Team-BHP > Technical Stuff > DIY - Do it yourself

Old 14th March 2020, 21:27   #1

DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM

It was a disappointment that Toyota Fortuner did not come with an Auto Dimming Inner Rear View Mirror (IRVM). I had that idea to install one always in my 2015 Fortuner Type 2, Kungfu Panda (Sr.), but never got myself to it.

My 2017 S-cross Alpha, Kungfu Panda (Jr.) has auto dimming IRVM. Since most of my city drives were in the Jr., and mostly the night usage, getting one for the Sr. almost always got delayed.

Then it happened one day, that Toyota and Suzuki started to collaborate for synergies in Indian market. This also gave me the thought to cross pollinate the two in my garage .

I had a look at Kungfu Panda (Jr.)'s IRVM setup, and also at Kungfu Panda (Sr.)'s setup. To my surprise the locking mechanism on the windscreen for both the setup was similar, which meant I could just plug and play (except for wiring) Suzuki S-Cross IRVM on Toyota Fortuner's windscreen. I must say Toyota and Suzuki saw the synergies much in advance

Well that was the start for this DIY!!

While I started researching about the wiring part, I also thought to make the Outer Rear View Mirrors (ORVM) auto fold unfold with door lock unlock, just for fun and bling!!

So let us get on to the details.
laluks is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 14th March 2020, 21:58   #2

re: DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM

Let us take a look at S-cross's IRVM setup.
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_084819edit.jpg

After removing the first cover (longer one), you can see the wiring. You could see Red, Green and Black wires in the harness.
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_084831edit.jpg

After removing the second cover (shorter one), you can see the connector
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_084940edit.jpg

With harness removed for IRVM
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_084927edit.jpg

You can also see in order the harness is not visible from outside, there is a black channel where the two covers are fit

Let us take a look from outside
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_084704edit.jpg

This channel prevents the harness from being visible from outside
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_084713edit.jpg

Now let us take a look at all of these components separately to understand.

The two covers, longer and shorter, outer view
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085247edit.jpg

The two covers, longer and shorter, inner view
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085305edit.jpg

S-Cross auto dimming IRVM removed
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090442edit.jpg

Back side view
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090508edit.jpg

You can see the connector (top) and the locking mechanism (below)
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090559edit.jpg

The connector
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090531edit.jpg

It's a 5 pin connector, but we have only three wires in the harness
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090538edit.jpg
laluks is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 14th March 2020, 22:15   #3

Let us take a look at Fortuner's IRVM
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085521edit.jpg

Back side, It's just a manually adjustable flip for dimming
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085531edit.jpg

Back side showing Locking Mechanism
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085544edit.jpg

Locking Mechanism, the two metal pieces clicks fit to the piece on windscreen
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085552edit.jpg

The piece on the windscreen
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090353edit.jpg

This piece is placed very much to the top of the windscreen and not too low in the windscreen as in S-Cross
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090402edit.jpg

Let us study S-Cross's IRVM locking mechanism

S-Cross's IRVM locking mechanism
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090614_01edit.jpg

There is a screw to tighten the IRVM to the piece on the windscreen
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_091244edit.jpg

Sliding the IRVM to the piece on the windscreen, it just fits perfectly
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_091420edit.jpg

Tighten the screw to keep the IRVM in place
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_091631edit.jpg
laluks is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 14th March 2020, 22:48   #4

In order that the harness is not visible from outside, we need to make some arrangements for the channel in Fortuner. Fortuner's windscreen doesn't have that by default since there was no need. Well this led me in search of a sturdy material for the same. My research ended with a small metallic plate with adhesive, that is used to set up magnetic car mounts for various needs.

Metal plate
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085434edit.jpg

Metal plate back side
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085441edit.jpg

Channel cut to shape from the metal plate
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090648edit.jpg

Channel cut out, back side, with tape removed
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090659edit.jpg

Channel made from the metal plate installed to the IRVM
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090745edit.jpg

The other side after the covering channel is implemented
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090814edit.jpg

Now it's time to install the covers

Short cover installed
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090833edit.jpg

Long Cover installed
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090954edit.jpg

It's too long, Fortuner has the setup up higher in the windscreen than in S-Cross. We need to cut this long cover to size
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090957edit.jpg

The long cover, we need it to be cut to size
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085335edit.jpg

Long cover cut to size, inside view
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085351edit.jpg

Long cover cut to size, outside view
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085414_01edit.jpg

Cover cut to size installed
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_091014edit.jpg

Channel Ready, Covers Ready, Just that it needs to be fitted on to Fortuner's windscreen now
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_091018edit.jpg
laluks is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 14th March 2020, 23:11   #5

Well now we need to sort out the wiring for the IRVM. For that we need to study the wiring details of S-Cross. A quick call to DBhpian Shashi Uncle and I am provided with the required details.

