Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 27th November 2024, 10:02   #226

Re: Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 la

Another Indian Car Story - With a fantastic package but it is going to have a lackluster car experience.

Tata/Mahindra make the best car packages - but just on paper. Everything is super fantastic and gimmicky. This is exactly what they did with the XUV 700 game. But, what i like is that - this will lead to a 'healthy' competition among rivals. With every launch it is advantageous to the end customer.

Unfortunately, the big miss is the aftersales experience. I hope Mahindra is equipped to deal with the problems. Every screen/touch sensitive button or electric component is finally driven by a software and embedded electromechanical physical button. And the EV Era is turning this into a nightmare. What do in case of a software failure?

Lol! Will be funny to note down all the 'suggestive hilarious' acronyms this car has.

On a lighter note, Now with 3 screens another screen that can go blank then . Prospective customers - Be ready for R&Ds to be carried out on customer cars - To me these look to be botched up unfinished products. Don't get me wrong, I love them in spirit, just like I loved the cybertruck. I love the design and I love the package. I love Mahindra being fearless. Would I put my middle class money on one - Thats another story.

Last edited by MartinVirage : 27th November 2024 at 10:04.
MartinVirage is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 10:05   #227

Re: Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 la

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Media drive begins in Chennai
I spotted a whole array on GST Road on Chromepet-Pallavaram stretch:

The first 2 are blocked by barricades, but the rest are visible, on the flyover.

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
Tech specs
Wasn't the 6E supposed to have 18 inchers? Are they both 19?

BE 6e & XEV 9e sound more like geeky codenames (or a WiFI router name) rather than a brand name. I disagreed with VW's EV branding too - the ID.3, ID.5, ID Buzz etc are accepted as branding mistakes.
BE 6e sounds catchy as intended to be Be sexy!. Not so with XEV 9e.

For us who are familiar with the ID food brand, Volkswagen's monikers sound like Idly Dosa 3, Idly Dosa 5

Originally Posted by rosh_aveo1.4 View Post
How is this in comparison with Windsor?
I too don't understand the logic. Those stretching to buy a Windsor, will not stretch further to buy a 6e.

If you start with a Windsor Essence, then 6e will make sense. The base 6e is a full 9-10L lesser than the Atto 3 Premium. I don't think MG would bite for the Windsor, but would do for the ZS and would look at getting the ZS replacement in 2025.

Even the Tata Curvv would stay put and may likely react towards the end of Q1 2025.

Last edited by manson : 29th November 2024 at 07:33. Reason: Deleted extra blank rows.
narayans80 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 10:10   #228

Wild EVs ! Absolutely love the styling, tech & big size. These are the kind of EVs that really get you excited, I can't wait to drive them (Omkar & Graaja are driving them as I type this post). Just wondering if Mahindra could have done better with the naming? BE 6e & XEV 9e sound more like geeky codenames (or a WiFI router name) rather than a brand name. I disagreed with VW's EV branding too - the ID.3, ID.5, ID Buzz etc are accepted as branding mistakes.

Names like XUV700, Sierra, Thar, Safari etc. are superior sub-brands IMHO. This BE 6e & XUV 9e naming convention is meh.
Maybe the names will catch on. Nothing about these cars is usual; everything is quirky. I like it, but I'm not sure if they can be something liveable in terms of shape—aesthetics and maintenance of body panels. We will find out. But they are definitely bold. 6E also reminds me of Indigo.

Talking about the shape, I am not a fan of those wheel arches. First, I thought there was a huge wheel arch gap. It makes those tires look small. Also, is that glossy plastic cladding? It would be a nightmare to keep it scratch-free.

Hoping to see some on road soon.
Old 27th November 2024, 10:11   #229

These are big and heavy cars with powerful motors. Styling is not looking very aerodynamic. The range may be on the lower side of expectations!
A range calculation at 6 km per kilowatt translates to about 354 km for the 59 Kwh battery.
The larger and heavier 79 Kwh battery may translate to a range of 435 km at 5.5 km per kilowatt.
KeepItSimple is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 10:23   #230

Originally Posted by thejaguar View Post
So, I have been waiting for 3.5 months for my allocation of BYD Atto 3 black variant and Mahindra drops this on the day my dealership calls me to share the good news that my car has finally been allocated and will be in the yard in 2 days for PDI.
Byd is a world class EV maker with a lot of experience in the field. That is worth the extra you pay over M&M EVs. Their tech and reliability is superior. Do not cancel Atto 3. Own it and enjoy it to the fullest.

Mahindra EVs are here to stay and will only evolve. Even the EV market will evolve. Future EVs will only get better and cheaper (like smartphones). Your next EV after 6-8 years can be a true blue Indian Mahindra EV.

This is my thought after reading your post. Obviously, you'll know your situation better.
sjain2054 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 10:27   #231

Originally Posted by sri_tesla View Post
This was the comment I made just 4 months back regarding the high pricing and underwhelming EV specs (small batteries, slow charging, etc...) of TATA EVs. Today's release confirms my expectations for 2-3 years. Tata sales are insignificant in 4m+ segments in the ICE market. Now, the same thing will happen in the EV market.

