Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 27th November 2024, 15:01   #286

Re: Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 la

Minority in this group - really do not like the design, shape or form. Whatever happened to elegant and classy designs? Can an EV be designed to not look like toy cars or cars from the futuristic movies?

The biggest disadvantage of these funky designs are that they do not age gracefully. If you want to see this in reality, walk around your neighbourhood colony and look at the houses which look very odd - they were the funky ones not so long ago!
pk1972 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 15:08   #287

Re: Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 la

Originally Posted by pk1972 View Post
The biggest disadvantage of these funky designs are that they do not age gracefully. If you want to see this in reality, walk around your neighbourhood colony and look at the houses which look very odd - they were the funky ones not so long ago!
A car’s longevity shouldn’t be compared to that of a house.
To me, these designs are fantastic. Loved seeing such designs in movies, always wanted to possess one and present day carmakers are making it possible. Kudos to them !!
If tech all around the car is changing, why not its shape too, unless the shape is ugly, which is not the case with these 2 cars.
Classic shape would have been too boring.
At the end, to each his own taste.

Last edited by a023624a : 27th November 2024 at 15:20.
a023624a is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 15:18   #288

Infractions: 0/1 (4)

Originally Posted by Sidban85 View Post
What will be a comparable car in terms of interior space for 6E? Nexon or Creta?
More like Tata Curvv. The rear headroom is limited. People with more than 6 feet height won't be comfortable.
Old 27th November 2024, 15:27   #289

Great pricing. Hopes of 40 lakh OTR price vanished . Well, maybe. Let's wait for the top end prices.

Its design doesn't appeal to me. The front is okay, but the side and rear are questionable. 9e looks good from the side, though.

But it is too complicated for a Mahindra. There are so many screens and tech. But reliability? Is it included in the package? I don't think so.

And Pratap Bose, well, he will certainly bring the concept of slim DRLs to Mahindra too.

BTW, I can't remember the names of these cars at all. They are too cheesy. If it sells, it's because of its price. If it does not, it's because of its design and reliability.

I am interested in seeing how much these cars will sell.

Last edited by ItsMeTheCarBoi : 27th November 2024 at 15:56. Reason: typos
Old 27th November 2024, 15:35   #290

Originally Posted by Vikram9193 View Post
I am a simple man. I see RWD, and I ask: will it drift? And having just heard someone say “BE 6E” out loud, I will be very disappointed if it doesn’t.
You have the answer-
sachin_cs is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 15:41   #291

Originally Posted by sri_tesla View Post
Battery prices are not that high anymore. LFP cell prices in China are down to RMB 410 per kWh ($56 or Rs 4,800 per kWh). So, a 59 kWh pack at the cell level costs less than Rs 3 lakhs. Even if we assume some higher prices, import costs, and pack costs, it will be between Rs 4 to 5 lakhs. So, the entire battery pack will be covered under GST benefit (5% vs 50%).
I havent come across the numbers you are quoting per kwh. The range I have seen is anywhere from approx ~ $100 to $138 depending on the chemistry. LFP obviously are cheaper compared to NMC.

Mahindra sells the XUV700 base variant for Rs 14.5 lakhs. Out of this amount, their actual revenue per car is around Rs 9.7 lakhs due to 50% GST. If it had been an EV, their revenue for the same price would have been Rs 13.8 lakhs. They are selling the base BE 6e for Rs 19 lakhs. There will be more variants with the larger battery pack and features at higher prices. They will also increase prices over time based on demand.
We dont know the exact spec of the base model but taking even the lower number from the range i specified above, $100 per kwh x 59 kwh = $5900 = 5 lakhs. We still havent accounted for the motor, BMS, other ancillary compnents (air conditioner, wheels and tyres, interior trim, airbags, abs, glass amongst a whole lot others), software + hardware for the infotainment, the backbone hardware stack including different cpu's, mobileye ADAS hardware, fixed capex factory costs, apportioned R&D and investment cost, the cost to build the car, dealer margins, cost of warranty repairs - I wonder how much is left after all this? I still believe they wont be making too much money or any atleast at that price.

Also, Mahindra is targeting higher volumes from the beginning. So, they will get much better prices from the suppliers. Their initial production capacity itself is very high (90K per month) and it will be doubled in another year.
90k units is the yearly volume NOT the monthly volume.

Last edited by extreme_torque : 27th November 2024 at 15:43.
extreme_torque is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 15:42   #292

Putting all the things regarding the car itself aside, I am a tad bit more worried about the kind the ownership these vehicles can have. Keeping the following points in mind, I would like to put down my concern:

1. The pace of the power it can put down.
2. Their expected heavy weight (being inherently electric and also, I didn't find any official weight figures from my limited research).
3. Their aggressive design and being RWD, which will attract a certain kind of crowd(the drifting demonstration didn't do any favors).
4. Their inexpensive and attainable price(most important factor).

