Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 22nd February 2021, 15:53   #106

Re: Predict: Which will be your first EV & when will you buy it?

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
That’s a big ask
That's why mentioned as 2030
Old 22nd February 2021, 21:52   #107

Originally Posted by lbklenin View Post
When the EV market is matured enough with all safety features, a turbo engine, a minimum 700KM range, a proper charging network and a 30-60 min fast charging!
You can go for a plug-in hybrid right now, that will meet your requirements including the engine part
Old 22nd February 2021, 21:57   #108

Originally Posted by StarrySky View Post
You can go for a plug-in hybrid right now, that will meet your requirements including the engine part
Haha. I should add a budget cap as well to that post
Old 23rd February 2021, 09:43   #109

I should think range would be the biggest limiting factor. I drive Mumbai-North Goa, I don't think any car currently offers that range. Once the entire Samruddhi Expressway starts I'd do Mumbai Tadoba too, I can't see EVs being part of the choice for stuff like that
Old 23rd February 2021, 11:16   #110

I was very tempted to buy the Nexon EV as it is an absolute VFM and a very nice looking car. But the limited range stopped me in buying one. Kona is plagued with issues (battery pack issue, fire issues) and MG ZS EV did not have those "good looks", also with increased geo political tensions between India and China, the future of MG is unknown in India (MG is owned by SAIC, which in-turn is owned by the state PRC itself). I'll definitely buy an electric car once the EV battery packs are designed for long range and EV battery packs are more affordable. I wish TATA plonks a bigger range battery pack on Nexon sometime in the future and decrease the costs as battery costs are decreasing significantly and also improve the Fast charging grid on the highways. Range anxiety is definitely the one I always want to avoid.

Also please watch this video by Scotty Kilmer, an American Mechanic / Youtuber about the present scene of electric cars and their limitations in USA.

WhiteSierra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2021, 11:30   #111

I just have two things in mind:

1. Swappable modular battery packs. So we can just go to a battery station much like a fuel station and get our car ready for the next strech in no time.

2. Supporting infrastructure obviously.

Till then I'll enjoy the ICE but the thought of refueling my car just with the solar panels installed at my home is so comforting. No more fuel hikes, no more adulterated fuel.

Governments loosing it's tax money and control on people's lives is one of the main reason why governments around the world are so lazy with the implementation of electric car tech, other is obviously the petroleum lobby. Also, the videos of kids drifting in expensive cars in gulf countries which only thrive on petroleum, wouldn't be made anymore.

Freedom from Petroleum
wrongturn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2021, 11:46   #112

Originally Posted by wrongturn View Post
1. Swappable modular battery packs
Freedom from Petroleum
Exactly my thoughts!
Till the time EV battery swap kiosks become as ubiquitous as petrol/diesel pumps across the entire highways & towns, I won't have my primary car as EV for long-distance travel with family.

A charging-station similar to petrol/diesel pumps doesn't seem very practical, owing to the charging time required at present. If this time is reduced drastically say to match with filling petrol, it'd be a welcome one.

For city-rides, ofcourse the case is different and I may consider replacing my Nano with a small EV by the end of this decade.

Tata, if you bring back the Nano in EV avatar guess many would be interested!
Old 23rd February 2021, 12:04   #113

I strongly believe that the usable range in EV will keep on increasing as the years go by due to advancements in battery technology.

In order for an EV to be really practical and free from range anxiety issues, it should be able to cover 1000 KM on a single full charge.
This is realistically above the max one can drive on a given day on a road trip, so it puts all range anxiety issues to rest assuming that the vehicle will be charged every night on such road trips.

One may counter the above reasoning on range, saying that, let me have one EV with lower range for inter city commutes and another IC car for long road trips. But I wouldn't prefer to have more than 1 car at a given time for my personal use. I need one practical car that can do it all.

I'm referring to mass market cars with reasonable/realistic pricing offering 1000KM range per charge and would be inclined to go for one as soon as it hits this number. Until then, I'll stick to Diesel IC engines as much as possible.
Old 23rd February 2021, 13:26   #114

1. Swappable modular battery packs. So we can just go to a battery station much like a fuel station and get our car ready for the next strech in no time.
Swappable modular battery packs are a good solution in places where there is a serious crunch of parking space/charging at home/work/public charge point. It is being implemented in some countries like China. People need to take an appointment and go to the battery swap center and they will replace the battery. However, in this case the owner of EV may not actually own the battery and it works more like filling up an ICE car. Just going in without an appointment will lead to waiting time. I heard about this on an EV podcast.

https://www.evnewsdaily.com/2021/01/...50kwh-battery/

It would be difficult to implement for all EVs as battery packs are heavy and not all manufacturers may be comfortable with offering swapping as a solution. There was a video from the YouTube channel Plugin India where they were discussing with Mr. Anand Kulkarni regarding swappable modular battery pack. The 7 min video is here.

