Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 13th October 2024, 09:54   #61

Re: 2-month old BYD Seal battery damaged by floods | Insurance denied as battery add-on cover not ta

Originally Posted by shubhank008 View Post
Acko does not cover water logging or "rain" damage either, they are claiming to cover flood as they state and cover "calamities" but not giving in writing specifically for flood (even in policy wordings).
Furthermore, rain water logging is not considered flood for them.

Confirmed through multiple calls and emails (which they reply in roundabout way, then call and confirm on call).
It says in the policy document they cover floods
2-month old BYD Seal battery damaged by floods | Insurance denied as battery add-on cover not taken-img_5226.jpeg  

Old 13th October 2024, 10:04   #62

Re: 2-month old BYD Seal battery damaged by floods | Insurance denied as battery add-on cover not ta

Originally Posted by mally2 View Post
It says in the policy document they cover floods
Actual Flood, yes. Water Logging or flood caused by rain, no.
On call, they specifically kept saying "Rain Damage" "Rain Damage" so I asked all possible scenarios related to rain and they said no to all of them.

Also, even with Flood mentioned in their policy document, they are not giving in writing or on email confirming flood damage to battery pack.

Like I very specifically asked related to EV car's main battery pack, and instead they replied me about Hybrid Car's battery, kept dodging answering for main battery pack and then instead of reply on email called back when I pestered further.

2-month old BYD Seal battery damaged by floods | Insurance denied as battery add-on cover not taken-chrome_id4dpn7fgz.jpg

2-month old BYD Seal battery damaged by floods | Insurance denied as battery add-on cover not taken-chrome_f4nvntivvv.jpg
Old 13th October 2024, 10:13   #63

Interesting thanks for letting us know. I will also reach out to Acko may be their twitter handle for a public response.
Old 13th October 2024, 11:38   #64

Originally Posted by shubhank008 View Post
Actual Flood, yes. Water Logging or flood caused by rain, no.
On call, they specifically kept saying "Rain Damage" "Rain Damage" so I asked all possible scenarios related to rain and they said no to all of them.
So, except for those who are living near rivers, nobody can make use of this cover? Even floods are caused by rain. If it doesn't cover the flooding/water logging caused by rain, this will be useless for 99.99% of the customers.
Old 13th October 2024, 12:34   #65

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
So, except for those who are living near rivers, nobody can make use of this cover? Even floods are caused by rain. If it doesn't cover the flooding/water logging caused by rain, this will be useless for 99.99% of the customers.
That was exactly my point and why I insisted on clearing up exactly about water logging as again and again they used term Rain Damage, then clarified includes any water damage caused by rain.
Old 26th December 2024, 22:17   #66

Hello BHPians,

I am the owner of this BYD Seal, and I want to share that I finally managed to resolve the issue after a prolonged and arduous battle. It took consistent emails, tweets, and leveraging some negative PR on major automotive blogs, as well as de-marketing efforts through Instagram influencers, to make progress.

While these tactics helped me avoid bearing the full brunt of the massive repair bill, the resolution was not entirely in my favor. Here’s how it played out:

The insurance company agreed to cover 50% of the cost.
BYD offered a discount of ₹2,00,000.
I had to personally bear ₹7.06 lakhs.
Overall, the experience was nothing short of terrible. While the dealership did try to assist and eventually proposed this partial resolution—likely due to the negative PR affecting their sales—it wasn’t a smooth process. In return, I supported them by helping facilitate a few new sales.

Unfortunately, BYD's official team remained largely unresponsive throughout this ordeal, except for the day of delivery when their national head made an appearance to express empathy. Beyond that, they were absent in addressing the problem.

I’m determined to continue the fight for the remaining amount through the ombudsman, as I have substantial evidence to prove that I was misled into purchasing the wrong insurance policy, which ultimately resulted in this significant financial burden on me.
bydsealvictim is offline   (65) Thanks
Old 27th December 2024, 11:25   #67

More power to you, sorry to hear the ordeals and good to see you fighting it out. All the best.

Sorry, if I missed. What was the issue which needed a battery replacement? Is there a thread I can refer to?

