Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 29th January 2025, 21:57   #241

Re: Tata Curvv EV Review

I test drove the vehicle today. While I am impressed with driving characteristics, I have a very serious safety concern. While using Regen mode the brake lights don’t come on. It is dangerous to slow down drastically without any indication to vehicles following you. Is this a miss in Curvv or none of the EVs have this?
BravoMike is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th January 2025, 00:01   #242

Originally Posted by BravoMike View Post
I test drove the vehicle today. While I am impressed with driving characteristics, I have a very serious safety concern. While using Regen mode the brake lights don’t come on. It is dangerous to slow down drastically without any indication to vehicles following you. Is this a miss in Curvv or none of the EVs have this?
It might be an issue with that specific vehicle. The brake lights of my car come on when i step off the gas and go into regen.
Jazzybala is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 30th January 2025, 09:27   #243

Originally Posted by BravoMike View Post
Originally Posted by Jazzybala View Post
It might be an issue with that specific vehicle. The brake lights of my car come on when i step off the gas and go into regen.
Only the first gen nexon and Hyundai Ioniq had this problem. Both of these were fixed by software updates. To the best of my knowledge, this is no more a problem with any of the EVs today in the market.

As jazzy bala said this could be a problem with that specific vehicle or you have not hit
the threshold deceleration. Brake lights are configured to become active when the deceleration is beyond a threshold. In particular when the battery is (nearly) full, regen is not (cannot be) active and hence the deceleration due to regen is zero. So do not expect the brake lights when the battery is full.
electric_eel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2025, 08:24   #244

@ electric_eel and @ Jazzybala, how do you know that your brake lights actually go on predictably while regenerative braking? Did you have someone follow you with a 2 way radio and communicate with you that the lights were actually going on when you wanted it?

I know car manufacturers claim that they’ve solved the problem with a software update. However, I’m not sure that it’s as easy as that. Sure wheel speed can measure deceleration but it may not be as precise as an accelerometer. And such a meter will come with its own problems too.

Almost every test drive of any EV ( by any manufacturer) has a comment about this issue. It is obvious that the traffic behind did not predictably react the way the test-driver wanted. Simply believing that the “software update” has solved it may not prevent us from getting tailgated.

I would think in crowded traffic where everyone is going fast, it maybe worthwhile just tapping the brakes to warn people coming from behind.
mathewanil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2025, 17:56   #245

Originally Posted by mathewanil View Post
I know car manufacturers claim that they’ve solved the problem with a software update. However, I’m not sure that it’s as easy as that. Sure wheel speed can measure deceleration but it may not be as precise as an accelerometer. And such a meter will come with its own problems too.
You don't need a accelerometer, all they need to do is monitor the direction of the current. When it's doing regen the flow of current is reversed. So even if it produces a tiny fraction of current the shunt/current transformer picks it up and they then use this info in software to trigger the brake light.
DIY410 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2025, 09:33   #246

@ electric_eel and @ Jazzybala, how do you know that your brake lights actually go on predictably while regenerative braking? Did you have someone follow you with a 2 way radio and communicate with you that the lights were actually going on when you wanted it?
I can see the red halo of the brake light on my rear glass. In fact this is one of the first things I tried after getting my nexon max. Nonetheless, I do not really like the fact that the reflection of the brake light is visible on the rear glass. It makes the already weak rear camera footage almost useless in night driving.

Last edited by electric_eel : 3rd February 2025 at 09:36.
electric_eel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2025, 23:23   #247

Today a white bus was tailgating my Nexon Ev. My speed was around 30 to 40 kmph and regen level was 2 . I could see my brakes reflection on the bus whenever I took my foot of the A pedal. The bus driver sure would have been irritated thinking why is this guy braking so much l

On the other hand even with regen level 3 brakes didn’t light up in standstill traffic. As I could see no reflection on a wagon r behind me, but it did light up when I pressed the brakes.

So I suppose it lights up relative to speed and actual deceleration.
400notout is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th February 2025, 17:35   #248

Tata Curvv EV 55 kWh

• Along with the Punch EV, the Curvv EV is the best EV that Tata has launched to date. However, unlike the Nexon EV which had a free run for the longest time, the Curvv EV is going to face tough market conditions. The primary reason being the formidable competition. Hyundai Creta EV is here and so are Mahindra’s electric twins, the BE 6 and XEV 9e and not to forget Maruti’s e Vitara. Tata is no longer the only game in EV town. People want something different and they’re getting it. Plus, the Curvv EV’s rear seat headroom and premium pricing don’t help things either. I have a feeling that the Curvv EV will continue to do well, but it’s not going to do crazy volumes.

