Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 4th March 2025, 14:11   #1336

Re: 2022 MG ZS EV Facelift Review

Originally Posted by Chrome6Boy View Post
​Our 2022 MG ZS EV turns three years old in a few months. I have a question about connected tech. Does our validity expire for the Android app and Map my India? If so, can someone please let me know how much the renewal costs?

Also has anyone taken extended warranty? My car has done 56,000 kms, I was planning to buy the extended warranty during the 60,000 kms service. Does anyone know how much it'd cost?

You should be able to find renewal details on the 'My MG' app (under 'my subscriptions' tab). It shows two subscriptions - Jio Data (for all connected features, I believe) & JioSaavn (for the music app). No idea on the costs as my subscriptions are still valid.

Doesn't your car come with 5 years warranty as standard? My June 2023 ZS EV has 5 years standard warranty (not extendable further, unfortunately). MG has however currently brought it down to 3+2, as far as I am aware.
fordfreak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2025, 15:19   #1337
anb

50000 km Review

2022 MG ZS EV Facelift Review-img_2777.jpeg

I bought a MG ZS Exclusive on March 23, 2023. Purchasing an electric car is primarily done to test out the new technology. I wanted a small, daily personal vehicle. The vehicles under consideration were the BYD Atto 3, Kona, ZS EV, and Nexon EV Max. Nexon was too common, Kona felt outdated, I could not digest the Atto 3's interior, and BYD service was unknown. So ultimately decided on the MG ZS

What I like about ZS EV
The build quality of the car is good. It felt very similar to our VW Polo. The interior quality & design is good. The front seats are comfortable and haven’t been seated in the back. The kids mainly use the back seat or it is left empty most of the time. The BMS of the car is well sorted. I never faced any issues related to battery and charging. I have driven the car till 2% and it never showed any problems. The performance is very good, not exceptional. If you steer clear of extraneous things like 3M cleaning and AC disinfection, the servicing costs are minimal. Because of regenerative braking, the brake pads have a long lifespan. All of my vehicles had their brake pads changed before 30,000 kilometers. However, at fifty thousand kilometers, the brake pads on this car are still stock.

What I dislike about ZS EV
The most negative aspect of MG ZS EV is the suspension. It feels stiff at low speeds and soft at higher speeds. The ride is never settled on uneven roads. There are a lot of body movements at speeds on uneven roads. I drive this car slower than other cars, just because it doesn’t feel settled. The steering is light and it doesn’t offer much feedback.
For a car this small, the turning radius is 5.6 meters. The car is similar to Seltos in size, but the turning radius is closer to Fortuner. The 360-degree camera is another source of annoyance. It is not suitable for a car that costs more than 20 lakhs and is of extremely low quality. There is a glitch in the reverse camera. It doesn't always turn on. The speakers are of very poor quality.

Faults
The only issue I faced was related to headlights. The front left indicator light stopped working and the headlight assembly was replaced under warranty. Now the right headlight drl has a slight yellowish colour.

Tires.
The car came with 215/55 R17 Continental UC6 tires. The tires lasted 30000 km and were replaced with Continentals again. I drive a bit enthusiastically and mostly on ghat roads. So, all my cars have slightly lesser tire life, around 20K- 30K km. The MG ZS EV also gave similar tire life,

Range
I haven't noticed any drop in range after driving 50k km. The car used to display 400 Km on the app when fully charged when it is new. Now it is down to 398 km. The State of Health shown is 96.64 % at 50k km.

2022 MG ZS EV Facelift Review-soh.jpg

2022 MG ZS EV Facelift Review-unnamed-1.jpg

Expenses

The total expenses for running 50k km is Rs. 171060. This includes service costs of Rs.13056, total charging costs of Rs. 72531 and other expenses like insurance, tyres, tolls, which amount to Rs.85473. The total running expense per km is Rs 3.42

2022 MG ZS EV Facelift Review-ruuning-costs.jpg

Last edited by anb : 12th March 2025 at 15:32.
anb is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 17th March 2025, 16:39   #1338

