Old 24th June 2024, 17:52   #1156

Re: 2022 MG ZS EV Facelift Review

Originally Posted by sushanthys View Post
Did you install the MG dashcam?
I wanted to install one and the MG Dashcam was available but the dealer told me there were lot of complaints with it and asked me not to use it.
Have not installed one yet.
Any suggestions regarding a good brand?
Yes, I had installed it. But not happy with it for the following reasons.
  1. The 'MG DVR PRO' app is very glitchy and has a poorly designed interface.
  2. Camera unit feels very plasticky and fragile.
  3. Advertised it as a 360-degree camera, but in essence, it is only a forward facing unit. It can be adjusted to record inside the cabin or the road ahead (not both together).
  4. Very hard to insert / remove the memory card.
  5. For some reason the dealer has routed the wiring to the USB slot in the center console (and not the USB slot in the IRVM), stating it would not work via the IRVM slot (!!??).
My car is due for it's 10,000 KM service next week and I have asked the service center to remove the dash-cam. I am planning to get rid of this unit and switch to Qubo (which I have installed on all my other vehicles). The Qubo app is also decent and works fine.
fordfreak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th June 2024, 19:33   #1157

The auto wipers on the ZS (executive variant) are having a mind of their own.

The wipers are getting activated even when it is not raining (especially when you are passing by heavy vehicles where there is a bit of a sand blast/similar effect).

I couldn't really find a way to tweak the sensitivity settings. How do we avoid the above issue?

Have anyone faced this issue?
Old 28th June 2024, 13:00   #1158

Originally Posted by mountainboy1213 View Post
Bumping this thread!
Congratulations on your booking. See Zekardo for the PDI. I think they charge about INR 2500 in Bangalore. Caveat - they are good for ICEs but their OBD isn't fully set up for EVs. Nonetheless, I would recommend them.

Another caveat - I couldn't get my car inspected by them because of some confusion with the dealer regarding the delivery date. In short, I expected to get the car on X date, and had planned the PDI for X-1. But the dealer said the car will be ready on X-1 or X-2 if I wanted, and after the elders in the family vetoed X-2 because of the usual horoscope drama, I confirmed that I will take the delivery on X-1. This advancement meant that the Zekardo person couldn't reschedule his visits, and I was far too excited to get the car instead of waiting for one more day, so I did the PDI myself, which was just a manual, cursory inspection for any scratches or dents. There have been no concerns so far, though.

I got the 7D (or 5D or whatever they call them) mats, mudflaps, and the number plate garnish, only because the dealer was unwilling to return the booking amount. I'm happy with them. For the dashcam, it was the Qubo Pro 3x front and back. Decent, satisfactory.

Can't answer much about insurance because mine's a company-lease car and there was no choice in the matter. But I had Acko previously for my Celerio, and when I wanted to claim for the bumper replacement, they said the claim initiation charges were INR 5000 (plus taxes). For a total claim amount of INR 8000, it did not make sense, so I never used their services. They are priced low but it is not only because of the lack of middlemen/agents, and there are a lot of things to understand as well.

Hope that helps!

Originally Posted by Nancoff View Post
Have also done a run from home to dharmashala and onward to Mangalore with minimum battery used as most of the drive was downhill . Had lunch at fiza forum and charged with jio bp. The charging was completed before we had lunch. On the return journey via the same charmady ghat had the battery depleted by 50 percent because of the uphill ghat road
Writing this review while waiting for my first service in electronic City Bangalore.
Congratulations! We should meet! I'm also a Mangalorean staying in E City. Welcome to the EV club and happy motoring to you too.

Also, kindly excuse me for pointing this out but I'm guessing you meant Dharmasthala and not Dharamshala. (I work as a tech writer, can't switch off the ability to catch errors. )

Originally Posted by Chrome6Boy View Post
I also face this issue sometimes, it feels like a software error.
The only times I've seen this error is when I switch to R even before the OS is ready. Any time that I've switched to R once the MG icon makes way for the actual dashboard, it has always worked perfectly. Nonetheless, a bug is a bug and MG ought to rectify it.

I'm not saying this is the exact same problem that you and sushanthys have faced, but it sounds similar. Any chance you both can check for this and see if it is a usable workaround?

Originally Posted by csr9 View Post
The auto wipers on the ZS (executive variant) are having a mind of their own.
I looked up the user manual a while back and learnt that there is a knob to tweak this sensitivity. It just improves the performance by a little, that too after a handful or trial and errors, but the effort is (sort of) worth it.

Last edited by KarthikK : 28th June 2024 at 13:13. Reason: Please use the EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another on the same thread. Thanks!
Old 28th June 2024, 13:15   #1159

Originally Posted by abhikb2005 View Post
The only times I've seen this error is when I switch to R even before the OS is ready. Any time that I've switched to R once the MG icon makes way for the actual dashboard, it has always worked perfectly. Nonetheless, a bug is a bug and MG ought to rectify it.

