Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 24th September 2024, 10:54   #46

Re: Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review

Originally Posted by manaljain View Post
Test drove the EQS 580 today itself and boy oh boy it was nuts! May I know how much benefit you’re getting as discount so that it’ll help me negotiate a good deal on the car. I’m looking forward to this car for my mother as she herself is a keen driver.
Hello. I've sent you a PM about my deal. The standard discount for MY2023 is approximately 35 lakhs before GST plus Gold insurance FOC as per September offer. You will have to bargain for more discounts.
bamaboy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2024, 11:31   #47

Originally Posted by bamaboy View Post
After coming across news about the discounts in the forum and doing some deliberate research, I finally took the plunge and booked a 2023 Black EQS580 in Avantgarde Trim. Delivery during Navratri.

I casually enquired with Raipur dealer and they offered a Test Drive. I drove it for almost 110kms on the highway followed by short city drive the day after with the family. The car feels like a space ship! Ride quality is superb. Power delivery is smooth, linear and strong. This is a massive upgrade to my 2015 W205 C200.
First of all congratulations for purchase, i am sure it will be a rather fun and exciting journey.

I am sorry I could not reply to your PM as reverting to PM option is still not available to me. I am not sure how we can connect in private, probably you can send me an email through my profile.

Last edited by KarthikK : 24th September 2024 at 11:52. Reason: Edited out private email ID for privacy reasons :)
Rahul_ak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2024, 14:41   #48

Hello everyone,

Came across a demo EQS580 Sedan with 8000 Km. Wanted to your advice on thinks to lookout for given that it is a demo. I am of the feeling that demo electric vehicles are less prone to abuse given that there is practically no break-in necessary. Also, is about 1Cr on read (no road tax) worth the money or would I be better off buying ICE E class or GLE considering the depreciation? I currently have a 2016 E250 W212 which I could replace with the EQS.

I would not do cross country drives and longest trip I would do in a day is 650KM so range is not an issue in the EQS.

Look forward to your valuable inputs.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 7th February 2025 at 00:30. Reason: Spacing and formatting
ujwal1989 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th December 2024, 08:12   #49

Originally Posted by ujwal1989 View Post
Hello everyone,
Came across a demo EQS580 Sedan with 8000 Km. Wanted to your advice on thinks to lookout for given that it is a demo. !
Go for it ! I bought a EQS 580 just yesterday! Wouldn’t have been my usual choice but EVs depreciate hard and that’s what makes it worthwhile.

I wouldn’t be bothered with the 8000 km and demo history since it doesn’t have an engine it’s lesser wear and tear parts.
I would suggest negotiate harder and try to bring your price down a bit below 1cr. You will be surprised to see that the dealership might just agree.

At that price, it’s a loooot of car for the money.
Sahil is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 24th December 2024, 09:19   #50

Hello everyone,
Came across a demo EQS580 Sedan with 8000 Km. Wanted to your advice on thinks to lookout for given that it is a demo. I am of the feeling that demo electric vehicles are less prone to abuse given that there is practically no break-in necessary. Also, is about 1Cr on read (no road tax) worth the money or would I be better off buying ICE E class or GLE considering the depreciation? I currently have a 2016 E250 W212 which I could replace with the EQS.
I would not do cross country drives and longest trip I would do in a day is 650KM so range is not an issue in the EQS.
My dealer recently sold a 2022 demo EQS with 28,000 km on the odometer for 80 lakhs. I’d say negotiate hard and go ahead with the purchase as it’s a fantastic value proposition.

I often undertake 400 km one-way trips to Nagpur and typically achieve a range of around 550 km in Comfort mode, even with features like massagers and seat coolers activated. My EQS typically returns economy of 205Wh/Km on Highway and 255Wh/Km in City. ADAS aided Intelligent Recuperation is fantastic! If you aim for a range of 650 km, you’ll need to drive sedately in Eco Mode. Autocar even set a Guinness record of 949 km in the EQS, but that was achieved using the "Maximise Range" option with most electronic aids turned off.

