Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 11th September 2024, 16:59   #241

Re: MG Cloud spotted testing in India. EDIT: Named Windsor

The MG Windsor has dimensions of Length x Width x Height (mm) 4,295 x 2,126 x 1,677. Is it easy to be maneuverable in our narrow roads with a width of 2126 mm? My Hector with a width of 1835 mm itself is very difficult to go through narrow lanes. I wonder how good it will be as a city car. In our country going through narrow lanes with vehicles parked on either side is part of city driving. I think this should be the widest car presently in India. If I were to buy this, this feature alone is a deterrent!
Sedate driver is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:00   #242

Originally Posted by ferrarirules View Post
All except Comrade have missed one key thing, Battery rental of Rs.3.5 per km will have GST rate of 18%

Indian regulations don’t even allow manufacturers to sell a car without battery. So MG can only price in battery as a loan to customer which will be payable on a monthly basis on km driven with some upfront cost.

For the 3-60 buyback, it is a plan which needs to be bought like extended warranty.

I will say it is the most confusing car launch, I have ever seen as cost of Ownership of even the base model is not clear. Just to get the wow number of Rs. 9.99 lakh they have done this. And I have not even gotten into the features that missing in the base model
Hi, thank you for pointing out about GST. Here is the revised calculations after adding GST on Battery Rental.
MG Cloud spotted testing in India. EDIT: Named Windsor-mg-windsor-vs-tata-nexon-ev.jpg  

GoBabyGo is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:08   #243

Originally Posted by Sedate driver View Post
Is it easy to be maneuverable in our narrow roads with a width of 2126 mm? My Hector with a width of 1835 mm itself is very difficult to go through narrow lanes.
2126 mm width includes ORVMs. 1850 without them.

Originally Posted by saikishor View Post
Assuming an owner would drive 1 lac kms, battery rental translates to 3.5*100000=3 lac 50k. So 10 lacs + 3.5 lacs= 13.5 or lets just assume 14 lacs including registration charges etc.
The on-road price itself will be 11.5-12 L approximately. Plus you have to factor GST that ferrarirules mentioned. So you are talking about 4.13 Rs/km including GST. And this does not include charging costs, which is 1-1.5 Rs/km. So you are looking at 5.63 Rs/km.

Effectively over a 100000 km, we are talking about 17.13-17.63 L depending on the upfront or-road price.

Originally Posted by ferrarirules View Post
All except Comrade have missed one key thing, Battery rental of Rs.3.5 per km will have GST rate of 18%

Last edited by narayans80 : 11th September 2024 at 17:11.
narayans80 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:14   #244

Variants as per the 3d visualizer.
MG Cloud spotted testing in India. EDIT: Named Windsor-mg-windsor-variants-00.jpg  

MG Cloud spotted testing in India. EDIT: Named Windsor-mg-windsor-variants-01.jpg  

ashutoshb is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:22   #245

Originally Posted by narayans80 View Post
Maximum fast charging capability is 45 kw and promises 55 minute charging time at 50 kw. Proofreading RIP?
I think the car can charge at max 45kw, if the charger can supply 50kw minimum, the car can charge in 55mins from 0-80%.
SKC-auto is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:22   #246

The objective of MG is simple, reduce the upfront cost for people taking a leap of faith for an EV. So overall we have to laud the effort in trying to disrupt the market.

It’s a new way of selling and therefore buying cars. Yes the god is in the details, so will need to understand the T&Cs. But overall if I was in the market for a city automatic car it would be on my list.
kewlferrari is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:25   #247

Looks interesting and tempting too, but going with the backbone and brain behind MG I am sorry will take some time to let the dust settle in and have a much clear picture. I think waiting for 6 month ownership review should not be a bad option as by then we will have a complete clarity on what all those * conditions apply actually means.
Old 11th September 2024, 17:27   #248

Originally Posted by SKC-auto View Post
I think the car can charge at max 45kw, if the charger can supply 50kw minimum, the car can charge in 55mins from 0-80%.
So it has a 1.2C charge speed vs 1.37C charge speed of ZS EV. I honestly expected a BORN EV product from SAIC to have even higher charging speed than the IC converted ZS line up.
DIY410 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:34   #249

Attaboy MG! Really appreciate MG for being brave enough (in a nice way) to attempt a financial innovation. I really believe that a BaaS model works very well for a number of market segments -

1. Customers with low usage

2. Customers who don't want to risk too much on an EV in an era when tech is changing rapidly. With the buyback offer, the value-at-risk is only 60% of the already low upfront price. No risk of battery degradation also.

