Old 6th March 2024, 10:35   #61

Re: Byd Seal launched at 41 lacs

Originally Posted by vattyboy View Post
Byd launched the seal at Rs 41 lacs, this is good pricing for the base variant.

The top end-performance model with 530 bhp and 670 nm torque is priced at 53 lakhs is INSANE! 0-100 in 3.8 secs.
This is India's first look into democratization of performance because of EVs.

This is just the beginning. My view is that by 2026-27, we will see 0-100 in 3.8secs at a price point of 25 lacs or so.

Great times lie ahead of us.
sjain2054 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 10:37   #62

re: BYD Seal electric sedan launched at Rs. 41 lakhs

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
A car is more than just the price - reliability, A.S.S., availability of spares, dealership network and so much more. And BYD has to start manufacturing in India very soon which it may or may not be allowed to.
I agree with sir here because a simple bumper change takes a long time.. One of my cousins BYD E6 met with a small accident from the front passenger side. It took them 45 days to arrange for spare parts. Apart from the pricing, ASS matters a lot. Had Skoda been more attentive to this, I am sure they would have been in a much better place.

With respect to pricing though, this car alone puts most of the cars in the bracket of 30-50 Lakhs to shame.
adityaNview is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 10:51   #63

With this now I want atto3 prices to be reduced to around 25 lakhs. It's really a great car buy given its coming in India via SKD route, BYD seem to be having a large margin here.
Old 6th March 2024, 11:30   #64

Re: BYD Seal electric sedan launched at 41 lakhs

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
Closer look at the BYD Seal.
Lovely car, good performance and good pricing but I just cannot understand why the infotainment system ui looks like a cheap android tablet. It does not look classy at all.

Last edited by Axe77 : 13th March 2024 at 19:20. Reason: Trimming quoted post.
yuvmudapa is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 11:33   #65

Originally Posted by adityaNview View Post
I agree with sir here because a simple bumper change takes a long time.. One of my cousins BYD E6 met with a small accident from the front passenger side. It took them 45 days to arrange for spare parts. Apart from the pricing, ASS matters a lot. Had Skoda been more attentive to this, I am sure they would have been in a much better place.

With respect to pricing though, this car alone puts most of the cars in the bracket of 30-50 Lakhs to shame.
This is the scene with all cars that are/have been slow sellers or have been discontinued. It is normal for my Hexa to be in the shop for weeks wherever things like light-bumper replacements have been required. At times, parts are outright unavailable. Full stop. My Compass is currently in the shop for injector and fuel pump replacement under warranty. It has been there since 30 January, 35 days and counting. Things take time. All this may sound weird to Maruti-Honda owners, but is an accepted fact of life for many of us. When you buy a rare car, anything more than basic service is always going to take time.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 12:04   #66

The incentive given for the lower brand recall and reputation (India specifically) is the high, really high specs and performance; which forms the package on offer. Throwing everything at the market to create an impact definitely gets a thumbs up from me (even as not a potential customer)

Might be unpopular a comment, but does the highest performance in the lowest price alone make a 50L purchase an aspirational plunge?

Last edited by vb-saan : 6th March 2024 at 14:22. Reason: As requested
GeeTee TSI is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 12:09   #67

BYD India aims to dominate ₹ 30-lakh EV category.

- BYD is getting its Atto 3 e-SUV homologated to unlock further sales potential from the limited 2,500 units-per-year allocation for non-homologated cars imported into India.

- The EV OEM plans to open new outlets in regions like the Northeast.

- Plans to enhance its market coverage from the existing 65 percent to over 90 percent in the coming years.

- South is the biggest EV market in India, followed by the North and West, which are almost equal.

- BYD India witnesses around 60-70 percent of its sales through retail financing, while 25 percent of its overall volumes come from referrals.