I'm not saying this is the exact same problem that you and sushanthys have faced, but it sounds similar. Any chance you both can check for this and see if it is a usable workaround?
It is the same problem. We need to be patient with the software and allow it to boot first.

This is stupid however, they need to ensure the OS is in sleep mode and turns on the instant we start the car. We shouldn't have to wait for it to boot in 2024!
Chrome6Boy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th June 2024, 13:17   #1160

Originally Posted by Chrome6Boy View Post
We shouldn't have to wait for it to boot in 2024!
Agreed. In fact, there should be a major overhaul for the entire OS. Just that I'm too much in love with the car for this to be a dealbreaker.
abhikb2005 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th June 2024, 14:01   #1161

Two days ago, I got a call from MG for some sort of "Breather Pipe" installation for my 2023 Dec MG ZS EV.

It sounded like a Recall, but the call-agent was not aware about the specifics of this TSB (Technical Service Bulletin).
I was told, it will need half a day at the service centre. I've requested the TSB details to be sent to me, but havent received anything yet.

Anyone else received this call or have any additional inputs?
Old 28th June 2024, 15:33   #1162

Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post
Two days ago, I got a call from MG for some sort of "Breather Pipe" installation for my 2023 Dec MG ZS EV.

It sounded like a Recall, but the call-agent was not aware about the specifics of this TSB (Technical Service Bulletin).
I was told, it will need half a day at the service centre. I've requested the TSB details to be sent to me, but havent received anything yet.

Anyone else received this call or have any additional inputs?
Yes my ZS ev was recently serviced and they have installed "Balance Valve Shield (Part #:11802503) and Breather cap installation"
pram_ind is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th June 2024, 18:12   #1163

Originally Posted by pram_ind View Post
Yes my ZS ev was recently serviced and they have installed "Balance Valve Shield (Part #:11802503) and Breather cap installation"
Thank you!
Did the service centre explain the reason behind this update/upgrade?
I tried to search the part number on Google but to no avail!
Old 29th June 2024, 13:20   #1164

Hey fellow Team BHP folks!

I am in the process of joining the MG club with the ZS EV. I am in a rush to own one before I lose the road tax exemption benefit which may happen next week in Andhra Pradesh.

In contrast to my previous vehicle purchase experiences, the MG dealer now insists on receiving all payments—including the down payment and any bank finance disbursements—a week prior to vehicle delivery. They explain that this procedure is specific to electric vehicles, mentioning that upon receipt of funds, they will place the vehicle order with the MG plant. I have a few concerns and trying to understand:

1. Is this process mandated by MG, or is it solely the dealer's policy? If it's MG's policy, what's the purpose of paying a booking amount of 21,000 if full payment is required days before delivery?

2. The dealer assures a thorough vehicle inspection by their team before dispatch, claiming no defects or errors upon delivery. To my knowledge, almost all automakers ask the buyer to conduct any final inspections before delivery. If I am already making the payment and if I discover defects last-minute, like paint or mechanical issues, can I reject the vehicle? Should I clarify with the dealer that they assume the risk if I reject the vehicle due to any process errors or other manufacturing defects - probably could be spotted only by an OCD person like me? (In case of rejection, I will not be taking another vehicle with full road tax if its implemented by then. This is an oral condition I have with the dealer already. I would rather wait for Creta EV or Kia EV3).

3. I've noticed various tire brands on ZS EV vehicles, including Ceat, MRF, Bridgestone, and Continental. The dealer says each batch of vehicle may come with different brands and that they cannot swap it for me explaining that they will be linked with vehicle warranty. I am unsure how true this is and wondering if I can request specific brands like Continental or Bridgestone for my vehicle which can be swapped with any of their other vehicles in showroom or plant. I am hoping these brand tires have lower road noise and longer life than Ceat or MRF.

On a different note, I booked a red colour and I am also going for Xpel PPF installation by the dealer. Please drop any suggestion if you have.
Old 29th June 2024, 13:49   #1165

Originally Posted by nhkvarma View Post

1. Is this process mandated by MG, or is it solely the dealer's policy? If it's MG's policy, what's the purpose of paying a booking amount of 21,000 if full payment is required days before delivery?
Looks to be a dealer specific "rule". Didnt face this problem in Dec 2023

2. The dealer assures a thorough vehicle inspection by their team before dispatch, claiming no defects or errors upon delivery. To my knowledge, almost all automakers ask the buyer to conduct any final inspections before delivery. If I am already making the payment and if I discover defects last-minute, like paint or mechanical issues, can I reject the vehicle? Should I clarify with the dealer that they assume the risk if I reject the vehicle due to any process errors or other manufacturing defects - probably could be spotted only by an OCD person like me?.
Again a dealer specific gimmick AFAIK. Generally many vehicles will be available in the dealer yard. Even though one of them will be officially alloted to you, cleaned up and kept ready for inspection, if you find any PDI issues, they will change the allocation to a new vehicle/VIN. This was assured to me before my PDI.
PS: I didnt have to change the originally allotted vehicle.

