Old 4th January 2025, 10:49   #166

Re: Hyundai Creta EV in the works

Originally Posted by vattyboy View Post
What about reliability which is crucial when buying a car.
Mahindra's have improved tremendously with respect to reliability. There could be minor niggles with respect to electronics but as a mechanical package they have been praised thoroughly and owners vouch the reliability of 2.2 MHawk or the Mstallion. In EVs too I didn't read any significant issues with respect to reliability of XUV400.

People confuse India reliability when the combine Tata and Mahindra in same sentence. Mahindra's should not be compared with Tata's with respect to reliability, they are much closer to Hyundai-Kia in terms of reliability.
07CR is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 4th January 2025, 11:25   #167

Hyundai Creta Electric bookings open ahead of launch

Hyundai has started accepting bookings for the Creta Electric ahead of its official launch. Dealerships are taking orders for the base Executive variant with a token amount of Rs 25,000.

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-hyundai-creta-electric-exterior-1-.jpg

The Hyundai Creta Electric will be available in four variants: Executive, Smart, Premium and Excellence. The overall design of the EV is similar to its ICE counterpart. It has vertically stacked headlamps, L-shaped LED DRLs and taillights, and LED light bars at the front and rear. The SUV rides on 17-inch dual-tone alloy wheels.

The Creta Electric features a shift-by-wire system and comes with a Digital Key, allowing users to lock, unlock and start the vehicle using their smartphone or smartwatch. It also gets Active Air Flaps that are said to improve aerodynamic performance and Vehicle to Load (V2L) support, enabling users to power external devices.

The Hyundai Creta Electric will be available with two battery options: 42 kWh and 51.4 kWh, offering a range of 390 km and 473 km, respectively. The batteries can be charged from 10-80% in 58 minutes using a DC fast charger and 10-100% in 4 hours using the 11 kW Smart Connected Wall Box charger. Hyundai claims the long-range version can sprint from 0-100 km/h in 7.9 seconds.

The Hyundai Creta Electric will be launched at the Bharat Mobility Expo on January 17.

Link to Team-BHP news

Last edited by TusharK : 4th January 2025 at 11:27.
TusharK is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th January 2025, 12:14   #168

Originally Posted by Comrade View Post
42 kWh pricing guess
17-18L —> Executive
18-19L —> Smart
19-20L —> Premium
20-21L —> Excellence
At those prices, you would be better off going for the 39 kWh XUV400 instead.

Assuming trims equivalent to ICE Creta, the XUV 400 top end would be equipped at par with the Smart Trim.

Considering the ongoing ₹3 lakh discount, XUV 400 would save the buyer 3.5-4.5 lakh. Enough to cover any problems with reliability.

And remember, the XUV also doesn't look too flashy
And it is the product that has been around for 3 years, not the newly launched one. Mahindra has had the chance to work on XUV gremlins, not the case with Hyundai and the Creta EV.
antz.bin is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 4th January 2025, 12:41   #169

Originally Posted by GhostOfAkina View Post
Did these teslas over time drop their range? or are they close to what they got on day 1?
Depending on the charging patterns and usage pattern, the SOH can be anywhere from 60-80%.

https://old.reddit.com/r/TeslaModel3...owners_how_is/

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/elect...ownership.html

You can also get some peace of mind from these 2 threads, one on reddit by model 3 owners and one by our very own @ADI7YAK, who has one the best cost of ownership threads for an EV (hyundai kona electric in his case).

Generally, it seems that people have lost less than 10% of the rated capacity in 150,000 km of usage

Battery tech has come a long way, but the fundamentals have not changed.

Let us assume after 10+ years of usage the range has gradually dropped to 60% of what you were getting originally, and this is drop is starting to become an issue for your use case. What options is the user left with other than to go for a battery replacement?
While the fundamentals have not changed much, our understanding of the technology has improved massively. This has resulted in much improved battery management systems. Combining this with the fact that the LFP chemistry is more resistant to degradation, I expect modern batteries to retain a better SOH.

