Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 11th March 2022, 15:53   #31

Re: Fuel & Electricity expenses before / after we switched over to an EV

The interest paid on loan taken for an EV is tax deductible even for salaried individuals. That should also be taken into account while calculating the cost.
Gansan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 11th March 2022, 16:03   #32

Not going into the relative merits of the arguments about comparative maintenance costs of an EV vs an ICE car, assuming that they are even equally expensive to maintain.
But how does the TCO of an EV become more than an ICE in the long run? That is precisely where EV will trounce ICE cars. It is the upfront costs (especially considering people's penchant to change cars every 5-8 years) and the infrastructure issues that is holding back mass adoption of EVs, in my understanding.
Old 11th March 2022, 16:54   #33

Originally Posted by BeingHuman View Post
The true cost of an EV 4 wheeler vehicle should include the cost of 1 spare battery because the cost of replacement battery will be significantly higher than say a 2 wheeler electric bike in 1.5L price range, reconditioning an 8-year-old battery with new cells in place of failed ones will not yield the same performance, it will be a compromise and a low cost solution to extend life of the vehicle. A typical well maintained petrol vehicle can run at full potential for 15years at least before it gets scrapped. We are not yet clear whether the manufacturers are going to give a full 8-year warranty on the replacement battery, because in most cases factory warranty is different from warranty given for replacement parts at dealership level.
I am not sure if I understand the point here. Just because the warranty is 8 years, why should we conclude that one spare battery pack might be needed? For all you know, the battery pack might work fine for 15 or 20 years with some reduction in the capacity.

Is there any reliable study or data available on the lifespan of Lithium ion battery packs that suggests the maximum life is 8 years? Warranty does not mean lifespan.

Other points to consider -

1. Battery prices have been falling steadily over the years https://www.statista.com/chart/23807...attery-prices/. Of course, we cannot expect the same trend to follow when demand goes up, still it is reasonable to expect the prices to decrease due to the economies of scale and standardization. This could mean that we could even replace the entire battery pack with much less cost than what it costs now.

2. Even if charge capacity reduces after 8 years, by then charging infrastructure will be developed much more, hence even with reduced capacity one might be able to use the car, using fast chargers that are available.
GS300 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 11th March 2022, 19:45   #34

Originally Posted by vigsom View Post
Advantage3 - Zero noise. The EVs drive past in pin drop silence(almost). I was walking around in our quiet area yesterday, an autorickshaw went past, and then a Nexon EV and another electric bike. The noise level reduction was huuuge.
On a lighter note, the noise that we produce due to constant honking is much more polluting than the engine noise.

The engine/battery technology might change for better, but it takes decades for people to change their behaviour

Last edited by Aditya : 12th March 2022 at 05:21. Reason: Quote tag fixed
Early_Adopter is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th March 2022, 20:25   #35

For BLR traffic and usage, EV makes perfect sense. On top of that you have gone SOLAR. That is a brilliant addition that you benefit from.
If we were not in a rental society, wife would have pulled the trigger on NEXON EV .
doomketu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th March 2022, 22:03   #36

Originally Posted by joethomasv View Post
There’s 40% government subsidy for on-grid solar panel installation right? Here in Kerala, I paid nett 1.3 lakh for a 3.3KW system with 4KW panels. Subsidy goes down to 20% for 4KW and up.
Unfortunately, I dont think thats the case in Karnataka. At least my vendor did not mention anything about any subsidy. 40% subsidy makes a real good case for getting rooftop solars in Kerala, I think.
Old 12th March 2022, 06:17   #37

Originally Posted by GS300 View Post
Unfortunately, I dont think thats the case in Karnataka. At least my vendor did not mention anything about any subsidy.
Soura is a central government scheme so it’s there in Karnataka too. Not all vendors are approved though.
joethomasv is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th March 2022, 17:04   #38

Thanks for sharing this very interesting information. Can you share what is the weight (approx) of the entire panel and peripherals installation on your rooftop. As I understand from your thread you do not use batteries and the system is in-line with your mains feeding back to the grid. My house is old a brick construction, and I'm curious to know about the weight of the rooftop components.

