Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 6th October 2023, 13:01   #1

MG ZS EV gets a massive price cut of up to Rs. 2.30 lakh

MG ZS EV prices reduced by up to Rs. 2.30 lakh

Excite variant price reduced by Rs 50,000 and now costs Rs 22,88,000.

Exclusive variant price reduced by Rs 2.3 lakhs & now costs Rs 24.99 lakhs.

Exclusive pro(adas) variant's price reduced by Rs 2 lakh & now costs Rs 25.9 lakhs.

The point to note is that ZS EV was already selling at these discounted prices via dealer discounts and this was something which was waiting to happen after the launch of nexon ev facelift.

I believe it is a good move & makes a good proposition for buyers of topend creta, seltos etc.

And I hope prices will reduce further after launch of Tata Curvv EV as it would be a direct competitor to ZS EV(as of now we don't have direct competition between different models in EV segment).

Source: https://www.carwale.com/news/mg-zs-e...o-rs-230-lakh/

Last edited by ishekk : 6th October 2023 at 13:08. Reason: Add source of information
ishekk is offline   (36) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 14:10   #2

Re: MG ZS EV gets a massive price cut of up to Rs. 2.30 lakh

MG ZS EV gets a massive price cut of up to Rs. 2.30 lakh - Post moved to a new thread.
Aditya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 14:30   #3

Had to happen. MG had increased the prices way too much for a vehicle that is getting a bit long in the tooth and has compromised dynamics. The China factor also goes against it. The new Nexon LR provides more features, feels tougher and has a far more sorted suspension. Cabin ambience is properly modern and you feel good sitting inside. The only real advantages of the ZS EV are the 10kwh bigger battery, better ergonomics and more space at the back. But is it 5L rupees better? Goes to show how a properly well rounded product can shake things up in a class above as well.

MG should look at getting the new generation of ZS/Astor here as soon as they can.

Last edited by Shreyans_Jain : 6th October 2023 at 14:35.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 15:40   #4

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
Had to happen. MG had increased the prices way too much for a vehicle that is getting a bit long in the tooth and has compromised dynamics. The China factor also goes against it. The new Nexon LR provides more features, feels tougher and has a far more sorted suspension. Cabin ambience is properly modern and you feel good sitting inside. The only real advantages of the ZS EV are the 10kwh bigger battery, better ergonomics and more space at the back. But is it 5L rupees better? Goes to show how a properly well rounded product can shake things up in a class above as well.

MG should look at getting the new generation of ZS/Astor here as soon as they can.
Hi, my senior colleague took delivery of MG ZS EV top model on 25th Sep 2023 with 2.25 lacs discount and 50K accessories free. That day it appeared a fantastic deal, but today it look like kind of normal buy.

My boss on 28th Sep bought EV6 AWD with 4.75 lacs cash discount (in Noida). He is likely to take delivery on 15th Oct. Hope EV6 AWD price won't fall below 60 lacs after MG ZS EV price drop news.
GoBabyGo is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 15:58   #5

A cost-benefit analysis will yield a break-even run of around 50k km for a typical EV vs its ICE counterpart. Until EVs are as expensive as they are (vs their ICE counterparts), their economic sense for buyers will remain in question. This is assuming the residual values of both cars is similar when they are being sold in the used-car market. So all else equal, total cost of ownership for many EVs is higher. Of course residual values of EVs as of now in the west are affected by lots of factors like price wars and steady state might look better for EV residual values.

For India, hopefully economies of scale (thanks to early adopters), lower materials prices (Lithium especially) and some degree of battery value chain localization will bring down battery pack costs enough for car companies to make a compelling economic case for people who don't drive more than 10k a year.

P.S.: On a side note, not sure if there is a poll anywhere around on BHP - average monthly / annual km post work from home trend.
bettertwitter is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 16:08   #6

Originally Posted by ishekk View Post
Finally better sense prevails at MG motors. The car was too pricey for the segment it competes in. And the car (Nexon.EV) a segment below it is already punching above its weight so their hand was kind of forced. A formal reduction in price is always better than dealer level discounts. With the new price reducing the price difference with competition to around 3-4 lakhs in on road price in Delhi, it becomes a juicy deal for people looking for a peppy car which can easily do 350 kms on a single charge.

