Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 7th February 2024, 22:23   #1

Scoop! BMW i5 M60 with 601 BHP to be launched in India in Feb-Mar 2024

A little birdy at BMW India has informed me that they are gearing up for the i5 launch either late Feb or March. We are more likely to get the edrive 40 variants and if sources are to be believed internal training is set to start later this month.

BMW i5 M60 xDrive bookings open in India-img_6068.jpeg

Last edited by Turbanator : 9th February 2024 at 08:59. Reason: Picture in line
AdiSinghV12 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 8th February 2024, 11:36   #2

re: Scoop! BMW i5 M60 with 601 BHP to be launched in India in Feb-Mar 2024

I really hope they price this well! I have been mulling a luxury EV for a while. With quite a few barely used '23 iX in the market currently under 1cr it would be tough to justify paying over 1cr for this.
Old 9th February 2024, 00:29   #3

This is great news. It will bridge a gaping hole in their current product portfolio. With the 5 series, a key pillar of their product portfolio, going missing from the market for months now, Mercedes is making hay with their E class LWB sales.

I guess this would be the standard wheelbase car? As LWB is not launched anywhere in the world yet. The i4 edrive 40 retails around 75 lakhs ex-showroom today in India, so I would expect this car to be priced around 90-95 lakhs.

Still, I wish we would get the i5 M60 here with its 590 HP and 800 NM going from 0-100 in just 3.7 seconds! In the US the M60 costs 30% more than the eDrive 40, so it should be possible to launch this rocket at about Rs. 1.2 crores if BMW really wanted to make a statement in this executive sedan segment - the perfect segment for electrification.

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 9th February 2024 at 00:37.
84.monsoon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2024, 09:07   #4

Originally Posted by AdiSinghV12 View Post
A little birdy at BMW India has informed me that they are gearing up for the i5 launch either late Feb or March.
Sorry to disappoint or rather excite you, but we are getting an i5 M60

A known has configured one and is also in the process of paying the advance. It's a reasonably well-loaded standard, including Bowers upgraded system, and there are some extra options like upgraded leather (Veganza is standard for launch).

601 Bhp/ 795 Torque - AWD, 0-100- 3,8 with 81,2 kW Battery and 22 kW Charger. WLTP - 455- 516 Km.

Expected prices 1,30-1,40 Cr.

Last edited by Turbanator : 9th February 2024 at 09:09.
Turbanator is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 9th February 2024, 10:15   #5

A known has configured one and is also in the process of paying the advance. It's a reasonably well-loaded standard, including Bowers upgraded system, and there are some extra options like upgraded leather (Veganza is standard for launch).

601 Bhp/ 795 Torque - AWD, 0-100- 3,8 with 81,2 kW Battery and 22 kW Charger. WLTP - 455- 516 Km.

That’s some real good news rather, I was confirmed about the i5’s launch and bookings being about to open but it was expected to be e40 but when has anybody compared for sweeter variants
Old 11th February 2024, 21:46   #6

This is sweet! The pricing does seem over the top for an EV, but if you consider it as a successor to the M5, it is not so bad.
Old 15th February 2024, 21:49   #7

Re: Scoop! BMW i5 M60 with 601 BHP to be launched in India in Feb-Mar 2024

BYD Seal is really going to spoil this BMW party. I know the brands themselves are not comparable, however, the cars themselves has specifications that are so evenly matched that comparison is inevitable.

The Seal will probably be priced around 35% of the i5 M60 (around 50 lakhs) and delivers the same 3.8 second 0-100 time. It has just as much battery capacity as well and even higher range.

Here is a table with a comparison of vital stats:

84.monsoon is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 16th February 2024, 08:59   #8

Pricing seems very competitive at ₹1.3 cr (can’t believe I am saying that) - should get good volumes.

The key challenge will be the low ground clearance of the i5. Would be great if they launched the iX with a 50 or 60 power train. But for those who still love sedans, this will be a fantastic buy.

