Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 4th November 2022, 13:08   #91

Re: BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh

Originally Posted by drsvijay View Post
Thanks a lot, that's much reassuring. I am talking with my salesperson about canceling and going in for 340i M since i thought it may be practically less drivable with this GC from what people say.
I don't think so you should be worried about the GC, the i4 clears almost all the speed breakers which a G30 5 Series clears.
anishpraji is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th November 2022, 22:11   #92

Re: BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh

BMW India has taken feedback about the challenges of M conversion at the dealership. The next lot or the one after should come pre-configured from the manufacturing plant with the M variant.

It will cost a little less than the Base + M Kit by a couple of lacs.

Meanwhile, I went with something else, and the next guy in the queue would have taken the delivery by now.

I liked the M340i, but my friend was not very keen.

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
I must sheepishly admit I love cutting big cars with a Polo GT. I enjoy it a lot :-) Maybe that's where we differ. I absolutely love cars like Polo GTI, Golf GTI, A45, M1 etc. Real-world fun these cars offer is immense (Just my preference)
So, I went with something exciting
BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-screenshot-20221106-10.09.38-pm.png  

Turbanator is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 6th November 2022, 22:40   #93

Originally Posted by anishpraji View Post
I don't think so you should be worried about the GC, the i4 clears almost all the speed breakers which a G30 5 Series clears.
I am much relieved. Kindly post your short term feedback about how that car is?

What charger have you got installed?
Any registration issues ?
Old 7th November 2022, 00:03   #94

Congratulations on the Mini JCW. Wishing you many happy miles!!
HumbleBee is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th November 2022, 03:04   #95

Congrats on your new ride! It is indeed the go kart that any enthusiast garage should have

Hearing news from Munich that Mini and BMW are going direct to consumer model (like Tesla and Polestar) from 2024 and 2026 resp. Is it already known in Indian market?

Last edited by carthick1000 : 7th November 2022 at 03:09.
carthick1000 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th November 2022, 09:01   #96

Originally Posted by carthick1000 View Post
Hearing news from Munich that Mini and BMW are going direct to consumer model (like Tesla and Polestar) from 2024 and 2026 resp. Is it already known in Indian market?

Yes, the dealers have been conveyed on these lines, it appears.

Mercedes did similarly last year, and apparently, it's successful. Full marks to Tesla for sticking with direct sales. However, traditional manufacturers will still have dealers, but their workload/ investments will reduce considerably (profits too)

This setup will not only help manufacturers in the current buoyant times when they can keep maximum margins to themselves but also when the economy is not so well, they can run a leaner supply chain directly.
Turbanator is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th November 2022, 09:38   #97

Congratulations!! Not expected :-) It will be a refreshing change from your big mean machines. I spoke too much on this subject, want to take it easy! Lol. Give the keys to @V.Narayanan now and then. Hope the tires/wheels/roads don’t diminish the great potential of this pocket rocket!
androdev is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 7th November 2022, 14:12   #98

I am much relieved. Kindly post your short term feedback about how that car is?

What charger have you got installed?
Any registration issues ?
Sure, I'll use the car this week and post an initial feedback shortly.

They have installed the wallbox charger, it charges the car from 10-80 in about 6hrs. The capacity of the charger is 22kw, but since the car can accept only 11kw they set it to 11kw output.

The car hasn't been approved by the state transport authority yet, they took my car to Chennai over the weekend to get the approval. Only after the approval the car can be registered in TN. Hopefully they'll get the approval soon.
anishpraji is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2022, 18:27   #99

Meanwhile, I went with something else, and the next guy in the queue would have taken the delivery by now.
Any reasons why you skipped the car you praised so much? I was expecting an official review of I4 from you
viren83 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th November 2022, 09:10   #100

Originally Posted by viren83 View Post
Any reasons why you skipped the car you praised so much? I was expecting an official review of I4 from you
Yeah, I intended to pen down something. The car looks and feels great, and I am sure it will also be fun to drive.

