't driven the EQE/ EQS, so I cannot comment, but if you are okay with a Sedan, I will suggest checking the outgoing Taycan as well. There are very large discounts on the same, and Porsche's handling is at another level.

If an SUV is a must, consider all EVs' pros and cons (especially the resales) before considering one. At around the same price or even a little cheaper, he can get an X5, which is loaded, and a current discounting of about 10 Lac makes a very good value. If you have an EV already, you better keep the same instead of selling and instead add a Petrol/ Diesel SUV.

Last edited by Turbanator : 11th November 2024 at 20:15.
Turbanator is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th November 2024, 13:08   #10

I drove the iX M50 and was unhappy with the steering feel and high-speed braking. I haven't driven the EQE/ EQS, so I cannot comment, but if you are okay with a Sedan, I will suggest checking the outgoing Taycan as well. There are very large discounts on the same, and Porsche's handling is at another level.

If an SUV is a must, consider all EVs' pros and cons (especially the resales) before considering one. At around the same price or even a little cheaper, he can get an X5, which is loaded, and a current discounting of about 10 Lac makes a very good value. If you have an EV already, you better keep the same instead of selling and instead add a Petrol/ Diesel SUV.
Only looking at EVs, and sedans are out because they scrape speed breakers.

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
The EQS is better proportioned and probably has a lot more kit. The iX is more engaging. Best to try both and see which appeals the most. Dark colours will downplay the BMW grill
Yes, thinking of a dark colour.

Last edited by ajmat : 12th November 2024 at 17:34. Reason: I meant kit - sorry typo- corrected it
nidhikapoor is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th November 2024, 19:57   #11

Have you driven both? Even 15 mins of driving with one of you in the back will tell you a lot about what you like and don't.

Don't have a comparison but drove the iX last weekend with family and kids. We loved it. On an absolute basis, it seems like an EV SUV with no compromises. It feels very airy and space is great. The back seat in particular is comfortable with a lot of shoulder room and no foot-space issues. Its one of the few cars where 3 can sit comfortably. Performance is good, the air suspension is great. Didnt push it too hard so haven't faced the issues that Turbanator mentions.
Aurum is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th November 2024, 01:20   #12

Originally Posted by Aurum View Post
Have you driven both? Even 15 mins of driving with one of you in the back will tell you a lot about what you like and don't.

Don't have a comparison but drove the iX last weekend with family and kids. We loved it. On an absolute basis, it seems like an EV SUV with no compromises. It feels very airy and space is great. The back seat in particular is comfortable with a lot of shoulder room and no foot-space issues. Its one of the few cars where 3 can sit comfortably. Performance is good, the air suspension is great. Didnt push it too hard so haven't faced the issues that Turbanator mentions.
Back seat will not be used at all. So that's not important.
Old 14th November 2024, 11:27   #13

Between the EQE and the iX m50. Thoughts?
Unpopular opinion - I would suggest having a look at the Kia EV9 once.
I know it is not comparable in brand value with the other 2 cars you have shortlisted but I think it will fall in the same price segment. They launched it at a whopping 1.3 Cr ex-showroom, I don't think a lot of people might be showing interest at the price point. Since we are almost at the end of the year they might try to clear the stock which they have of the current year. So you might be able to get a 10-15 lakh discount without much of a hassle I believe.

I am suggesting you to have a look at this since you mentioned your husband is turning 45. Considering the age and budget I'm assuming he would be chauffeured around most of the time. The back seat experience of an EV9 will be far superior to the other 2 competitors you have shortlisted. Personally I like the design more than the other 2, especially in the Ocean Blue Colour. Since you are looking at SUVs, you'll also be mighty impressed by the proportions of this car. It dwarfs almost everything on the road.
Old 14th November 2024, 12:26   #14

Originally Posted by StrykerEV05 View Post
Unpopular opinion - I would suggest having a look at the Kia EV9 once.
Ideally by below statement itself EV9 should be out

He is looking to buy a 'big brand' car for himself for his 45th birthday.
sunikkat is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 14:08   #15

Re: Mercedes EQE vs BMW iX 50 vs Others

Hi, since back seat is not too much priority, I think you should check out Mini Countryman All Electric, which will give your husband UNIQUE experience of owning & driving it.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com