Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 11th September 2024, 09:23   #16

Re: 3-lakh discount on Tata Nexon EV & 1.2 lakh discount on Punch.EV

Originally Posted by Gkhanna View Post

Got the final price for XUV 400 EL Pro from my Dealer.
Ex-showroom - 17,69,000
Dicsount - 3,00,000
Net - 14,69,000
Fasttag - 600
TCS - 14690
RTO - 2662
Insurance - 70000

Total - 15,56,953/-

Taking the insurance from ACKO - the price final Price comes to 15,27,000/-

Sounds like a fabulous deal at this price. Getting the car at the price of Punch EV.

Planning to finally buy one.
Hi Gkhanna,
Could you please DM which dealer and if possible which SA you worked with for this deal?
Old 11th September 2024, 09:33   #17

Just the other day there was news of Tata stockyard getting flooded. I’d insist on a fresh car if I pick up car at the new prices.

Rest reasons are all true and applicable to other brands as well, hope to see price cuts there too. Plus with the year end coming, I don’t think much of the discounts will stop by Oct end.

Last edited by DevendraG : 11th September 2024 at 09:34. Reason: Spellings
DevendraG is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 09:56   #18

Compared between - XUV 400; Punch EV, Nexon EV and considered Curvv.ev too.
Please do some research before finalizing XUV400. This car has 5 lacs discount last year as well, but i was told XUV400's battery tech is inferior one and not comparable with Tata's or Hyundai's.
Also, read thru this thread to gain more knowledge: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/elect...-nexon-ev.html (Mahindra XUV400 after discounts Vs Tata Nexon EV)
ramki.grandhi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 10:33   #19

Wow! TM had a big cushion of margin at least on the top end Nexon. Slashing it by 3 lakh and still making money, one can only wonder how much is(was) the profit margin for Tata. If XUV 400 can be had at under 15 lakhs OTR, it seems like a no brainer even considering the old battery tech
Old 11th September 2024, 11:47   #20

Great news

There is depreciation and then there is the Tata Nexon EV. With this price cut Tata is just 30k away from the emis that I've paid till date on my Nexon EV. At this rate, till the end of my loan tenure the car should be distributed free of cost. If I manage to sell the car now, the hit would finance an Altroz atleast. Tata motors has been an institute where I have learnt a valuable lesson in finance (debt, loss) as well as spirituality (patience, humility). Now I laugh at myself and love my car even more as I try to figure out how do I extract max value out of it.

Before I purchased this car, there used to be threads on feature deletions, price hikes and insane waiting periods. Once I made the biggest ticket vehicle purchase, within 2 months prices started falling at such a pace that every other month my amount paid on a new car would be zero.

Last 12 months haven't been kind on enthusiastic and impulsive car buyers like me, in my misery I have company of Jimny, Thar, XUV700, Vitara etc., owners. But in this sea of discounts the Nexon EV surely takes the crown and I find my self to be the king of the losers. Introductory pricing my foot!

These price cuts do not bode well for the Curvv ev. Tata has shot itself in the foot. The introduction of the Harrier/Safari EV and Sierra EV will make the Curvv as obsolete as the Nexon EV is now, sandwiched between the Punch and the Curvv. Different battery packs priced at a gap of 1 lakh does not make any sense. Price overlap of an EV cannot be similar to an ICE strategy.

Let me know if there is an anonymous group catering to the mental well being of Nexon EV custodians alcohol addiction would have been a less embarrassing condition as of now.
400notout is online now   (29) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 11:53   #21

Feels like VFM now, especially the top end Empowered+ LR variant. Checked with a Chennai dealer and final OTR is 17L.

I’d buy this over the ICE variant anyday. Instant torque, much lower NVH, lower running cost, well equipped with EPB, all 4 disc brakes, ventilated seats. This is the best urban car to buy right now in my opinion for most families.
pavanmadhini is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 12:16   #22

In states like KA with minimal road tax on EVs, Nexon EV is now cheaper than similarly equipped petrol/diesel car. That day has finally arrived Considering lower "fuel" costs and maintenance, isn't this an obvious choice over diesel?
gnome is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 12:23   #23

I have a two-car household with my 6 year old Ford Ecosport AT being the city run-about. I use my diesel Tucson for longer trips. As a city car, the Ecosport deals with bumper-to-bumper traffic daily and returns abysmal mileage of about 5-6 kmpl.

I have been thinking of upgrading from the Ecosport to a compact EV which I feel is better suited for city usage. The range doesn't really matter to me since my daily usage in the city rarely crosses 50km. I have had the Punch EV in my sights for a while now. Ideally, I would have wanted to upgrade sometime next year since I will be moving to an apartment with an EV charging facility then.

However, with the current discounts, doubts about Karnataka continuing its road tax exemption for EVs and the dwindling value of my Ecosport, I'm really getting tempted to upgrade now. The only thing is that I may have to manage with public charging for a few months.

Does it make sense to push the button now? Or does it make sense to wait for the next 6-8 months and see what the market has to offer?
qaqa is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 12:29   #24

Re: Tata Motors slashes EV prices by up to Rs 1.2 lakh

Originally Posted by psbali View Post

Moving over a very hasty decision from Tata Motors. I pray for TM that MG doesn't price their Windsor too agressively now.

