Team-BHP > Electric Cars

View Poll Results: Which Tata EV would you pick?
Curvv EV - 55 kWh 183 85.92%
Curvv EV - 45 kWh 12 5.63%
Nexon EV - Long Range (40.5 kWh) 16 7.51%
Nexon EV - Medium Range (30 kWh) 2 0.94%
Voters: 213. You may not vote on this poll

Old 22nd August 2024, 09:50   #1

Tata Curvv EV vs Tata Nexon EV | Which EV would you pick?

Tata Curvv EV vs Tata Nexon EV | Which EV would you pick?-tata-curvv-ev-vs-nexon-ev-1.png

Tata recently launched the Curvv EV, further strengthening its electric vehicle portfolio. Based on the acti.ev platform, the Curvv EV is not just a Nexon EV that’s extended to integrate the coupe shape. There are quite a few things that differentiate the Curvv EV and the Nexon EV. They have different battery capacities, cell structure, and power rating and they’re different in terms of features as well. However, there are a lot of similarities between the cars, which will make choosing between the two cars a little difficult. Here are a few key differences between the Curvv EV and Nexon EV.

Tata Curvv EV vs Tata Nexon EV | Which EV would you pick?-curvv-vs-nexon-ev-s.png

Battery and Range

– The Curvv EV is the first Tata car to get prismatic cells for its battery. The prismatic cell structure allows for better packaging and higher energy density. The 55 kWh battery pack variant of the Curvv EV is the only one that gets prismatic cells. The smaller 45 kWh battery packs of the Curvv EV and the Nexon EV get cylindrical-shaped cells. Prismatic cells will most likely be standardized in the future, but as of now, it’s only the Curvv EV 55 version that gets them.

The prismatic cell structure also gives the Curvv EV a better range. Hence, if range is one of the major deciding factors for you, the Curvv EV has the better range. Tata has also shared the C75 range number which is a more realistic figure. The Curvv EV 55 has a C75 range of 400-425 km. In comparison, the Nexon EV long range has a C75 range of 290-310 km.

Motor and Power

– The liquid-cooled permanent magnet electric motor is tuned differently in the Curvv EV and the Nexon EV. They produce the same torque, but the power figures are different in all 4 versions of the Curvv EV and Nexon EV (55, 45, LR and MR). Also, when you compare the acceleration figures of all 4 versions, they’re not that far apart and in the range of 9 seconds. Over the years, with every launch, Tata has focused on improving the drivability of its EVs and the story is the same is the case with the Curvv EV as well. The focus has been on linear acceleration, and while the Curvv EV has over 165 BHP, it has a very linear power delivery.

Exterior Design

- There was a lot of scepticism around the coupe-SUV design for the Curvv, but initial impressions have been positive. Since design is a subjective topic, here are some comparison pictures for you to reach your conclusions.

Tata Curvv EV vs Tata Nexon EV | Which EV would you pick?-extra-storage.png

Tata Curvv EV vs Tata Nexon EV | Which EV would you pick?-tata-curvv-ev-vs-nexon-ev.png

Interior Design and Features

– The interior design of both cars is almost identical. A similar colour scheme is used in the cabins and even the cabin space is almost the same. As mentioned in our review, I wish that Tata had changed some aspects of the interiors to differentiate the two EVs.

Coming to the features, the Nexon EV was never an underequipped car, especially when compared to the competition. It had all the features that one would need and the Curvv EV also has all those features and some more. At first glance apart from the obvious, you will be left wondering if there are any new features in the Curvv, but look closely and you will find quite a few additional features. Here are some of the features that the Curvv EV gets and the Nexon EV doesn’t (as of now) – Level 2 ADAS, acoustic vehicle alert system or AVAS, panoramic sunroof, powered tailgate with kick gesture opening, flush door handles, an 11.6-litre frunk, electrically operated front charging lid, powered driver’s seat, height adjustable front passenger seat, 2-step rear seat recline adjustment (although the range isn’t much), and ambient lighting.