Tata Curvv EV Review-3.jpg

• Unfortunately, in the rapidly evolving EV world, a first-mover advantage doesn’t really count for too much. People buy a car to keep for 5 years, 7 years, or 8 years and they will buy the best car that is available for them as of that date and not because of any manufacturer’s history of making them (Tata cars anyway aren’t known to be niggle free). The only exception is of course if you build a charging network like Teslas, that’s where the first mover advantage remains crucial to your success. Tesla has just done it beautifully because Elon Musk realized that was a key USP of the Tesla EVs when everyone was playing catch up. But we don’t see that in India.

• Tata has given the Curvv EV in a sexy grey colour that we first saw on BMWs, Porsches and Octavia VRS in India. It’s a sexy mud grey colour and it looks fantastic on the Curvv’s sexy design.

• This electric gear shifter is not flawless. In quick front-back parking manoeuvres, it would frequently be in reverse when I wanted to go forward. So in tight parking spots where you continuously go from ‘R’ and ‘D’ and you’re moving the car front and back, you need to be careful which mode is selected.

• Every time you start the Curvv EV, the music system starts at zero volume and you have to bring the volume up. User-friendliness would’ve meant that the volume starts off at the same level where you left off or at the most at some neutral level like 30-40% level. But why should the audio system always start on zero?

• Engage Sport mode and the Curvv EV becomes a properly quick car. I just floored the accelerator while driving at 60 km/h and the front wheels chirped and there was torque steer. This is just a beautifully tuned powertrain and it shows Tata’s years of learning in the EV space.

• Range anxiety is a thing of the past. It was a term coined when EVs had a 100-120 km range. Early EVs like the Nissan Leaf, Mahindra Reva, etc. Today’s EVs are just fantastic. Especially for city driving and going to close-by destinations. Especially in city driving there is no such thing as range anxiety. Even when you travel far in the city. To give you an example, I started the Curvv EV in the morning and the battery level was at 88% and the range displayed was 252 km. I drove all the way to Thane for Raymond’s supercar show and the battery level was 70%. Also, since the roads were empty, it was free flowing and there was good efficiency. Even after driving 40 km, it was showing a 248 km range. EVs truly rock for the city.

Tata Curvv EV Review-4.jpg

• The three adjustable regen levels offer so much flexibility. You can adjust them via the paddle shifters. My personal preference is to use aggressive level 3 for heavy traffic. Where there’s a lot of stop-and-go. I’d use it in heavy traffic where I’d get away with one-pedal driving for the most part. It’s very aggressive. I’d put it on level 2 for normal city traffic where it’s moving but not fast (the regular Bombay speed). I’d retain level 1 for the fun drives, the early mornings in Bombay for the highway drives and empty roads.

• Tata truly has an extremely competent and wide choice of powertrains on the Curvv. There’s the turbo petrol with the dual-clutch, turbo diesel with the dual-clutch and there’s an EV as well. All three are simply fantastic motors. You’re going to have to pick based on what you’re driving style is. For city use and if you have access to home charging, even slow charging, there’s no doubt that the EV is the most superior. On the other hand, if you’re frequently logging high miles on the highway, nothing touches that diesel automatic.

Tata Curvv 1.5L Diesel 7-speed Dual-Clutch AT

• It’s a compact car but the entire package feels very premium. I love the cabin, the great sound system, the long list of features, the stylish gear lever, the mature suspension, and the top safety by Tata. This is not an economy car or a budget car by any angle. It feels like and is a properly premium compact car. Within the first kilometre itself, you will appreciate the feeling of solidity and sturdy build. It drives like a European car.

Tata Curvv EV Review-1.jpg

• Just so happy that Tata dumped the AMT and got this dual-clutch automatic. Automatics are the choice of transmission today in the 15 lakh and above segments and Tata’s really come well equipped to offer buyers a very competent package. This DCA is level above that jerky AMT.

• At the same time, I am quite concerned about the dual-clutch automatics that are being launched by Tata, Hyundai and Kia. Primarily because dual-clutch ATs don’t have a good track record of reliability in our country. You will remember Ford, Skoda, and VW horror stories. All of them have struggled with long-term reliability and now with dual-clutch automatics going mainstream, I sure hope that the reliability is sorted. Whatever happens, be sure to take that Extended Warranty.

• I quite like the dark maroon theme of the interiors which feels like it’s clearly inspired by some luxury car brand. I remember seeing it in some high-end car but looks fantastic anyway. So happy to see Tata experimenting with interior colours like this. The execution is super. The only thing is that our test car also has a bright exterior. So, I’m not sure this interior colour combination goes well with this exterior. I would love this maroon interior with a white or black exterior or even a silver colour car.

