Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 21st September 2024, 17:49   #31

Re: MG launches Battery-as-a-Service (BaaS) for all their electric cars - Comet and ZS get BaaS as w

Originally Posted by DIY410 View Post
R.I.P Nexon, Punch and XUV400. Unless one fancies the bigger battery or people who do more highway runs, there is absolutely no reason to even get Currv EV, ZS EV.

Some people I know who just wanted a reliable EV considered getting the Atto 3 base variant over the ZS EV, mainly because of its bigger rear knee room and seat width but who don't do much of highway runs are suddenly having second thoughts. Since the Windsor EV is even bigger on the inside.

MG can really kill the Currv EV, ZS EV and Atto 3 base model by launching the 50 kWh version.

Hell even the upcoming Creta EV with it's 49 kWh battery will not find much takers. The Windsor is even more spacious and has better aero dynamics resulting in better highway range. Creta shape is like a brick worse than even the ZS EV. The Windsor 50 kWh version has a 40km range advantage over the ZS EV mainly due to lower drag coefficient of the Windsor.

If only the Windsor was a better looking better car, I would have cancelled my Atto 3 Dynamic model and gone for the Essence version of the Windsor. Also, the headlights being in the bumper of the car in a city like Bangalore seems like a recipe for disaster.
thejaguar is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 18:07   #32

Re: MG launches Battery-as-a-Service (BaaS) for all their electric cars - Comet and ZS get BaaS as w

Originally Posted by thejaguar View Post
If only the Windsor was a better looking better car, I would have cancelled my Atto 3 Dynamic model and gone for the Essence version of the Windsor. Also, the headlights being in the bumper of the car in a city like Bangalore seems like a recipe for disaster.
But on the flip side, Atto 3 interiors are not liked by most people, the black interior in the newer versions helps masking it.
Main issue with BYD is the lack of service centers and every spare part has to be imported including body panels, so expect long wait times for spares. Where as the MG will be heavily localized except for the EV power train.

Last edited by DIY410 : 21st September 2024 at 18:08.
DIY410 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 18:19   #33

R.I.P Nexon, Punch and XUV400. Unless one fancies the bigger battery or people who do more highway runs, there is absolutely no reason to even get Currv EV, ZS EV.

MG can really kill the Currv EV, ZS EV and Atto 3 base model by launching the 50 kWh version.
Completely agree. The price of the entry level Windsor is equal to the Punch Empowered+LR, after considering the hefty price cut announced last week. Punch doesn't hold a candle to Windsor on any parameter.

If this is how Chinese EVs are going to be priced, it's game over for Indian manufacturers. This is exactly what European and American manufacturers are afraid of. Chinese overcapacity in steel, batteries, etc means that they are happy to accept rock bottom prices.

While I'm thrilled as a customer, I'm really concerned about whether India is doing the right thing by allowing Chinese manufacturers into the country.

I don't think just getting Indian ownership into MG India is sufficient. We should mandate local sourcing of the EV power train as well so that an ecosystem is built in India.

Protectionist? Yes. But one of the few cases where it's really required in my opinion.
qaqa is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 18:20   #34

But on the flip side, Atto 3 interiors are not liked by most people, the black interior in the newer versions helps masking it.
Main issue with BYD is the lack of service centers and every spare part has to be imported including body panels, so expect long wait times for spares. Where as the MG will be heavily localized except for the EV power train.
Yes, while looks are subjective, my subjective opinion is that the atto 3 looks way nicer than the Windsor. I have put in a deposit for the black dynamic variant, but I was just informed by my RM that deliveries have been pushed back by a month, which is a blessing in disguise - I can now go check the Windsor out in person and decide what to do.

This will be a city car for us, so while the 39 KWH battery is a bit of a bummer, it shouldn't impact us too much and I don't think ADAS is very useful for driving in a city like Bangalore.

Regarding the service issues, yes, this is certainly a concern, but EV's unlike ICE vehicles are low maintenance, so I am hoping this won't be too much of an issue, but who knows!

Also, when it comes to accessories, sites like Top-Byd have everything available at really good prices and deliver to India within a week or so.

So, it's a bit of a mixed bag, but an INR 9L difference between the highest end of Windsor and the lowest end of the Atto 3 is huge for the limited downsides of the Windsor (when used as a city car).
thejaguar is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 18:34   #35
anb

Originally Posted by qaqa View Post
If this is how Chinese EVs are going to be priced, it's game over for Indian manufacturers. This is exactly what European and American manufacturers are afraid of. Chinese overcapacity in steel, batteries, etc means that they are happy to accept rock bottom prices.

While I'm thrilled as a customer, I'm really concerned about whether India is doing the right thing by allowing Chinese manufacturers into the country.

I don't think just getting Indian ownership into MG India is sufficient. We should mandate local sourcing of the EV power train as well so that an ecosystem is built in India.

Protectionist? Yes. But one of the few cases where it's really required in my opinion.
According to JSW MG CEO, Windsor will have 80 % localisation including battery assembly in India.

https://www.businesstoday.in/auto/st...433-2024-08-06
anb is online now   (13) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 18:40   #36

Originally Posted by aashishnb View Post
I've tried to put two examples at extremes i.e. assuming cost of manufacturing the car is 5 lakhs or 10 lakhs.
You say less: gst output flow in your screenshot and then you add it to the ex- showroom price. It should be minus.