If the battery pack is of same specifications, then the swap can be done without the suspension and other concerns. But still on highway runs, easy swaps are a long time away.

Unrelated to battery swaps, people are coming up with novel ideas such as charging infrastructure fit in the light poles (in London), allowing people to charge even when the car is parked on roadside in a street.
Old 24th February 2021, 19:15   #115

Been searching for a reliable EV when I sold my Fiat Palio Stile Multijet after using for a decade in 2018 however only Mahindra E20 was the EV with 100 km range and Rs 7 Lacs price my family voted against it and ended up buying a Baleno Delta CVT Petrol for Rs 9 Lacs shall keep it atleast upto 2023 when it shall be 5 yrs and EV market would have matured with more small car EV options and longevity reviews shall be clear for EV

Now in 2021 with Petrol-Diesel prices are on the upward swing and no respite as Oil producing countries increasing prices due to lower demand due to covid and high taxes in India

EV & Charging Infrastructure is like Chicken-Egg situation who will setup and how to recover the money investment

Common Swappable removable batteries standards shall help all EV's as currently there are no standards being followed

Home charging station is the only option and in case of load shedding failure apartment DG may not provide backup for car charging

Li-Ion batteries shall loose range per charge with age just like our smartphone-laptop batteries and need replacement which is 50% cost of the car

Please find the lists EV in India as of Feb 2021

Scooter EV in India

Okinawa Ipraise
Hero Electric Photon
Ather 450
Bajaj Chetak
TVS Icube

Car EV in India

Mahindra E2O
Tata Nexon EV
MG ZS EV
Hyundai Kona EV

Looking forward to more new models launching this year like Suzuki WagonR EV, Mahindra EKUV and EXUV300,Tata Altroz EV
Old 25th February 2021, 11:49   #116

I'm 25 and I own just one car (which is huge) for my needs. When I'm part of a 2 car household (maybe in 5 years - life happens!), I'd like one EV for drives within 100 miles. Which EV? Haven't decided - depends on where I live.

I'd love my first EV to be an FCEV (Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle) like the sexy Toyota Mirai. For BEVs, I think VAG (and maybe the Chinese companies too) is going to dominate the lower end of the US market.
Old 1st March 2021, 18:42   #117

I just have two things in mind:
====
Freedom from Petroleum
Quality control will be very hard. Any franchisee and down goes the experience. Also, different cars - different batteries - availability - # of such places / will become a huge limitation. Best bet it to rely on quick charge. 10mins that give 100Kms
Old 1st March 2021, 18:45   #118

What are the real Hatch EV options? Cant commit myself for a 15L Nexon and cannot seem to find good small car options to test the waters.
Old 20th April 2021, 11:51   #119

Originally Posted by TheARUN View Post
I'm hoping someone comes up with a 'conversion kit' where you could convert from petrol and diesel to electric for a lakh or nearby

Its not impossible, the option has to be mass-market and reliable

That is what I am waiting for.
A real live working Swift Dzire Electric. Conversion done by Northway Motorsports. They have got approval for the test vehicle and it is road legal. Mass production approval is due. More details in the video.

NG_EV is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2022, 09:28   #120

New battery tech and the sunset of of ICE vehicles !

My generation has seen the rise of internal combustion vehicles and are now witnessing their inflection point where newer EV tech is coming into mainline.

With the likes of Toyota stopping bookings for Diesel vehicles, is the end of even Petrol vehicles also not too far away ?

My optimistic prediction is that Petrol too will start sunsetting over the next 5-8 years. I believe a battery innovation is probably around the corner (say next 2-3 yrs) after which EVs will become mainline once they are unshackled from the current bulky/scarce resource dependent/low energy density constraints today. EVs will then become what ICE was for most of the last century.

Starting this thread to debate two things -
1) How optimistic or real is this prediction? Closer to home, should we put off ICE vehicle purchases where feasible and drag out next ~5yrs with our current fleet in anticipation of this coming change?
2) Discuss and share any new battery/EV tech that you come across which you think has the potential to revolutionize and replace the battery tech of today.