• Really love how the controls like the hazard lights or the lock unlock buttons on the centre fascia are touch-sensitive. So Classy.

• As someone who always heads out for morning drives with coffee, I’m surprised that there are no cupholders in this car! I had to do some jugaad where I flipped open the driver armrest and I’m using that storage area to place my coffee mug.

• Fantastic sound system with a tight bass. The sound system is well integrated with the car. The last car I drove just before the Curvv was the Thar Roxx and I can tell you that the sound system in the Mahindra was quite ordinary compared to what Tata has given you in the Curvv.

• With my laid-back driving position, I must say that the rear legroom is quite restricted. And 6-footers will feel that the driver’s seat doesn’t slide far back. Tata seems to have restricted the fore and aft movement of the front seats just to preserve some rear legroom.

• Happy to update that this is the first car I drove with the ADAS ON. And frankly, I didn’t find it to be overly intrusive or annoying. It didn’t suddenly break when I didn’t expect it to. Pleasantly surprised at the soft ADAS implementation which actually assists your driving and isn’t like this strict grandmother controlling things from the back seat.

• This Tata diesel is really known to be a workhorse of an engine. It has good torque and good efficiency and if you can work the accelerator, you can make quick progress. It’s a fantastic diesel motor. If you are anyone with very high running, this diesel engine is definitely worth considering.

• At crawling speeds and especially when taking my foot off the accelerator, there was a strange, rattly sound coming from the drivetrain area. Not cool.

• The first and second gear are obviously short, but it’s also important to understand that the throttle is quite sharp. So, to make it a smooth driving experience at low speeds, not just in terms of acceleration, but also deceleration, you have to gently modulate the throttle to maintain a smooth drive.

• Not all automatics show you this, but I appreciate that the instrument cluster displays D2, D3 or D4 to show me what gear I’m currently in. I appreciate this information as an enthusiast.

• You get paddle shifters and they work quite well. I like the design and feel of the paddle shifters. You will need them when you suddenly want to overtake as the downshift response time of the gearbox to the accelerator is quite slow. So, you will find yourself using paddle shifters when you’re driving enthusiastically or when you want to suddenly overtake on the highway.

• It’s quite silly that the car starts in Sport mode always. That’s not cool. I mean we normally love Sport mode, but the thing is that the sport makes the car too jerky in the city. So, anyone would prefer if the car started in city mode. Stick to eco or city mode only when driving to work and at regular speeds.

• The diesel AT is so darn smooth in ECO and City modes. This is a giant leap ahead of the AMT that was being offered earlier. And I’m happy to see that the Koreans finally have a diesel automatic competitor in the segment. Pat on the back of Tata for the same.

• I must also add that I haven’t heard too many BS6 exhaust-related complaints on Tata cars, especially this engine as much as I do from some other brands. As mentioned in the official review,
Originally Posted by Omkar View Post
Tata has managed to meet the BS6 phase 2 emission norms without having to add a DPF. They’ve managed to curb the emissions with passive SCR and a lean NOx trap. Hence, you don’t need to worry about adding diesel exhaust fluid or Active DPF regeneration.
• So, if you’re a high mileage driver with a lot of running, the Tata diesel AT should definitely be on your consideration list.

• Ride quality is good for the most part. Just one downer is as Omkar pointed out on really sharp bumps or potholes, you feel that firm thud coming through thanks to the 18-inch rims. Of course, it’s not like this thing has a soft suspension, but ride quality is quite good and mature for the most part. It’s just that these large rims that bring sharpness into the cabin on really bad potholes. The lower variant with smaller rims will do better.

• Rock solid stability at high speeds on the expressway. It really has got that big car feel and manners.

• What’s a Tata car without niggles? One morning I started the car and it showed me all kinds of errors. The steering was rock-hard and there was no assistance. The car was practically undrivable. Guess what solved it? The good old Windows restart. Got out, locked the car, waited for some time, got back in and we’re back in business.