3. Cab-operators and commercial users, since it moves capex to opex freeing up capital at the user's end

4. Customers who don't have the ability to put up a large payment upfront, and who struggle to get vehicle finance at good rates (youngsters, some self-employed businessmen who don't have great on-paper financials etc)

I am really excited!

Keeping the financial engineering aside, the car is very appealing. The ZS EV was by-and-large a reliable car with none of the irritants plaguing Tata. The quality and reliability in itself is a huge differentiator from the Tata stable and will attract many customers (like myself) who wanted EVs but haven't had the "guts" to deal with Tata-issues. And yay, no rotary gear selector to deal with :P Also while the looks maybe a bit polarizing, I would any day vote for a bit of exclusivity in a sea of Nexons and Punch(es?).

Eagerly waiting for reviews to drop in!

Last edited by qaqa : 11th September 2024 at 17:44.
qaqa is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:35   #250

Wonder how states will levy road tax on BaaS
Old 11th September 2024, 17:36   #251

I think the buyback scheme is also probably misleading. I guess the buyback calculation does not include the battery rental cost and other costs (insurance and registration). So someone who sells the car back to MG after 3 years is probably looking at 50% depreciation, and not 40. I haven't seen the brochure, so I could be wrong.

EDIT: For those who want to keep the car for longer than 3 years, there is no guarantee that the cost per km for subsequent years will remain at Rs.3.5/km.

EDIT again: Wearing the cynical hat, I guess the cost per km for keeping the car after 3 years will shoot up, enough to make running costs more expensive than an comparable ICE car, and it may force most people to sell the car back to MG after 3 years. So MG will pay you the depreciated cost for a car without battery, and will keep a car with battery that will likely fetch them more than what they pay you (with battery, of course).

Last edited by StarrySky : 11th September 2024 at 17:44.
StarrySky is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:40   #252

It looks like MG wants to straddle the 10 to 20+ lakh price range cutting across segments with the Windsor. I would imagine there will a 50+ KWH variant with ADAS down the line which will overlap the ZS EV.

This could mean they have no plans to bring the Wuling Bingo starting under 10L or they are testing waters with the subscription model until the launch of the Bingo.
BRZRKR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:41   #253

2 lakh+ people watched this car launch event live means.. there is a lot of interest on this car, even though it's not an SUV.

People are interested because of the rear passenger seats comfort and huge boot space and expected the 51kwh battery with good actual range for this big car; And most importantly expected the price to be below MG ZS EV.

I expected it to be a grand success with huge waiting periods (I thought it has everything to be a good airport cab), if they price it around 11-16 lakhs with 350 km actual range battery.

Lower capacity battery is the biggest let down. And unlimited battery warranty for the first owner only is the worst clause. Why should the second owner keep paying the rental for a standard (8 year / 160000 km) warranty? If this clause is removed, the resale value for EV cars could get normalized with ICE cars.

BaaS model is a surprise with lot of confusions and loopholes for now. They might introduce prepaid wallet system which always tracks the car and keep deducting the Rs 3.5 for each KM run immediately.

But the BaaS model could bring a revolutionary change, if it's adapted by others as well and entry level EV cars like MG Comet and Tata Tiago EV, etc. start from Rs 3 lakh by deducting the upfront battery cost; and become affordable for everyone.

Hope exciting times are ahead.
nreddy is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 17:43   #254

Look at the position of the front lights. Are they going to make money out of light repairs than the proposed service model?
Old 11th September 2024, 17:46   #255

Originally Posted by rkv_hunter View Post
Agree on this. I think they are trying to do too much in one go. Should ideally be optional. It will be interesting how will they collect the rental. What if someone doesn’t pay. Recovering money is not an easy job, even banks struggle and have specialised teams for collections. They are getting themselves into something which is not meant for a car company to manage.
It is an EV, they can remotely kill the car and make it useless in case of pending payments. The rest of the car is already paid for. They can then track the car down and remove the battery pack if they want to. Location is always enabled and tracked.

As mentioned above, it can be a prepaid meter as well.