Kiran
Old 12th March 2022, 22:16   #39

Originally Posted by SnS_12 View Post
What does that warranty cover a replacement if the battery goes kaput? Or do they back a minimum range over the 1.6Lakhs km/8 years that it will cover in that time on a full charge? A battery will lose its efficiency over time, which will be far less in a well maintained ICE for that same period. So, you have to see what are the chances of you replacing a battery from your own pocket as compared to a ICE in that period.
The battery, including any replacement, is covered for a period of 8 years. If the State of Health falls below 70% during this time, it will be replaced. There is no need to replace a battery during a vehicle’s lifetime of around 15 years. There is little point in discussing residual vehicle value after 10 years as every vehicle become practically worthless after 8 to 10 years. You can buy an S class today for 1 crore but you would struggle to sell it for even 10% of that after 10 years.

Originally Posted by PRS7 View Post
For me the only thing stopping me from switching over to an EV at the moment is range.
As an avid road tripper, I want at least 1000 km range (minimum) without having to worry about looking for a restaurant with a fast charger while on the highway.
It would be great if I can just cruise into a hotel parking after a day's long drive, plug in for charging while I rest for the night. Both me and the car at 100% charge the next morning to hit the highway.
I think this dream can be fulfilled only at least 5 from now with battery technology improving considerably.
Not sure if they thought about a solar panel laced sun roof .
That is an unrealistic expectation. Very few ICE cars provide a 1,000 km range.
You would need at least 15 hours to drive 1k kms. You would need several breaks during this time and you can easily charge during lunch, tea and dinner. Forget about charging your 1,000 km range vehicle overnight at a hotel. It would take over 60 hours unless the hotel has a fast charger. Solar panel on the roof would be of little help. Such tiny panels can’t produce much energy. It won’t even charge the car once in 10 years of operation!
Lobogris is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2022, 22:44   #40

Originally Posted by Lobogris View Post
There is little point in discussing residual vehicle value after 10 years as every vehicle become practically worthless after 8 to 10 years. You can buy an S class today for 1 crore but you would struggle to sell it for even 10% of that after 10 years.
How can you even consider and compare an EV car to an S class and especially when you’re talking about cost savings and efficiency.

If you have to compare it and have a apple to apple comparison then compare it with a similar costing product from Maruti.

The Maruti product will still fetch a 60% minimum resale after 3 years, will the EV offer or command a similar resale value.

And with the amount of technology up gradations EV cars are seeing you really believe a person will hold on to a EV he bought today for another 10 years? Just like people upgrade their phones for the newest and latest people will upgrade to in 3 to 5 years.

And hence if an EV losses considerable value over an ICE car at resale then that is a cost to be considered to derive on the point on which was cheaper to own, run and recover cost at sale.
SnS_12 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 13th March 2022, 00:06   #41

Originally Posted by SnS_12 View Post
How can you even consider and compare an EV car to an S class and especially when you’re talking about cost savings and efficiency.
Why EQS(an EV) is much better car than S class, is your question generic to all EVs or any particular EV? Today Tesla, CATL and others are making 1 million miles(16 lakh km) mileage batteries.

If you have to compare it and have a apple to apple comparison then compare it with a similar costing product from Maruti.

The Maruti product will still fetch a 60% minimum resale after 3 years, will the EV offer or command a similar resale value.
We do not have data, if you see other markets EVs are holding better value than ICE largely due to higher demand of EVs. Another 5 years the resale value of ICE could collapse, I personally know couple of friends who are holding their ICE cars longer than expected.
And with the amount of technology up gradations EV cars are seeing you really believe a person will hold on to a EV he bought today for another 10 years? Just like people upgrade their phones for the newest and latest people will upgrade to in 3 to 5 years.

And hence if an EV losses considerable value over an ICE car at resale then that is a cost to be considered to derive on the point on which was cheaper to own, run and recover cost at sale.
Yes technology is rapidly changing, even with ICE cars we want 6 airbags, ADAS even though the ICE drive train improvement is negligible. In all likelihood there is not going to be much change in EVs resale value compared to ICE.
Old 13th March 2022, 00:52   #42

Originally Posted by SKC-auto View Post
We do not have data, if you see other markets EVs are holding better value than ICE largely due to higher demand of EVs. Another 5 years the resale value of ICE could collapse, I personally know couple of friends who are holding their ICE cars longer than expected.
Below is said by a TATA executive himself.