Hope the government retains the low GST on EVs for a few more years - would seriously consider a BMW EV when time comes to replace the X3 (likely 2026)
Hayek is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 16th February 2024, 09:41   #9

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
BYD Seal is really going to spoil this BMW party. I know the brands themselves are not comparable, however, the cars themselves has specifications that are so evenly matched that comparison is inevitable.

The
I agree. In fact I was watching a nice review on the humble cute little MG4 in the UK or AU last evening. And the presenter said that in EV’s the whole power/ torque and range thing becomes the great leveller, especially with the onslaught of the first class Chinese products like BYD and MG and all and the amazing leaps in Battery Tech.

For example a humble MG4 gives the same range or more as a Tesla Model 3. And I am given to understand that they’ve even future proofed the product by making the architecture such that it can be easily adapted to the ‘swap-cell’ concept and all that.

Truly the Chinese are making huge strides in this space and I honestly think no other country can hope to keep up with them.

So after a point, in the world of EV’s, the only real differentiators will become the gizmos inside and the quality of esoteric materials used in the interiors and to whatever extent, the ‘brand’ value.

Already the BYD Atto offers Karaoke and Youtube and Apple Music and Prime video and an app store and all that inside the car.

At this rate, one will be hard pressed to decide whether to even bother to drive anywhere - instead, one may choose to remain in one’s parking lot, fiddling on the internet and enjoying the multi-media overload!

As you said BYD Seal is going to shake up the market massively. Whether BMW or Mercedes or Tesla or anyone else, there will be a certain ‘cannibalisation’ taking place, purely on the strength and merit of the BYD Seal Product.

For now it might be a bit analogous to going to a store or online and choosing between a branded white work shirt or one from the myriad private labels that abound. But pretty soon, the BYD Brand will become a force to reckon with for sure.

A direct example of the analogy could be the big ‘established’ brands like Nike and Adidas and all in the world of performance sports shoes and gear, and then suddenly there were these new challengers - Under Armour and Hoka and LuluLemon and all.

And honestly these brands have actually become even more aspirational than Nike and Adidas and all!

Examples like these abound and anything is possible. It is all down to the Product, the desirabililty cues, the aspirational value and the ability to ride the wave of consumer sentiment.

This is in a way like the Renaissance of the Industrial Revolution, creating another step change in human history.
shankar.balan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th February 2024, 11:25   #10

The Seal will probably be priced around 35% of the i5 M60 (around 50 lakhs) and delivers the same 3.8 second 0-100 time. It has just as much battery capacity as well and even higher range.
A well-priced performance EV will be welcome. That said, do you think the 3.8 second 0-100 time will be on a standard version of the vehicle and not some performance version (like Tesla LR/Plaid etc)
Old 17th February 2024, 13:38   #11

Here is a table with a comparison of vital stats:
I have my reservations about this. The Seal is a CBU, and even assuming the less tax (70% below $40k) they’d have to price this below 30 lakhs to come out with ~54 lakhs ex-showroom.

Calculation:

30 lakhs + 70% import duty + 5% GST = 53.5 lakhs ex showroom.

I don’t think BYD can price it below 30 lakhs. India doesn’t have the volumes. Also government isn’t going to let BYD assemble things locally to save tax, else Tata and Mahindra EVs are finished.
darkgamer is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 17th February 2024, 19:02   #12

Can't wait to see an i5 take on the Seal. I am always in my heart going to be a Bavarian boy, but the BYD Seal is a world-class vehicle. Period.
shiv11bhargava is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2024, 12:16   #13

Got some info from my dealer. We are indeed getting the M60 with the full 601 HP and 795 NM. WLTP range between 455 to 516 KM. Only 1 trim to be offered now, the i5M60 xDrive. Pricing will be around Rs. 1.5 Cr.

The car will come with iconic sounds to mimic the M5, 4-zone climate control, Bowers & Wilkins sound system (instead of Harman Kardon), 22KW AC charging etc. as standard. Wheels are 20 inch (Why do you keep upsizing the wheels, BMW - we have too many torn tire stories in India now!)