When considering a used or demo EQS, ensure you inspect the underbody and running boards for signs of abuse or damage. These areas are particularly vulnerable and can reveal if the car has been driven carelessly or over rough terrain.

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Go for it ! I bought a EQS 580 just yesterday! Wouldn’t have been my usual choice but EVs depreciate hard and that’s what makes it worthwhile.

I wouldn’t be bothered with the 8000 km and demo history since it doesn’t have an engine it’s lesser wear and tear parts.
I would suggest negotiate harder and try to bring your price down a bit below 1cr. You will be surprised to see that the dealership might just agree.

At that price, it’s a loooot of car for the money.
Many congratulations! You’ll absolutely love the driveability, especially in the city. The rear-wheel steering is a game-changer for maneuvering in tight spaces.

Ensure you get the suspension software updated as it enhances the ride height at "Raised" position. Additionally, ask your dealer to tweak the software to keep the emergency braking system turned off at all times for a peaceful experience.

I’d also recommend investing in 9D mats, as the white carpets tend to get dirty quickly.

Last edited by bamaboy : 24th December 2024 at 09:38.
bamaboy is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th December 2024, 19:14   #51

Thank you @Sahil and @bamaboy for your reassuring works and suggestions!

I took a test drive today and the vehicle was in decent condition indeed.

I gave the exec. my target price (OTR 90 lakhs) and the dealership is working on their final numbers. Fingers crossed! Will keep you posted.
ujwal1989 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th December 2024, 06:01   #52

Both EQS580 and EQE SUV 500 are showing up at a price of 1CR-1.15cr with Mercedes. Thank you @Sahil, @bamaboy @Rahul_ak with your comments related to EQS purchase. Really appreciate it. Have you all started any ownership thread as well? It'll be a great source of detail for prospective buyers.

For me, the low GC is a fairly serious concern. My use case is a regular Blr-hyd drive of 560km and this stretch has some bad speed breakers. Plus the Indian highways are always under construction - in last 3 years of me being on this highway, some or other patch has always had a detour which I feel will be a concern to low GC of EQS. What has been your experience in crossing those notorious speed bumps and what precautions you all have been taking.

Last edited by raviemailid : 29th December 2024 at 06:02.
Old 1st January 2025, 01:47   #53

My

Ensure you get the suspension software updated as it enhances the ride height at "Raised" position. Additionally, ask your dealer to tweak the software to keep the emergency braking system turned off at all times for a peaceful experience.

I’d also recommend investing in 9D mats, as the white carpets tend to get dirty quickly.
Thanks for pointing these out as they were my concerns too. My Mercedes ME app shows there is a suspension software update but I can’t install it over the air it seems. Is there a way to do this ?

The emergency braking is very annoying. Didn’t know there was a way to switch it off permanently.

Can you send me a link to the 9D mats. They usually feel very plasticky. How has your experience been with them?
Old 1st January 2025, 15:00   #54

Originally Posted by raviemailid View Post
Both EQS580 and EQE SUV 500 are showing up at a price of 1CR-1.15cr with Mercedes. Thank you @Sahil, @bamaboy @Rahul_ak with your comments related to EQS purchase. Really appreciate it. Have you all started any ownership thread as well? It'll be a great source of detail for prospective buyers.

For me, the low GC is a fairly serious concern. My use case is a regular Blr-hyd drive of 560km and this stretch has some bad speed breakers. Plus the Indian highways are always under construction - in last 3 years of me being on this highway, some or other patch has always had a detour which I feel will be a concern to low GC of EQS. What has been your experience in crossing those notorious speed bumps and what precautions you all have been taking.
I'll post a brief ownership experience soon. The EQS Limousine requires careful handling as it tends to scrape bigger speed bumps. You can raise the suspension for rough patches or diversions and drive it cautiously. You'll need to plan routes ensuring highway/expressway roads. The standard ground clearance is low but raised suspension makes bad roads manageable. It is comparable to an E-Class when raised. It also has underbody plastic protection and a steel casing for the battery pack, designed to absorb most scrapes and impacts but you have to be careful as you can damage running board.