Impact on different companies and segments with this launch:
  • TATA: The most affected company with this launch will be TATA. Nexon and Currv EV sales will be decline very fast from now on. Nexon sales have already been down for the last 1.5 years, now they will be irrelevant. October deliveries will be the highest for Currv EV.
  • MG: Windsor was priced decently but with this launch, many people will cancel and go for BE 6e. If MG had launched 50kWh variant, it would have been priced around 17 to 18 lakhs. The BE 6e has a much bigger battery/range, all the necessary features, better performance, much faster DC and AC charging, RWD, and frunk for 19 lakhs. By the way, this is the same price ZS EV with 50 kWh battery. Both these models will be affected in the near term, especially ZS EV. MG will be forced to reduce Windsor prices over time and bring the ZS EV successor at similar prices as BE 6e. Good thing is they already have these models ready and need to bring them here at competitive prices to survive.
  • Maruti Suzuki: They have to price eVitara with 49kWh at around Rs 15 lakhs and 61kWh at Rs 18 lakhs.
  • Hyundai: Creta EV is expected to have a 45kWh battery. Pricing should be less than Rs 15 lakhs.
  • BYD:They can easily compete with Mahindra, but for that, they need to start manufacturing locally. With current pricing, Atto 3 numbers will decrease drastically.

With this pricing, all the popular ICE mid SUVs like Creta, Seltos, etc... will be affected. BE 6e pack one on-road pricing in states with no road tax for EVs is closer to entry-level automatic variants of Creta and Seltos. For almost the same price, you are getting an RWD EV with a good range and more features. Hopefully, these EVs are reliable.
Hi, most of your observations are correct, however, I have observed that the rear space in BE6e and XEV9e are equivalent to Curvv.ev (or may be 1 or 2 centimeters more than Curvv.ev), but for sure not even comparable to Windsor EV.

In addition, the specified width of 1907mm is likely to be including ORVM and actual body width will be around 1810mm.

The overall side profile of both the EVs is forgettable, if I say bluntly horrible side profile.

The only advantage I see in these two EVs is larger battery size & high found clearance, otherwise BE6e is cramped both front & rear with very low glass area to make is even more claustrophobic than we can actually assume. XEV9e is just about okay from the space point of view for the rear passengers, but overall it is again not spacious for passengers and low glass area and less width would make it equally claustrophobic as BE6e.

Except Tata EV, no one else will have any significant threat from BE6e and XEV9e
Old 27th November 2024, 10:28   #232

Originally Posted by rascalangel View Post
Nah.i feel Mahindra lost the plot on design. Doesn’t work for me. The other specs are good. Especially the RWD decision is awesome. But this baby Urus looks like a toy.
Ok, so here is the Toy Vs. Real car!

Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 lakh-screenshot-20241127-102516.png

volkman10 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 10:29   #233

Probably in a minority here. Not a fan of such kind of busy designs, so did not like the looks at all. Looks bulky, overdesigned and seems to prioritize form and jazz over function from couple of the walkaround and interior videos I saw. Touch based start stop button, having to stoop low to get into the back seat are couple of things that immediately stood out. Waiting for the drive reports to see how it drives. Weird names too.

Last edited by Rajeevraj : 27th November 2024 at 10:30.
Rajeevraj is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 10:29   #234

Great launch by Mahindra. Tata has now lost its first mover advantage with this launch. They are back to square one. Avinya is the only saving grace for Tata. Tata's jugaad EVs won't work in this price bracket anymore. Even Chinese Automakers will feel the tremors. BE Rally Edition might have the AWD setup. These probably will remain RWD only. I believe the top end BE 6e will be priced at around ₹25L and 9e at ₹28L (both ex-sh). I hope in future it gets 2nd Generation BYD Battery pack (which is expected in 2nd half of 2025) atleast as an option.

Last edited by Rahulk302 : 27th November 2024 at 10:35.
Old 27th November 2024, 10:33   #235

Bold move by Mahindra.

Designs too polarising/flashy IMHO.

May not work for everyone. Too many flashy bits and piano black panels that are easily prone for early wear and tear. Interior design seems like a video game console panel and is technically prone to glitches and malfunction.

You can always pack cheap Chinese components in a mobile phone and label it as an expensive brand but there's always that "reliability" factor that needs to work.

I'm sorry to say that I'm not a huge fan of driving a "concept" car on the road , let alone it being a Mahindra brand.

Only time will tell, if this is gonna shake up the market or not.

Last edited by pradheepsr : 27th November 2024 at 10:47.
pradheepsr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 10:53   #236

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Ok, so here is the Toy Vs. Real car!
I didn't mean in terms of size but in terms of design. It too childish/busy/funky:
Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 lakh-untitled.png

Last edited by manson : 29th November 2024 at 07:35.
rascalangel is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 10:54   #237

The 9E DRLs look like the handlebar moustaches that was a trend in the yesteryears. They're becoming too common and too gaudy to look at.
Old 27th November 2024, 10:56   #238

As of now, design wise both look great, how they will age time will tell. Functionality wise they are overcomplicated with lot of electronics which I personally will be afraid off. As of now, looking at the EV charging infrastructure, I will put my money on hybrids.

This is where I feel Maruti does a great job with their vehicles by keeping them simple and uncomplicated which, in turn, results in great reliable machines for long haul.
Old 27th November 2024, 10:58   #239

With the launch of BEV 06 and 09, what happens to XUV 400 (or 3X0 EV)? Will it continue to be sold or canned when the stocks run out?
amtak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 11:02   #240

Wow, the more I see the tube light DRLs on front and back, and the more I see cars with 20 inch monitors throughout the dashboard, and the more I see disco lights all across the car, the more I love conventional car designs. Mahindra has taken the Chinese awkwardness in design to another level. The same motor and battery on a clean design without much gimmicks would have looked and worked great; but I guess I am a minority now in Indian car scene.
sreerknair is online now   (19) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com