Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 25th April 2024, 11:23   #31

Re: BYD Seal Review

Originally Posted by redohabitat View Post
One look at the photo of the unfortunate fellow sitting on the back seat spoilt the car and it's reputation for me. Please ask this same gentleman to sit in the back seat of the Camry or Superb (which are priced even lower) to have a reality check as to what a fantastic seat should feel like, after all, most of the people paying this kind of money employ a chauffeur.

I don't understand, there is so much leg space at the rear, then why is the seat designed so poorly!

Where shall I use the 500+ HP on Indian roads

The ground clearance is the lowest in the segment. Is this vehicle designed to be driven on "test drive" track only? Why are the real world conditions being ignored, or wait, perhaps this vehicle was never designed for our country

Not to forget un-openable sun roof, no physical controls, and negligible dealer network. Perhaps it is only me, yet I fail to see a single reason to buy this car. I may as well get two cars in this much money, a xuv 400 for the high running / mileage, and EV acceleration, and also buy a Scorpio N / Crysta / Hycross for hauling the whole family. Where is the value for money that fellow members are claiming? Please enlighten me.
Comparing a fast sports electric sedan purchase to Point AB cars hmmm, i mean why stop at xuv 400 + scorpio, why not 10 altos one for each one of the family + neighbors? or a sedan for yourself + many autos that would run and make you money as well or not buy at all and get 8% interest that is invested in an index fund + stocks over 10 years. See where this is going and why that makes no sense? For you, maybe, but subjective opinions, specific to ones usecase and lifestyle wont have consensus, hence the many segments and many takers for various cars and this one in particular is one of the best-selling and highly acclaimed EVs globally, maybe just not for everyone, but has takers, proven by the market.

But since you asked, I would encourage you to test drive a car that has 300-500BHP, luxurious interiors, and drives like the Seal drives (the ride, handling, NVH levels), and then go drive the aforementioned cars in your respone. After a certain point of driving people movers, the heart tends to desire something more, something special that would put a smile on your face, which is why everyone here loves the m340i, its not about practicality or running costs, but for what it offers, its considered a VFM car as well, 90 lakhs for a low slung, fuel-guzzling bimmer, but for you to know why, you'll have to naturally get acquired to the taste of quality automobiles, this happens over time, or maynot happen if you stay clear and level headed, all it takes is one test drive or a long weekend with a machine that would make you keep looking back when you have parked her or the silly grin like a 10-year-old and his long-desired toy when you are driving it. The BYD seal offers all of that for 55 lakhs, to get what it offers, you'd have to spend 90+ lakhs (the m340i at least or higher). Again, words wont change your mind, but driving the car might, go give it a spin.

Last edited by autohead115 : 25th April 2024 at 11:37.
autohead115 is offline   (22) Thanks
Old 25th April 2024, 11:30   #32

So I had the pleasure of doing a test drive of the car this morning. The area I live in gave me a chance to blast the car till 120 kph, drive it over a 2 km stretch littered with potholes of all shapes and sizes, and take it through a few uphill and downhill twisties. My verdict after the drive is that the car is outstanding! The number of second looks and curious glances I received was interesting in itself. I guess the novelty factor counts. Comfort levels in the front seats is excellent and the suspension and handling is really well sorted. Acceleration was amazing and I simply can't fathom how BYD is able to offer all this at this price. This car makes cars like the A-class and 2-series feel like overpriced toys. The only downside is that the charger works at 7 kW only. It doesn't have any adaptive functionality to adjust the charging load. I believe some other brands offer this option in their charging systems (please correct me if I am wrong). The boot was alright but with no spare tyre, I don't think I would drive this car too far into the wilderness. I was most pleasantly surprised by how the Seal fared on broken roads. I bottomed out exactly once. For anyone on the fence, just drive the car.
Pyrotek is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 25th April 2024, 11:33   #33

Anyone has a recent update on the delivery times? I understand first batch of deliveries has already started. What about the next lot? Also, how has been the overall showroom experience in BYD?

Originally Posted by Pyrotek View Post
For anyone on the fence, just drive the car.
Did you drive the AWD or the RWD version?

