Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 2nd January 2025, 15:43   #106

Re: Hyundai Creta EV in the works

The battery pack seems to be placed low ; They appear to reduce GC to good extent. Battery pack hanging can be clearly seen in some shots from video clip.
Hyundai Creta EV in the works-screenshot-20250102-153540.jpg  

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-screenshot-20250102-153650.jpg  

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-screenshot-20250102-154042.jpg  

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-screenshot-20250102-154153.jpg  

Thilak29 is offline   (28) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 15:58   #107

I’m not seeing the target buyer for this car.

Someone who is conservative and hesitant to buy into EV would just buy the ICE variant of Creta. That’s a more complete car than this ‘jugaad’ mishmash. Unless this is significantly cheaper than the ICE Creta (top end around 17-18 lakhs).

Someone who wants an EV wouldn’t even consider this car when the BE6 exists for 20-25 lakh range and MG Windsor exists in the 14-16 lakh range. Both of those are born EV cars and the Mahindra has way way better range, powertrain and basically everything else.

The only use I see from a small battery like this is a city roundabout car. But again that car needs to show value compared to Windsor.
darkgamer is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 16:08   #108

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
Considering the Creta DCT is already touching about 23.7L (OTR) in Pune, if I assume a further 2L premium for the larger battery pack, @ 26L OTR this is right in the BE 6E larger battery pack top variant territory. BE6E offers better range, faster charging, lifetime warranty on battery, bigger car (in every dimension), more ground clearance, better performance, better safety equipment, better equipment, futuristic styling and what not!

Since you are comparing it with Windsor EV, are you expecting it to be priced at Windsor level? If yes, then at that price the Creta EV would certainly sell well (top Windsor variant is available at 16.31L) But considering the Creta Petrol and Diesel variant top out at 23.7L OTR, I am pretty sure it would be priced atleast 1.5L higher for the top most variant, and at that price after the advent of Mahindra's it looks ridiculous.
Hi, while your observations are spot on, however, please understand that Creta ICE has GST & Compensation cess of around 45% whereas Creta EV will have 5% GST only so Hyundai can price Creta EV at 15.90 lacs for the base 41kWh variant and 21.90 lacs for top variant with 51kWh battery pack.

Please understand EV is not for everybody as majority of Indian urban population can not charge EV at home due to parking space constraints.
GoBabyGo is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 16:37   #109

Originally Posted by GoBabyGo View Post
Hi, while your observations are spot on, however, please understand that Creta ICE has GST & Compensation cess of around 45% whereas Creta EV will have 5% GST only so Hyundai can price Creta EV at 15.90 lacs for the base 41kWh variant and 21.90 lacs for top variant with 51kWh battery pack.
I understand the tax implications would indeed make it possible for Hyundai to price it lower. But that said, I guess same tax implications are applicable to a Astor (21.54 L OTR Pune) vs ZS EV (26.83L OTR Pune) or Nexon (Petrol 17.4L OTR Pune) vs Nexon.Ev (18.09L OTR Pune). Considering this I am pretty sure the Creta EV won't undercut the turbo petrol counterpart and with that it lands in the BE6 territory. Heck Velu from Mahindra has said the BE6E hopes to compete with Creta ICE and therefore the pricing would be around the same.

Please understand EV is not for everybody as majority of Indian urban population can not charge EV at home due to parking space constraints.
Please elaborate more on this. Is it harder to charge in an apartment compared to a bunglow?

Originally Posted by Thilak29 View Post
The battery pack seems to be placed low ; They appear to reduce GC to good extent. Battery pack hanging can be clearly seen in some shots from video clip.
Hyundai better increased the Ground clearance in this case. The ICE variants 190 mm clearance would be barely adequate for that battery pack in a SUV shape car.

Last edited by 07CR : 2nd January 2025 at 16:39.
07CR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 16:59   #110

Originally Posted by darkgamer View Post

Someone who wants an EV wouldn’t even consider this car when the BE6 exists for 20-25 lakh range and MG Windsor exists in the 14-16 lakh range. Both of those are born EV cars and the Mahindra has way way better range, powertrain and basically everything else.