Tata Curvv EV vs Tata Nexon EV | Which EV would you pick?-nexonvscurvvev-1.png

Rear seat and Boot space

– One would expect that thanks to the extended wheelbase, the Curvv EV would be more spacious in the backseat than the Nexon EV. However, the space in the rear is very much the same. Moreover, the coupe shape of the Curvv EV eats into the headroom. On the flip side, due to the bigger dimensions, the Curvv EV has a bigger boot of 500 litres. The Nexon EV in comparison has a boot space of 350 litres.

Tata Curvv EV vs Tata Nexon EV | Which EV would you pick?-nexonvscurvvev-2.png

Tata Curvv EV vs Tata Nexon EV | Which EV would you pick?-nexonvscurvvev-3.png

Prices

– This is what it all boils down to. Now, while Tata Motors has priced the Curvv EV fairly against its competitors, its biggest competitor will most likely be the Nexon EV. Now, comparing the bigger battery Curvv EV and the bigger battery Nexon EV isn’t fair. The right comparison would be the Curvv EV 45 and the Nexon EV Long Range. If you see the prices, there is some overlap and that’s where some cross-shopping is most likely to happen.

Tata Curvv EV vs Tata Nexon EV | Which EV would you pick?-prices.jpg

What do you think of the pricing of the two cars? Do share your thoughts and among the two cars, which one would you pick?
Omkar is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2024, 11:03   #2

Re: Tata Curvv EV vs Tata Nexon EV | Which EV would you pick?

Will vote for Curvv 55 today.

The main reason, Curvv has a bigger battery and a faster charging speed (1.2c). The interior space is almost the same, bigger boot is an added plus.

Nexon is an older Gen, charging speed is lower (0.7c). Hope Tata brings the next-gen Nexon.ev soon with Activ.ev platform, prismatic cells, and 1.2c charging speeds.

The price of 2lk more still makes it more VFM given that you get >100km real range + much faster charging (makes a big difference as car can charge enough during breakfast/lunch breaks and you don't have to spend time waiting for the required %)

Last edited by sharathkamath04 : 22nd August 2024 at 11:07. Reason: added more details
sharathkamath04 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2024, 11:12   #3

The biggest differentiator is that Nexon EV’s DC fast charging speed is limited to a paltry 30kw, while Curvv supports 70kw. This, along with the bigger battery, is a game changer for even occasional out of station use.

I own a Nexon EV LR. Had I been buying today, I would have gone for Curvv 55kwh
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2024, 13:40   #4

The price difference is not as much when you compare the Nexon Long Range to the Curvv 45 kWh, which are more comparable in terms of range. I have voted for the Curvv 55 kWh, eyes shut:

- Love the Coupe SUV styling (which is surprising as I have hated the Coupe-SUVs from BMW & Mercedes)

- Looks much fresher

- Better tech

- Amazing range with the 55 kWh battery pack

- More features

- Can anyone argue with 165 horses on tap ?

- Large 500L boot which can come in handy for airport & holiday runs
GTO is offline   (22) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2024, 14:10   #5

Tata Curvv EV waiting period stretches to two months

Tata Curvv EV comes in seven variants with two battery pack options.

45kwh variants have eight week waiting
55kwh variants have six week waiting
Virtual Sunrise, Pure Grey popular colour choices

TATA Curvv EV waiting period stretches to two months
DRPSREDDY is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2024, 14:34   #6

Originally Posted by Omkar View Post
Do share your thoughts and among the two cars, which one would you pick?
I voted for the Curvv EV 55 kWh.

The reason is simple: it has a more powerful battery, which leads to a greater range and higher BHP, even if it costs a couple of lakhs more. Additionally, the boot space is much larger than that of the Nexon EV.

As the Curvv is a newly launched vehicle, it features better technology and more features. There is also a chance that Tata might have fixed some of the EV niggles in this model.

I always prefer the latest vehicles and would choose the Curvv EV over the Nexon EV.
Old 22nd August 2024, 16:40   #7

Voted for the 55KW Curvv.

Given the state of current charging infrastructure, higher battery capacity and range is always welcome. Bonus is the new coupe design and some additional features.

However we will have to see the reliability of the new battery pack with prismatic type cells. The older packs with cylindrical-shaped cells of the 45KW Curvv and Nexon have already reached some level of reliability (there are way fewer battery issues reported in the 2023 Nexons).
Old 22nd August 2024, 19:43   #8

This is a no brainer, 55KW Curvv is best pick as of today. With the right amount of range with the right charging speed, you have highway and local drives covered.

