Team-BHP > Technical Stuff > DIY - Do it yourself

Search this Thread
Old 15th November 2021, 19:27   #1
BHPian

Rear Wiper fitment

Hello everyone. Sorry for the delay in publishing the details of rear wiper fitment. This is a pretty straightforward installation if you have all the parts handy and this can be done easily on any variant of any car as far as the respective car's top end model came with a rear wiper because in most cases, you will need the rear glass of the specific model with the hole to fit the wiper motor and the wiper.

I would rate the difficulty as medium since I am a noob in electronics, electricals and its working. I had tested it as DIY with the help of a friend and we confirmed the wiper motor working before changing the rear glass. I had to give to an expert for proper routing of wires since I did not want to damage any stock fitments. For them, this was just an hour's job. All you need to do is find the right connector if you do not want to slice wires, an area to get current to the stalks(can be taken from anywhere) and a wire connection from the stalk to the wiper motor and that's it. Works like a charm.

NOTE : My version of Venue(SX+ DCT) had the rear defogger as stock and that made it a whole lot easier. Lower variants which do not have this have to purchase the defoggers separately.

The parts diagram, courtesy of a local Hyundai showroom. You can avoid using connectors if you get the entire wiring system of this particular area, but comes at a cost of 17.5k, which is definitely eye-watering.
DIY: Rear Wiper fitment in Hyundai Venue SX+ DCT-img2735.jpg

The parts arrived in a weeks time.
DIY: Rear Wiper fitment in Hyundai Venue SX+ DCT-img3818.jpg

The old stalk
DIY: Rear Wiper fitment in Hyundai Venue SX+ DCT-old-stalk.jpg

The connectors of the old stalk. 6 of them. All for front wiper and washer.
DIY: Rear Wiper fitment in Hyundai Venue SX+ DCT-old-stalk-2.jpg