Under the warranty, from what I understand I just need to pay for the cost of replacement (not the new battery).

Are these cars with Lifetime Warranty expensive compared to the competition? (Comparing Curvv 55 with BE6 50) Yes, slightly but I am willing to pay a little bit more early on for peace of mind in the long run.
Almost none of the manufacturer's warranties cover battery degradation unless it is caused by a defective cell. If your battery degrades naturally (through usage and time), you will have to shell out your money to get a new battery
Sentau is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th January 2025, 18:01   #170

Originally Posted by Eco_boost View Post
I have been looking to upgrade from my 2-year-old Nexon EV (30kw). I’m not happy with its service, seat comfort, lack of features and range (Basically everything). I test drove the Seltos (Turbo petrol) last month, and though it solves most of my problems, I’m hesitant to go back to ICE, considering my running costs will rise 10x.
Enter , The Creta EV.
It fits right in. I get everything I need, along with EV’s running cost advantages. I really hope they price it right. I’ll get an improved range, reliable Hyundai service support all the features one could ask for.
I don’t like the Windsor Ev’s design, it looks too MPVish. And the Mahindra twins are a bit too much for my liking. I like the design but I’m pretty sure it’ll have a 5 year waiting period :uncontro , and with it ‘Lena hai to Lo varna bhaad me jao’ attitude of the sales staff
I would strongly advise you to compare the Creta EV and the MG ZS EV as well. Mg recently has massively cut prices and the ZS, unlike Tata and Mahindra, is a global product, which they've launched across Europe as well. Their service support is also good and MG has been aggressive with charging benefits etcetera lately.
nimblemaster is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th January 2025, 18:52   #171

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
Mahindra's have improved tremendously with respect to reliability. There could be minor niggles with respect to electronics but as a mechanical package they have been praised thoroughly and owners vouch the reliability of 2.2 MHawk or the Mstallion. In EVs too I didn't read any significant issues with respect to reliability of XUV400.

People confuse India reliability when the combine Tata and Mahindra in same sentence. Mahindra's should not be compared with Tata's with respect to reliability, they are much closer to Hyundai-Kia in terms of reliability.
Hi, I completely agree with you in terms of reliability of Mahindra SUVs. I don't mind saying that Mahindra SUVs are far superior to say German (European) & American. In my view Mahindra is at par with Hyundai & Kia in terms of reliability and much-much superior to Japanese & Koreans in build quality. We can argue on perception of Mahindra service station in comparison to Maruti, Hyundai & Kia, but they are better than German (European), American, Chinese & others.

If we look at the EV portfolio, their XUV400 has consistently been selling 700 to 1000 units a month despite the fact that Mahindra is not at all doing aggressive marketing of XUV400 and overall EV passenger vehicle market is less than / around 10000 units a month.

Mahindra's commitment to BEV is excellent and they are poised to be No.1 (or No.2) in EV market in next 6 to 9 months once they launch XUV700 EV at a competitive price of around 25 lacs ex showroom for 79kWh or may be 82kWh (or 86kWh) battery pack.

I think 2025-2027 will be very interesting time for EV market in India. There are approximately 15000 to 20000 buyers are readily available every month who would buy their 1st or 2nd or 3rd car at home which will be EV, provided they get 450km to 550km practical range from the EV.

While I don't expect much from BE 6 and XEV 9E due to their design (& size in case of XEV 9e), still a monthly combined sales of 2000 to 2200 is very much possible from both of them and additional 400 to 500 units of XUV400 is still doable. Time will tell and I will be happy to be proved wrong if Mahindra manage to sell more than what I am expecting.
GoBabyGo is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th January 2025, 21:10   #172