It is my desperate wish that they don't roam around being unguided torpedoes on our already chaotic and dreaded roads. The track record of powerful vehicles being in the hands of irresponsible troublemakers is filled to the brim and Mahindra's image has already been in such association significantly.
ent!ty is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 15:43   #293

Great pricing from M&M. However, I don't see why EVs have to go overboard with design to state that they are EVs. Can't there be simpler designs please? The profile looks like it's straight out of Robocop series. I am not a fan of those alloys too. Make them simpler please, would love to acquire one.
Raghu M is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 16:07   #294

I admire the design language and features that MM is introducing with their new vehicles. How does this translate to charging the battery packs at home and on highways in terms of time required? Anyone has done that Maths yet?

Last edited by manson : 29th November 2024 at 07:28. Reason: Typo.
Old 27th November 2024, 16:12   #295

What a cool looking car! Mahindra has taken this a notch higher than what competition has to offer. Of the many features, what impressed me more is a foam in tyre technology, to reduce the noise levels. Look wise too it somewhat resembles to Tesla Cybertruck.
Old 27th November 2024, 16:15   #296
RVR

While the market is slowly moving towards 800V battery system, quite surprised to see Mahindra settling for 400V. I see Mahindra always trying to bring in latest tech to their new launches, but how did they even miss here.
Old 27th November 2024, 16:18   #297

Originally Posted by ent!ty View Post
Putting all the things regarding the car itself aside, I am a tad bit more worried about the kind the ownership these vehicles can have. Keeping the following points in mind, I would like to put down my concern:

It is my desperate wish that they don't roam around being unguided torpedoes on our already chaotic and dreaded roads. The track record of powerful vehicles being in the hands of irresponsible troublemakers is filled to the brim and Mahindra's image has already been in such association significantly.
You put fairly good points, however for EV adoption to penetrate and spread, it must attract all kinds of crowd. Maybe, we'll have level headed designs from other manufacturers that could bring in truck-load of government vehicle contracts for the babus and gentleman crowd. But for now, let's welcome and enjoy the new entrants trying to disrupt and challenge the EV naysayers.

Last edited by KarthikK : 27th November 2024 at 16:27. Reason: Trimming the quoted post to the relevant portions for better readability.
cranberry1864 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 16:27   #298

Originally Posted by Baby Driver View Post
Can we now agree that Tata Motors is establishing itself as a front-runner in automotive design trends? The exterior styling closely mirrors the Curvv concept, while the interior design theme strongly reflects Tata's signature aesthetics. This is particularly evident in elements such as the steering wheel, gear knob, and touch panel, all of which showcase a distinctly Tata inspired design language.
No.
I saw the prototypes ages back. Year(s).
It's not Tata inspired one bit.
Tata simply half-assed/baked their launch (jugaad ICE-converts, as they call them.)
The 6E's steering 'knob' is anything but what you get on the market today.
Now go ahead and say the XUV400 aped Tata, then maybe I'll say you're mildly convincing.
wooka is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 16:35   #299

It might be a bit too early for anticipation here, but i thought / hoped that there might be an awd 79kW version of BE 6E with 360-380hp as per previous reports.
Hope that is true. Any experts here who can shed light on when that would come or whether it would ?
I was hoping to replace my trailhawk with this / Be rall-E in early 2026.
Old 27th November 2024, 16:47   #300

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
I havent come across the numbers you are quoting per kwh. The range I have seen is anywhere from approx ~ $100 to $138 depending on the chemistry. LFP obviously are cheaper compared to NMC.
A simple Google search gives the news links like below.
https://www.reuters.com/markets/comm...rt-2024-10-30/

Excerpt from the link:
Global battery cell prices slid to record lows last month due to persistent declines in raw materials prices such as lithium and cobalt, consultancy Benchmark Mineral Intelligence said. The weaker battery prices were led by lithium iron phosphate (LFP) cells, which dropped to $59 per per kilowatt hour (kWh) in September, based on weighted average prices.

"Prices will likely drop a little further on average, but already LFP battery cells have and are actively being purchased in instances at agreed prices around $50/kWh," said Evan Hartley, research manager at Benchmark.
Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
We still havent accounted for the motor, BMS, other ancillary compnents (air conditioner, wheels and tyres, interior trim, airbags, abs, glass amongst a whole lot others), software + hardware for the infotainment, the backbone hardware stack including different cpu's, mobileye ADAS hardware, fixed capex factory costs, apportioned R&D and investment cost, the cost to build the car, dealer margins, cost of warranty repairs - I wonder how much is left after all this? I still believe they wont be making too much money or any atleast at that price.
As I mentioned earlier in my earlier post, BE 6e brings in Rs 9 lakhs more in revenue for Mahindra compared to base XUV700. Most of the items you mentioned like wheels, AC, cars, dealer margins, etc... are common between two models. I am sure the remaining additional features like CPUs, ADAS hardware, etc.. can be easily built in that 9 lakhs margin. Base model just one piece of puzzle to attract buyers. They did the same with XUV700, Scorpio N and Thar Roxx launches. They will unveil many more variants at higher prices which will have much higher margins. Slowly, they will increase prices for the base model as well as they did with all the above models.

Mahindra so far invested Rs 4,000 crores to develop these two cars. Unlike some other companies, Mahindra is playing the volume game. The initial capacity of 7,500 vehicles per month is a good start and they plan to double the capacity by the end of FY26.
sri_tesla is offline   (2) Thanks