If ground clearance is a concern, consider the EQE SUV. It’s similar to the EQS SUV with features like the Hyperscreen but has a smaller 91 kWh battery pack. Choose as per discounts and personal preference.

Thanks for pointing these out as they were my concerns too. My Mercedes ME app shows there is a suspension software update but I can’t install it over the air it seems. Is there a way to do this ?

The emergency braking is very annoying. Didn’t know there was a way to switch it off permanently.

Can you send me a link to the 9D mats. They usually feel very plasticky. How has your experience been with them?
The suspension software update takes some time to download. I attempted it 3-4 times before successfully installing it. The update file seems quite large which takes time to download fully with the car’s onboard internet. You can try connecting via hotspot for faster download speed. As a last resort, you can have the dealer install the update for you.

My car is currently at the service center for the following issues:
- Driver handle sensor not working.
- Headlight beam alignment issues.
- Manufacturing defect (bulge) in the rear right tire.
I have also requested them to update the software for the emergency braking system and keep it deactivated at all times.

The dealer provided EQS all-weather mats for the rear and W223 S-Class all-weather mats for the front. However, I returned the front mats as they were a misfit.

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-whatsapp-image-20250101-14.55.21_3146e1ee.jpg

I purchased these 9D mats: Amazon Link. The come in different material colour and stitch colour options.

The 9D mats come in two parts: an inner lining and upper noodle mats that attach with Velcro.

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-whatsapp-image-20250101-14.54.34_3f94d2da.jpg

I’ve installed the inner lining and replaced the rear noodle mats with the all-weather EQS mats. For the front, I’m considering replacing the noodle mats with Michelin mats. Will post some pictures soon.
At the rear, I’ve added custom-cut rubber mats from a local accessory shop.

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-whatsapp-image-20241011-12.03.06_676a89fc.jpg
Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-whatsapp-image-20241011-12.11.04_6d7a6501.jpg

Additionally, I installed Garware Arctic Cool 55% tints for the side windows and Sunkool HD 70% tint for the front windshield.

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-whatsapp-image-20241011-12.10.40_4726ddfe.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-whatsapp-image-20241011-12.09.59_d420ef54.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-whatsapp-image-20241011-12.04.26_c989494d.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-whatsapp-image-20241011-12.03.27_61236187.jpg

This Youtube channel : https://www.youtube.com/@EQS-Owner is very insightful.
bamaboy is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 4th January 2025, 09:59   #55

The suspension software update takes some time to download. I attempted it 3-4 times before successfully installing it. The update file seems quite large which takes time to download fully with the car’s onboard internet. You can try connecting via hotspot for faster download speed. As a last resort, you can have the dealer install the update for you.

My car is currently at the service center for the following issues:
- Driver handle sensor not working.
- Headlight beam alignment issues.
- Manufacturing defect (bulge) in the rear right tire.
I have also requested them to update the software for the emergency braking system and keep it deactivated at all times.

The dealer provided EQS all-weather mats for the rear and W223 S-Class all-weather mats for the front. However, I returned the front mats as they were a misfit.
Could you please share the part number and picture of the rear all weather floor mats?

Also was the dealership able to disable the auto braking ?
Is there a way to disable the recuperation at start for all times ?
Old 6th January 2025, 19:24   #56

My EQS580 Purchase Experience: From Casual Inquiry to Delivery

My father and I have always been Mercedes enthusiasts, with the S-Class being an aspirational car. Our first experience with an S-Class was in 2015, while finalizing the purchase of our W205 C-Class at Auto Hangar, Nagpur. That’s when we encountered the W222 S-Class in the flesh and boy it felt like an elegant, extravagant time machine, far ahead of its time.