3. I've noticed various tire brands on ZS EV vehicles, including Ceat, MRF, Bridgestone, and Continental. The dealer says each batch of vehicle may come with different brands and that they cannot swap it for me explaining that they will be linked with vehicle warranty. I am unsure how true this is and wondering if I can request specific brands like Continental or Bridgestone for my vehicle which can be swapped with any of their other vehicles in showroom or plant. I am hoping these brand tires have lower road noise and longer life than Ceat or MRF.
Yes, this is a problem since Tyre Warranty is linked with vehicle/VIN. I also ended up getting CEAT tyres. Unfortunately for me, all vehicles (in my chosen trim level) available in the yard was shod with CEATS. Surprisingly lower trims were available with Continental tyres.

On a different note, I booked a red colour and I am also going for Xpel PPF installation by the dealer. Please drop any suggestion if you have.
Please get it done by a professional detailers outside of vehicle showroom. In almost every case, the dealer acts like a middleman and gets it done by 3rd parties.

That said, I will recommend any genuine MG accessories to be procured from showroom itself. Genuine MG Accessories are truly of high quality and reasonably priced.
Digital Vampire is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 29th June 2024, 15:53   #1166

Thank you!
I tried to search the part number on Google but to no avail!
It is a preventive measure to avoid any water entering battery during monsoons .
pram_ind is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st July 2024, 13:28   #1167

I was shown the location of installation, and the part as well. Seems it is to prevent dust from accumulating on the air vents of the battery, which are 3 small protruding holes, facing the engine bay. The part itself is sort of a black metal cap with holes / vents on the sides, and was installed covering them.

Originally Posted by pram_ind View Post
It is a preventive measure to avoid any water entering battery during monsoons.
Don't think the part will block water as it has slits on the sides.
AutoEnthuHyd is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2024, 19:17   #1168

Originally Posted by kochicar View Post
After a two-month wait, the ZX EV arrived at the yard. We conducted a PDI according to Team-BHP standards and made the full payment. We had previously informed the dealer that we would obtain insurance externally. However, today the dealer expects us to sign an undertaking to release the invoice.

Is this practice legal and does it comply with IRDA regulations?
Does it violate any rulings from the Competition Commission of India?
Had a similar experience at MG Calicut(Jan 2023). We immediately said that we are cancelling the purchase and then they were okay with not signing this document.
lime is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2024, 17:08   #1169

It has been an eventful end of June / first week of July - 1). Completed 1 year with my 2023 MG ZS EV Exclusive, 2). Crossed the 10K km milestone and 3). Had the 1 year / 3rd free service carried out; all of this in a span of a week!

So far, life with the ZS EV has been smooth and pleasant. Just wanted to summarize my likes & dislikes, along with a few things I hope MG work to improve in the face-lift / next generation model.

• Silent Drive : Never having owned an EV before, the feeling of soundless driving is something I have grown to love. It was a bit unnerving initially, but we got used to it quickly.
  • Acceleration : Planting the accelerator to the floor in sport mode can be addictive (does not do any favors to battery consumption though), especially being able to fly away from the rest of the traffic when the lights change to green!
  • Re-gen Braking : Love the feeling of driving with one pedal. I tend to keep the re-gen set to level 3 all the time. Works great in Kolkata’s bumper to bumper traffic.
  • Running Costs : Much more economical to run than an ICE vehicle. My cost per km works out to roughly INR 2.00 – 2.40 / km, based on my calculations. Not able to comment on service expenses as the first 5 services are free.
  • Practicality : The ZS works well as our city run-about. Enough boot space for daily use and even airport runs if only one of us is travelling. Rear seats are also spacious enough for us. Adequate storage space in the cabin as well. Compact dimensions also help make parking very easy in tight spaces.
  • Build Quality : The ZS feels well put together and the quality of materials used in the interiors feels premium.
  • Connected Tech : The 'My MG' & 'MG iSMART' apps are well designed and work as intended. Both are useful in keeping track of important details relating to the car.
  • Sunroof : The panoramic sunroof completely changes the interior's vibe! The natural light pouring in gives the cabin a very airy / spacious feel. The non-sunroof variant does feel more cocooned / claustrophobic. However, we rarely drive with the glass pane open due to the pollution & dust.

