Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 8th August 2024, 08:52   #226

Re: BYD Atto 3 Review

While I have been considering the BYD Atto 3 over MG, And other EVs given the battery tech and safety that it claims. However here is a post where BYD has caught fire while charging in India and company has not resolved the issue.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...ened-here.html (BYD Atto 3 charging port fried while charging | What happened here?)

This is from a few hundred cars sold in India.

On further research, found another similar incident from Thailand where BYD Atto 3 fire is being dealt with by fire fighters at the charging station.

Now these are just 2 incidents and there are apparently no such incidents from Europe, or Australia, NewZealand where the car sells in some numbers, but puts a question mark on the safety that BYD claims.
rkv_hunter is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th August 2024, 01:01   #227

Originally Posted by linuxworld View Post
I dropped an email to BYD India and BYD customer care almost 11 days back for queries around Atto3. Finally, today, I received a response. It was a bit disappointing experience since I had to make multiple follow-ups and calls to get a simple response to the email. .
1. Chaoyang or Batman, both are same company and tyres are crap, eventually you have to buy proper tyres from the options available in India.

2. Portable charger was available FOC along with 7.2Kw charger, you have to check the current offer from dealership.

3. Forget about charging cycles, most likely you will scrap the car before charging cycles run out.

4. No SIM and Connected Mobile app available, not today not tomorrow, be prepared. We were promised the same 2 yrs ago, so don't have high hopes.

Last edited by Turbanator : 11th August 2024 at 14:35. Reason: quote trimmed.
Turbo Head is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th August 2024, 10:30   #228

I did a test drive yesterday and the it drives really well. The fit and finish seems really good for the price point it is at (dynamic variant) when compared to other EV's with similar specs.

Few observations:
- The test drive car was banged up in the back. The representative indicated this was due to ADAS. His explanation: when there are many cars driving in traffic close to each other, if ADAS is enabled, then when the car brakes suddenly because it thinks the car ahead of it is too close, the car behind tends to hit this car because there isn't enough time to react. Apparently, this happens quite a lot. Sure, we can debate about driving abilities and what's right/wrong, but the reality is that in cities like Bangalore where a vast majority of the drivers on the road don't know how to drive, ADAS ends up causing more harm than good (highways might be a different story). The representative said they ended up disabling ADAS so that they don't have to deal with this anymore

- I am not sure if this is an issue with this specific car or a generic problem, but I wasn't able to adjust the right side rear view mirror to where I am barely able to see my car's body. Both the representatives tried and they couldn't fix it either. The left side rear view mirror was fine, no issues.

Also, the representative was trying to create a sense of urgency by saying that only 100 dynamic cars will be sold before they pull the plug on it and will sell only have the other 2 models. He claimed that they have received 35 orders for the dynamic so far.

He indicated that only the black car will get dark interiors and rest of the colors will have bright interiors.

He also claimed that only the higher end version gets the inbuilt dashcam and the dynamic version doesn't get one. Is this true?

My major concern is about after sales service. They have one body shop for all of Bangalore in Peenya. Also, the brochure they gave after the test drive says battery lifetime is 1000 cycles (not 5000). It was claimed earlier this was a typo on the website, but the printed brochure says the same thing.

I am keen to buy the Dynamic version to replace my Honda Jazz, but some concerns still remain.
thejaguar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th August 2024, 12:09   #229

Originally Posted by thejaguar View Post

My major concern is about after sales service. They have one body shop for all of Bangalore in Peenya. Also, the brochure they gave after the test drive says battery lifetime is 1000 cycles (not 5000). It was claimed earlier this was a typo on the website, but the printed brochure says the same thing.
Considering the sales volume of BYD, it is more than enough. The largest BYD fleet operator in Bangalore will run their own service facility in collaboration with BYD so plenty of capacity for normal consumers.
ajmat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th August 2024, 14:34   #230

Took a test drive of Cosmos Black Superior variant.

Drive is smooth, drove in normal mode. It was the first EV car I have driven ever. As many people here suggest, it was not something eye popping compared to my Turbo DCT Creta.

Car seemed solid on the road and suspension felt good and smooth.