For the folks who are complaining about the BE twins design, I for one, am pleasantly surprised with the design. And maybe an unpopular opinion, but I could be never seen driving the Creta with the ugly front end it has. (The N-line made it bearable).
Also I do understand it’s a personal preference, this makes me wonder, how much do Indian OEMs have to do and achieve just to get the same perception as a foreign brand does even with mediocrity at times.
Coming to the reliability talk, I believe Mahindra is way ahead of Tata. So pooling them together wouldn’t be right imo.
Avoiding the initial batches of Mahindra and waiting a bit for the product to be relatively niggle free is the way to go if you ask me.
SNOWY227 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 12:43   #173

Originally Posted by Comrade View Post
I think Hyundai will price Creta Executive with 51.4 kWh around 18-19L. This is my assumption based on MG ZS 50kWh starting at 19L (with showroom discounts). And BE6 with 59kWh also starting at 19L.

Add another 1-1.5L each for smart, premium and excellence variants. Deduct 1L for 42kWh battery pack.

51.4 kWh pricing guess
18-19L —> Executive
19-20L —> Smart
20-21L —> Premium
21-22L —> Excellence

42 kWh pricing guess
17-18L —> Executive
18-19L —> Smart
19-20L —> Premium
20-21L —> Excellence

Hyundai may also choose to exclude base variant in 51.4kWh battery pack and top variant in 42 kWh battery pack forcing buyers to spend 1-2L more than ideal variant.
I have a completely different view.

1. Hyundai has access to some of the best EV tech in its global portfolio and has been working on grounds-up affordable native EV platforms like the inster. Yet, they have still chosen to do an outdated nexon style EV retrofit on a petrol Creta chassis and body. Hyundai normally don't do such things. It tells me they are after aggressive pricing and volumes. Otherwise, they could have slapped the Creta badge and body style on a native EV skateboard platform.

Given the small EV market in India and issues with range anxiety and charging, I think Hyundai wants to price it as an 'upgrade' to urban commuters coming up from the Venue automatic (~14L on road Mumbai) and potentially going up to the base Creta CVT (18.7L on road Mumbai). The Creta EV real life range will not appeal to folks who love their Creta DSGs for long distance drives. (That would require a native EV platform with ~70 kWh battery.)

2. In EVs, battery size is the top factor for relative positioning for most EV buyers. Hyundai could be targeting the range between 38KWH Windsor and 59 KWH be6. That's 13.5L to 18.9L for base models. I will be difficult to sell a ~50KWH car against ~60KWH model pricing.

3. As an ICE conversion, Creta EV will not be as spacious as the Windsor. Hyundai has cleverly kept the base battery size at 42kWh, just above the Windsor's 38 to make it look like a better/higher product. Creta's real life range at >60kmph may be similar or slightly worse. Hyundai EVs are usually efficient, but Windsor is likely to be more aerodynamic. Besides, ICE conversions to EVs are significantly heavier than native EV platforms. That weight and aero penalty may hurt range. (BTW: Has MG published Windsor EV weight spec in India?)

4. The Indian tax situation for 4m+ cars strongly favours EVs at 5% GST Vs effectively 50% for petrol SUVs above 4m (28% GST + 22% cess). And road tax and registration waivers in some states.

5. Indian EV market is still small. You have to fight for volumes. and this ICE-converted model will not be able to sell in Hyundai's other EV markets. So, it is a risky India-only bet for Hyundai, done at a low development cost.

I suspect Hyundai will start the Creta EV 42kWh base model around 14L. The challenge will be to give it enough features, so it does not lose in comparisons to base and mid models of Windsor EV. Actually, Hyundai India might have wanted to be even more aggressive, but I don't think they can match the Chinese EV supply chain cost structures. And the top-end 51kWh model will be under 20L, possibly ~19L.

EV features like iPedal (single pedal driving) might be common to all models. I just hope Hyundai tunes the higher model's ADAS for Indian city conditions, especially for automatic braking and adaptive cruise - to make it useful for crawling in stop-go traffic and following the traffic at city speeds. Combined with iPedal, it can make Creta EV a near-ideal city automatic for daily commutes on busy roads.
guptad42 is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 6th January 2025, 11:41   #174

Originally Posted by guptad42 View Post
I have a completely different view.