Last edited by Pancham : 25th April 2024 at 11:40.
Old 25th April 2024, 11:40   #34

Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Did you drive the AWD or the RWD version?
I drove the RWD version with 300 bhp. I am sure the AWD must be a ballistic missile but this itself felt more than sufficient.
Pyrotek is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th April 2024, 13:08   #35

Originally Posted by SR-71 View Post
Curious, just how good is this complete glass sunroof from a safety perspective. Will the glass shatter when the car turns turtle compared to a rigid steel structure? How dangerous can that be for the occupants? Is it less or more expensive to have an all glass roof. The review says it let in about 16% solar transmission. How bad is it for really hot places in our country during the summer?
Even driven a car without a windscreen? It feels totally flimsy and shudders. the glass panel is part of the structure. Instead of sheet metal, the panel is replaced by a sheet of thick glass, laminated that too. It will take a severe accident for that to pop out as it is bonded. It is more expensive though.

It was warm inside but once the AC cooled the interiors, it was fine. Being electric, there might be ways to pre-cool the car.
ajmat is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 25th April 2024, 14:20   #36

Man do I love the way this vehicle looks (and performs- as per opinion of the team-bhp members). It really does seem like a complete package. The fantastic marriage of performance and value sets a new benchmark.

I have always had a soft corner for a swooping sedan (which I believe is the best body style for an automobile no questions asked) and the way the Seal looks and its perfect stance are truly a visual treat. Working on converting my family to be EV adopters so can evaluate this from a purchase standpoint.
docprashant is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th April 2024, 18:52   #37

Have the deliveries started ? I think it’s too early for car deliveries to begin but have already seen 2 Seal’s parked in private garages in Gurgaon.
Old 25th April 2024, 20:36   #38

Originally Posted by speedfreak01 View Post
Have the deliveries started ? I think it’s too early for car deliveries to begin but have already seen 2 Seal’s parked in private garages in Gurgaon.
Apparently yes. One of my colleagues said he has seen a Seal in his society’s charging area. He himself has an Atto 3.
Old 26th April 2024, 01:09   #39

Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Apparently yes. One of my colleagues said he has seen a Seal in his society’s charging area. He himself has an Atto 3.
Spotted 1 more yesterday late night. Its raining seal’s in gurgaon literally. Have seen 3 in the last 2 days alone. I think BYD is off to a good start this time.
BYD Seal Review-d6466d89b7e749488ae287859fb42e61.jpeg  

BYD Seal Review-eb59f2b1431f45fe86127bf7ba1b2c0f.jpeg  

speedfreak01 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 10:37   #40

Spotted 1 more yesterday late night. Its raining seal’s in gurgaon literally. Have seen 3 in the last 2 days alone. I think BYD is off to a good start this time.
That's maybe because the media drive was happening over the past week. The cars were based around Sector 29
Old 26th April 2024, 13:58   #41

It seems like all of the 80 cars in the first batch have been delivered. All of them are the Premium variant. Dynamic and Performance are yet to arrive.

Three people in my MG ZS EV owners’ WhatsApp group have already taken delivery of their BYD Seals.
Old 26th April 2024, 15:50   #42

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
That's maybe because the media drive was happening over the past week. The cars were based around Sector 29
Maybe, but have seen cars parked inside houses also. So definitely they were private vehicles
Old 27th April 2024, 14:34   #43

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
That’s where the BYD showroom is right next to the Audi Gurgram showroom (Owned by the same group). Must say that complex also has an amazing brewery for anyone visiting that side.
beemer5499 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th April 2024, 20:36   #44

I want to add my 2 bit into it. My daily drive is a City 5th gen so kindly take it as a reference point.
1. In terms of ride quality, it is stiff, period. Only the expressway can soothe you because even the reflectors of the roads can be felt prominently.
2. The rotating touch screen is a gimmick and I didn't find any novelty in it. It is so heavily dependent on the ICE that changing the temperature of AC is a three step process, even the air flow adjust is a long process.
3. The rear seat under thigh support is less than Honda City doesn't matter how you seat.
4. The glass roof does heat the cabin no matter what BYD claim.
5. Ground clearance is issue for comparison it is as bad as a City with 5 people inside it. You have to be careful.
6. Even with a brief drive in the performance model, I am quite sure that it will run doughnut around a BMW 340i but don't get your hope high because BYD has a top speed of less than 200Kmph which IS enough for Indian highway though.
This is my view on a the BYD seal after a smallish drive.
IC_Morningstar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st May 2024, 23:22   #45

Are bookings still open? I thought that it was sold out essentially until a new batch arrives.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com