My heart goes out for people who bought the car in the last few months and got lesser discounts than the new declared price.
ferrarirules is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 17:06   #7

Originally Posted by ferrarirules View Post
My heart goes out for people who bought the car in the last few months and got lesser discounts than the new declared price.
Me being one of those people who bought it in July 23. . However, on a dealer quoted price of Rs.23.38 L, I got a cash discount of 1.1 lacs plus accessories of 15 K. Having said that, MG has made official the discounts at the dealer level in its sticker price. About time, we get a decent EV close to the 20 L mark.
Torqueceptor is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 18:42   #8

Originally Posted by Torqueceptor View Post
Me being one of those people who bought it in July 23. . However, on a dealer quoted price of Rs.23.38 L, I got a cash discount of 1.1 lacs plus accessories of 15 K. Having said that, MG has made official the discounts at the dealer level in its sticker price. About time, we get a decent EV close to the 20 L mark.
Did you get the excite variant? If yes then there is not much of a price reduction on the same.
ferrarirules is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 20:06   #9

The new Nexon LR provides more features, feels tougher and has a far more sorted suspension. Cabin ambience is properly modern and you feel good sitting inside. The only real advantages of the ZS EV are the 10kwh bigger battery, better ergonomics and more space at the back. But is it 5L rupees better?
While I agree with you that the new Nexon EV LR is an all rounder and value for money being 5L cheaper, my personal experience of the interior ambience of both is a night and day. Nexon continues to feel cheaper inside compared to ZS, ZS Interiors literally feels as luxurious as my Kodiaq with its soft touch dash and quality of buttons. ZS Power delivery is two notches up. While Nexon comes rich with features, ZS EV is no less. With the price gap being even smaller, to me ZS EV comes out at the top considering the luxury it has to offer.
Jangra is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 21:22   #10

The only real advantages of the ZS EV are the 10kwh bigger battery, better ergonomics and more space at the back. But is it 5L rupees better? Goes to show how a properly well rounded product can shake things up in a class above as well.
You have missed out on the biggest advantage of ZS EV which is a much higher peak charging rate. ZS EV can charge at up to 74 KW whereas the Nexon is capped at 30 KW.

Unlike charging speeds of 150-350 KW, 60 KW chargers are becoming extremely common on our highways. The reason to get a ZS EV or Nexon LR model is to take the occasional long drives. For a city commuter, the standard Nexon is more than sufficient.

The higher charging speeds can easily shave off 30 mins to 1 hour for most long drives.
shyampsunder is online now   (14) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 22:36   #11

Originally Posted by shyampsunder View Post

The higher charging speeds can easily shave off 30 mins to 1 hour for most long drives.
Absolutely. My drives are usually 600kms one way and I do that with a single charge stop that last for about an hour and 20 mins on a 50kw charger.
rajeshrajan is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 14:20   #12

Originally Posted by ishekk View Post

Excite variant price reduced by Rs 50,000 and now costs Rs 22,88,000.

Exclusive variant price reduced by Rs 2.3 lakhs & now costs Rs 24.99 lakhs.

Exclusive pro(adas) variant's price reduced by Rs 2 lakh & now costs Rs 25.9 lakhs.

The point to note is that ZS EV was already selling at these discounted prices via dealer discounts and this was something which was waiting to happen after the launch of nexon ev facelift.

I believe it is a good move & makes a good proposition for buyers of topend creta, seltos etc.

And I hope prices will reduce further after launch of Tata Curvv EV as it would be a direct competitor to ZS EV(as of now we don't have direct competition between different models in EV segment).

Source: https://www.carwale.com/news/mg-zs-e...o-rs-230-lakh/
Nice.
This is the price at which i bought my MG ZS EV in March 2023.Good to know that they have reduced the prices. The pro version was not available then.otherwise, would have surely opted for it.
Although, the new Nexon looks very good, I feel the MG ZS EV is a more sorted product.
Better build, better battery, solid mechanicals.
Tata should increase their charging speeds to at least 50 kW.
Would like to know if the road tax discount for EVs is still applicable in Kerala.
sushanthys is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 17:01   #13

I am considering both Hyundai Kona and MG ZS EV as my first EV to compliment Honda City Diesel for city drives and occasional 300km round trip highway drives. Bit confused after this price cut. My primary requirement is to have automatic for city drives as I am not able to tolerate clutch and low seating position of my City diesel after clocking 1.15 Lakh km. I entered 40's and started to have lower back issues . Test drove Comet, ZS and Kona and felt all 3 are good from drivability in city conditions because of instant Torque available from zero speed. Discarded comet because of harsh low speed ride quality and we have enough potholes in Bangalore around our area where 12 inch wheels would not be sufficient. After discounts Kona is coming for 22L and ZS EV Exclusive Pro is coming for 27L roughly OTR price Bangalore.

