Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 23rd January 2024, 16:16   #16

Re: Faults in my brand-new Tata Nexon EV Facelift

Originally Posted by ALTIMAed View Post
Picked up my MG Comet on 11th November 2023 - done 5298 absolutely trouble free kms till writing this mail. Happy with my purchase. Its my primary car, doing a minimum 80 kms per day.
Hmm I think you are the exception. Most folks here have it as their second car.

I am planning on only one car for both city and highway usage. Thus I think comet is out.

Great car for city usage though.
Old 23rd January 2024, 16:29   #17

Originally Posted by jotwani View Post

Final Words: I like-d the car. In fact I loved it when and before I bought it. But after all these daily issues, I majorly regret buying a TATA. Despite being an erstwhile Tata motors fan and supporter of ‘Made in India’, I now have put off on buying Tata again and have asked a few colleagues to hold their Tata Motors purchase (who didn’t need a lot of convincing after my experience). For a 2-week old owner of a car, having paid 17+ lacs, this is sheer torture. I hope someone at Tata Motors is listening and not just watching their growing stock prices. Swearing off all things Tata till then.
I feel really bad for you, I can't imagine the mental torture one would face if the new car is giving them these many issues. With that being said, as someone had called it out, please be mentally prepared to visit the service station often till you sell this car because a TATA car with niggles isn't something that is a surprise nowadays and becoming a norm. A huge number of QC lapses has been discussed in Team-BHP; unfortunately, they are not taking it seriously. Their focus is only on launching new cars every 3 months.

More importantly, with due respect, I feel you had taken a huge risk in going for the TATA brand. Sometimes the risk we take pays off and many a time it backfires. I feel we as customers should slowly stop getting these half-baked products, only then manufactures will take things seriously. I am in the market for a 7 seater, at one point in time even I contemplated about getting a car from the TATA brand but with this mentality, I decided against TATA and booked a car from another brand.

Even I wanted to support an Indian brand, but can't do much with "Made in India" pride if the car is sitting idle in service station.
vvivek85 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 18:47   #18

Stats[list]

Final Words: I like-d the car. In fact I loved it when and before I bought it. But after all these daily issues, I majorly regret buying a TATA. Despite being an erstwhile Tata motors fan and supporter of ‘Made in India’, I now have put off on buying Tata again and have asked a few colleagues to hold their Tata Motors purchase (who didn’t need a lot of convincing after my experience). For a 2-week old owner of a car, having paid 17+ lacs, this is sheer torture. I hope someone at Tata Motors is listening and not just watching their growing stock prices. Swearing off all things Tata till then.
That's a painful ownership experience and certainly one doesn't deserve it having spent close to 2 big ones! I feel sorry for you and your decision. We customers buy cars for our conveniences., but, if the very thing bought if it can lead to inconvenience then it is beyond frustration!

I know EVs are still in nascent stage, but, I am curious to understand, whether such issues are seen with other OEMs as well? MG ZS for example? Can any owner of ZS can provide their ownership experience? so we can know if this is a EV issue or OEM issue or both
Old 23rd January 2024, 19:52   #19

Thanks everyone for sharing helpful tips and advice. Truly appreciate the support I am getting and hopefully, others will benefit from my experience and find solutions to their issues too.

I wanted to share one other critical issue with you all, which is possibly the most dangerous - Sudden Acceleration.

Driving on Regen 3, I have seen many times the car when de-accelerating in regen mode, it suddenly takes a burst of acceleration for a very small distance. I instantly have to brake to control it. I do not know if this is a bug or the way a Regen 3 works, i.e. on slowing down before moving to crawl, it will do this burst of acceleration. I have found this to be very dangerous at times and have to always keep in mind that this can happen. I am yet to establish a more specific cause and pattern for it. Will update here once I do. Has anyone else faced the same yet?

Curious as an EV owner, how is slow charging a hassle?

The slow charger from TM must be installed in your parking and it's a matter of connecting it after driving when required ( at night preferably).
Yes, the charging point is installed in my parking which sits on the main road which is why I can't leave it hanging and must unpack-connect and then disconnect-pack the charger always, which is a good ~15 min activity. Ideal would have been if I just had to park and plug in the gun in the car and not bother about storing & connecting the charger every time. Also, the real worry is doing this in rain - too much to worry about, getting drenched, getting electrocuted. Doing this in freezing Delhi cold is troublesome enough.

2. Battery sudden drop: The Tata recommends charging to 100% every time you charge the car to maintain cell balancing. Battery drop has nothing to do with charging to 100%
I have got mixed views on this. My car salesman categorically told me to keep the battery between 10-90% and preferably between 20-80%. A few online forums and experts also suggest the same. So I am not sure what's the best practice here.
Would be great if anyone has a conclusive answer and supporting logic for this.

There is a new version of 12.70 firmware which has come out last week – I am yet to visit the service center to update it but planning to do it this week.
Thanks, this is very useful, I didn't know there is a new update out (How do we even find out?) Will surely get it done asap. Although I really feel for all the tech in the car, an option for OTA updates is a major miss.