Last edited by sunikkat : 27th December 2024 at 11:26.
Old 27th December 2024, 11:33   #68

Originally Posted by bydsealvictim View Post
While these tactics helped me avoid bearing the full brunt of the massive repair bill, the resolution was not entirely in my favor. Here’s how it played out:

The insurance company agreed to cover 50% of the cost.
BYD offered a discount of ₹2,00,000.
I had to personally bear ₹7.06 lakhs.
Overall, the experience was nothing short of terrible. While the dealership did try to assist and eventually proposed this partial resolution—likely due to the negative PR affecting their sales—it wasn’t a smooth process. In return, I supported them by helping facilitate a few new sales.
Any reason why the base insurance does not cover the battery damage due to flood assuming you did not start the car after flooding (e.g. in case of ICE cars, base insurance will cover engine damage due to floods if the engine is not started after flooding)?

What was the reason provided by the insurance company for this scenario?

Here is a related case of MG ZS EV: Warranty denied by MG saying flood damage even though the car parking was not flooded.

Both cases are scaring potential EV buyers since the expensive component of the car cannot be repaired and can only be replaced at the dealer workshop. Given the pathetic consumer protection laws and snail pace of our courts, I am afraid that there will be more cases of battery damage claim rejection from both warranty and insurance sides.

Originally Posted by vijay07 View Post
Hello fellow BHPians,

This is my first post on teamBHP, I’m reaching out for help in what has been a deeply upsetting experience with my MG ZS EV 2021 exclusive model. This car was a big investment for me, I believe the collective wisdom here might be my last resort.. Here’s the situation in brief:
  1. On 26th October, my ZS EV showed a "Vehicle System Control Fault" after being parked outside the office for roughly 8-9 hours in HSR Layout. There was rain in the afternoon, but the parking lot didn't have any water logging.
  2. The electronics still worked fine, but the car wouldn’t move. Even the electronic handbrake was okay.
  3. I reached out to RSA, the technician checked the 12V battery, which was fine, so we got it towed to the MG Service station.
  4. After a few days, MG Service Electronic City claimed water had entered the battery, despite the car’s supposed IP69K rating.
  5. They asked me to check for an insurance claim but insurance doesn’t cover the battery, and MG is asking 13 lacs to replace the battery.
  6. Yet, I haven’t received any detailed diagnostic report—just verbal statements that “it’s beyond repair. Each time I request a formal report, they state they “cannot send it.”

As MG provides an 8-year warranty on the battery and advertises strong water resistance, I’m confused about why warranty coverage is being dismissed. Whenever I bring this up, they claim “water damage” isn’t included, and they’ve even labelled my car as a “flood case.

It’s been 55 days with my car stranded at the service centre. They’ve basically told me to either pay up or tow it away in its current non-functional state. I’m frustrated, anxious, and honestly baffled. If the vehicle truly has water ingress, isn’t it a manufacturing defect given the IP rating? Or if there’s another fault, why not share proper evidence?

I am seeking advice and support from fellow BHPians.
  • Has anyone faced a similar issue with EV battery faults or water ingress? How did they get it resolved?
  • How can I escalate this within MG or externally? Consumer forums? Legal routes?

All I am seeking is a fair solution—whether that means MG honouring what seems like a legitimate warranty situation or at least giving me concrete proof and details so we can explore a more affordable repair. If you have any insights, past experiences, or advice.

I’d be immensely grateful for any guidance on how to handle this. Thanks for reading and for any support you can offer. I’ll keep everyone posted on any updates.

Last edited by gopi_rm : 27th December 2024 at 11:44. Reason: Added MG ZS EV case
gopi_rm is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th December 2024, 12:02   #69
A M

Originally Posted by gopi_rm View Post
Any reason why the base insurance does not cover the battery damage due to flood assuming you did not start the car after flooding (e.g. in case of ICE cars, base insurance will cover engine damage due to floods if the engine is not started after flooding)?
[/b]
+1 to this.
Since the EV battery is not equal to ICE vehicle battery, why is a separate battery cover needed? Shouldn't it be covered as engine damage protection?
Old 27th December 2024, 12:08   #70

Originally Posted by A M View Post
+1 to this.
Since the EV battery is not equal to ICE vehicle battery, why is a separate battery cover needed? Shouldn't it be covered as engine damage protection?
Probably because the battery in EV can be defined as fuel, not the engine. And fuel is considered as consumables which are not covered in any vehicle insurance.