SVP, Electric Passenger Vehicle Business, BYD India:

We do have affordable models in the global portfolio and as the Indian EV market matures, we can consider them for India. We feel once the EV market reaches about 5-7 percent penetration, the volumes will shoot aggressively. We are in a long-term play, and we will go as per the market dynamics.
There are strong projections about India being a significant EV market by 2030, and India must be a long-term strategic market to enable BYD to rank among the top EV makers globally
We are here for the long-term, and will bring more models. Even our existing dealers are players who have invested into the EV game from a long-term perspective

Link:

Last edited by volkman10 : 6th March 2024 at 12:10.
volkman10 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 12:42   #68

BYD Seal in cosmos black color - Link

BYD Seal electric sedan launched at Rs. 41 lakhs-20240306_123655.jpg

BYD Seal electric sedan launched at Rs. 41 lakhs-20240306_123703.jpg

Blade battery displayed at the Seal launch event.

BYD Seal electric sedan launched at Rs. 41 lakhs-fb_img_1709707858438.jpg

BYD Seal electric sedan launched at Rs. 41 lakhs-fb_img_1709707860631.jpg

BYD Seal electric sedan launched at Rs. 41 lakhs-fb_img_1709707862760.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 6th March 2024 at 12:44.
Venkatesh is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 12:46   #69

In terms of looks, it looks decent in a "Tesla meet Taycan" sort of (disturbing) way.
The interiors are a hit or miss. A miss for me as i am not at all a fan of oversized tablets and no physical buttons for essential tasks (incidentally Euro NCAAP may mandate these soon). The rear seats do no have a lot of under thigh support. Lots of cheap plastics all around. One cannot put their feet under the passenger seats. Head room is a taid bit of an issue (that a common issue across all coupe'esq styles). The dash screen shows energy in KWH which is totally useless, it does not show range even when charging. Apple car play/ Android auto only works in landscape mode on the center screen. Just a few observations to start with.

And the biggest problem- BYD is chinese company. We all know what happens to chinese companies in India. They could be one more border skirmish away from a physical or financial lockout.

Would I then spend 55 big ones? Hmm......
@PetrolheadASH is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 12:47   #70

If they make this in India, it'll be ~25L on-road making all existing cars laughable. Highlights how Indian car users are being fleeced.
I am sure Maruti and Mahindra are running to the govt asking for GST and road tax to be on-par with diesel!
gnome is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 12:54   #71

Isnt Volvo 79% owned by Geeley ? How much of a big difference is that from BYD ?
I think BYD will scale its sales and service if customers warm up to their cars.

They are not snobby like the Euro companies and I think they will have everything in place much quicker as per the needs much better than Volvo. Only issue is with govt not allowing things to happen.
PreludeSH is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 13:32   #72

I hope and pray this car will be a resounding success. This will sound the death knell for those big 3 Germans who have overpriced their German dinosaur IC engine technology and charge maybe double or triple of BYD's asking price. Any features you can possibly imagine is included, performance is supercar league, safety of 10 airbags and ADAS.

Heck! At this price it even makes the MG ES and Nexon / xuv400 , even at half the asking price look overpriced. I wish I had the money to buy this wonder!
Nanolover is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 13:41   #73

BYD SEAL Performance 3.8s AWD test drive review by SVP
TorqueIndia is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 14:12   #74

I wonder if the government had provided a "capped" production option to BYD. Would have looked forward to them bringing the Dolphin and scaring the daylights out of Tata and Mahindra.
avishar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th March 2024, 14:35   #75

Pricing looks pretty aggressive and undercuts cars such as Ioniq5. In factthis price will make even atto3 feel overpriced. I

While having the test drive of atto3, I rejected it because I felt it fell in the Creta/seltos category yet was priced more like a Tucson. I was then told by BYD dealership that they will have a premium sporty sedan launching in few months but it will not be cheap(quoted 60 lakhs)

Now I feel I was right with respect to atto3 and hopefully some correction in the form of more localisation to price it around 25 lakhs.