Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 2nd September 2021, 19:57   #1

Buying a Used Mahindra E2O - Is it still worth it?

Hello

I have been contemplating for sometime to get an EV. Saw Nexon. Was really impressed by the specs. However a little beyond my reach or so to say, more than I would like to put in an EV.

Came across a guy who is selling E2O plus (around 4 lacs for 2018). Completely tested and assured 140 km range. Spoke to someone who got from him too and he has been using it for about 2 months and getting 140 km quite easily.

So the question now arises... Is it worth getting this or should one wait for say - electric Wagon R, Kwid electric and likes...

Parambir is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2021, 20:54   #2

re: Buying a Used Mahindra E2O - Is it still worth it?

E20 is definitely not a very desirable EV today when compared to newer options.

However, If you have an immediate need for an electric cars and expect a lot of running, go ahead and get this one. The fuel savings alone can payoff your investment.

I don't think wagonR EV will be launched anytime soon and don't think there will be any option below 5-6L atleast for another year. If you can wait, it's worth waiting and checking out Altroz EV which should launch in near future
Everlearner is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2021, 21:47   #3

re: Buying a Used Mahindra E2O - Is it still worth it?

Buy an electric scooter instead.
shortbread is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2021, 09:00   #4

Re: Buying a Used Mahindra E2O - Is it still worth it?

Absolutely not. The E2O Plus was a compromised EV, backed by shoddy support. It's like buying an iPhone 3 today. The technology is fast evolving and I would suggest you to wait until your budget permits a better EV. A handful of years from now, all the EVs of today will start hitting the used market.

You don't want to live with this kind of a nightmare - read this, this and this.

Agreed with shortbread. If you want to go electric, either buy a new EV or get a 2-wheeler.
GTO is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2021, 10:27   #5

Originally Posted by Parambir View Post
So the question now arises... Is it worth getting this or should one wait for say - electric Wagon R, Kwid electric and likes...

Just test drive it and you will find your answer. The fit and finish makes the car feel like a prototype. Also I question the commitment from Mahindra on EVs, their EV head, Ramesh Babu, has just switched to Ashok Leyland (I think).

Their remaining leadership is Pick-up / SUV experts!
2000rpm is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2021, 10:51   #6

Absolutely not. I have driven E2O numerous times (zoomcar), It doesn't feel like a regular car at all. Everything from steering, accelerator to brakes, felt disconnected. Driving dynamics was scary (I didn't have guts to drive above 50kmph). moreover assured range of 140KM doesn't feel realistic for a used E2O.

Best thing would be to wait for a couple of years, like other members suggested.
hgps is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2021, 11:55   #7

As an ex-Owner of E2O, I have one word for you "Avoid".
There are lot of issues with the car and the support from Mahindra is quite bad. Parts are hard to come by even though the manufacturing facility is close to Bangalore.
Service is now relegated to just few centres and there are not many people who are qualified to diagnose issues. Also it is from a different era and the newer EVs are much much better than what E2O was.

Highly recommend to wait till there are better options in the markets.
speedmiester is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2021, 12:07   #8

Hello

I have been contemplating for sometime to get an EV. Saw Nexon. Was really impressed by the specs. However a little beyond my reach or so to say, more than I would like to put in an EV.
You have not mentioned your desired usage. Subject to that here is what I think.

If you MUST have an EV, at the LOWEST possible price, then you can go ahead.

What you must be cognizant of is that you are buying an ancient vehicle (by 2021 standards), which has a really modest body shell and safety I assume and has limited space compared to even other basic hatch backs like Wagon R. You should also be mindful that while you are paying 4 lakh, what the marketability or residual value of the e20 might be is questionable. You may have a disproportionate loss when you want to off load this.

A scooter is not the same as a car at the end of the day but depending on your desired usage, you could consider a modern EV scooter like Ola S1 or similar if that equally meets your needs.

But if you must have a roof with electric mobility and willing to have a very very ordinary user experience, you can go for it. I don't think any other EV that launches will anyway be anything less than 8 - 9 lakh on road. Personally I think you're better off saving that money in an EV kitty, wait for more offerings (Tigor EV with a very good range is already launched) and go for this maybe 12 - 18 months later when the market has matured and perhaps your budget can get you something a lot more for your money.
Axe77 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2021, 14:02   #9

E2O plus (around 4 lacs for 2018). Completely tested and assured 140 km range.