Electrical wiring diagram of the IRVM
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-wiring.jpg

This explains the three wires in the harness, Black is Ground, Green is IGN2 or Accessory position (IRVM is only powered on when the key is IGN2 or Accessories position, to prevent battery drain), and interestingly Red is Reverse signal. The setup is such that on reverse, the dimming is switched off. S-Cross's Auto dimming IRVM only works if key is in IGN2, it is dark and reverse gear is not engaged.

To make the harness, I had two possibilities. Get an automotive 5 pin connector, and some wires and make the harness. This would have been cheap, but I did not like this idea, since we introduce something new. Our idea is to cross pollinate Suzuki and Toyota . So I ended up finding the harness part number in S-Cross and ordering one for my DIY.

The wiring harness in use in S-Cross
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200302_183437edit.jpg

Stripped the harness of its insulation and clips
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200302_193317edit.jpg

Left it like that overnight, and went to take a nap dreaming about many possibilities
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200302_193404edit.jpg

Next morning, took the stripped harness and figured out our connector
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085722edit.jpg

The color coded trio, Red, Green and Black
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085825edit.jpg

DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085830edit.jpg

The connector
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_085936edit.jpg

DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_090125edit.jpg

Removed all the unnecessary wires and connectors from the harness
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_092546edit.jpg

Using the insulation removed from the original harness, made a cool new harness for our needs

Our custom built wiring harness
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_105048edit.jpg
laluks is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 14th March 2020, 23:29   #6

Time to fit to Fortuner's windscreen
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_091728edit.jpg

Small cover installed
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_091745edit.jpg

The cut to size long cover installed
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_091810edit.jpg

The wiring harness was routed through the roof material, A Pillar all the way to the fuse box below the steering. Using a fuse tap, ACC/IGN2 was tapped, placed a 5A fuse in the line. Reverse signal was tapped using a splice wire tap from the reverse camera harness connected to the multimedia system.
Switched on IGN2, Voila, the IRVM is powered on
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_120218_bokehedit.jpg

Looks neat
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200304_120331edit.jpg

Now to make the bill of materials

1. Auto Dimming IRVM S-Cross - 84703M54P00 - Rs 3615
2. Wiring Harness S-Cross - 36820M65M20 - Rs 900
3. Smaller cover S-Cross - 84781M61M00 - Rs 100
4. Longer Cover S-Cross - 84782M61M00 - Rs 120
5. Splice Wire Tap - Rs 25
6. Fuse Tap - Rs 135
7. Metal plate magnetic car mount for channel - Rs 50

Total Cost of making auto dimming IRVM for Fortuner, by cross pollinating Toyota with Suzuki parts ended up at Rs 4945.

At approximately 5K, seems a well finished DIY
laluks is offline   (36) Thanks
Old 15th March 2020, 00:06   #7

Auto Folding ORVM

Now let us look at a bling installation, I really do not know why I did this . While researching on IRVM harness and connectors, I stumbled upon many manufactures offering auto folding ORVM modules, and I found one at Rs 1000 on a sale in amazon. Thought of giving it a try.

This is the auto folding ORVM unit and harness
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115340edit.jpg

The small black box is the logical unit, there is a 5A fuse in the Red line, to power. It has a blue and green line which needs to be connected to door lock and unlock signals respectively. I have marked two connectors in the picture. Connectors 2 and 3. 3Male from the harness connects to 3Female on the logical unit.

This part of the harness with connector 2 gets tapped to the ORVM control switch on the dashboard.
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115332edit.jpg

Let us take a look

ORVM Control Switch - 1
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115113edit.jpg

After opening up the panel in the dash, you can see the rear of the ORVM control Switch - 1
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115415edit.jpg

The original wiring harness connected to 1
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115427edit.jpg

Original Harness 1Male unplugged from ORVM Control Switch 1Female
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115505edit.jpg

Wiring harness of the auto folding unit 2Male plugged to ORVM control Switch 1Female
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115604edit.jpg

Then Original Harness 1Male connected to 2Female of the wiring harness of auto folding unit
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115638edit.jpg

Now that all the harness is connected to the ORVM control switch, its time to rout Green and Blue wire and tap the door lock unlock signals

DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_113936edit.jpg

Next to drivers foot well, we remove the cover to show the door wiring and connectors
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115140edit.jpg

The connector with lock unlock signal for the doors amongst others
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115159edit.jpg

Connector removed, Open, Close signals identified
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_115236edit.jpg

Using splice wire tap tapped the door lock unlock signals to the wiring harness
DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM-img_20200307_120010edit.jpg

The red wire of the harness is tapped to a power line from the fuse box.