1. Hyundai has access to some of the best EV tech in its global portfolio and has been working on grounds-up affordable native EV platforms like the inster. Yet, they have still chosen to do an outdated nexon style EV retrofit on a petrol Creta chassis and body. Hyundai normally don't do such things. It tells me they are after aggressive pricing and volumes. Otherwise, they could have slapped the Creta badge and body style on a native EV skateboard platform.

Given the small EV market in India and issues with range anxiety and charging, I think Hyundai wants to price it as an 'upgrade' to urban commuters coming up from the Venue automatic (~14L on road Mumbai) and potentially going up to the base Creta CVT (18.7L on road Mumbai). The Creta EV real life range will not appeal to folks who love their Creta DSGs for long distance drives. (That would require a native EV platform with ~70 kWh battery.)

2. In EVs, battery size is the top factor for relative positioning for most EV buyers. Hyundai could be targeting the range between 38KWH Windsor and 59 KWH be6. That's 13.5L to 18.9L for base models. I will be difficult to sell a ~50KWH car against ~60KWH model pricing.

3. As an ICE conversion, Creta EV will not be as spacious as the Windsor. Hyundai has cleverly kept the base battery size at 42kWh, just above the Windsor's 38 to make it look like a better/higher product. Creta's real life range at >60kmph may be similar or slightly worse. Hyundai EVs are usually efficient, but Windsor is likely to be more aerodynamic. Besides, ICE conversions to EVs are significantly heavier than native EV platforms. That weight and aero penalty may hurt range. (BTW: Has MG published Windsor EV weight spec in India?)

4. The Indian tax situation for 4m+ cars strongly favours EVs at 5% GST Vs effectively 50% for petrol SUVs above 4m (28% GST + 22% cess). And road tax and registration waivers in some states.

5. Indian EV market is still small. You have to fight for volumes. and this ICE-converted model will not be able to sell in Hyundai's other EV markets. So, it is a risky India-only bet for Hyundai, done at a low development cost.

I suspect Hyundai will start the Creta EV 42kWh base model around 14L. The challenge will be to give it enough features, so it does not lose in comparisons to base and mid models of Windsor EV. Actually, Hyundai India might have wanted to be even more aggressive, but I don't think they can match the Chinese EV supply chain cost structures. And the top-end 51kWh model will be under 20L, possibly ~19L.

EV features like iPedal (single pedal driving) might be common to all models. I just hope Hyundai tunes the higher model's ADAS for Indian city conditions, especially for automatic braking and adaptive cruise - to make it useful for crawling in stop-go traffic and following the traffic at city speeds. Combined with iPedal, it can make Creta EV a near-ideal city automatic for daily commutes on busy roads.
I would disagree on the pricing. Hyundai would never try to compete with the Windsor in terms of pricing. Hyundai + Creta is the most powerful brand and that in itself usually commands a premium, and has been able to sell cars without a single rupee in discount.

Importantly, the pricing of all EV's in India is marginally higher than the equivalent automatic ICE cars. Every brand and every model has followed this, Hyundai has no reason to undermine their AT's with an EV ( which is effectively an AT).
At the least, the Creta EV will match the AT versions of the Creta ICE in interns of prices, which is currently 18.3 L ex-showroom. The best case scenario for the Creta EV is 17.99L, anything lesser would be a shock, not just a surprise.
abhisheksahas is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 6th January 2025, 12:56   #175

Does anyone know what battery chemistry underlies Hyundai's offering ? In particular is the creta EV going to be based on their NMC (as in Kona and Ioniq) or LFP. In case of latter where are they getting them from ?
Old 6th January 2025, 13:41   #176

Originally Posted by shyampsunder View Post
Personally I am extremely disappointed to see the charging performance of the Creta EV.
I think Hyundai is doing to the Creta EV what Honda did for the Elevate. Invest the minimum possible but make a new model.