For everyone else, I have been able to get the maths for the MG ZS base model - outright purchase vs BaaS. The model is from MG sales. Things clarified -

1. Battery tenure is 8 years
2. You can take the 3-60 plan, MG will pay for car + battery at evaluated price based on car condition. Max price paid back will 60%. The km driven cannot exceed 60,000 kms. The battery outstanding mentioned in calculations will have to be paid to the financier

As the loan of battery is longer than the car, hence your outgo is cheaper than outright purchase

MG launches Battery-as-a-Service (BaaS) for all their electric cars - Comet and ZS get BaaS as well-img20240921wa0010.jpg

Originally Posted by anb View Post
According to JSW MG CEO, Windsor will have 80 % localisation including battery assembly in India.
It is octillion prismatic cells as confirmed by a photograph of underside of the car. Tata Cruvv also uses the same battery

Last edited by ferrarirules : 21st September 2024 at 18:56.
ferrarirules is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 19:20   #37

Originally Posted by ferrarirules View Post
1. Battery tenure is 8 years
Fixed at 8 years me thinks, which matches the standard 8 year/160K km battery warranty.

Any clarity on the insurance? If you are taking BaaS, is the insurance only for the chassis and battery related incidents will be handled under the battery warranty?

If you replace your battery at say the 11th year, your battery loan ends on the 8th year. Nothing till 11th year. If you want to take unlimited warranty on the replacement battery, you pay battery loan again?

The fact that it'll eat into ZS sales is the reason MG hasn't brought the 50 kw variant, not even ADAS2 on the 38 kw variant launched.

BYD's supply chain and wafer thin presence is what is hurting their sales. You can't sell cars without having them in your showroom. That was the story when I went last weekend to check the Atto 3 Dynamic.

Last edited by Aditya : 22nd September 2024 at 06:48. Reason: As requested
narayans80 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 20:06   #38

Originally Posted by handsofsteel View Post
We were all discussing the “Maruti moment” in the other thread. Now, with the Comet being brought under the ambit of BaAS, I’m suddenly interested. My use case is as follows. Kindly tell me if I’m missing something.
Usage per year - 17000km of city traffic
Per km cost in present car - Rs 8.
Cost per km on Comet - Rs3.5.
Total savings for 51,000km(3 years) = 2,29,500/-
If I sell it back under the buy back, I get 3 Lakh (60% of ex showroom). Net outgo from my pocket = 2lakh
This is offset by the running cost savings of 2,29,500/- indicated earlier. So I’m actually in the green? With application of gst, figures will be adjusted slightly, still win win?

What is the catch? Would be grateful if someone could poke a hole
2 holes.. I could think of:

1. You are missing the initial investment cost of 5 lakh. If you continue with the existing car and keep the 5 lakhs in a Fixed deposit at any bank; you can get around 1.2 lakhs for the calculated 3 years with 8% bank interest rate. (Your calculation will go to negative, if you consider this aspect as well).

2. I recently visited the MG showroom and took a test drive with similar thought process of yours.. to reduce the petrol cost for office commute.

But after the test drive.. I did not feel it like a car; it's the best upgrade for a bike in terms of safety and suspension on the city roads; but couldn't be a replacement for a car (not even for any hatchback).

Take a test drive for yourself and decide, if the comfort level is good for you on your regular commute roads.
nreddy is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 20:13   #39

You say less: gst output flow in your screenshot and then you add it to the ex- showroom price. It should be minus.
Thanks. My bad, the calculation has an error. Corrected sheet attached.

Mods, can we delete the original post to avoid confusing / misguiding others.
File Type: xlsx GST wkg EV vs ICE.xlsx (10.3 KB, 106 views)
Old 21st September 2024, 20:18   #40

Originally Posted by anb View Post

https://www.businesstoday.in/auto/st...433-2024-08-06
I am likely to ditch curvv for windsor, and you just took guilt out of the patriot in me!

I find it a bit ironic and funny that a Chinese brand has to strive to convince how Indian they are by highlighting JSW and localization figures, whereas when it comes to quality of their products, both them and their domestic competitor have to desperately turn to their European connections!
santosh.s is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 21:23   #41

Originally Posted by narayans80 View Post
Fixed at 8 years me thinks, which matches the standard 8 year/160K km battery warranty.

Any clarity on the insurance? If you are taking BaaS, is the insurance only for the chassis and battery related incidents will be handled under the battery warranty?

If you replace your battery at say the 11th year, your battery loan ends on the 8th year. Nothing till 11th year. If you want to take unlimited warranty on the replacement battery, you pay battery loan again?
The fixed warranty for 8 years is only for ZS. The reason for it according to me is that it is coming with a imported CATL battery.

The insurance of the car is as any other car as you own the whole car
Old 21st September 2024, 21:28   #42

Originally Posted by mtnrajdeep View Post
You missed considering the electricity cost for charging and the maintenance costs.
Also, you should consider that when you decide to sell back the car to MG you will have to pay the foreclosure charges (amount which is yet not clarified by MG). This amount will change your calculation.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 21st September 2024 at 21:36. Reason: Full stop.
Old 22nd September 2024, 06:35   #43

The insurance of the car is as any other car as you own the whole car
Is the answer ZS specific, because I was asking with Windsor in mind
Old 22nd September 2024, 09:17   #44

Originally Posted by VWAllstar View Post
It will be interesting to see how the market reacts to MG Comet as a subscription. It is an ideal urban travel solution with increasing traffic and parking issues.
MG Comet just does not work in Bangalore. The roads have craters and the MG sinks in all of them. The tyres are too puny to handle our roads.

The current BaaS and lack of discounts will not fly. MG will have to do a lot more to make it a useful buy when compared to the heavily discounted Tiago.
Old 22nd September 2024, 09:24   #45

Originally Posted by narayans80 View Post
Is the answer ZS specific, because I was asking with Windsor in mind
This is in general for the BaaS program. The car is yours so the insurance of the whole car is yours.
ferrarirules is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com