That's it installation done. Total of 30 minutes.

Now to make the Bill of Materials

1. Auto folding ORVM unit - Rs 1000
2. Splice wire Tap - Rs 75
Total cost of auto folding ORVM Rs 1075

Let us see a video of it working

That's it guys. Thanks for reading
laluks is offline   (43) Thanks
Old 15th March 2020, 02:16   #8

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing!
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th March 2020, 08:03   #9

Originally Posted by laluks View Post

1. Auto folding ORVM unit - Rs 1000
2. Splice wire Tap - Rs 75
The happiness after this DIY..... Priceless

Last edited by auto_enthusiast : 15th March 2020 at 08:04.
auto_enthusiast is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 16th March 2020, 08:57   #10

Re: DIY: Toyota Fortuner Type 2 - Auto Dimming IRVM & Auto Folding ORVM

While I started researching about the wiring part, I also thought to make the Outer Rear View Mirrors (ORVM) auto fold unfold with door lock unlock, just for fun and bling!!
A well executed DIY there. I had long ago contemplated getting a Ciaz IRVM for my Abarth Punto (the one with the backup camera), but it was just too expensive and gave up on it. But it seems the auto dimming IRVM is still a 'worth it' endeavour considering the high beam menace on our roads.

The folding ORVM is just the bonus for your car.
blackwasp is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th March 2020, 09:53   #11

Excellent DIY - and extremely useful features both of them. I installed the auto-dimming IRVM in my Nexon on Saturday in a total of 15 minutes! Sourced it from AliExpress of course for approx 3.5K INR. Its working nice. Totally worth the money.

After doing these things DIY - we really wonder what makes the car makers skimp on such features. The items are really cheap and installations are also simple enough to be absorbed into the assembly line. I can understand product segmentation & feature separation, but these items missing on a car costing 20+ lakhs OTR is really atrocious. Even the Harrier only just received it on the top most trim. Crazy!
Reinhard is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th March 2020, 10:06   #12

Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
Excellent DIY - and extremely useful features both of them. I installed the auto-dimming IRVM in my Nexon on Saturday in a total of 15 minutes! Sourced it from AliExpress of course for approx 3.5K INR. Its working nice. Totally worth the money.

After doing these things DIY - we really wonder what makes the car makers skimp on such features. The items are really cheap and installations are also simple enough to be absorbed into the assembly line. I can understand product segmentation & feature separation, but these items missing on a car costing 20+ lakhs OTR is really atrocious. Even the Harrier only just received it on the top most trim. Crazy!
Please post a DIY thread soon. Will be useful to other owners
sagarpadaki is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th March 2020, 10:25   #13

Total Cost of making auto dimming IRVM for Fortuner, by cross pollinating Toyota with Suzuki parts ended up at Rs 4945.
At approximately 5K, seems a well finished DIY
Now we know back in 2015, Toyota has saved close to ₹ 6 K on a vehicle which retailed at least ₹ 26 lacs! We must say they had already adopted Maruti's cost-cutting way before their mutual agreement!
On a serious note, thank you very much for a very neat and perfect DIY! Please keep us posted if any issues or upgrades happen in future.
Originally Posted by blackwasp View Post
I had long ago contemplated getting a Ciaz IRVM for my Abarth Punto (the one with the backup camera), but it was just too expensive and gave up on it. But it seems the auto dimming IRVM is still a 'worth it' endeavour considering the high beam menace on our roads.
I also had given a lot of thought to this for my SX4 but ₹ 18K for just a Ciaz mirror with built-in display didn't seem worth it. Surprisingly, I saw a Zest some weeks back while traveling in Pune, where the driver had fitted a similar auto-dimming and display setup, which looked close to OEM. Upon asking, he said it cost around ₹ 5K including installation. This seems a reasonable option for us to explore.
Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
After doing these things DIY - we really wonder what makes the car makers skimp on such features.
Exactly my thoughts! But then again nowadays finance department is having an upper hand over engineering or sales.

Last edited by Researcher : 16th March 2020 at 10:29. Reason: Added a comment
Researcher is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th March 2020, 10:49   #14

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
Please post a DIY thread soon. Will be useful to other owners
Yes - its in the assembly line oven in-fact. Should hear the "Ding" this week mostly. Sorry, .
Reinhard is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th March 2020, 11:36   #15

This is so satisfying to read. I can totally imagine how satisfying DIY is.
Congrats.

Last edited by vb-saan : 16th March 2020 at 19:11. Reason: Caps, punctuation
Mr.RaghavDhir is offline   (2) Thanks