Tried wireless Apple CarPlay and it worked nicely.

SA tried to show voice commands but car did not respond saying give me some time.

One concern that existing owners can clarify is about the AC. In my current car AC at 23-24 is sufficient in all type of climates, here it felt really insufficient. Also as the AC vents are very low in placement felt there was no air blowing above the chest area and felt hot. Then turned fan to highest speed but it was slight noisy. And managing AC temp and fan speed is really difficult while driving compared to cars having separate ACC module with physical buttons.

Steering felt not too light nor heavy. But felt fully disconnected from the tyres. No feel at all. Did not try any high speed curves to see more.

On Mumbai roads blind spot monitoring was continuously on but felt like a good feature although it comes only in top end.

SA said first batch of delivery is in Oct and next in November for people who booked now.

He said that he got about 300 bookings in Mumbai which is hard to believe given that they sell about 200 in total till July.

Speakers of top end are average, afraid how Dynamic will sound like with 2 speakers less.

Last edited by rkv_hunter : 11th August 2024 at 14:35. Reason: Better structure
rkv_hunter is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th August 2024, 15:30   #231

Originally Posted by rkv_hunter View Post
One concern that existing owners can clarify is about the AC. In my current car AC at 23-24 is sufficient in all type of climates, here it felt really insufficient. Also as the AC vents are very low in placement felt there was no air blowing above the chest area and felt hot. Then turned fan to highest speed but it was slight noisy. And managing AC temp and fan speed is really difficult while driving compared to cars having separate ACC module with physical buttons.
I had a similar experience with AC in my test drive here in Pune. However, when I told them that I was disappointed with AC's performance, they accepted the issue, and it turned out that the test car was earlier used for ARAI tests and had some tuning done with AC. Then they requested to wait until their regular test drive car arrived. After a few hours, I did the test drive again and found AC performance excellent.
linuxworld is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th August 2024, 22:52   #232

Sure, we can debate about driving abilities and what's right/wrong, but the reality is that in cities like Bangalore where a vast majority of the drivers on the road don't know how to drive, ADAS ends up causing more harm than good (highways might be a different story).
In my opinion, ADAS features help when the driver is distracted or drowsy. There is always the option to keep it turned off or reduce the sensitivity in conditions where you think it doesn't work well. It is not a deal breaker.

Also, the brochure they gave after the test drive says battery lifetime is 1000 cycles (not 5000)
Isn't 1000 cycles more than sufficient? The car would've done close to 4 lac kms in that time. 5000 does seem like a typo.
Old 13th August 2024, 23:21   #233

Originally Posted by linuxworld View Post
I had a similar experience with AC in my test drive here in Pune. However, when I told them that I was disappointed with AC's performance, they accepted the issue, and it turned out that the test car was earlier used for ARAI tests and had some tuning done with AC. Then they requested to wait until their regular test drive car arrived. After a few hours, I did the test drive again and found AC performance excellent.
I’m starting to wonder if VW was just a scapegoat and every company just fudges testing data. I’m starting to understand why EVs here, including from prominent Indian brands somehow promise 400-500 kms of range and then barely do 200 kms in the real world.
Old 13th August 2024, 23:41   #234

Originally Posted by Cresterk View Post
I’m starting to wonder if VW was just a scapegoat and every company just fudges testing data. I’m starting to understand why EVs here, including from prominent Indian brands somehow promise 400-500 kms of range and then barely do 200 kms in the real world.
ARAI range is quite far away from reality. Most of the world has moved to WLTP range which is within + or - 10-15% of real world.

The 50kwh Dynamic has a WLTP range of 345 Km and 60kwH is at 420 km so one can expect that range. All Indian manufacturers should also move to declaring WLTP range for a fair idea of range.
Old 14th August 2024, 10:12   #235

BYD is a great car . But in India the best option is to stay away. Looks like the sales staff is trying to push you to buy one. Think 10 times before putting your money on an uncertain on this car. A friend of mine who used to sell BMW cars is now selling BYD. Making significantly more money on each car.
Old 14th August 2024, 14:21   #236