Reporting here a strange occurrence that happened with my ZS EV yesterday. I had parked my car in an open parking near a local market place. Two slots away was another black ZS EV, exactly the same as mine. I ran some errands in the market and came back. Was extremely surprised to find that my car was unlocked when I returned. Puzzled, I attributed the unlocking to my forgetfulness (I thought I didn't lock it properly, although that never happens) and entered the car. Immediately upon entering, a few passersby approached me and told me how my car was unlocked by another elderly person who had entered the car but didn't drive it out (due to being locked out from starting the car or due to his goodwill after realizing how it wasn't his car, I don't really know). They told me after a while he exited the car and entered the other black ZS EV and drove away. They thought it to be important enough to inform me and I'm a bit worried now. Does the key somehow recognise similarly coloured cars or is there some kind of production batch encryption? Scary that someone with the same kind of car could unlock my car. I don't really know what would've happened if they drove away with it. Request someone who has knowledge about car key encryption/ mechanics to help out. I was thinking of emailing MG about it.
nimblemaster is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 21st March 2025, 11:52   #1339

Originally Posted by nimblemaster View Post
Reporting here a strange occurrence that happened with my ZS EV yesterday. I had parked my car in an open parking near a local market place. Two slots away was another black ZS EV, exactly the same as mine. I ran some errands in the market and came back. Was extremely surprised to find that my car was unlocked when I returned. Puzzled, I attributed the unlocking to my forgetfulness (I thought I didn't lock it properly, although that never happens) and entered the car. Immediately upon entering, a few passersby approached me and told me how my car was unlocked by another elderly person who had entered the car but didn't drive it out (due to being locked out from starting the car or due to his goodwill after realizing how it wasn't his car, I don't really know). They told me after a while he exited the car and entered the other black ZS EV and drove away. They thought it to be important enough to inform me and I'm a bit worried now. Does the key somehow recognise similarly coloured cars or is there some kind of production batch encryption? Scary that someone with the same kind of car could unlock my car. I don't really know what would've happened if they drove away with it. Request someone who has knowledge about car key encryption/ mechanics to help out. I was thinking of emailing MG about it.
This is scary, but Relay/Replay/KeeLoq/Bruteforce attacks are a grim reality (Youtube will show even very high end brands falling prey to it).
We never know what shortcuts our "friendly neighbourhood" manufacturer has taken in PKE (Passive Keyless Entry) implementation.
If this is widespread, hoping MG will provide a security firmware update for the BCM.

Last edited by Digital Vampire : 21st March 2025 at 11:54.
Digital Vampire is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th March 2025, 08:39   #1340
anb

The car was showing a range of 398 km and a state of health of 96.6% at 50k km . I did a couple of fast charging (till 81%), drained the battery till 3% and did a slow charging to 100% using a 3kw charger. Now the range is back to 400 km and battery state of health increased to 97.08%
2022 MG ZS EV Facelift Review-img_2887.jpeg  

2022 MG ZS EV Facelift Review-b77bc1494a3149ce8bfd064c0f981fa7.jpeg  

Last edited by anb : 26th March 2025 at 08:52.
anb is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 28th March 2025, 12:26   #1341

Originally Posted by anb View Post
The car was showing a range of 398 km and a state of health of 96.6% at 50k km . I did a couple of fast charging (till 81%), drained the battery till 3% and did a slow charging to 100% using a 3kw charger. Now the range is back to 400 km and battery state of health increased to 97.08%
Good to see SOH increase after smail charging. For my usage I need to charge twice a week. I charge once on the 7.2 kW AC charger and once on my portable 3.3 kw charger and try to hit 100% both times.
Old 29th March 2025, 13:10   #1342

Which year is your ZS EV?
Also which OBD Adapter and App are you using for SoH measurement?

I tried with OBDLINK MX+ and eZS App when my car was new in 2024, but the app didnt support 2022+ model cars then, may be they might have included support later. Will check!
Old 7th April 2025, 11:54   #1343
anb

Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post
Which year is your ZS EV?
Also which OBD Adapter and App are you using for SoH measurement?