The only use I see from a small battery like this is a city roundabout car. But again that car needs to show value compared to Windsor.
I am considering this. BE 6 and Windsor are too wide for my liking. This is a right size car. And anybody who goes through the initial pages of XUV700 review will be wary of buying a first generation Mahindra. This strikes a middle ground. I will wait for Toyota Urban Cruiser to make my decision though.
padmrajravi is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 17:33   #111

Originally Posted by LakeWalker View Post
This is going to sell like hot cakes (if priced right) for two reasons:
Umm, unlikely. The range and the power figures will sway you towards Mahindra a lot more. If Mahindra prices it's car well then Hyundai is in deep water. Just think how bad Tata looks right now.
aweracker is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 17:45   #112

[quote=07CR;5903806]I understand the tax implications would indeed make it possible for Hyundai to price it lower. But that said, I guess same tax implications are applicable to a Astor (21.54 L OTR Pune) vs ZS EV (26.83L OTR Pune) or Nexon (Petrol 17.4L OTR Pune) vs Nexon.Ev (18.09L OTR Pune). Considering this I am pretty sure the Creta EV won't undercut the turbo petrol counterpart and with that it lands in the BE6 territory. Heck Velu from Mahindra has said the BE6E hopes to compete with Creta ICE and therefore the pricing would be around the same.

Till Windsor was launched there was no as such price war in EVs due to practically no BEV & realistically priced EVs in Indian market, be it MG or Tata or Mahindra. Windsor pricing changed everything. Now since the battery price has come down drastically since mid 2024, I think every manufacturer will have to price their products realistically.

Please elaborate more on this. Is it harder to charge in an apartment compared to a bunglow?

I can only give you reference of Delhi-NCR where if someone live in a 100sq.yd. house or similar sized builder floor, it is practically not possible to park your car outside your home for charging since there will be no dedicated parking slot so even if someone has charger installed at home, it is not possible to park the car to get it charged.

Regarding High Rise apartment, please understanding most societies have 200 to 2000 flats in 1 acre to 15 acres of land parcel with limited scope to increase sanctioned load for a specific flat. Most societies offer dedicated parking, both at the basement and/or at the ground level. I don't think it is possible in high rise to offer dedicated EV charger to each & every residents. There may be some shared EV chargers in societies (my high rise society will soon have 2 shared 7.2kW chargers for total 870 flats). In case of many EVs in a society, sooner or later when EV users will increase, fights will bound to happen to get the charging slot since it is 4 hrs. to 6 hrs. to get the full charging.

In addition, many people buy car to use only for family purpose, I mean they go to work on public transport and use car only when needed for family outing or over weekend. For them buying EV make zero sense as their usage is 200km to 300km per month or even less.
Old 2nd January 2025, 17:56   #113

Pricing decides the fate of the Creta EV or any upcoming EV launches (e.g., Vitara, Harrier EV, and Sierra EV). If any of these products are priced badly, they will fail.

Original Nexon EV was successful because it was a decent product at a good price when launched in early 2020. Tata launched multiple EVs (Tiago EV, Punch EV, Currv EV, Nexon EV Max) but none of them were successful due to high prices, smaller batteries, and slow charging. All other EVs from different brands launched in the last 5 years are only selling a few hundred per month at best. After the Nexon EV, the next successful EV in the Indian market is MG Windsor. It has reasonable specs, and features and was launched at a good price. All 3 variants are priced within Rs 2 lakhs. MG sold 3,785 Windsors in December compared to all EVs (5,562) from Tata. Tata used to have 70 to 80% market share and now their market share is less than 50%.

Hyundai is not interested in the Indian EV market. They are only doing enough to meet the CAFE norms. Creta EV is a perfect example of a compliance car. Most of the Creta EV specs are similar to the Kona EV that was launched in 2018 in South Korea and 2019 in India. The worst thing is, the Kona EV used to have 64 kWh while the new Creta EV only has a 51.4 kWh battery. Based on the charge time numbers, the charging speeds are also the same as the 7-year-old model.

Market leaders Suzuki and Hyundai need to price their new EVs well. With the launch of Mahindra EVs, there is now an upper limit for the Creta EV and eVitara. If they want to be successful, they have to undercut the BE 6e by a decent margin because BE 6e has much better specs (bigger battery, performance, range, faster DC charging, etc...) and extensive feature list even in the base variant. Basically, Hyundai has to price the Creata EV same as Windsor (~14 lakhs for 42 kWh variant and Rs 16 lakhs for 51 kWh variant) to be reasonably successful.
sri_tesla is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 18:01   #114

I can only give you reference of Delhi-NCR where if someone live in a 100sq.yd. house or similar sized builder floor, it is practically not possible to park your car outside your home for charging since there will be no dedicated parking slot so even if someone has charger installed at home, it is not possible to park the car to get it charged.