But all said and done, insurance clauses should be more clear about the coverage of various key components while buying for an EV. If batteries are not covered by default then it will be a big setback for the EV buyers as well as for the EV manufacturers in long run.

Last edited by tbppjpr : 27th December 2024 at 12:13.
tbppjpr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th December 2024, 13:34   #71

Thanks for the update. Now I have cancelled my plans to buy a BYD Atto3!

Last edited by Aditya : 27th December 2024 at 16:42. Reason: Capital letters
gosteady is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 27th December 2024, 14:42   #72

Originally Posted by gosteady View Post
Atto 3 doesn't make any sense after the announcement of Mahindra BE 6e and XUV 9e anyway. You get a bigger battery with BE 6e, more range, better performance, much faster charging, and costs less than Rs 6 lakhs over the base Atto 3. Compared with Atto 3 premium variant, BE 6e is cheaper by 11 lakhs and has the same battery capacity, and range while also having better performance and faster charging. Even the much larger XUV 9e base variant is cheaper by Rs 3 lakhs compared to the base variant of Atto 3.

Last edited by Aditya : 27th December 2024 at 16:42. Reason: Quoted post edited
sri_tesla is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 28th December 2024, 01:03   #73

We take an Insurance for entire vehicle, except for specific wear and tear related exclusions all accidental damage should be covered, unless specifically opted out with full knowledge, if an insurance company is charging premium on entire vehicle with battery cost being 60-70% of IDV in most cases, a battery in an electric vehicle can't be excluded under any circumstance. This is outright cheating. Why charge for what is not being covered and at the same time deny the customers the right to buy insurance by keeping them in dark. Insurance companies sell you Return to invoice cover for a new vehicle and RSA which nowadays is being offered by manufacturer for an year or two, but they fail to disclose the coverages related to battery.

Last edited by autohead : 28th December 2024 at 01:10.
autohead is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th December 2024, 16:57   #74

Originally Posted by gosteady View Post
Hey

- Just because of the above case it is not wise to cancel plans for an EV in general irrespective of any specific brand
- EVs are the present and the future not only because of cost savings but because of the sheer driving pleasure an EV offers compared to any ICE - be it automatic or manual

- It is very wrong that such cases do not set the wrong trend for the entire EV community of existing and prospective owners where I myself am an EV owner and every such bad experience is having various specific reasons for that particular case only and must not be generalized

I will explain in detail why a separate HV Battery and Motor add on is of critical importance for an EV as higher majority of EV owners even today are still confused on this difference between the following damages

There are 3 types of damage scenarios for any car :-

1. Manufacturing Defects
- These are those damages in which car parts have to be replaced due to qualitative/manufacturing defects acknowledged by the OEM
- When we go into the fine print of manufacturers warranty terms and conditions, we would discover that the list is pretty limited on what all parts are covered and what is not for any OEM

2. Accidental Damage
- These are the damages that take place only in case of a physical accident of the car with any object
- Talking specifically about EVs, the HV Battery and the Motor is covered under ZERO DEPRECIATION clause in an insurance policy where there are no deductions for the claim amount based on percentages of various categories of parts damaged only in case of an accident of a car

3. Non Accidental Damage
- This is the most important type of damage which is neither covered in Manufacturers Defects nor Accidental Damage
- Non Accidental Damages are those consequential damages where there is a damage to the parts of the car without any physical accident of the car
- Such non accidetal damages to the HV Battery and The Motor are only covered by the insurance companies when a separate add on for HV Battery and Motor is taken by an EV owner during inssuance of an insurance policy for the car
- This add on is similar to the Engine Protect add on for an ICE car and even that has to be taken separately for an ICE car insurance but cannot understand why EV owners expect a HV Battery and the Motor to be fully covered either under Manufacturer's Warranty or Insurance for non accidental damages