MG is really the only company to bring in affordable EVs which aren't ICE converts.

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
The range drops but not that drastically on these modern batteries. IIRC, one of the ZS EV owner shared that he practically loses <1% range per year after having driven about 30K in 2 years. The blade cell batteries the range would drop even slower.
My 2022 MG ZS EV has lost 4% range in 2.5 years and 53,000 kms, I think it is the norm and really nothing to worry about.
Old 6th January 2025, 13:55   #177

Hyundai Creta Electric interior, features revealed.

All-electric Creta gets new steering wheel and centre console.

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-20250106014051_hyundai_cret_electric_interior.jpg

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-screenshot-20250106-135906.png

Name:  Screenshot 20250106 135927.png
Views: 293
Size:  506.7 KB

Hyundai Creta Electric shares most interior bits with standard SUV
Also shares most features with the Creta other than EV-specific kit
51.4kWh battery powers 171hp motor; 42kWh battery powers 135hp
the Creta Electric shares its dashboard, twin 10.25-inch screens (for infotainment and instrumentation) and most of its features – from the dual-zone climate control and Level 2 ADAS suite to the auto-dimming IRVM and 8-speaker Bose audio system – with its petrol and diesel counterparts.
Differences come in the form of a new steering wheel unit and new centre console. As the Creta Electric features a sift-by-wire system accessible via a control stalk on the right side of the steering column, the centre console now features only features cup holders, the buttons for the electronic parking brake and auto-hold function, and drive modes.
Other feature highlights of the Creta Electric, at least in top-spec Excellence variant, include in-car payment for charging the EV, a digital key that allows the owner to use their smartphone to unlock/lock the car, single-pedal driving, vehicle to load (V2L) charging capabilities (with a dedicated plug below the rear bench), voice commands for the infotainment system and Hyundai’s Bluelink in-car connectivity tech.
Link:

Last edited by volkman10 : 6th January 2025 at 14:00.
volkman10 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th January 2025, 13:55   #178

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-imgonlinecomuatwotoonee9dp5goal3bw.jpg

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-snapinsta.app_472010735_603906638856103_5670647801192047265_n_1080.jpg

Hyundai Creta EV in the works-snapinsta.app_472009415_580374718040438_7200024815664734010_n_1080.jpg

AutoCar India | Creta EV interiors
___

Might be controversial but I like the exterior (especially in the blue color it's unveiled in) and interior styling.

Last edited by FlankerFury : 6th January 2025 at 13:59.
FlankerFury is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 6th January 2025, 14:08   #179

Originally Posted by Chrome6Boy View Post
My 2022 MG ZS EV has lost 4% range in 2.5 years and 53,000 kms, I think it is the norm and really nothing to worry about.
If I am not wrong the 2022 ZS ev didn't have blade cell batteries which are supposed to be denser. Battery degradation would even be lower in these blade cell batteries.
Old 6th January 2025, 14:22   #180

Originally Posted by abhisheksahas View Post
I would disagree on the pricing. Hyundai would never try to compete with the Windsor in terms of pricing. Hyundai + Creta is the most powerful brand and that in itself usually commands a premium, and has been able to sell cars without a single rupee in discount.

At the least, the Creta EV will match the AT versions of the Creta ICE in interns of prices, which is currently 18.3 L ex-showroom. The best case scenario for the Creta EV is 17.99L, anything lesser would be a shock, not just a surprise.
Brand respect gets thrown out of the window if the competition comes up with an excellent product. Nexon was mass market India's first SUV shape EV since 2020 or so, and was a sales master. Windsor starting from its first month till date has sold more than Nexon each month and with a substantial margin.

Same would happen with Hyundai, if they aren't cautious with price. Like many mentioned above, Hyundai just seems to be testing waters with Creta EV at the moment. Their born EVs would be the best offerings from Hyundai.

Last edited by 07CR : 6th January 2025 at 14:24.
07CR is online now   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com