Over the nearly 10 years since purchasing the W205, it has been more of a "halo car" in the garage - a proper garage queen. It spent most of its time sitting in pristine condition while our other, more practical cars handled the daily drives, highway runs, and chores. The S-Class remained the car I aspire to own next.

During September, while casually browsing the New Luxury Car Price Check Thread, I learned about deals and offers on the EQS. Having had a pleasant experience with the MG ZS EV, I was curious to explore a luxury EV, especially with the current market full of attractive offers. The following week, on my way from Nagpur to Bilaspur, I casually called the sales advisor at Mercedes-Benz Raipur, mostly out of boredom. I mentioned I was enroute and expressed interest in stopping by to check out the EQS. However, due to time constraints, I decided to postpone the visit. That’s when they suggested something unexpected: I could test drive the EQS on my way from Raipur to Bilaspur, and they’d arrange for a driver to follow in my C-Class. I test-drove the EQS for 110 km and was completely captivated by its space-ship like interior, features and superb ride quality. The experience was sublime and made me believe that a luxury EV is the best thing to have. It was mind-blowing.

After the test drive, I began rigorous research regarding the longevity of the battery pack, the future of electric cars, and insights from various EQS forums, threads and Youtube channels. I also evaluated whether my investment could turn into a liability in five years. While I had done prior research before buying the MG ZS EV, the use cases for the two cars are entirely different. The ZS EV is for ferrying family and handling daily city chores, saving ₹12,000–₹13,000 per month in running costs. In contrast, buying a luxury EV like the EQS isn’t about saving on running costs, it’s about experiencing refinement and innovation. For me the EQS was destined to be a halo car, not a daily commuter. However, I did find the EQS Limousine somewhat impractical for a tier-2 city like ours, where SUVs like the GLE or GLS feel more suited. I currently own a pre-owned 2010 first-generation GL350, and despite its age, it remains a phenomenal off-roader and a great family tourer. I absolutely adore it. Replacing the GL350 with a new GLS wouldn’t make sense for me. My work often involves traveling to mines and dusty areas, and the rough traffic and challenging conditions here would quickly wear down a brand-new GLS. The GL350, on the other hand, is my dependable old steed. I’m perfectly at ease taking it on off-road mine trails, through mud, or parking it anywhere without a second thought. For me, a halo car like the S-Class, GLS, or EQS should remain true to its purpose: reserved for elegance and refinement, not subjected to daily rugged use. The S-Class has always been a dream car for me and the EQS feels quite close to it. From a self-driven perspective, the EQS even surpasses the W223 S-Class, making it truly exceptional.

After discussing with my family, we invited the sales team to bring the demo car to our home in Bilaspur. We did a family test drive, and after final negotiations, we immediately finalized the deal for a 2023-manufactured Obsidian Black EQS that was in stock.

We took delivery of the car with the family on October 5th. City Star, Raipur, provided an excellent sales experience. They displayed remarkable expertise in turning a casual inquiry into a successful sale, their proactive approach sealed the deal. They were exceptionally kids-friendly adding a delightful personal touch to the experience.

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20240926_161228.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241005_150632.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241005_164302.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241005_164458.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241005_164605.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241117_155554.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241123_092953.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241123_093036.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241123_093058.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241130_184107.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241023_222825.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241024_092130.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241012_174022.jpg

Comparing it with the newly launched EQS SUV :

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241024_114206.jpg

Mercedes-Benz EQS 580 4Matic Review-20241024_114213.jpg

I've covered 3,000 km so far, including four long-distance trips. Most of the key driving experiences have already been shared in the posts above. I'll share a detailed review soon.
bamaboy is offline   (55) Thanks
Old 7th January 2025, 12:31   #57

The suspension software update takes some time to download. I attempted it 3-4 times before successfully installing it. The update file seems quite large which takes time to download fully with the car’s onboard internet.