Airbag warning light on the instrument cluster
Now that you mention it, I have the same light on too. I just assumed and haven't checked if its actually turn off or just a light issue.

Suggest posting this thread and your experience on Twitter and tag tata
I did, unfortunately can't post the link here. But thankfully, and thanks to this forum I did get a call from the Company and car is getting picked tomorrow for all issue resolution. Fingers crossed!

One way to reduce hassle is to buy a second charger.
Planning precisely this. Any suggestions on which and where from?
jotwani is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 22:04   #20

I have got mixed views on this. My car salesman categorically told me to keep the battery between 10-90% and preferably between 20-80%. A few online forums and experts also suggest the same. So I am not sure what's the best practice here.
Would be great if anyone has a conclusive answer and supporting logic for this.
The logic is simple -

1. Non Technical answer - The manual of the car asks you to do so.

Faults in my brand-new Tata Nexon EV Facelift-screenshot-20240123-220054.png

Link to manual

2. Technical answer - LFP battery has a very small charge/discharge voltage curve - 2.5V to 3.4V and between 20% to 80% the voltage is between 3.2 to 3.3V. The BMS is incapable to identify the battery SOC checking the battery voltage. So going to 100% every time helps the BMS to do SOC calculation. Also the BMS is designed to perform cell balancing > 90% to make sure all cell packs are at equal voltage.

To summarize, it is advised for LFP battery used by Tata and MG to charge it to 100% every time.
ferrarirules is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 24th January 2024, 13:58   #21

Originally Posted by Saanil View Post
Can you please post the picture of the Door Sensor which you used to touch to shut down the one hour mode on the infotainment system?
Here you go.

Faults in my brand-new Tata Nexon EV Facelift-door-sensor.jpg

Originally Posted by ferrarirules View Post

To summarize, it is advised for LFP battery used by Tata and MG to charge it to 100% every time.
Thanks, this is very helpful.
jotwani is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th February 2024, 13:39   #22

So much from India's No.1 EV manufacturer.

I always believed that not to rush for newly launched models from Tata. Especially with complex technologies.

17+ Lakhs is not less money. They can't simply solve the issues with ICE cars and we're looking at 100% EV conversion in the next couple of decades the major player being Tata. God only will save the consumers.

Not bashing particularly the manufacturers but both of the manufacturers need to relearn the basics of consumer. This is not the customer who is buying a 4 ~ 5L rupee on-road car and the consumer is not the same as 2010 and earlier who didn't know cars.
N4Nikunj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2024, 13:55   #23

Been using the new Nexon LR for a week now. Pretty pretty impressed. However that random warning sounds you spoke of is evident here too in the media unit. That said, haven't faced any other issue in the past 1500km of driving. No range drop too, including when parked overnight at Theog in sub zero temperatures. Loved the snow drive and eco mode came handy when driving on snow / ice.
As a product this is fab. So is the XUV400 with new pricing. Competition leads to customer getting better value ;-)
Faults in my brand-new Tata Nexon EV Facelift-pxl_20240222_045240408.mp.jpg  

Faults in my brand-new Tata Nexon EV Facelift-pxl_20240222_045139281.mp.jpg  

BunnyPunia is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 27th February 2024, 14:13   #24

Planning precisely this. Any suggestions on which and where from?
My choice has been the Zevpoint 7.2 KW charger. Technically it only needs a 20 Amp Dual pole MCB for a switch, a well earthed circuit and 3 core input wires at least 4 sq mm each (6sqmm each if the distance from the meter is more than 20 ft)

Pros:
It can be password protected using a small LED screen on the charger to prevent misuse
The current can be altered to suit your car’s energy requirement.
You can choose a delay start if you would like to time your charge for lower electricity rates or allow the battery to cool.
You can also choose the duration of charging.
The display will show the Units consumed per charge cycle and the cumulative value over time.
It is IP67 rated so it can be installed in the open.
And also has a 20 ft cable attached to the gun.
A simple three phase connection(albeit with good wiring) is enough to install the charger.

Cons:
You will have to enter the Password to initiate charging
The password setting may have to be set to “off” before charging otherwise it will not reinitiate charging after an outage. In effect you will have to enter the password twice before charging (one to open the settings and once more to access the password settings to switch it off). Then, enter the password again after charging to set it back to “on” to prevent someone else from using it.

It is available on Amazon and on the Zevpoint website. They offer fantastic customer support. Ive used it for my Citroen eC3 for the last 4 months and it has been fantastic. Ive never had to unpack my portable charger.