They could have waited for just a day more and slashed prices accordingly.

It is funny to watch how all companies are playing "Game of Price Cuts".
Looks like the Indian market is going the Chinese way. Price war has caused a lot of Mayhem in the Chinese market pushing many companies into red. Thankfully we only have a handful of OEMs operating.

I hope the price war doesn't cause the markets to bleed.
DRPSREDDY is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 12:36   #25

Originally Posted by 400notout View Post
Great news

There is depreciation and then there is the Tata Nexon EV. With this price cut Tata is just 30k away from the emis that I've paid till date on my Nexon EV. At this rate, till the end of my loan tenure the car should be distributed free of cost. If I manage to sell the car now, the hit would finance an Altroz atleast. Tata motors has been an institute where I have learnt a valuable lesson in finance (debt, loss) as well as spirituality (patience, humility). Now I laugh at myself and love my car even more as I try to figure out how do I extract max value out of it.

Before I purchased this car, there used to be threads on feature deletions, price hikes and insane waiting periods. Once I made the biggest ticket vehicle purchase, within 2 months prices started falling at such a pace that every other month my amount paid on a new car would be zero.

Last 12 months haven't been kind on enthusiastic and impulsive car buyers like me, in my misery I have company of Jimny, Thar, XUV700, Vitara etc., owners. But in this sea of discounts the Nexon EV surely takes the crown and I find my self to be the king of the losers. Introductory pricing my foot!

These price cuts do not bode well for the Curvv ev. Tata has shot itself in the foot. The introduction of the Harrier/Safari EV and Sierra EV will make the Curvv as obsolete as the Nexon EV is now, sandwiched between the Punch and the Curvv. Different battery packs priced at a gap of 1 lakh does not make any sense. Price overlap of an EV cannot be similar to an ICE strategy.

Let me know if there is an anonymous group catering to the mental well being of Nexon EV custodians alcohol addiction would have been a less embarrassing condition as of now.
Isn't this the natural course of pricing for EVs? Everyone kept saying prices with become affordable with reducing battery prices over the years.
Price reduction was expected for any EV with time. Even Tesla reduced their prices last year.
ritesh_44 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 12:41   #26

Hi, why are people getting disappointed with the price reduction of Nexon.ev and Punch.ev or feel cheated when EVs are selling at discounts.

Did we get the same feeling when XUV7OO reduced its prices (after many price hikes)
Did we get the same feeling when Slavia, Kushaq, Virtus & Taigun were on sale with upto 2 lacs discount
There are still many ICE models which are available for discount from 50K to 10 lacs.

Price increase, discounts & price reduction is manufacturer's choice. We should only look at the features and value an ICE or EV is giving to us.

Any top model of an EV currently available with 40kWh (or 38kWh) to 60kWh battery pack with real world range of 270 to 400km will easily last for next 6 to 8 years, except that user will be bored with her / his EV and want to sell.

Why don't we assume that in next 2-3 years, may be every fuel pump in India (city or highway) will have 2 to 3 fast charging facility for the EV, which will significantly benefit those who want quick top up before reaching their destination for slow home charging.
GoBabyGo is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 12:45   #27

Looking at moving to an electric car.

Compared between - XUV 400; Punch EV, Nexon EV and considered Curvv.ev too.

Space wise - XUV 400 is the best, followed by NexonEV, Curvv.ev and then Punch.
Curvv.ev , Empower+ is almost at 22.2 on the road. While has more features and looks bigger, the cabin was a disappointment.
XUV 400 EL Pro - with 3LK additional discount feels like a much better buy. Onroad now comes to sub 15.5 Lk in Bangalore.

Got the final price for XUV 400 EL Pro from my Dealer.
Ex-showroom - 17,69,000
Dicsount - 3,00,000
Net - 14,69,000
Fasttag - 600
TCS - 14690
RTO - 2662
Insurance - 70000

Total - 15,56,953/-

Taking the insurance from ACKO - the price final Price comes to 15,27,000/-

Sounds like a fabulous deal at this price. Getting the car at the price of Punch EV.

Planning to finally buy one.
The XUV400 is using NMC battery. Its superior than the LFP (most people think otherwise); however, the original Mahindra partner is for NMC is no more present and MnM is sourcing NMC battery from a generic China supplier.
All future MnM EVs will be using LFP/Blade; hence future support for NMC battery is bleak.
Pleas3 keep these points in mind while your purchase.
purohitanuj is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 13:11   #28

I think with a lot of cars piling up unsold at dealerships, added to uncertainty in the govt policys as regards to Hybrids, EVs and IC diesels we as automobile enthusiasts and buyers must be prepared for disappointments and cars which may be only trash worthy in the next 4-5 years as policys will decide the future of the automobile.
So either buy and enjoy short term OR be cautious and hold back your purchases.
Old 11th September 2024, 14:12   #29

As a family, we bought a Punch.ev in May, this is now almost a lakh cheaper than it was 3 months earlier. But then this is a festive discount rather than a price cut so I guess I cant really complain that much.
Bhodrolok is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 14:21   #30

Turns out it was done to compete with MG Windsor. Slow market and a great VFM offering from MG forced them to do this.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com