+ves Kona :
Addictive 395 NM torque - We may not see this figure anymore in sub 20L category as all manufacturers have reduced numbers in recent launches probably for efficiency and provide taller range
Ventilated Seats - Really love this feature, I use this often in my friends Nexon(P)
Lumbar support Adjust - Felt this made lot of difference for my back during short test drive
High Speed Stability - With stiff suspension and 300kg battery in middle, car is extremely stable and gave thrilling experience at high speeds which can be comparable to cars 2-3 segments above. Itch for upgrade may not come anytime soon
Hyundai service is proven and perceived to be better than MG

-ves Kona :
Ground Clearance - Though suspension is stiff, battery in the middle sits very low compared to rest of the car. Even though its insulated, might lose peace of mind every time it scraps
Rear Seat comfort - With knees up and less under thigh support, this is suited only for city drives and short highway trips

+ves ZS :
Suspension - For city drives which is primary purpose, ZS has comfort oriented suspension. Went through pretty bad roads during test drive, felt extremely sorted compared to Honda City(D) and Hyundai Kona
ADAS Tech - Haven't experienced this as I test drove variant without ADAS but I am fan of adaptive cruise control for high ways and for city drives 360 degree camera will be boon
Sunroof - Not a fan of sunroof but Kids loved panoramic sunroof
Rear Seat : Much better for long drives also, can consider this as single car after 1-2 years once I am confident to manage range for my usual destinations to home town and in-laws place in Hyderabad

-ves ZS :
High speed stability not comparable to City and Kona because of soft suspension
No Ventilated seats
No Lumbar support adjustment

Haven't considered eC3 as basic equipment is missing for 13.5L OTR making other cars value for money. They never turned up for test drive as both showrooms are far from my residence in Bangalore. Skipped Nexon EV with 21L OTR price as both Kona and ZS EV felt premium with features like electrically adjustable seats and premium cabin feel. Was inclined towards black Kona until this price cut mainly for ventilated seats and lumbar support. Missing ADAS and Sunroof means I am skipping mass market features which can get me better resale. Ventilated seats and Lumbar support, how much these two features matter. Will I miss them badly if I chose ZS over Kona. Am I thinking too much for these two features we can live without very easily? Need expert views to come out of this dilemma. Any other important aspects I missed about these two cars? TIA.
evtdtorque is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 19:31   #14

ZS EV Excite is a really good deal. All Creta/Seltos/Taigun/Kushaq customers should really consider this.

Its far better to drive this than these ICE cars with little to no maintenance. I have just completed 35k in my ZS bought in 2021 and has been an absolute pleasure owing it. Have spent nothing on servicing till now and probably saved at least 2L vs fuel costs.
lina is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 19:46   #15

Originally Posted by evtdtorque View Post
Haven't considered eC3 as basic equipment is missing for 13.5L OTR making other cars value for money. They never turned up for test drive as both showrooms are far from my residence in Bangalore. Skipped Nexon EV with 21L OTR price as both Kona and ZS EV felt premium with features like electrically adjustable seats and premium cabin feel. Was inclined towards black Kona until this price cut mainly for ventilated seats and lumbar support. Missing ADAS and Sunroof means I am skipping mass market features which can get me better resale. Ventilated seats and Lumbar support, how much these two features matter. Will I miss them badly if I chose ZS over Kona. Am I thinking too much for these two features we can live without very easily? Need expert views to come out of this dilemma. Any other important aspects I missed about these two cars? TIA.
You have researched this pretty well but will share a couple of other points that you may wish to consider:

1. The MG ZS EV is on the LFP battery which will have a much longer life compared to the NMC battery on the Kona. Range degradation will also be pretty minimal. If you plan to keep the car for 6+ years, this may be of importance to you.

2. The MG ZS EV has a peak DC charging capability of up to 73 KW vs the Kona at 44 KW if your long drives are not going to be on this car, then it shouldn't matter.

Personally I felt the infotainment system on the Kona to be tiny and the driver instrument panel to be rudimentary which made me pick the MG ZS EV
shyampsunder is online now   (8) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com