Neutral
  • Handling : Is stable and composed for the most part, but coming from a sedan-only family, it does not feel as planted as a sedan. However, it is very relaxing and nice to drive in congested city conditions.
  • Service : Still a bit of an unknown as I have only had three free services so far. My salesman was great to deal with during the buying process. The service department has been average based on the experience from my first three free services. Getting a slot for service is a bit harder sometimes, due to lack of availability. They seem to return the car in a good condition, but sometimes seem to forget jobs (they forgot to fix my seatbelt issue in the last service). I suppose I have been spoilt by the treatment my local Toyota dealer gives me!
  • Range : My usage is limited 100% to city driving and hence the start-stop nature of driving does affect the range. I tend to get about 4.47 km/Kwh (per charge cycle, as high as 5.81 km/Kwh to as low as 3.12 km/Kwh).
  • Audio Sound Quality : I am no audiophile, but the speakers in the ZS are not the best. I would rate them average at most. The missing sub does not help matters too.
  • Software Glitches : Occasional software bugs do appear sometimes, but thankfully not frequently. Usually switching off and switching on the car solves the problem. For example, I got a ‘radar failure warning’ when reversing. Another time, the infotainment system did not start when I started the car. In both instances, restarting the car fixed the issue. Being overloaded with software is one of the downsides of modern cars, IMHO.
  • Resale Value : Too early to be thinking about this, but judging by the trends seen in global markets, I expect to take a huge hit whenever I intend to sell. However, I do plan on retaining my ZS for the entire 8 year period that is covered by the battery warranty, so not overly bothered about it. It also helps that my car also comes with the 5 year factory warranty (now reduced to 3 years for new buyers).
  • Infotainment : The interface is generally well designed and easy to navigate. However, a few minor issues do exist. For example, if I go to the climate control screen to adjust the AC, while using Apple CarPlay, I will have to navigate back to the home screen and then tap on the CarPlay button to go back to using it. This can get a bit annoying while on the move, as one will have to take their attention off the road to fiddle with the screen. However, MG has updated their infotainment system with newer cars. Not sure how good the update is, but apparently it is not possible to add to my 2023 model.

Dislikes
  • Ride Quality : Given how bad and uneven Kolkata roads are, the high recommended tyre pressures and stiff suspension make the ZS feel very bouncy (especially for those seated in the rear). The car is great on smooth roads though. Sudden bumps at high speed seem to unsettle the rear of the car. This improves slightly if one maintains lower tyre pressures, but also comes along with the risk of constant low pressure warnings.
  • Missing Features : While the ZS is decently equipped, it does miss out on certain basic features that should be essential at this price point. For example – no auto-dimming IRVM, no fog lamps, no reading / cabin lights in the rear, no reach (only tilt) adjustment for the steering wheel, etc. I really hope MG considers adding some of these whenever they update the ZS or when the new generation is launched.
  • Camera Quality : Disappointing that MG have offered such poor cameras for the 360 degree / radar system. While I have gotten used to it and don’t have much difficulty, but one does expect to get better quality hardware at this price point.
  • Automatic Wipers : The auto wiper function is utterly useless. The system seems to do exactly the opposite of what it should do. I have stuck to using the single wipe function whenever driving in a drizzle
  • Parts Policy : My driver managed to damage the RHS ORVM indicator lens. It should usually cost INR 1,000 – 2,000 at most to replace. However, MG does not seem to sell the indicator lens as a child part. They have asked me to replace the entire ORVM! Forget about the cost; it seems like such an unnecessary waste of an otherwise perfectly functioning part!

Overall, my entire household is happy with our decision to opt for an EV. This has also led to a significant reduction in the running of the other cars in our garage (since everyone wants to use the EV at any opportunity).

We had considered the Tata Nexon EV when car hunting, but the response / attitude of the Tata dealers made me run in the opposite direction. All things considered, the ZS EV is simply the best EV option under the 30 Lakh bracket (IMHO). With our EV experience so far, I can safely say that I will choose to stick with an EV for our city cars, if more options become available in the INR 20 - 35 Lakh segment.

Thank you for reading!
2022 MG ZS EV Facelift Review-img_1699.jpg  

fordfreak is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 8th July 2024, 19:52   #1170

Hey folks!
Happy to inform I am joining the ZS family and EV club. I am getting the Essence variant.
Delivery is around in couple of days. Getting PPF now.

Need some quick help in understanding whats included in the home charger kit.
The surveyor found wiring distance to be almost 80m, and this is covered by MG. He asked to get my own meter (As required by the society for monthly billing), also a 40amps MCB. However, if I want slow charging setup, it seems I have to buy a plug point myself.

I am wondering while MG strongly suggests to slow charge the vehicle regularly for battery health, ain’t it provided in the kit?

Can’t the charging speed be controlled between 3.3 and 7.4 with the same box given by MG?

nhkvarma is offline   (2) Thanks