Last edited by Aditya : 22nd August 2024 at 21:42. Reason: Typo
ferrarirules is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2024, 10:16   #9

One of the in favour factor for Curvv is, the platform (Activ.ev), is made for electric vehicles. Whereas, Nexon is a retrofit ev.

With Curvv, you won’t see exposed orange cables hanging beneath the car. The new coupe-suv is definitely the better choice
TheStoryweaver is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2024, 10:30   #10

Looks like the general public agrees with the poll results.

The Nexon EV, which was Tata Motors’ blockbuster product until not too long ago, is seeing some strong headwinds – not only from rival products of other brands but also Tata’s recently launched Curvv EV. While many had expected consumers’ preference to shift towards the Curvv, it has happened faster than predicted despite its higher pricing.
https://www.autocarindia.com/car-new...dealers-432611
safari_lover is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2024, 10:37   #11

Originally Posted by safari_lover View Post
Looks like the general public agrees with the poll results

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-new...dealers-432611
While many had expected consumers’ preference to shift towards the Curvv, it has happened faster than predicted despite its higher pricing.
There are far too many Nexon EV s on the road. So Curvv is a breath of fresh air. This could be one of the reasons why people are opting for the Curvv and it's a looker and stands out in the crowd, not to say Nexon is any less in the looks department.
Old 23rd August 2024, 12:54   #12

No brainer.

Voted for the Curvv EV 55KW. It's got newer design, better tech, excellent boot space, power, ADAS and most important of all a range that can take you between two cities (Del-Chandigarh, Mumbai-Pune-Mumbai, Bangalore-Mysore-Bangalore, Nagpur-Raipur, Chandigarh-Amritsar, Delhi-Agra-Delhi, Hyd-Bangalore with a single top up charge stop in Anantapur). The Curvv simply makes life so much easier.
gauravdgr8 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2024, 13:05   #13

Voted for Curvv EV - 55 kWh

The biggest issue with an EV today in India is the range anxiety. So any car that gives more range has that advantage. Plus, Curvv is a newer and better looking (subjective) product and the added boot space makes it a no brainer in my opinion. The only think going for Nexon is the lower price.
satnan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2024, 15:25   #14

Somehow all the mainstream media including team-bhp keep missing out how important charging speed is and it's barely even mentioned in comparisons.

Real world example of how a 500 KM drive on a highway will play out:

Base assumption: 6 KM/kWh at highway speeds with AC

With the above efficiency, energy consumption of 83.3 kWh will be needed to complete the trip. To give yourself enough buffer, let's round it to 90 kWh.

Nexon LR: 40 kWh will need two charging stops to complete this journey

Stop 1: At 10-20% SoC with buffer to spare. Charge up to 90%. This should add 28 kWh and given that DC charging speed is capped to 30 kWh, will take around 1 hour.

Stop 2: We need another 22 kWh to complete the journey. So at any SoC below 40, we will need to stop for our second charging session. Assuming we plug in at 30%, adding 22 kWh should take around 45 mins.

Curvv 55 kWh: We will need to add 35 kWh to complete our journey i.e just one stop

Stop 1: At 25% SoC, charge up to 90%. This will add 36 kWh. With a 60 kW charger which is the most common on our highways, this will take ~45 mins.

Time savings vs Nexon LR: 1 hour, coupled with a meal/rest stop, your travel time should be the same as an ICE vehicle.
Significant cost savings as well because your dependence on DC charging infra is lower now.

Also do note each charging session also has overheads in terms of finding the charging location, plugging in etc.

Decision is simple, if you want to undertake long drives on your EV and you have to get a Tata EV, please buy the Curvv. If plan is to use the car only in cities, get the Nexon MR. The LR model will cause you a lot of pain during long drives
shyampsunder is offline   (36) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2024, 19:18   #15

One thing to consider practically here is - assuming most people will use the 15A charger at home, Nexon MR can be charged 'overnight' and others cannot be.

And it is important for Tata EVs to be more regularly/almost everytime charged to 100% for proper cell balancing that happens at 90 or 95% (just doing top-ups regularly has proven to be troublesome).
jigbarai is offline   (2) Thanks