I had booked the car with no particular use case, more like as a move to try an EV. I don't know if it was the correct decision to skip, but I desperately sought something smaller for my daily needs. Traffic has been bad recently, and finding a place for parking larger cars or just moving in locally is a pain.

We had some fun with an EV yesterday, and this experience surely will change my perception of EVs. More details follow

What I can share is that with the kind of range some of these EVs have got, time is not far when an EV-only car at home can be a reality.

If someone is looking for a 4-door sedan and an EV experience, this car with that long range should be a good decision. As for me, my EV experience probably has to wait a bit longer.
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th December 2022, 22:28   #101

Sure, I'll use the car this week and post an initial feedback shortly.

They have installed the wallbox charger, it charges the car from 10-80 in about 6hrs. The capacity of the charger is 22kw, but since the car can accept only 11kw they set it to 11kw output.

The car hasn't been approved by the state transport authority yet, they took my car to Chennai over the weekend to get the approval. Only after the approval, the car can be registered in TN. Hopefully, they'll get the approval soon.
Got my car delivered a week back, i also asked them not to install the Aerodynamic Kit, considering the local assembly.

Haven't taken the car out much, waiting for the number plate to be done. I have a query. They haven't provided me with 15amp home charger, only the wall box charger. Have u got the flexible 15amp socket charger? IS this wall box charger considered regular charging or fast charging since i thought regular fast charging will affect the battery life.

I have Nexon EV max too. Will I be able to use the same charger for the EV max.? With Nexon they provide a 7kw wall charger, will it be able to take up 11Kw of BMW wall charger?
drsvijay is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th December 2022, 02:39   #102

Got my car delivered a week back, i also asked them not to install the Aerodynamic Kit, considering the local assembly.

Haven't taken the car out much, waiting for the number plate to be done. I have a query. They haven't provided me with 15amp home charger, only the wall box charger. Have u got the flexible 15amp socket charger? IS this wall box charger considered regular charging or fast charging since i thought regular fast charging will affect the battery life.

I have Nexon EV max too. Will I be able to use the same charger for the EV max.? With Nexon they provide a 7kw wall charger, will it be able to take up 11Kw of BMW wall charger?
Congratulations on your i4.
Please share your experience with the car once you put in more miles.

The wall charger is considered regular charging and not fast charging. I am not aware whether BMW provides a portable charger or not with i4, but since you can use the portable charger of Nexon with i4 and similarly use the wall charger of i4 with Nexon.
Nexon will charger at 7KW instead of the peak number of 11KW.
Old 10th December 2022, 23:44   #103

Sure, will post once I cross 5000 kms. No portable charger, but they provide wall charger.

Ok then i suppose using BMW's charger will use only 7Kw for charging Nexon. thanks for the info.
Old 14th December 2022, 15:06   #104

Hello Vijay,

Congratulations!

BMW does not provide an 15A charger with the car, it's just the wall box. The wall box is considered as normal charging, the max capacity of the charger is 22KW but the i4 will charge at a maximum of 11KW because of the on board charger.

You can use the same charger for the nexon too.

I'm planing to import the 16A charger for the car, do let me know if you need that as well.

Old 14th December 2022, 22:41   #105

Hello Vijay,

Congratulations!

BMW does not provide an 15A charger with the car, it's just the wall box. The wall box is considered as normal charging, the max capacity of the charger is 22KW but the i4 will charge at a maximum of 11KW because of the on board charger.

You can use the same charger for the nexon too.

I'm planing to import the 16A charger for the car, do let me know if you need that as well.

Bro, the 15amp charger for nexon works well with i4. Why do u want to import it ?

They have not given keyless entry, no reversing assistance as advertised and many options lacking. We cant even use My BMW app. This is so bad, stripping all features which does not add much cost to the car.

Iam taking the car for a long drive this week to Erode-->Salem-->Yercaud--> Trichy. Seems charging stations are less, just going to charge with nexon 15amp charger.