- Talking about EVs in particular, there are 3 types of major non accidental damages :-

(a) Water Ingression
- When water enters into the HV Battery and the Motor without any accident and without any flood condition in that particular area
- People often get confused saying flood is covered in insurance but when one goes into finer details of terms and conditions of a car insurance policy wordings, a flood is defined as water logging in a particular area at huge level due to natural causes
- But water entering into the HV Battery Pack or the Motor due to car running over a pothole filled with water or taking car over a big gutter or car parked under a sloping roof from where water directly falls on the bonnet of the car is not considered as flood as per insurance terms and conditions

(b) Short Circuit
- Any damage to the HVBP or Motor of any EV due to short circuit due to reasons such as High Voltage Fluctuations during AC/DC charging the car is NOT covered in Manufacturers Warranty
- Short Circuits can happen due to multiple reasons and no OEM takes liabilities for damage due to these extensive and varying reasons

(c) Exothermic Fires
- Not only electric cars but any type of car can catch fires on it's own due to multiple known and unknown reason
- People thinking that FIRE is covered under normal terms and condition need to understand that when fire engulfs the car due to external fires in the surroundings then it is covered under normal fire clause of the insurance
- But any fire engulfing a vehicle due to internal factors of the car is only covered under a separate add on only

- That is the reason any insurance company offers this type of add on as a separate offering and not inbuilt
- People thinking why a separate add on is needed when we have Manufacturer's Warranty of X number of years on HV Battery as well as the Motor of an EV along with ZERO DEP in an insurance need to understand that IRDAI, the top most insurance regulatory body of India, is not a fool to let these companies offer these separate add ons as they cover those damages which are specifically not covered in the above 2 categories and Insurance is a contract of indemnity for very specific damages that are clearly written word by word and then only covered by an insurance company
- It does not work on one's assumptions and presumptions and is very very specific on what is covered and what is not as per the law of contract in an insurance

- In the above case of battery and motor replacement of the BYD Seal for 7 Lakhs of rupees paid out of pocket, had the owner not just believed the words of the dealership insurance team plainly that the HV Battery and the Motor is covered under insurance and questioned them in which all specific scenarios it would cover the HV Battery and the Motor and then opted for a separate Battery and Motor Protect Add On, he would not have had to pay lakhs from out of the pocket as the whole cost of repairs would have been legally borne for by the insurance company clearly

- It is mentioned in law that one is presumed to have read the terms and conditions before buying anything as per general law and that's the single biggest mistake we do as unaware buyers of not reading or going into specifics and blindly believing these improperly trained insurance teams of car dealerships who just want to sell the insurance quickly when someone buys a new car and earn their targets

- Always consult a knowledgeable person who has proper knowledge on insurance or a well versed insurance agent before purchasing or renewing car insurance in order to avoid consequences like the case above

- Such cases create a fear in the minds of current EV owners as well as prospective EV owners because of fault of some owner or a particular human error and thereby demonizing the whole confidence of people in EVs which is criminal for the whole community creating a sense of fear/panic

I hope the moderators of TeamBHP bring this article to the homepage as it has critical underlying message that people thinking of NOT buying EVs because of such cases/reasons is not the right kind of message going for the Electric Wheels we all have love for

Thanks a lot

" Switch To EVs ASAP"

Last edited by Humane India : 29th December 2024 at 17:01.
Humane India is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 29th December 2024, 17:48   #75

Originally Posted by Humane India View Post
Hey

- Just because of the above case it is not wise to cancel plans for an EV in general irrespective of any specific brand
- EVs are the present and the future not only because of cost savings but because of the sheer driving pleasure an EV offers compared to any ICE - be it automatic or manual

" Switch To EVs ASAP"
How can we ensure coverage for non-accidental damages like water ingress, flood, accidental damage ,short circuits, or exothermic fires in our EV? Which insurance providers in India offer separate add-ons for HV Battery and Motor Protect? I also faced similar issue with BYD atto 3 booking where Dealership of insurance provider was reluctant to give anything in writing and i had to cancell my booking?.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com