I tried with OBDLINK MX+ and eZS App when my car was new in 2024, but the app didnt support 2022+ model cars then, may be they might have included support later. Will check!
I purchased the car on March 2023. I am using eZS app and the obd reader is quoted below.

anb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2025, 16:29   #1344

Originally Posted by ishekk View Post
I recently charged MG ZS EV from 0% to 100% using DC fast charger to find out how many KWhs it consumes.
I wonder how the car was able to give 450 KMs of range on ARAI test cycle. Noida - Greater Noida expressway driving conditions are too idle as there is minimal braking involved and one can cruise under 60 KM/h easily. And here I struggled to cross 380 KMs range.
I think you need to understand the ARAI test cycle better. It is not very reflective of real life conditions.
Additionally, I would like to add that the 50.3 kwh battery comes with a buffer of approx 2kwh so the usable battery in a brand new car is 48kwh. If we assume that the battery entire life would be 200000 kms by which point it would degrade by, say 30% (which is the allowable degradation in the 8yr/160000 km warranty), then it means every 6-7000 kms, it will degrade by 1%. So effectively, that is another 0.5 kwh battery capacity gone from 48kwh.

You can rework your calculations based on the above inputs and see what is the true picture.
Old 11th April 2025, 14:01   #1345
vdk

Originally Posted by Rada View Post
For my MG ZS EV, I decided not to install the 7.4 kw ac fast charger that comes with the vehicle. The reason for this being the fact that I live in an apartment complex where the sanctioned load for each apartment is only 5 kw. So, I would have to approach the EB for additional load sanction if I were to install the fast charger. So, I decided against it.

The box you see in the photo is manufactured by Legrand India for Tata Nexon EV-s. It contains an MCB and a 16A plug socket nicely encased in a metal box with a lid which can be locked. You cannot see this item listed on the Legrand website because it is specifically put together for Tata Nexon. However, when I approached Legrand through their Twitter handle, they were happy to offer me a readymade unit.

This is what I have installed now to slow charge my vehicle. All I had to do was draw a 15A line from my home DB and connect it to the Legrand connection box. Since the box can be completely closed and locked (even while charging), it protects the connection from dust, rain etc and also from tampering and pilferage.

Hope prospective ZS EV owners find this information, useful.
Thanks, I am doing same for my EV. Got 11kW charger but due to my parking distance(180m) not going to install 11kw charger and planning to install 3kw portable charger which I bought separately. If I go with 11kw setup cost comes around 2Lac for installation which include free 10m wire and free charger. With 3kw setup cost comes around 60k to 70k. It also better for battery life.
Old 20th April 2025, 15:59   #1346

Hello everyone!
Became a member of the EV club on 22 Jan, bit the bullet and brought home the MG ZS EV EXCITE PRO. Got a pretty decent discount thanks to 2024 model.
I love the car and have driven around 7000 odd kms till now.
Everyone has stated the PROs of this car and it being a well tested product there is hardly things to dislike but well there are some which I want to discuss and need your advice on:

1) The speakers : Though Mg advertises JBL speakers with excite pro but they are completely ehh, and I am thinking to replace them and I think adding good speakers would require an AMP as well and will it be okay to install am amplifier in the car ?
Or I should get decent speakers and damping ? Not looking for any lavish upgrade just good audio experience.

2) The lights : As someone who is in the automotive business and have good knowledge about lighting and upgrades, will it be okay to add auxiliary lights to the vehicle around 60W a piece, makes kt 120W total output for 2 pieces in the grill.

Also was thinking about upgrading headlight projectors, have seen some videos on youtube regarding the same. But opening the headlights and removing the seal still gives me the chills as I doubt how clean the process would be unless I can get an expert to do it.

3) Since my model is excite pro, it doesn’t have auto fold mirrors, please advise if anything can be done ?
Will adding a relay be enough or do I need to change mirrors and add motor to the mirrors as well ?

4) The seats are annoying, I haven’t been able to find a decent sitting position and since I started driving this car my lower back has completely gone, have added a lower back cushion but still it aches.

5) How much range do all of you get in peak summers ? I can’t seem to get anything above 4-5km/kwh in this hot weather of delhi. I was getting an average of 6.5-8km/kWh during Jan/feb.
With 5km/kwh the range would be around 200-250 kms which for my use seems inadequate.
Please advice.

I am using a 7 kw imported charger, the charger is portable and is very decent and have been using it since I got the car and am completely satisfied.
Should I also charge the car with 3.3kwh charger I got ?
Jatin247 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2025, 23:38   #1347

My friend recently bought 2023 ZS EV through Pre owned route. Can you help me on how to check the SOH on application?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com