Fuel & Electricity expenses before / after we switched over to an EV-cbf32614094644abacc569c6b7504424.jpeg

Fuel & Electricity expenses before / after we switched over to an EV-abc8265434954b21ad7af1b505ca6337.jpeg

So for a new owner he has to pay a premium for an EV compared to a similar ICE car and then the depreciation and hence he says it becomes beneficial for a second hand buyer, but what about the original buyer? So as per the OP if fuel cost has to be considered at 15k per month do the maths for fuel cost alone for 3 years and the amount lost in paying extra and depreciation over that period and you will have your answer.

Now if people only care about fuel cost and don’t bother about the loss of value on capital invested then I have nothing further to add.

Last edited by SnS_12 : 13th March 2022 at 00:59.
SnS_12 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 13th March 2022, 12:08   #43

Originally Posted by GS300 View Post
Since the driving experience of the EV is better than any car driven so far, my wife doesn't take the ICE car unless I plead with her

Can you please tell us more about the difference in driving experience here? Is it like you prefer your EV over the SUV from the 2-3 segments above? I think this part of EVs is often overlooked.

Originally Posted by SKC-auto View Post
Also, if somebody is buying a new EV in cash, the savings are incredible. In your sheet most of the extra saving in fuel is offset by the interest. Can you please update your sheet with another column for cash down payment?
shobhit.shri is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th March 2022, 13:09   #44

Originally Posted by kirans View Post
Thanks for sharing this very interesting information. Can you share what is the weight (approx) of the entire panel and peripherals installation on your rooftop. As I understand from your thread you do not use batteries and the system is in-line with your mains feeding back to the grid. My house is old a brick construction, and I'm curious to know about the weight of the rooftop components.

Kiran
Mine is net-metering. I have explained the concept in one of my replies below. Regarding weight, It is better you talk to the vendor directly, since I do not have accurate information. If you could send me a PM, I will share his contact number. Having said that, I do not think they are heavy, it was easily hoisted up to the roof by the workers who came to install.

Originally Posted by shobhit.shri View Post
Can you please tell us more about the difference in driving experience here? Is it like you prefer your EV over the SUV from the 2-3 segments above? I think this part of EVs is often overlooked
I prefer driving our EV more than the SUV, period. The driving experience is incomparable, for me at least. Instant torque, seemingly limitless power, absolutely quiet driving. no vibrations....

But it is hard to describe in words. I would suggest, whether you are planning to buy or not, take a test drive of Nexon EV (or MG or any other EV) once, take it to a free road and drive in 'Sport' mode - to experience the full potential.

Last edited by Sheel : 13th March 2022 at 17:49. Reason: Please edit or multi quote (QUOTE+) instead of typing one post after another on the same thread. Thanks.
GS300 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th March 2022, 09:31   #45

Originally Posted by Lobogris View Post
That is an unrealistic expectation. Very few ICE cars provide a 1,000 km range.
You would need at least 15 hours to drive 1k kms. You would need several breaks during this time and you can easily charge during lunch, tea and dinner. Forget about charging your 1,000 km range vehicle overnight at a hotel. It would take over 60 hours unless the hotel has a fast charger. Solar panel on the roof would be of little help. Such tiny panels can’t produce much energy. It won’t even charge the car once in 10 years of operation!
What I meant was that an ICE car takes 2 mins to fill fuel in a bunk that is readily found on highways. So virtually it has unlimited range (not even 1000). For an EV, you have to find a restaurant or break spot with charging, there should be charging slot free when you have your lunch. It may not charge properly at a particular place. Personally I do not like to have that kind of fuss. It is only just me. Of course an EV highway ride can be done if you really have to. But at the moment you would need to spend good amount of time in planning it through. Agree on the non viability of the sunroof solar panel. What I meant was that they need to bring in innovative ideas to help boost the range.