As a first based on recent launches from BMW, the car will be configurable to order, with a number of options to be available based on price list. For example, Sport Seats available at no charge, with comfort seats and Leather upholstery available for a charge. Most importantly, adaptive suspension is standard and BMW will offer the adaptive M suspension as an pricey upgrade. Ventilated seats also to be an option only. Some special colour options to also be offered at a price.

No word yet about any other 5 series variants - such as the 520D.
Old 4th April 2024, 13:39   #14

BMW i5 M60 xDrive bookings open in India

BMW has announced the pre-launch bookings of the first-ever BMW i5 M60 xDrive in India. The electric sedan will be imported via the CBU route.

BMW i5 M60 xDrive bookings open in India-01-firstever-bmw-i5-m60-xdrive.jpg

The BMW i5 M60 xDrive is based on the eighth generation of the 5 Series. On the outside, the EV features a wider, blanked-out kidney grille with angular headlamps on either side and twin boomerang-shaped LED DRLs. The M60 xDrive version gets a slightly sportier body kit.

BMW i5 M60 xDrive bookings open in India-02-firstever-bmw-i5-m60-xdrive.jpg

Inside, the BMW i5 features a free-standing dual display, integrating a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.9-inch touchscreen infotainment screen.

Powering the i5 M60 xDrive are two electric motors that generate 593 BHP and a peak torque of 820 Nm, allowing the car to accelerate from 0-100 km/h in 3.8 seconds. The car can cover 516 km on a single charge (WLTP cycle).

Link to Team-BHP News

Last edited by TusharK : 4th April 2024 at 13:41.
TusharK is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 25th April 2024, 13:39   #15

Re: BMW i5 M60 xDrive bookings open in India

BMW i5 M60 xDrive electric sedan launched at Rs 1.20 crore

The first-ever BMW i5 electric sedan has been launched in India. It is available in the top-spec 'M60 xDrive' variant and is priced at Rs 1,19,50,000 (ex-showroom).

BMW i5 M60 xDrive bookings open in India-01-firstever-bmw-i5-m60-xdrive.jpg

The BMW i5 M60 xDrive is based on the eighth generation of the 5 Series. On the outside, the EV features a wider blanked-out kidney grille which has an illuminated ring around it. The car gets adaptive LED headlamps with twin boomerang-shaped LED DRLs, a sporty body kit with M-specific design elements, 20-inch M light alloy wheels with red brake calipers and an M rear spoiler.

BMW i5 M60 xDrive bookings open in India-02-firstever-bmw-i5-m60-xdrive.jpg

Inside, the BMW i5 features a free-standing dual display, integrating a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.9-inch touchscreen infotainment screen. Other features include a panoramic sunroof, a Bowers & Wilkins audio system and an M leather steering wheel.

BMW i5 M60 xDrive bookings open in India-04-firstever-bmw-i5-m60-xdrive.jpg

The Sport seats get active seat ventilation and are wrapped in Veganza and Alcantara upholstery and carbon fibre interior trim.

Powering the BMW i5 M60 xDrive are two electric motors that generate 593 BHP and a peak torque of 795 Nm, allowing the car to accelerate from 0-100 km/h in 3.8 seconds. The car uses an 83.9 kWh battery with a range of 516 km on a single charge (WLTP cycle).

BMW i5 M60 xDrive bookings open in India-03-firstever-bmw-i5-m60-xdrive.jpg

The i5 M60 xDrive is equipped with ADAS, offering features like cruise control, Attentiveness Assistant, Parking Assist Professional with remote parking via smartphone and Reversing Assistant. The optional Drive Assist Professional adds features like Distance Control with Stop & Go function, Steering and Lane Control Assistant. Adaptive Suspension is offered as standard, while Adaptive M Suspension Professional with Active Roll Stabilization is an option.

Link to Team-BHP News
TusharK is online now   (7) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com