Tata Curvv EV Review-2.jpg
GTO is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 19th February 2025, 06:27   #249

Closing in on 120 days with our Curvv.EV

Updates continue :
1. Drives like a breeze within city. Great to squeeze around in Bangalore traffic.
2. Highway drives sorted and planted. Adaptive cruise control works well
3. Regen Modes work well once you're adjusted and can be of huge complimentray aid to the driving. Like @GTO mentioned, I do Level 2 in regular traffic, level 3 in heavy traffic and else leave it in Level 1 default.
4. Operating the AC controls while driving are an issue, especially switching on & off. Voice commands are hit and miss.
5. I've never sat in the rear seat, and i don't think i'll be doing it. Its too cramped.
6. Large boot is super practical and serves our use case splendidly.
7. Driving position has serious ergonomic issues, especially due to lack of telescopic steering. I am still searching for my sweet spot :(
8. ADAS is quite good, but AEB is very harsh and gets on by default so have to remind to turn off in city and i forget! (How do i convince BLR traffic police that the braking wasn't me but my ADAS - any suggestions ?
9. Charging in regular 15A is good and hasslefree. I roughly calculated that if I would have had my covered the same miles in me hector i'd have spent 10x+ on petrol.
10. I am sure the car reads driving patterns and calcs the range while charging. Days when I'm on highways and driving 100+ speed on an average, I get a max of 375-390 kms full charge. Days when i'm mostly in city and doing around 40-60 speed, I am getting 460-480kms. Happy with that for sure.

Tata Curvv EV Review-screenshot-20250219-6.07.058239am.png

More to come!
DASKD24 is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 24th February 2025, 22:29   #250

• Every time you start the Curvv EV, the music system starts at zero volume and you have to bring the volume up. User-friendliness would’ve meant that the volume starts off at the same level where you left off or at the most at some neutral level like 30-40% level. But why should the audio system always start on zero?
If the Infotainment system is done in the same way as it is in the Harrier and Safari, then there is a setting for the music system volume on engine start-up. It looks like this was set to '0' in the settings. I've set it to 4 in my Safari. There is also an option to keep it at previous volume level.
sswaroop is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th February 2025, 01:41   #251

...The good old Windows restart. Got out, locked the car, waited for some time, got back in and we’re back in business.

Attachment 2727584
Runs in the Family. This is a popular remedy even for Range Rovers when some sensors/sub-systems decide to act funny.

My car once showed brake system error. Stopped, waited and restarted. Error gone.
14000rpm is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 28th February 2025, 01:00   #252

Originally Posted by DASKD24 View Post
Closing in on 120 days with our Curvv.EV

10. I am sure the car reads driving patterns and calcs the range while charging. Days when I'm on highways and driving 100+ speed on an average, I get a max of 375-390 kms full charge. Days when i'm mostly in city and doing around 40-60 speed, I am getting 460-480kms. Happy with that for sure.

More to come!
Did you check out the Evo India K2K drive in a Curvv.EV which is in collaboration with Tata Motors?
I was going through the charging details shared by them. The car is hardly averaging 300-320 km on full charge (100-0) I mean. That kind of range is a bit disappointing.
I've been considering to upgrade from my Nexon EV Prime, but the figures in that drive don't seem encouraging.
StrykerEV05 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th February 2025, 11:27   #253

Originally Posted by StrykerEV05 View Post
The car is hardly averaging 300-320 km on full charge (100-0) I mean. That kind of range is a bit disappointing.
I've been considering to upgrade from my Nexon EV Prime, but the figures in that drive don't seem encouraging.
That is because they are driving the car at high speeds like 120 kmph on expressways or beyond 100 kmph. Also they invited multiple people to drive the car along on the ride. Latest post on X from Sirish talks about this.

The car is doing 167wh/km which is 6 km per kwh which is in line with high speed highway runs. This imputes a range for 330 kms (100-0%)
ferrarirules is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 1st March 2025, 11:55   #254

Originally Posted by StrykerEV05 View Post
Did you check out the Evo India K2K drive in a Curvv.EV which is in collaboration with Tata Motors?
I was going through the charging details shared by them. The car is hardly averaging 300-320 km on full charge (100-0) I mean. That kind of range is a bit disappointing.
Not sure of the review.

I'm using this as my daily all purpose driver.
About 350-400 KMs per week. 60% City 40% Highways. With AC 95% of times.
Use Regen modes generously.

I do one big charge in a week and small top ups if need be, to try and keep between 50%-80% charged at any stage. Like my mobile, I have a terrible OCD if the charge goes below 50%

Barring a few occasions ,when I know I've driven hard (100-120), I have never gotten a full range below 405Km at 100% charge.
Max I got was 478KMs once.
Range improved significantly after 1st service.
DASKD24 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st March 2025, 20:11   #255

Originally Posted by DASKD24 View Post
Not sure of the review.

I'm using this as my daily all purpose driver.
About 350-400 KMs per week. 60% City 40% Highways. With AC 95% of times.
Use Regen modes generously.

I do one big charge in a week and small top ups if need be, to try and keep between 50%-80% charged at any stage. Like my mobile, I have a terrible OCD if the charge goes below 50%
Take the SoC close to 10% and charge till 100%. Do not do the 50-80% charging particularly for LFP batteries.
electric_eel is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com