Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 19th June 2023, 12:33   #16

Re: Quirky benefits of owning EVs

It is ideal for people who employ drivers for their cars.
Your driver cannot misuse your EV.
You don't have to worry about gear changing habits or clutch wear.
You can track its location.
You can see how it is being driven.
Pilferage of fuel and spare parts cannot be done.
Alfresco is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 12:56   #17

Have seen dedicated parking slots for EVs in malls, offices and these are usually available. Unlike ICE cars where you have to search half your life looking for a parking.

Now this special treatment for EVs might be temporary but still is a perk for the short term.
warrioraks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 13:33   #18

• I don’t need to keep track of fuel expenses when my driver is using it. Simply ask him to plug it in and use it, and repeat.
  • Easy to track his location and driving habits thanks to the connected tech. The Z connect app gets buggy at times although.
  • Instantaneous acceleration that leaves bigger cars behind in the rear view mirror.
  • Lots of respect from some people thanks to the role it plays in conserving the environment!
  • The biggest benefit for me surely was the subsidy offered by the state and central government. Made my car a VFM offering
Auto spawn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 13:48   #19

One more, remember from my college times.

When coming home late after meeting friends, we used to switch off our bikes a little distance away from home and push them till parking lot. So as to not awaken parents or neighbours and avoid unnecessary questions next day.

EV owners won't have to deal with 'came home so late?' questions. Unfortunately, now I am the one asking those questions.
TheCatalyst is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 14:18   #20

One of the most important factors would be - no clutch overhaul scam by SAs. We have a lovely 24 page discussion here on our very own forum which would not exist otherwise!

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...-overhaul.html (SCAM Alert "Saar, your car needs a clutch overhaul")

Another one - Engine oil! Fully Synthetic, Semi Synthetic, Mineral, Flushing before change, top up - no headaches like these! All 406 pages of information on TBHP!

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modif...neral-oil.html (ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil)
vsathyap is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 16:45   #21

Being an owner of Nexon EV and witnessing some of the benefits listed above, I will briefly share mine.
  • Guilt-free usage of car as my office with an AC without having to worry about pollution and costs, especially during the scorching heat.
  • Non-existent NVH makes it a perfect sleep cum baby rocker and my 14-month-old finds it cosy whenever he doesn't want to sleep at home.
  • Addictive no-lag acceleration makes it super easy to manoeuvre around the city and which can even make my 2.0 TSI nervous at times.
  • My wife being the owner only needs to bear her car EMIs. I am the poor fellow paying for the electricity bill.
rahul1407 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 17:46   #22

Owner of a 8 months old NexonEV Max and driven 15k km, points to add:

* Most features are seamless. Like a true automatic (no jerk which is part of even the best Auto gear system), Auto hold, electric parking, cruise control .. etc are all smooth as everything from the power source to -> engine is controlled via electronics.

* Regen helps a lot. You get the range back when saving your brake pad. I am sure EV brake pads will be usable for longer.

* Forces users to take a break after 250km for a good 30min duration (at least) which can help in reducing long drive lethargy.

* No lag acceleration is super useful in Indian road conditions. It kills range but is such a boon for city driving in a city like Bengaluru.

Last edited by Axe77 : 20th June 2023 at 08:32.
sharathkamath04 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 17:48   #23

I got an interesting article other day on the EV's life cycle cost. Can you distinguished TBHP's decipher this riddle and shed some light?
Quirky benefits of owning EVs-ev-vs-ice-comparision.jpeg  

Old 19th June 2023, 17:52   #24

Being new to having EVs, I've experienced a couple of weird situations. Let me list them all-
1. Everytime I or my father come down to put our iQube to charge, our watchman comes up with these questions, "Yeh Kitna jaata hai ek baar daalne par?" and "Kitna time leta hai?"
2. Once some person was doing some small talk with our building watchman regarding conserving the environment. He said something like all these 2 wheelers should be banned. My father was going out somewhere on the iQube. This guy noticed him and started giving gyaan about the ill effects of ICE powered vehicles. My father, although irritated, remained silent and reversed out of the parking, revealing the green number plate in the process. His face had that crestfallen look.....Dad still remembers it
3. The reverse mode never fails to confuse people. Once Dad reversed out of a upward slope with ease. A guy on a Jupiter couldn't believe what happened. He quickly went up to him and questioned about this move. My Dad told him that this is only available in EVs.
4. A random person kept on honking at Dad. He stopped on the side of the road and gave him way to overtake. He instead stopped and started asking about the scooter!!!! Yes, on the road!!!!
5. Some people approached Dad and started asking about the scooter. They threw all types of questions, from ridiculous to good ones, at him. He patiently answered everything but little did he know it took 1.5 hrs for this conversation.....
6. One Aunty wished me Happy Birthday, because I was presumably carrying a "Birthday Cake". I was carrying the iQube's charger box
7. A man at a signal boasted to my Dad as to how his CB Shine was faster and better than the iQube. My father gave a light twist to the throttle and he wasn't even visible in the side mirror!!
SID7115 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 17:56   #25