Should one wait for say - electric Wagon R, Kwid electric and likes...
Go for it.
If it has been tested and runs well with a 140 km range, it is a good purchase for just 4 L. It will do very well as a city runabout. As a Nano user, I realise the value of frugal and compact cars.
You won't get any new EV below 10L and that is a huge increase in budget.
There are small issues with every car, EV or fossil fuel. We read of BMW with engines falling apart, EV Nexons with glitches, Kushaqs with stranded owners.
Acquaint yourself well with the car's history before purchasing it.
Should see you through a few years until you save up enough for an EV SUV.
matizcrazy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2021, 15:04   #10

Infractions: 0/2 (12)

Apart from the E2O in particular and whether or not it is a good car, I would just not recommend buying any used EV. It would be like buying a used laptop or mobile phone. Today your battery might be great, tomorrow it might not. Not worth spending more than 2 lacs to experiment I feel.
Old 3rd September 2021, 16:45   #11

To the owners of E2O, why are some of you saying to avoid it any particular reasons. Isn't electric more reliable.
@speedmiester What spares are we talking about that is hard to come buy, what was the issues you faced.
Old 3rd September 2021, 19:15   #12

I have an E2O plus. It is a nice city car, nothing wrong with it. I dont get the advertised range of 110 kms, but I do get 100kms on every charge. It is extremely light and easy to drive in city. Plus it is super narrow so easy to park.
I have never faced a mechanical problem in 4 years.

I would not drive an E2O at 60+ kmph myself, but I dont drive at that speed in city either. Get those battery modules checked once in Mahindra's service centre, they will let you know how much SOC the batteries have lost. The AC is weak though, not certain how it will cope with Delhi heat. Plus AC eats up the battery at super high rate.

If you want to take a car to City centre, cannot get anything better than E2O, it will go where a Rickshaw would.
mohanphadnis is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th September 2021, 11:47   #13

Hi, first of all you have not mentioned the need of EV for you. if its a cost of fuel and you need to save on it then instead of buying an used EV you can go for an Used CNG car like a Wagon R or similar. This will be more reliable and will fetch you decent money when you want to sell it off. Buying an old EV at mentioned Price is a bad idea unless you are ready for forget about the resell value and as mentioned by many in this post a reliability of a car.
Old 4th September 2021, 13:53   #14

Mahindra had a first mover advantage in the market which they have sadly squandered away. Buying out the Reva back in 2010 when there was no other biggie in the market with firm plans for an EV, Mahindra clearly had an edge which they till now have not used for anything practical.
We saw a few EV Logans and then the E2O brought hope, but doesnt look like they want to go anywhere further.
Coming back to this thread, clearly buying the e2o used is not a wise idea.
Old 4th September 2021, 23:47   #15

With a lot of fanfare Ola's EV innings began at Nagpur to propel their EV dreams. More than 100 e2o's were acquired and the project was flagged off by our Transport Minister in May 2017. The total count was expected to reach 200.

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-new...-nagpur-405009

Very soon the project bombed. Now nearly all these are grounded ever since March 2020, when the lockdown began.

https://m.timesofindia.com/city/nagp...w/82264731.cms

And now some of the many reasons why this "ambitious" project bombed.

Olas electric fleet in Nagpur comprises of the Mahindra e2o Plus EV, which although a handy option for personal use, has inadequate range (100km) and too long a charging time for commercial use. The report suggests that Ola drivers are spending more than 3 to 4 hours everyday just on charging their vehicles.
The link:-

https://news.abplive.com/news/ola-dr...-e2o-ev-667399

I believe the 140 km range is a pipe dream as told. As this is from a time when Reva launched it with a primitive technology and a high price tag just to enter the totally vacant EV space, buying it now is like buying a Bajaj Saffire when you have so many better 4 stroke scooters in the market . And Mahindra acquired Reva, redesigned only its exterior, renamed it and also made it look ugly. This ugliness also was just at that time bestowed upon the chopped, surgical specialist designed Verito Vibe that came Mahindra's way courtesy Renault.

Since so many taxi drivers have reported a 100 km range for the e2o, we can take that figure as more authentic.

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 4th September 2021 at 23:55.