Originally Posted by White bird View Post
BYD is a great car . But in India the best option is to stay away. Looks like the sales staff is trying to push you to buy one. Think 10 times before putting your money on an uncertain on this car. A friend of mine who used to sell BMW cars is now selling BYD. Making significantly more money on each car.
Well to be honest I would think 100 times before buying TATA just to stay away from QC issues and software nightmares. But BYD Atto 3 on the other hand is a global product and there are very less complaints observed in forums/reddit. Also their profit margin right now is less due to Govt import duty taxes. But you have to acknowledge the fact that Chinese are now way ahead in terms of build quality, fit and finish. I agree that Chinese Govt is giving subsidy but that doesn’t mean ours can’t encourage EV adoption. Heck recently China registered more than 50% of new energy vehicles (including PHEV). This is how you make progress, not by slapping taxes but contributing and encouraging manufacturers to innovate fast.
newenergy is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th August 2024, 14:55   #237

Originally Posted by sandip_sm View Post
In my opinion, ADAS features help when the driver is distracted or drowsy. There is always the option to keep it turned off or reduce the sensitivity in conditions where you think it doesn't work well. It is not a deal breaker.
In a country like India and especially, in a city like Bangalore, IMO it's best used on highways. When you are in bumper to bumper traffic with other drivers who really shouldn't be driving at all, I would rather be fully alert and do my best not to get hit or hit anyone else. Why would I want to pay INR 10L + INR 3.5L (10% road tax on 35L), as in, INR 13.5L extra for a feature that will hardly be used for my requirement of city driving?

Originally Posted by sandip_sm View Post
Isn't 1000 cycles more than sufficient? The car would've done close to 4 lac kms in that time. 5000 does seem like a typo.
That's not the point - they have advertised it as 5000 cycles in other countries and have claimed that the 1000 number was a typo in India. Please look at the previous posts in this thread for details.
thejaguar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th August 2024, 15:47   #238

That's not the point - they have advertised it as 5000 cycles in other countries and have claimed that the 1000 number was a typo in India. Please look at the previous posts in this thread for details.
Correct…Also there is a video on YouTube by an EV reviewer on this point saying the BYD blade battery will theoretically last 100 years if you charge once a week hence about 50 cycles per year and hence 100 years.

Old 14th August 2024, 21:24   #239

Hi Guys..
I had booked a BYD Atto 3 White Premium Variant for my wife. We made the booking before the facelift was launched.
We have not received the car yet.
The car has arrived at the stockyard.We were sent the pictures.We also made almost 90% of the payment.
However, they have been unable to register the car as the Vaahan site has not been updated.The updation process may take a while and we will get the car only in September. The dealership has sort of made amends and has given us a replacement car for our daily use, till the time of delivery.A great gesture on their part!
Would like to point out a few things.
- The charging cable is free for the initial bookings.Since we made the booking before the launch, they confirmed that the charging cable will be
complimentary for us.Currently, it is being treated as an accessory and is chargeable.Cost is 25k( what they said).
- The AC Fast charger comes free with the car.It will be a Relux Unit.
- The pre facelift car came with an integrated dashcam.
None of the new variants will have this feature.It will be avilable as an accessory, for 15k.
- Forgot to ask about the tyres. 215/55 18 size tyres wont be cheap. So not planning a tyre upgrade initially.
- There is a site called QpoIndia, which sells car mats( designed according to the footwell of each car model).
Ordered mats online and received them today.Came to Rs.3160( Dealership was quoting 12,500 for mats).The quality appeared decent.
-Red colour is not available any more.Blue will have a long waiting period.
Will update.

Last edited by sushanthys : 14th August 2024 at 21:26. Reason: Adding more information
sushanthys is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 00:36   #240

Originally Posted by Pacifier View Post

I had previously planned to get VW Taigun GT Plus for ~22L onroad with recent offers and got swayed to this one and booked. Still trying to justify the price difference(its 31L on-road in telangana).

Although this one feels to be from a different segment (quality, finish, space , features etc). Any thoughts from fellow members/owners of this one?
I am also in same boat, debating between Curvv top end vs. Atto 3 dynamic variant. It is 4L difference, not sure worth the difference.
Did you consider Curvv by any chance? BTW, any discounts from your dealer.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com