Originally Posted by DarthVeda View Post
This is what everyone ask first, how much range!! and all EV drivers in their first year are always worried about range and the number that shows on DTE.
Recently saw a youtube short - where a Tesla guy had a portable genset in his car and did not need to worry about the range
just needed the diesel - so running a EV like ICE car
Old 19th June 2023, 18:03   #26

Here are some of the quirky ones that I experienced while driving my MG ZS EV:
  1. The warm bonhomie from fellow EV users at the charging stations while on long drives. Normally, many of us are wary of talking to strangers, but, the comaraderie between the EV owners is definitely something to smile about
  2. I am always ever willing to drop off my local visiting friends or relatives if they used public transport or Uber to get to my place. Barring the traffic, I don't have to worry about the cost of fuel to drop them off and come back, even if they live farther away
  3. My long distance travel has increased substantially after I got my EV. It is exciting to plan the trip on Plugshare. Truly, the journey has become lot more enjoyable than the destination
  4. The combination of quiet cabin and the sheer joy of driving the EV makes one feel meditative. Never ever experienced something like this on my ICE car
Early_Adopter is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 18:06   #27

Originally Posted by wheeledwanderer View Post
I got an interesting article other day on the EV's life cycle cost. Can you distinguished TBHP's decipher this riddle and shed some light?
This is a classic clickbait calculation. The fuel efficiency of a petrol car is taken as 20kmpl. In city conditions, it is expected to be half of that. Rs 10 per km is a basic cost of fuel today, and will only increase in future. EVs cost approx Rs 1 per km with home charging, and literally nothing if you have solar with net metering.

It is well established that the maintenance costs of EVs are significantly less than ICE cars. Especially in today’s time with complex direct injection turbo petrols and BS6 diesels. No oils, no filters, no timing belts, no complex gearboxes, no clutch, no injectors, no DEF, no nothing. Regen braking means brake pads and discs on EVs last much much longer.

They also have conveniently add 8L rupees for battery replacement to further skew up the numbers. This is the most biased and misleading. Minimum battery warranty coverage for EV cars is 160k km, and companies like BYD offer coverage for upto 500k km. All data points to modern batteries easily outlasting the relevant usable life of the car.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 19:05   #28

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
They also have conveniently add 8L rupees for battery replacement to further skew up the numbers. This is the most biased and misleading. Minimum battery warranty coverage for EV cars is 160k km, and companies like BYD offer coverage for upto 500k km. All data points to modern batteries easily outlasting the relevant usable life of the car.
Does the capacity of a battery to retain charge remain same for 10 years period? If not so then range will considerably keep reducing to half or even less making the vehicle useless for use as well as resale halfway through the 10 year period. Even assuming that no battery is to be replaced, still the total cost of ownership at the end of 10 years as shown in the above calculation will be almost equal to petrol cars. AND we need to remember that Rs. 400000/= saved during the initial buy of the petrol car will be worth at least 850000/= @ fd interest at 8% at the end of 10 years. Also the inability of the car to do long distances at a stretch and accesses to remote places without any worries. Also ev is being encouraged now but once it is popular, taxes might be levied top make up for that lost on fuel sales.

Last edited by murlidar : 19th June 2023 at 19:17.
Old 19th June 2023, 20:26   #29

Adding these two to the quirky benefits:

1. No silencer sound failure noise issue
2. No blackening of rear bumper tail pipe due to black smoke from emission
mohitm29 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 21:21   #30

As an EV owner - I now fully understand most of my homes electrical concepts - single phase/three phase loads, MCB/ELCB etc and their ratings, wiring guages, earthing, reading bescom meters, sanctioned loads, distribution transformers, rooftop solar setups, net meters etc etc etc

Never bothered about any of these before I got the EV & Rooftop solar
Sandegov is offline   (13) Thanks