Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 1st March 2024, 12:04   #76

Re: BYD Seal and localized Atto 3 India launch delayed to 2024

I have a feeling that all models will be within the 55-60 lac range. I thought echoed by other BHPians as well.

And frankly, at that price, I don't see a lot of takers for a BYD.

It will be a lot of car at 60 odd lacs but the brand is unknown to many and the unfortunately for the Seal it will end by being compared to ICE variants of the Germans.
BYD wants to operate in the luxury segment and buyers in this segment really don't care about running costs. What they do care about is flash value.

Even comparisons with Kia and Hyundai EVs will be tough for BYD at the 60 lac price point.
Volvo sells its EX40 Recharge for about 57 lacs. Which would you rather pick the Volvo or the BYD at that price?
veedub89 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st March 2024, 13:24   #77

Originally Posted by veedub89 View Post
I have a feeling that all models will be within the 55-60 lac range. I thought echoed by other BHPians as well.

And frankly, at that price, I don't see a lot of takers for a BYD.

It will be a lot of car at 60 odd lacs but the brand is unknown to many and the unfortunately for the Seal it will end by being compared to ICE variants of the Germans.
BYD wants to operate in the luxury segment and buyers in this segment really don't care about running costs. What they do care about is flash value.

Even comparisons with Kia and Hyundai EVs will be tough for BYD at the 60 lac price point.
Volvo sells its EX40 Recharge for about 57 lacs. Which would you rather pick the Volvo or the BYD at that price?
Purely my opinion. I agree with this post.

The first thing we need to remember is that India is a price-conscious market in the middle-income group. For those folks who spend over 40-50 Lakhs, there are a whole new set of parameters other than just performance. Luxury features, brand - all of these matter if not service, reliability and resale value etc.

Can BYD make a statement?

At 55 Lkahs and above price point, it surely is in that territory and not a mass market car. We have seen the Ionic from Hyundai and EV6 - How many on the road do we really see?

"Flying off the shelves" makes sense only if the sales are in limited numbers
sudeepg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2024, 20:04   #78

India is a price-conscious market in the middle-income group. Anything more than 45L is actually not going to help the Seal! It is a superb product but it isn't one of the German quartet. Overall, I think this a world class car. Hope it does well in the BNCAP/GNCAP.

Such a complete car, only if we had better charging infrastructure and a really competitive price.

Has to be under 50 for sure to compete with the Ioniq 5, EV6.

Atto has people going ga-ga all across the world!
Old 1st March 2024, 20:06   #79

Originally Posted by shiv11bhargava View Post
--- Hope it does well in the BNCAP/GNCAP.

--
It is a 5-star Euro NCAP (2023) rated car

And also,

Name:  Screenshot 20240301 201027.png
Views: 405
Size:  463.2 KB

Last edited by volkman10 : 1st March 2024 at 20:12.
volkman10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2024, 08:26   #80

Ground clearance will make it difficult for buyers in Bangalore at least..
vivekrvcse is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2024, 16:18   #81

Happened to come across BYD Seal on display in Thailand. The interiors are well appointed and do look upmarket. BYD Seal and localized Atto 3 India launch delayed to 2024-img_0158.jpeg

BYD Seal and localized Atto 3 India launch delayed to 2024-img_0161.jpeg

BYD Seal and localized Atto 3 India launch delayed to 2024-img_0160.jpeg

BYD Seal and localized Atto 3 India launch delayed to 2024-img_0159.jpeg

BYD Seal and localized Atto 3 India launch delayed to 2024-img_0165.jpeg

BYD Seal and localized Atto 3 India launch delayed to 2024-img_0166.jpeg

BYD Seal and localized Atto 3 India launch delayed to 2024-img_0167.jpeg
sharad_kmc is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2024, 10:14   #82

A detailed review by Autocar UK: https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/byd/seal
Old 3rd March 2024, 11:28   #83

Originally Posted by sharad_kmc View Post
Somehow the interior has too many organic/flowing shapes and some quirks (just like the Atto3) which takes away the premiumness in my view. Those squarish displays look totally out of place.
Guna is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 18:38   #84

Hi, I may sound too greedy or optimistic but what if tomorrow BYD reduce Atto3 price to 29.99 lacs and launch Seal at 39.99 lacs for base trim, 49.99 lacs for mid trim and 55 lacs for top AWD trim, that will be win-win for both
GoBabyGo is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 18:47   #85

Today in China BYD reduced the price of Atto 3 by USD $2100 for the 2024 model which also gets optional black interiors. In India if they where to pass on this benefit it should translate to a 2 lakh price cut. The 50 kWh Atto 3 starts at USD 16k in China, while the 60 kWh battery version (same battery as in India) start at 18k USD.
BYD Seal and localized Atto 3 India launch delayed to 2024-2024030401565699.jpg  

Last edited by DIY410 : 4th March 2024 at 18:53.
Old 4th March 2024, 20:40   #86

Originally Posted by GoBabyGo View Post
Hi, I may sound too greedy or optimistic but what if tomorrow BYD reduce Atto3 price to 29.99 lacs and launch Seal at 39.99 lacs for base trim, 49.99 lacs for mid trim and 55 lacs for top AWD trim, that will be win-win for both
BYD has dropped prices of most of their cars by up to 30% through the course of 2023. But in India, prices have remained constant.

Adjusting for inflation, Atto 3 in India is due at least a 25% price correction. So a price cut down to 27 Lakh is not outside the realm of (greedy) possibility.
antz.bin is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 21:06   #87

Originally Posted by GoBabyGo View Post
From what I have heard from my sources, my prediction is below.
Base trim at 45.99L
Long Range two wheel drive at 49.99L
AWD Dual motor version at 54.99L

Personally I am not keen on the AWD dual motor version, except for the bragging rights of power and 0-100KMPH time, it offers zero practical benefit.
The top end is limited to 180KMPH and AWD in not worth it. It also adds to the complexity of dual motor and reduced range.

The long range version with 300BHP is more than sufficient for Indian road conditions. I can definitely get more than 500KMs on a single charge with this variant. My major concern is the ground clearance.
speedmiester is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 21:34   #88

Originally Posted by speedmiester View Post
Personally I am not keen on the AWD dual motor version, except for the bragging rights of power and 0-100KMPH time, it offers zero practical benefit. .
I think if you havent already, you should try the Kia EV6 AWD. It truly is mind bending.
shankar.balan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 21:44   #89

Originally Posted by speedmiester View Post
From what I have heard from my sources, my prediction is below.
Base trim at 45.99L
Long Range two wheel drive at 49.99L
AWD Dual motor version at 54.99L

Personally I am not keen on the AWD dual motor version, except for the bragging rights of power and 0-100KMPH time, it offers zero practical benefit.
The top end is limited to 180KMPH and AWD in not worth it. It also adds to the complexity of dual motor and reduced range.

The long range version with 300BHP is more than sufficient for Indian road conditions. I can definitely get more than 500KMs on a single charge with this variant. My major concern is the ground clearance.
Hi, I also have anticipated similar price for Seal initially, however it is just my wish that BYD launch base trim under 40 lacs because of 61kW battery pack (lower than IONIQ 5) and higher battery pack variants can be price as per your prediction.

I think BYD will do some changes to keep ground clearance close to 170mm / 175mm to make it Indian road friendly.
Old 4th March 2024, 22:18   #90

I think if you havent already, you should try the Kia EV6 AWD. It truly is mind bending.
I have driven EV6 AWD. It's a monster, no doubt about it.
But end of the day, for everyday commute and drives, RWD is more than sufficient.
speedmiester is offline   (1) Thanks