Regarding High Rise apartment, please understanding most societies have 200 to 2000 flats in 1 acre to 15 acres of land parcel with limited scope to increase sanctioned load for a specific flat. Most societies offer dedicated parking, both at the basement and/or at the ground level. I don't think it is possible in high rise to offer dedicated EV charger to each & every residents. There may be some shared EV chargers in societies
Even in such cases we can atleast have a 15 amp socket installed, right ? Asking this because I will shift to a high rise apartment in September this year and I intend to buy an ev around 2027 or so.
Old 2nd January 2025, 18:01   #115

Thank goodness Hyundai chose to retain a more human-friendly appeal than some kind of a weird and wacky alien-like Currv and the Mahindra EVs. Happy to see more reliable options beginning to surface in the EV space. Will hold my buying decision until e-Vitara comes out.
kpkeerthi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 18:33   #116

Originally Posted by sri_tesla View Post

Hyundai is not interested in the Indian EV market. They are only doing enough to meet the CAFE norms. Creta EV is a perfect example of a compliance car. Most of the Creta EV specs are similar to the Kona EV that was launched in 2018 in South Korea and 2019 in India. The worst thing is, the Kona EV used to have 64 kWh while the new Creta EV only has a 51.4 kWh battery. Based on the charge time numbers, the charging speeds are also the same as the 7-year-old model.
CAFE norms objective is only fulfilled if the launched EV sells in decent numbers compared to company's other ICE vehicles. So pretty sure Hyundai does expect volumes from the Creta EV, but I am little taken aback by the dismal spec figures. Expected better from Brand Hyundai on Brand Creta.
Old 2nd January 2025, 19:17   #117

After Windsor EV and Mahindra BEs, this doesn't look exciting. Because
1) they created the impression that a platform designed for EVs is superior to ICE converted platform (ex: Tata EVs) in terms of space (windsor) or handling or battery capacity (BE 6). So enthusiasts think these ICE-converted EVs are inferior by design. Risk-averse anyway stay away from EVs till they become mainstream. So they have to play only the pricing game which is even difficult to compete with as Windsor and BE (hope so) are already below ICE vehicles and hyundai may not want to lose the profits of its creta petrols or diesels for the sake of EV market share.

2) BE with 79 kwh battery pack raised the bar for range expectations.
Old 2nd January 2025, 19:31   #118

I am considering to buy a new car in 2025 and heres my perspective why I will seriously consider the Creta EV-

1. I have two Hyundai Cars Currently - Alcazar (47K ODO) and Creta OG (1.7 L ODO) both have not given any trouble till date and the only reason I have to let go of my current Creta is due to the 10 Year Diesel Rule in NCR

2. I want an EV car that looks like a normal car, this pretty much rules out Mahinra new EVS for me (Too wildly designed for my taste)

3. This is the perfect size for me (Nexon is a bit small, Curvv again a bit flashy)

I think a lot of people like me who want a normal looking EV which is reliable will look into Creta EV
anand_agrawal is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 20:16   #119

Press Release:

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-news_release_indiadewz0yau_page0001.jpg

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-news_release_indiadewz0yau_page0002.jpg

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-news_release_indiadewz0yau_page0003.jpg

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-news_release_indiadewz0yau_page0004.jpg
sharmanova is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 20:24   #120

Just a pointer for Hyundai folks discussing how much to overprice the Creta EV 2 weeks from today.

The Mahindra XUV 400 is also an ICE Converted EV.

It also has a 0-100 in the same ballpark
It also is the same ballpark in terms of physical dimensions
It's battery size is also in the same ballpark as the base battery pack of the Creta EV
It's DC fast charging Speed is faster than what is mentioned in the Creta EV press release.
Creta dies have seen more use and more depreciation compared to XUV400/Tivoli dies.
XUV 400 has better under-thigh support than any other EV currently made in India.
Some say, it is the most well-rounded package as an EV currently made in India.
It's top end OTR Pune is about 18.5 lakh but it also has a 3 lakh rupee discount on it bringing the price down to 15.5 lakh. This is similar OTR price to mid-spec Windsor.

Dear readers, please forget the price of the Creta ICE when thinking of EV prices. Taxes on both powertrains are not even in the same zip-code. If Hyundai cannot price their EVs according to the EV competition, they can kiss their sales goodbye.

Over and out!

Last edited by antz.bin : 2nd January 2025 at 20:25.
antz.bin is offline   (22) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com