IP67 rated box, can be installed anywhere
Faults in my brand-new Tata Nexon EV Facelift-img_1671.jpeg

Total units consumed and the cumulative value over time
Faults in my brand-new Tata Nexon EV Facelift-img_1504.jpeg

Display showing the power output, current, time of charge and Units of energy consumed
Faults in my brand-new Tata Nexon EV Facelift-img_1391.jpeg

How the setup looks on a pillar of our apartment parking area
Faults in my brand-new Tata Nexon EV Facelift-img_0620.jpeg

A surge protection device, Reverse current operated Circuit breaker and an MCB switch in the circuit.
Faults in my brand-new Tata Nexon EV Facelift-img_0616.jpeg
mathewanil is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th February 2024, 15:11   #25

- Faulty Small Battery: One Sunday afternoon, as I am getting ready to go out, I press the unlock button in the key to open the car. But it doesn’t work. Surprised I try a few more times with no luck. Same with the touch button on the door handle. A quick check of the car key and its confirmed that the key has sufficient battery. I unlock the car using the manual override key and get in. Trying to turn the car on, but to no avail. They car just wont respond. No lights, nothing. Clearly the starter battery is dead. But why? I am definite that there was no electric unit on when I parked it (a few hours ago only). No lights, not even the malfunctioning sound system was on so why? I then call the RSA, inform them of the situation and within 45 mins I have a guy on a scooty standing next to the car with a spare battery. He jump-starts the car and promises it wont stop now. I ask, why this happened? Then he opens the can of worms. This apparently is a common problem and is quite regular in Tata EVs. The small battery drains abruptly and quickly for no known reason. It could be a poor wiring, or a leak somewhere or just thanks to the amazing software of the car.
I don't know how much do EV cars draw from 12v battery when not in use. That will give us an idea on how fast the battery would go flat. But isn't the 12v battery charged from HV battery on EVs? Or 12v batteries charges only during car being charged and not when driven?

These are too many issues and we should not be calling them niggles or bugs anymore. BTW, most of them are not even mentioned on the new thread "Why wouldn't you consider buying an EV today?" I'm surprised that TATA is able to sell these in huge numbers?
DriverLess is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2024, 15:52   #26

Originally Posted by DriverLess View Post
I don't know how much do EV cars draw from 12v battery when not in use. That will give us an idea on how fast the battery would go flat. But isn't the 12v battery charged from HV battery on EVs? Or 12v batteries charges only during car being charged and not when driven?
I have checked in my MG ZS EV , the power of battery depletes to 13.1v from 14.3 v in 2 weeks of no use.( This happened when I was out of country for 2 weeks.).

To recharge the battery, you just need to switch on the car in drive mode ( but put it in park), and it starts charging.

Also if you are using any devices like tyre air pump make sure the car is in drive mode( Put in park mode) otherwise it will drain the 12v battery.
pram_ind is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th February 2024, 17:00   #27

Originally Posted by pram_ind View Post
I have checked in my MG ZS EV , the power of battery depletes to 13.1v from 14.3 v in 2 weeks of no use.( This happened when I was out of country for 2 weeks.).

To recharge the battery, you just need to switch on the car in drive mode ( but put it in park), and it starts charging.
I don't think just voltage drop across the battery is enough to accurately measure the passive draw. Current draw (mA) and AH of the battery would tell us when the 12v battery would go flat.

It is good to know that MG charges 12v battery from HV in drive mode.
Old 28th February 2024, 08:32   #28

As a rule never buy the first iteration from Tata. It is bound to have tonnes of errors. This has been Tata's way of launching cars. Launch a half baked product and then keep giving updates. Best is to purchase one year from launch. This is not true with other manufacturers who thoroughly test their cars before launch.

This is typical chalega attitude of the management. QA/QC is largely ignored in Tata. They take no pride in building a solid fault free product. I have owned an Indica and now own a Nexon EV ( purchased by wife inspite of my objections)

Have been complaining of software glitches, AC switching off intermittently, various noises which come from the car every time car goes for service. Nothing is done and car is returned as it is. So living with it for now. Never again a Tata product for me.
Palio_2005 is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 29th February 2024, 22:52   #29

Originally Posted by Quicksilver85 View Post
I know EVs are still in nascent stage, but, I am curious to understand, whether such issues are seen with other OEMs as well? MG ZS for example? Can any owner of ZS can provide their ownership experience? so we can know if this is a EV issue or OEM issue or both
I’m an owner of a Citroen eC3. I have clocked about 7000 Km on the Odo. There were a few software glitches mainly in the form of warning symbols that would light up on the instrument panel initially. All of them disappeared within a few seconds, spontaneously. After the routine 2000 km checkup and service and some software updation, no such problems have occurred. The car has been trouble free till date. I guess a minimalistic console and not having too many bell-n-whistles and “ features” make it relatively bug free.

There is a price to pay with the addition of too many features, sensors, sun roof, touch controls and many screens in newer cars. This is especially troubling when manufacturers choose poor parts and not do a proper QC before releasing the car. It’s sad when these render the car unusable. Having personally heard from TATA owners and the abysmal service they get, I stayed away from the TATA TIAGO.
mathewanil is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st March 2024, 20:43   #30

You took it to the mountains, great.

Do you have power consumption details on the mountains. Which place you took it to, what was the average power consumption at 40 - 60 KMPH on mountains? How long it can go in a single charge on different terrain?

Moreover, what is the average power consumption at 80-100 KMPH on highway? EVs are good at low speed but in interstate travel, one needs to drive at higher speed and there the range falls quick.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com