Hi. Does your car’s onboard internet work? In my car it does not work and when I spoke with the service center they said that feature isn’t available in India. So I usually connect my car to hotspot whenever I want to use the connectivity (especially during world radio)

Also did they succeed to turn the emergency brake system off permanently? It is quite intrusive especially during traffic and I would love to have it deactivated forever.

I agree to the suggestion of starting an ownership thread. Can discuss our experiences and any nitty gritties which come up.

Hello everyone,
As everyone says it is truly an amazing car. Perfect mix of luxury and driving thrill. Anything under a crore is a very good deal. I got mine same time last for 1.1cr MY2023 demo with 2400 kms on it.

It does scrape under horrible speed breakers and one must be careful. Just ask them to load the car on the ramp and check the steel casing protecting the battery for wear and tear. I had got that replaced before purchase. Rest I did not worry much as the vehicle is under warranty and any issues arising will be taken care off.

Last edited by KarthikK : 7th January 2025 at 12:48. Reason: Please use the EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another on the same thread. Thanks!
Rahul_ak is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 16:48   #58

Could you please share the part number and picture of the rear all weather floor mats?

Also was the dealership able to disable the auto braking ?
Is there a way to disable the recuperation at start for all times ?
The part no. for rear all weather mats is A29768055069051. They don't make front all weather mats for RHD EQS.

My car is still at Mercedes-Benz service. I spoke with my Service Advisor yesterday, and they informed me that while they have updated the software, they are unable to disable Auto Emergency Braking. They mentioned that they lack full access to modify this feature for Indian-spec EQS models. However, they assured me that a future software update might allow them to disable the emergency braking system.

Additionally, the car always defaults to Normal recuperation mode upon startup. While you can turn it off, it only remembers this setting for short trips. Despite this limitation, I find Normal or Intelligent recuperation beneficial. I always drive in Intelligent recuperation mode to minimize emergency braking interventions, even during city driving.

Originally Posted by Rahul_ak View Post
Hi. Does your car’s onboard internet work? In my car it does not work and when I spoke with the service center they said that feature isn’t available in India. So I usually connect my car to hotspot whenever I want to use the connectivity (especially during world radio)

Also did they succeed to turn the emergency brake system off permanently? It is quite intrusive especially during traffic and I would love to have it deactivated forever.

I agree to the suggestion of starting an ownership thread. Can discuss our experiences and any nitty gritties which come up.

As everyone says it is truly an amazing car. Perfect mix of luxury and driving thrill. Anything under a crore is a very good deal. I got mine same time last for 1.1cr MY2023 demo with 2400 kms on it.

It does scrape under horrible speed breakers and one must be careful. Just ask them to load the car on the ramp and check the steel casing protecting the battery for wear and tear. I had got that replaced before purchase. Rest I did not worry much as the vehicle is under warranty and any issues arising will be taken care off.
The onboard internet in the EQS is limited to supporting onboard navigation, connected car features, and downloading OTA updates. For accessing Mercedes Apps, you need to connect the car to a Bluetooth or Wi-Fi hotspot. Additionally, the SOS feature is not active.

I feel Mercedes-Benz has taken a step back for Indian customers by not offering certain unique features available in other markets. For example, Indian EQS models lack Mercedes Apps' full functionality, advanced options like headlight projection, and augmented reality on the HUD display. While European and American EQS models have numerous apps and customization options, the Indian version offers only 2–3 basic apps, which is disappointing.
bamaboy is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th January 2025, 19:38   #59

Hi, congratulations on your new ride! It was a great report about the vehicle, and I can't help but keep staring at the immaculate condition of your W124 E-Class. It's very cool.
Ak24rapid is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th January 2025, 10:41   #60

Has anyone managed to install a dashcam in their EQS? I've been asking the SVC since day one and all they say is they will be getting it soon. And i am unsure if i should opt for the third party as dont as i am unsure how it will be installed. Any suggestions?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com